Aubrey Organics • Rosa Mosqueta Nourishing Shampoo • Shampoo

rated 3.1(21 reviews)

Average Rating.3.1
Would buy this product again.47%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Kalya on 4/3/2013 12:20:00 PM more reviews by Kalya

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

As usual, labeling on the shampoo bottles i have is different from the labeling on the website and the labeling on MUA.
The bottle I have, has carrageenan in it and 'coconut fatty acids'. God knows what that ingredient is.

This shampoo is good for turning very voluminous hair limp. Scent is sort of herbal/ medicinal and a bit too strong for my liking. The poo does not lather as such, but it does clean the hair well and coats the hair shaft to smoothen it. Hair looks silky afterward. Also, I dilute the shampoo a lot - that helps in applying it evenly on the hair.

But, one big drawback is the hair roots are left very oily. That results in breakouts near the hairline; i have very sensitive skin. Also i experienced significant hair loss after using this poo. Maybe the carrageenan ingredient is causing these breakouts. I also had some temporary boils near the hairline, that went away a few days after using this shampoo.
I will not be buying this shampoo again. Shikakai powder does a better job, or I am better off using a glob of virgin coconut oil and glycerin as conditioner!

Aubrey products need to have consistent labeling on their travel size, normal size products as well as their website! Something is not right, if they keep updating their ingredients so often.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* gioja on 12/4/2012 11:08:00 PM more reviews by gioja

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought this shampoo because I loved Aubrey’s conditioners. My hair is long, processed, as I dye my grey hair, and with tendency to frizz. I used for long time Avalon Organic Biotin Shampoo and was very happy with it but then they changed the formula and it became drying. After a short replacement with Mill Creek Biotin shampoo, which is also very good but still a bit too drying, I used this and all of a sudden my hair was smooth, soft and bouncy. It doesn’t lather very well so I have to use more of it and this is a bit expensive in the long term. But once I had this silky hair I was conquered and I bought it again, no matter the price. I put a small quantity in a small bottle, dilute it with water and shake it well before use. Or I foam it in my hands first and then apply it on my hair. This does the trick if you want lots of foam.
UPDATE: For some reason it stopped to work so good for me. It is still very good but if I use too much of it, and especially if I succumb to the tentation to produce lots of foam, it makes my hair dry. Silky but dry. Best is to use it on very dirty, oily hair and not to use too much, a tea spoon or less is sufficient.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* rossjen on 6/6/2011 11:14:00 AM more reviews by rossjen

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Out of all the Aubrey shampoo samples I tried, this was the one I wound up absolutely detesting, which surprised even me. I am generally a lover of rose fragrances, but this one gave me dreadful headaches, because it had a dreadful dark undertone underneath the rose. No lathering (which I expected) but this shampoo was particularly difficult to work into wet hair as well, more so than the others I tried. However, the worst part was the dreadful build-up which grew worse the more I used it. My hair felt coated with wax and my ends were very fly-away. Had I used a full-size of this cumulatively, I'm sure it would have wound up damaging my hair more and more. I think hard water played a huge part in this factor, so be aware of this. I'll pass this one by.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* apgoh2 on 3/21/2011 7:46:00 AM more reviews by apgoh2

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This shampoo is rather funny in the sense it does not produce any lather, but leaves hair squeaky clean. Comes with a herbal kinda scent, but it doesn't bother me. Conditioner is an essential after this, otherwise expect your hair to turn out like a barn.... Not sure if I would repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 MaggieN on 1/31/2011 9:52:00 PM more reviews by MaggieN

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I have colored hair and I've used up a bottle of this shampoo, I'm not sure how well it live up to its claim to protect colored hair. I actually love the strong herbal scent, I do look forward to washing my hair because the scent is so therapeutic. Their is not as much lather from this shampoo compare to the other aubrey organics shampoos, I don't use the same line of conditioner, instead I alternate with the gpb, island natural and honey suckle rose conditioners. I think that when I use this shampoo too often, I could feel some build-up in my hair because it's so moisturizing, so I use one of the other shampoo to clarify once in a while. I find that with this shampoo that I have to use more because it doesn't lather as well so I probably use up the bottle faster. I'll most likely re-purchase this since I want to protect my colored treated hair.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 jaymovez on 1/16/2011 11:00:00 AM more reviews by jaymovez

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

The ingredients list for this product seems to have changed to a more natural listing than the one listed from long time ago.
Anyway, this shampoo was surprisingly good, it lathers well and seems like it cleanses well.
However, some really bad points about this shampoo are, that it does not completely rinse off, the smell is way way way too strong, and it has lots of pore clogging oils that actually kept breaking me out on my forehead area.
After shampooing with this and when hair is dry, and you run your hands through your hair, it may feel sudsy.
Smell is nice, but it is really, really strong.
Game breaker was just constant break outs on the forehead for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 babalou on 1/10/2011 8:06:00 AM more reviews by babalou

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This shampoo definitely added shine and conditioned & softened my hair, which I did not cut & grew very long for the year or so that I used this shampoo. I perservered with using it because it did seem to protect my hair from breaking.

Main reason I would not buy again however is that for my fine hair it is too rich, eventually weighing it down- even without using the matching conditioner every time. (the conditioner I found to be far too rich for normal use, but v effective as an intensive deep conditioner every few weeks). I ended up using the shampoo as a weekly-ish treatment too and think it would be a suitable everyday shampoo only for extremely dry or treated hair.

Re lathering, I didnt find this much of a problem but some people might as it is low on suds. By really soaking hair first & adding water to the shampoo in your hands before applying, an ok lather can be worked up, but the overall feeling is of oil not bubbles. Shampooing a 2nd time improves lather but I did find that with 2 shampoos, the cleansing effect was rather too clarifying so beware.

As others note, the scent is VERY strong. Personally I found it too much & it's the other reason I would not re-purchase. Nor would I recommend rosa mosqueta to those disliking strong or specifically floral scents. The aroma is hard to describe- rosy but warm & musky, and this shampoo imparts a very long-lasting scent to hair, bathroom & and pillows!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Frenchmix on 12/30/2010 6:35:00 PM more reviews by Frenchmix

Age: Unknown   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

My husband uses this shampoo and loves it. It smells so good. I really love the way it smells.. I wish the J.A.Y. shampoo smelt as good as this one. I love his J.A.Y shampoo and have used it daily for many years..about 10 yrs, wow.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 krysz623 on 10/28/2010 10:23:00 PM more reviews by krysz623

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

The ingredients on the website are not the same as what is on the packaging.

List from the packaging:

Aqua,
Decyl glucoside,
Glycerin,
Sodium cocoyl hydrolyzed soy protein,
Oryza sativa (rice) syrup*,
Aloe barbadensis (aloe) leaf juice*,
Xanthan gum,
Butyrospermum parkii (shea butter)*,
Citric acid,
Lavandula angustifolia (lavender) oil,
Citrus bergamia (bergamot) oil,
Cananga odorata (ylang ylang) oil,
Rosa rubiginosa (rosa mosqueta) seed oil*,
Hypericum perforatum (st. john’s wort) oil,
Citrus grandis (grapefruit) seed extract,
Daucus carota sativia (carrot) root extract,
Tussilago farfara (coltsfoot) leaf extract,
Equisetum hyemale (horsetail) extract,
Alcohol denat (38b, lavender*),
Tocopheryl acetate,
Hamamelis virginiana (witch hazel) water,
Ascorbic acid,
Glycine soja (soybean) oil,
Beta-carotene,
*organic

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 janetgrace on 6/20/2010 8:32:00 PM more reviews by janetgrace

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

A bit stripping of moisture AND the color is orangey/gold which deposits that color onto highlights. I was furious and returned it and now use Shi Kai Blue Shampoo to cool it all down. Ugh!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Aubrey Organics products

More Shampoo products