MAC • 4 Sweetie Cakes Quad • Eye Shadow

rated 3.9(34 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.73%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 KrystalEmmaMarie on 5/1/2012 9:58:00 PM more reviews by KrystalEmmaMarie

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Tan, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

My sister got this quad to do her makeup for prom. and i absolutely loved the way the MAC employees did my sister's eyes. She still has this quad today (too bad the purple eyeshadow got smashed in). I love the colors; maybe I'll find a dupe for the purple shade and wear this myself :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lauralikes on 12/9/2009 2:06:00 PM more reviews by lauralikes

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Other, Warm   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

this quad is so nice! the only reason why i take off one lippie is that the color combo might be a bit too girlie/ teeny but that aside, it's really great.
Almond icing- reminds me of vex so much (without the green though). great texture and nice pink sheen.
gateaux- is a pearly pink, very true. no orange, peach or mauve. a very classic pink with amazing pale shimmer, not glitter or anything obvious.
sugar blue- while it isnt bad, it doesnt have the best texture. it has silver glitter which kinda falls off and the blue itself isnt the most lasting. if you pack it on over a nice base the blue has hope but the glitter...blah.
demi- a purpley mauve with a great texture and finish. i am not the biggest mauve fan, but this one is very bearable for me which is why i like it. it's more plummy than mauve.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Paperbacktripper on 7/10/2009 8:28:00 PM more reviews by Paperbacktripper

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight   Eyes: Other    

The colors in this quad really come to life on my pinky-pale skin. The colors all complement each other very well, especially with the finishes. There seems to be some confusion about the names and finishes in this quad so here is a list and explanation from top left and continuing clockwise. Almond Icing- a frost finish. It is a beautiful opalescent though it looks like dirt in the pan, it reflects blue and pink depending on the light. Also it manly shows up as pink on my skin but that doesn't detract from it's unique beauty. I like to layer it on top of other shadows and the effect is gorgeous. Gateaux which is also a frost. It is pretty frosty without being glittery. Very wearable for day time but not unique. the next color is Sugar Blue, a Veluxe finish which I had never tried before. It is very pigmented light to mid tone blue with blue and white micro sparkles. I think between Sugar blue and Gateaux one needs to be careful not to let the colors look dated and 80's-esque. It applies wonderfully and it has to be my second favorite after almond icing. The last color is Demi-Sweet, a Satin finish. This one is an average mid-tone purple but the blue micro sparkles in it make it very lovely next to Sugar Blue. Overall, I love this quad but I find I want them to be less pigmented when I place them on my lids so I blend them enough to lose some of the color. It ends up looking much more polished and lest costume-y that way. If you are looking at getting depots or wondering about what the best colors are in this quad, I would suggest Almond Icing as a must have. Also I would suggest having both Sugar Blue and Demi-Sweet simply because they belong together.Gateaux is dupe-able and can be skipped. Overall, I love this quad and would repurchase. I subtracted one lippie simply because it isn't simply the single best. I save my 5 lippie reviews for extraordinary products.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Nekura on 4/10/2008 1:57:00 AM more reviews by Nekura

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

I think this quad is really nice for the spring. I'm not really sure why I swapped for this but I don't regret it. Though it might not seem really special and sort of prom-like from a glance, the colors work well together. I typically don't like pastel shades but these shades have a lot of potential being in the palm of my hands, it doesn't necessarily have to be super light and girly. Almond Icing, Sugar Blue, Demi-Sweet are very nicely paired. I generally like a more darker look which still can be achieved with this using specifically Sugar Blue and Demi-Sweet. Almond Icing is actually a really unique shade. I pick it up a lot and pair it with other pinkish looks. Initially I thought it was similar to Vex too but I agree with the review below it's not the same. Similar yes but this is much more red tone and warmer, friendlier to use. Otherwise the last shade Gateaux is alright. It's a bit too frosty for my taste but use minimally and it works fine as a highlight or lower lash line. Even on my NC15 complexion, Gateaux is such a frosty pink it looks nearly white!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sarajane927 on 4/8/2008 7:47:00 PM more reviews by sarajane927

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I really only swapped for this quad because it's MAC- looking at pictures of it, I didn't think I'd like it much. I actually got it at the same time as Corps de Couleur, a MAJOR lemming of mine. I was shocked when I got them both...Sweetie Cakes blew CdC out of the water! It's way more pigmented and the colors are just so pretty! A lot of other reviewers said that these are 80's prom colors, and I can see where they're coming from- I mean they are pastels- but I still love them and don't feel dated at all when I wear them, even all together.

The real standout for me is Almond Icing, an irridescent off-white that looks blue-ish in some light. I wear it as a wash, highlight, in the corners of my eyes, etc. I love all three of the other colors too- they're all fresh and pretty without being over the top.

Overall, this is my favorite MAC quad so far.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* vickybee on 12/18/2007 4:37:00 PM more reviews by vickybee

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Found this quad at my local CCO. Overall the quad is average for me....Gateaux (frosty cotton candy pink) and Sugar Blue (a dirty robin's egg blue with a chalky but manageable texture) are *truly* prom night colors...a bit too youthful for me I guess! =) Anyway, the standouts for me are Demi-Sweet and Almond Icing. Demi-sweet is a really unique dirty bluey purple, not my favorite purple but one that I reach for occasionally. However, Almond Icing is AMAZING! (the whole reason I wanted to write this review!) Its a neutral greyish beige with a slight pinky red duochrome. I use it as a highlighter and it looks great paired with any purple or pink shadow. I wear those colors often, so I find myself reaching for Almond Icing over Shroom and Dazzlelight!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 geminitwin_sd on 12/13/2007 1:58:00 PM more reviews by geminitwin_sd

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

As pretty as the colors looked in the pan, I could not get them to show up well on my skin. I'm uber pale and have tons of other MAC eyeshadows and just couldn't get this quad to work for me. I returned it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 LizC21 on 10/28/2007 5:46:00 AM more reviews by LizC21

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I thought this was a cute collection. Soft, but colorful shades...sweet and candy inspired. The quad looks pretty, but is also lacking versatality. This is not something I wear often, but still love it. Almond Icing is a nice highlighter/wash. It's not like Pink Opal, Vex, Seedy Pearl, or Sea Meath! STOP SAYING THOSE ARE SOO SIMILAR! Similar in the sense, yes, that they are neutral with some sort of reflect of pink, but they are truly very different on, so sick of hearing they are exactly the same! Almond Icing is soft almond color with pink/red. Pink Opal is whitish pink reflective, Vex is kind of a greyish beige with green and pink, Seedy Pearl is lavendar pink with pinkish sparkle, and Sea Myth is like whiteish greenish pinkish. Almond Icing really works with the other colors in the quad. Gateaux is a pale, cotton candy frosted pink. Demi-Sweet is a dirty purple with blue reflects, soo pretty. One of my favorite purples. Sugar Blue is a dirty aqua with pink sparkle. Really lovely...don't have a shadow that is similar. I wish Demi Sweet and Sugar Blue were sold seperately! I have no problem applying any of these shadows. They are soft, but still colorful.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Steph0891 on 9/20/2007 8:13:00 AM more reviews by Steph0891

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

i was lucky enough to swap for this and get a backup at the CCO for $24. i was worried at first by the reviews that it might not have enough pigmentation. but thankfully it showed perfectly on my lids. love the purple shadow. it just brightens up my deep dark brown eyes. and i really like the 2 highlighter colors. only color i don't really use is the blue color. blue just doesn't look too great on me so wish it was a deeper plum instead but oh well. still one of my favorite quads.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 KathleenTheGreat on 3/15/2007 8:37:00 AM more reviews by KathleenTheGreat

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

All in all not bad. The colours are lovely. This is my first bunch of MAC eyeshadows and I was pleasantly surprised. I heard that their quality of shadow wasnt that great, but these are the most pigmented eyeshadows I own. The others I have are from the D/S, but on the boards they say that the quality is sometimes not even as good as drugstore brands. Anyway, I am happy with this. The colours look very nice together.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Eye Shadow products