Alberto Vo5 • rework Fibre Putty • Styling Products

rated 2.9(8 reviews)

Average Rating.2.9
Would buy this product again.37%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 HelenaN on 9/4/2011 5:40:00 PM more reviews by HelenaN

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have never had short hair in my entire life but a week ago, I got it cut short. Like... really short. I probably look like I belong on the "Lesbians who look like Justin Bieber" website. :) But moving on, the shortest my hair had ever been was shoulder length so I never really had the need for any gel. After I got my haircut, I picked up a container of the Alberto Extreme Style {rework} fibre putty. It was only $5 so I thought I'd give it a try. The package is average and there really isn't anything special or magnificent about it. The putty itself is this thick (and I mean thick) white goop that has a rather pleasant scent. When you scoop some out with your fingers it feels very waxy but it does its job really well. The packaging says its ideal for short hair and boy is it! I work it in every direction so my hair looks all messy and pixie like, sorta like I just rolled out of bed, I'm in highschool and it lasts from 8:00 am to 4:00 pm easily. I shower when I get home so I'm not sure if it will hold out longer but the packaging claims it stays and maintains hold for 24 hours. The price is half decent for the amount and it lasts. It also washes out easily. Another thing I like is that its made in the USA not overseas... so I'm less aprehensive about the quality. In the end, I really like it and until I find something better I'm going to buy it and make it an HG product!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Xya on 1/19/2011 8:48:00 PM more reviews by Xya

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Other, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Violet    

At first this seemed to be decent for teasing/fluffing up my hair, but it didn't seem to have any real hold and always fell flat very quickly..maybe it's better for very short hair (I add volume to the crown and lightly spike up the back of my hair which is only about 3-4" long, and this isn't effective for). It also makes my head itchy (maybe the mineral oil, which is probably also what weighs it down).

I give this a 2 because it might add a tiny bit of texture to hair that might be good for adding volume to fine hair if combined with another product or hair-sprayed into place, and I also might try watering it down and adding to damp hair before I blow-dry to see if it'll help hold a style so it isn't a completely waste of money. It's not the worst thing I've ever used but doesn't deserve all the outstanding reviews I've read as far as I can see, but Alberto's Clay and Gum were also on sale when I bought this and I find those both work very well (I like the Gum best for strong but natural texture/volume and overall fantastic styling ability as well as the fact that it makes my hair quite resilient to rain/snow which nothing else does, but the Clay's good for teasing the hair to give it light/airy volume). The Gum and the Clay also didn't make my head itchy.

Alberto's Texturizing Gum is what I'd hoped the Putty would be but wasn't. I use the Gum to add strength/body/thickness/texture to the volume of my hair (a little bit goes a long way, even on my fine hair) - that stuff has incredible hold/body/volume and has even stood up to my hair being soaked then crushed with a hood to fend off rain (it'll be flat but dries quickly, and you can fluff it right back up to nearly the original height without adding more once it dries because the Gum is just that incredibly resilient even if it's been in the hair a few days, yet it still washes out easily in the shower oddly enough. It feels kind of thick and tacky when you first put it in but that fades in a few minutes so your hair'll feel normal but with great volume/hold/height and you'll be able to work with it more easily then. I haven't found anything as strong as this that gives such a natural-looking hold and lasts so well even through rain/snow). I rub just a little bit of it between my fingers, through the back of my pixie/shag to spike the back (but in a way that looks soft and natural..it can give both definition and subtlety depending on how you work it into the hair), then I use the bulk of it to tease/scrunch the roots/hair at the crown for volume (this is the place that needs the most height/volume/hold, and is the thinnest/flattest and most difficult part of my hair), then work the sides/bangs to give them some volume/texture too (the parts where the most is added for volume may not look great at first until it dries in after a few minutes, then it's easy to fluff it and get it the way you want it so that it looks just like your regular hair only better..for me at least).

So in conclusion, Alberto's Rework Putty didn't do it (or anything really) for me, but Alberto's Gum is the most amazing thing that has ever touched my head!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hersheykiss2087 on 1/18/2011 8:13:00 AM more reviews by hersheykiss2087

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This is the product that my husband uses to spike his hair. It's the only product that he likes to use. Unfortunately we can no longer find it in stores, so we have to buy it in bulk (3 or 6 packs) online.

I LOVE how it makes his hair smell! Most "putty" products are not strong enough to hold his hair up at all. This keeps his hair standing straight up all day, yet it doesn't make it stiff or crunchy. It also makes his hair appear thicker. (Which he doesn't actually need, but some people would like to have thicker hair)

We'll be buying this product until we can no longer find it any more! VERY satisfied.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* icarle on 12/6/2010 6:32:00 AM more reviews by icarle

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I thought I could find a fibre paste without spending salon $$. I was wrong. I ended up buying KMS and am very happy about it.
This product is very sticky, you cannot rework your hair, and if you put too much it flakes.
Crappy!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lou4k6 on 12/22/2009 4:49:00 PM more reviews by lou4k6

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this on 2 for 1 in sainsburys and picked up this one and the alberto vo5 texturising gum, which i prefer out of the two. I have short black hair and have had no problems with this showing up white flakes in my hair however if you apply too much of this in one place it will get very white coloured and funny looking. It is very gloopy which i why i will not be repurchasing or indeed using up what i have left. It doesnt even seem that oily just very thick! It washes out well however this certainely couldnt be reworked during the day, if you want to do this you would need to apply more gloopy product, which will give you white patches! Lol, not a good look. I'll be tossing this one in the bin!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 tinkyface on 12/22/2008 12:10:00 AM more reviews by tinkyface

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

DH has been using this product for the past 5 or 6 years, it is the ONLY thing he puts on his hair. I think this putty is really not meant for being "reworked" though, Dh's hair is thick and wavy and the putty makes his hair flatter and somewhat sticky to the touch. No flakies, no stiffness.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 horsienut on 4/2/2008 11:27:00 AM more reviews by horsienut

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

When used as directed the fibers in this stuff float all over the place (not a good thing). I have extremely short dark brown hair and this putty holds well but I agree with the other review, it has a stiffer hold and is not "reworkable" at all. The worst thing about this product is the fibers leave what looks like white dust in my dark hair. It holds well but the residue it leaves behind looks terrible. Might be good for blondes but I'll be tossing this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 mutemaniak on 4/6/2006 10:33:00 PM more reviews by mutemaniak

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

It works really well to keep short hair styles in place like hairspray and you can really mold your hair the way you like. I just don't agree that you can "rework" it. For example, if you want to change your style in the middle of the day, you'd have to use more product to keep it into place, thus making your hair very weighed down :( it also gave me acne around my hair line and scalp and forehead...ugh.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More Alberto Vo5 products

More Styling Products products