Giovanni • Smooth as Silk • Shampoo

rated 3.8(101 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.63%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 Vickybliss on 7/21/2014 6:37:00 PM more reviews by Vickybliss

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I have purchased this shampoo a few times at iherb. Good price, lightly scented of oranges, with a decent amount of lather. It's become a fall back staple to me, for a line that I know works with my fine, curly hair and doesn't dry my strands out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 temadeamor on 7/17/2014 5:46:00 PM more reviews by temadeamor

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I will preface this by saying my hair doesn't like protein. So I am gonna assume it's the protein in this shampoo that has totally destroyed my hair!!! My hair has never been worse. I thought it would be moisturizing but instead it dries out my hair and leaves it brittle and tangled. I tried it a few times and have had the worse hair days of my life. I am not exaggerating, I threw out the bottle in the trash!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ginquet on 6/27/2014 1:51:00 AM more reviews by ginquet

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Other    

I like this shampoo because it leaves my hair soft (when it dries) with a healthy shine. It lathers easily and there is no need to use large amounts of the product. I love that it is more safe than the chemical based and more popular shampoos. It is a bit pricey but compared to other organic hair products it is actually quite affordable.



Update: I was researching online the chemicals on this shampoo and found out the the ingredient " Sodium Lauroyl Sarcosinate" has mixed reactions. Some places that provide chemical of the day or month say it has similar risks as "Sodium Lauroyl Sarcosinate." While other articles say it is fine. Hmm I am not sure which one is correct.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 heartsinwonderland on 3/16/2014 11:40:00 AM more reviews by heartsinwonderland

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I got this after I fell in love with Giovanni's Frizz Be Gone. At first I enjoyed this shampoo, but then I realized it dried my hair out. It smells nice, and has a good lather. It's not too expensive, but it's not for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 adalew on 11/18/2013 9:33:00 AM more reviews by adalew

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Medium Brown   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Black    

This is a great shampoo. Not cheap as low foaming. I have very soft and hydrated hair with the help of this shamp. To reduece the quantity of this shamp used, firstly pour a little of your other well foaming shampoo, rinse quickly, then pour some Giovanni smooth as silk shampoo and wash your hair. It will be easy to work through your hair. The magical part is it will make your hair very soft with many of rinse-off conditioners, even those that u wanted to chuck off. Never need a hair treatment anymore.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hippups on 10/7/2013 7:40:00 PM more reviews by hippups

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Black    

I used this, the conditioner and the keratin serum on my 4-month-old keratin hair and WOW! Nothing has made my hair look like it's just gotten a keratin treatment like this. I have no idea how it could have made anyone's hair feel stripped. I'm so sorry! Tried a lot of different brands and this is my favorite and it is a $ bargain too!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 noor84 on 10/7/2013 3:07:00 AM more reviews by noor84

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

This shampoo really striped my hair of moisture. my hair was so dry after using it and it wasnt near *smooth as silk* I wont repurchase ever again and Im glad it was on sale when i bought it .

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* KatWKSF on 9/26/2013 3:35:00 PM more reviews by KatWKSF

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I wish there was a "maybe" button for "would you buy again." So far, this product has done me no wrong. I like the "chemical-free" formulation and the creamy consistency of the product. It also has a very nice, light fragrance. I have very damaged hair from heat styling and coloring, and it seems to be bringing it back from the dead, so far. Part of my problem was that I was using Paul Mitchell products for blonde hair and the products had TOO much protein in them. So now I am trying to recover my hair from that, but I read on MUA that this product too has protein in it. I can't seem to get away. I will update in the event that this product starts to wreck my hair, but so far, it seems to be moisturizing it nicely.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 thereisalwayshope on 5/13/2013 5:47:00 PM more reviews by thereisalwayshope

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

Left hair stripped. It sucks. Skip if you want to save your have of its moisture.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 peacelovetrust1987 on 4/1/2013 4:12:00 PM more reviews by peacelovetrust1987

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

Decent vegan shampoo for the price. I won't call it my holy grail shampoo, but it is my holy grail drugstore shampoo. It was recently reformulated and I would give the new formula a 3.5 if I could. It moisturizes without weighing the hair down. It doesn't save hair from color fading as much as I would like. For a fairly low priced shampoo, it does the trick.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Giovanni products

More Shampoo products