Unlisted Brand • Hashmi - Kajal Stick - Black • Eyeliner

rated 3.8(38 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.71%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 toronto27 on 4/8/2013 10:12:00 PM more reviews by toronto27

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brunette, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

I've used this stuff since I was about 16 (I'm 20). I absolutely love it. I use it every single day and it glides on quickly and effortlessly. It lasts all day, even in extreme heat, and washes off easily with water. It's so much better than other eye pencils or liquid eyeliners, which always irritate my sensitive eyes.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 ILovePickles on 1/8/2013 12:38:00 AM more reviews by ILovePickles

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

According to Health Canada, Consumer Product Safety, Hashmi Kohl Aswad from Pakistan contains high levels of lead. And it is recommended to not use this product.

"Lead is a metal which accumulates in the body and is therefore toxic even at low levels of exposure. Lead poisoning is not always easy to recognize. Symptoms of lead poisoning can include: headaches, irritability, abdominal pain, vomiting, general weakness, paleness, weight loss, poor attention span, noticeable learning difficulty, slowed speech development and hyperactivity.

Lead is especially harmful to children. Exposure to even small amounts of lead in the womb, during infancy or early childhood can result in lower birth weight, behavioural problems, learning disabilities and reduced intelligence. Lead can increase the risk of miscarriages, stillbirths and premature deliveries in pregnant women, and can also affect male fertility."

This information is worth looking at before continuing to use this eyeliner. Is a black, smudge proof liner truly worth the possible consequences?

11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 piccolamandorla on 10/2/2012 2:48:00 PM more reviews by piccolamandorla

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Controversy, controversy...

Kajals (including Hashmi) are hard to find in the USA since they're restricted for import into the USA due to some of the traditional ayurvedic formulas containing lead. I got mine in a swap. I wanted to try it because nothing I've ever tried would stick to my waterline. Kajals DO, and once they're "set", they don't really travel. It just fades off instead of going somewhere else on your face.

Back in 2007, the NYC Health Department reported that kajal or surma samples they took contained lead. Now, one may argue that lots of products contain lead...and they do (check out this list http://www.health.ny.gov/environmental/lead/sources.htm), but are you intentionally sticking most of those products in your eye? Probably not.

Since that report came out, the company that makes Hashmi Kohl, Kajal, Surma has apparently been reformulated and gone out of their way to get the word out that the product does not contain lead. You can check their site for toxicology reports conducted in the US in 2009 and 2011 at www.hashmisurma.com. and ISO certificates. The lead report from NYC was dated 2007; The kajal stick I have was manufactured in 2011 and is labeled Pb 0.00%

If that's not good enough, you can always get a lead detection kit and test it yourself. It costs about $15 USD for 8 tests. They're good to have around if you live in an old house or have small children who put toys in their mouths.

Bottom line: Buy one with a manufacture date later than 2009, test it yourself, and if all checks out good, sanitize it (wipe the probe with a dry tissue and then an alcohol swab and let dry) and line to your heart's content.

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 greenie106 on 1/18/2012 5:19:00 PM more reviews by greenie106

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I am very satisfied with this eyeliner especially considering how cheap it is! It's easy kohl eyeliner to apply, the applicator makes it glide on effortlessly, however, make sure the one you buy is "fresh" so that it is not hardened as it will not work. It will last most of the day, but doesn't get as messy as others I have used. I will defintely buy this product again :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 yuyu122 on 12/15/2011 6:28:00 PM more reviews by yuyu122

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This product is a great eyeliner and smudges less than the cream version. The packaging is awful, but it is so cheap... There are many people concerned about the lead content (myself a few hours ago), but there are serious studies that prove this product to be safe. That link corresponds to a serious paper released within a medical journal. Hashmi makes a powder eyeliner wich is 50% lead sulfide(the less poisonous form of lead), but the cream and stick presentations are made of amorphous carbon and are safe for health.

A.D. Hardy, H.H. Sutherland, R. Vaishnav, A study of the composition of some eye cosmetics (kohls) used in the United Arab Emirates, Journal of Ethnopharmacology, Volume 80, Issues 2-3, May 2002, Pages 137-145, ISSN 0378-8741, 10.1016/S0378-8741(02)00006-5.
(http://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S0378874102000065)
Keywords: Traditional medicine; Kohl; X-ray diffraction; Scanning electron microscopy

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kathrynb23 on 11/21/2010 11:41:00 PM more reviews by kathrynb23

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I brought this after seeing SJP using it in SATC 2 movie, and also all the rave review about it made it more impossible to hold back from buying it.
To me, I'm sorry, but this is absolute rubbish. It was hard and dry, the packaging was flimsy. In the Middle Eastern grocery store, they wont let you swatch it, so as soon as I got home, I was hyped to try it. A second after I swatched it on my hands, I threw it in the bin. I wasn't going to put anything that hard and dry on my eyes. At first I thought maybe if I keep swatching and try to wear off the top layer of the product, the rest should be soft and smooth....Didnt happen, swatch 1/3 of the product and it was still the same hard and dry texture.
It was cheap, thank goodness, being a makeup fanatics I tend to always keep everything I buy regardless if its good or not, this was the first product ever that I threw out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 joujou22 on 8/27/2010 10:34:00 PM more reviews by joujou22

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

This product contains toxic LEAD. Lead can damage your nervous system and brain. Please don't use it's been banned by NYC HElat Department. http://nyc.gov/html/doh/html/pr2007/pr027-07.shtml

13 out of 22 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 froglet on 8/19/2010 4:00:00 PM more reviews by froglet

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I'm a bit bummed as I had high hopes for this product. I have yet to find a kohl which doesn't irritate and stays on my waterline instead of ending up underneath my eyes. Unfortunately, this kohl lasted on my waterline for about 30 minutes before migrating to the under eye area where I had to clean it up with a q-tip. It also caused my eyes to feel irritated and look slightly red. I'm disappointed to say this kohl isn't going to be the answer. I have also tried Colorstay eyeliner in black (which turned my eyes bloodshot) and Shahnaz Husain Herbal Kohl (which was greasy, smeared immediately, and irritated my eyes). I do have very sensitive eyes, but I'm not quite ready yet to give up yet. Until I find the next thing to try I am going to continue to stick with my homemade powder kohl (lampblack/Kerala style), which also smears some underneath the eye, but lasts all day.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Sim_Arik on 8/2/2010 10:41:00 PM more reviews by Sim_Arik

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I'm really hooked up on those kajal eyeliners now, I don't leave my house without underlining my waterline. I've tried two brands so far- Hashmi and Blue Heaven. Hashmi is less creamy, a bit more difficult to apply (I have to breath on it for a few seconds or hold it longer between the lids for it to soften a little) but the color is very nice dark black and it lasts longer then Blue Heaven. Would I repurchase? yes, if I don't find anything better. The possibility of it containing lead concerns me a bit. I'll try Shahnaz Hussein first and if it's not good get Hashmi. The price is excellent and it does nice job.

The reason why i took a lippie away is because it gives a tingling sensation to my eyes during the first few minutes after application.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 3niR on 5/14/2010 1:17:00 PM more reviews by 3niR

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I bought two of this product. It does not irritate my eyes like the Lakme one do and it is dirt cheap. It goes smoothly when applying which I really like. Sometimes, I just want to line my waterline and this works good.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Unlisted Brand products

More Eyeliner products