Revlon • Colorstay Pressed Powder with SoftFlex • Pressed Powders

rated 3.7(156 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.69%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 vapudlak on 6/7/2007 11:23:00 AM more reviews by vapudlak

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I have oily skin - what powder works - NONE. So decided to try the MAC Blot that everyone seems to have reviewed. I was not that impressed, but I thought it worked better than most (or it was just in my head). I decided to try this as a cheaper (maybe even possibly better) alternative. I used one day and was, again, not that impressed, but thought it worked ok. So I put MAC Blot on one side of my face today and this ColorStay powder on the other, and I see no difference. Conclusion: what powder works for oily skin - NONE. Is the ColorStay powder a decent cheaper alternative than the famed MAC Blot - YES.

9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Susan2148 on 7/7/2011 4:33:00 PM more reviews by Susan2148

Age: 44-55   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have used this product for years and haven't found anything that works as well on my super-oily skin, including HE products. This is the powder that stays in my purse for touch-ups, so the point of this review is: while I love the powder and will continue to use it, I hate, hate, hate the new packaging. Just hate it. The old packaging was sleek and was easy to whip out, touch up and toss back into purse. The new packaging has plastic divider so the sponge is stored separately from the product (I know it's more hygienic that way, but I don't care) and the new compact is twice the thickness of the old package. So, using the new package involves opening two compartments to get the sponge and access the powder. It's bulky and awkward to use. And, to beat it all, there's only half a mirror (there was a whole mirror in the old packaging). Revlon, are you listening? The one upside is that, for new users, they can see the actual product color through the half-moon opening in the top of the compact.

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* user24678 on 8/6/2008 12:37:00 AM more reviews by user24678

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I tried this powder today for the first time. I bought it in Fair. They didn't have any of the Light colour (the other lightest colour) in stock to compare but this looked pretty close to my colour anyways (and now I know it's right since actually trying it). I normally use the Colorstay liquid foundation in Ivory (my skin is on the dry side but I use it in Combination/Oily due to an ingredient allergy in the Normal/Dry formula). However, I just applied this over bare skin as I wanted something with lighter coverage for right now since my skin is so peely from starting Differin cream. You'd think powders would accentuate the peeling a lot more but I tried some Covergirl powder and it went on a lot easier than my liquid foundation, so I thought I'd go out and buy a better powder, and chose this one based on the fact I really like the liquid foundation. I think the reason it accentuates the peeling less is because there's less pigment to catch on the skin peelies, but I'm not really sure. I would have expected powder to be worse for this. Anyways, I like it so far. I haven't worn it for more than 4 hours or so, so I can't say exactly what the lasting power is like but it's held up pretty well so far. I think it might even look a bit better now than when I first applied it, since it's had a chance to set a bit. I'm curious how transfer-resistant it will prove to be. I can tell you that I was preparing some meat this evening for a barbeque and I had an itch on my cheek and couldn't scratch with my dirty hands, so I instinctively rubbed my cheek on my shoulder without thinking (black shirt) and was surprised to see that I didn't have a big powder mark left behind. I think it's less likely to transfer once it sets into your skin a bit, although probably not nearly as transfer-resistant as the liquid Colorstay (just because it's a powder). I applied it with a foundation brush (the type for liquid foundations, not powders, because I remembered how well my mineral loose powder applied with the liquid brushes) because the powder puff it comes with is kinda blah and makes the foundation go on looking kind of powdery. The foundation brush seems to sort of "push" it into the skin more so it doesn't look like it's hovering on your face, and you can build the coverage up a bit where needed. It's still very light coverage. It lessens redness but it wouldn't conceal actual blemishes. It does do what I needed it to, which is good. When applied with a proper brush, it doesn't look powdery or chalky, doesn't accentuate peeling areas as bad as my liquid foundation, gives me just a little bit of coverage and smoothes out my skin (giving a softer appearance with smaller pores and whatnot). I'll have to try it out for a longer period of time to confirm that I like it, and I'd like to try it over my Colorstay liquid just for curiosity's sake once my skin peeling slows down a bit. I don't really care to wear powder over my Colorstay liquid because I've grown to like the natural, semi-matte finish it has, but I'm just curious how the two would go together. I selected that I'd buy this again, but realistically I might not once my skin is back to normal just because of the cost of this stuff and the fact I don't care to use it over my liquid so I won't get much use out of it once my skin is back to normal. It's $16 CAD and probably will only last a few months (I'm assuming, like most powders), whereas the liquid is $15 CAD and lasts nearly a year... and I find that kind of odd. I bought this down in the US for just over $9 USD, which is a considerably better deal even after our current exchange rate. I'll adjust my review if needbe.
Also, I'd like to add: What's with all the complaints in how the packaging looks? I do grade products somewhat on packaging but only based on size/compact/bulkyness/wastefulness and its affect on the performance of the product, not what it looks like. And on that note, I like the packaging of this product. It's a nice relatively slim compact with a push-button locking closure so that it's less likely to pop open and make a mess of my purse. Seems pretty good to me!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 tjones2204 on 4/19/2007 4:36:00 AM more reviews by tjones2204

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Revlon Colorstay pressed powder is one of the best pressed powder compacts you can carry. I bought "fair" which is almost translucent. It goes on smooth and covers my fairly large pores without caking and lasts indefinitely. It resists sweat, humidity (I live in the South so this is a factor in the summer) and even water. I've worn it on water skiing trips to the lake and it stayed on all day even getting in and out of the water and in the sun. It's pretty much bulletproof! I use it over Bare Escentuals bare minerals foundation instead of the mineral veil when I need more all day staying power and it works wonderfully. It can also be used as a quick, light powder foundation if you're in a hurry but want some kind of coverage to even out your complexion. All in all it's the most versitile compact pressed powder I've used (and I've tried them all from dirt cheap Cornsilk to Sheseido and Chanel). This one is a clear winner. The compact is black, thin and sleek looking. It fits nicely into an evening purse or makeup pocket in your purse without taking up much room at all.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Diva99 on 6/18/2010 3:30:00 PM more reviews by Diva99

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I purchased this product as an alternative to my MAC Blot Powder (which keeps breaking apart, though is an excellent powder for controlling shine) Unfortunately, Revlon's Colorstay pressed powder does not last long in humidity or hot weather - it also seems to wear off in under two hours and the shine around my t-zone returns. I have tried many pressed powders and am disappointed with this one. I won't be repurchasing.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Jocky80 on 4/10/2009 11:50:00 AM more reviews by Jocky80

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This is a great powder for setting your makeup. Feels like it really fixes it on your face. I haven't tried the other colorstay products but I have heard thet they are good.
I use this powder with a powder brush for a light dusting or with the sponge for more setting or covering redness or to blot my face.
I don't know if it is just me but when I first put it on it also helps the foundation not to rub off as easly. Leaves a plastic-y feeling (plastic fantastic)to the face (when you touch it), think it has to do with the film builders that it contains that help to fix your makeup at place.
For oil and shine control this works as any other powder,leaves a natural matte finish to the face.
If you want a powder to set your makeup try this one. This doesn't last 16h on my oily face but it does prolong your makeup! I don't use this daily but when I do, I don't have any problems with big breakouts/clogged pores.
Talc, Dimethicone, Silica, Nylon 12, Polymethylmethacrylate, Zinc Stearate, Perfluorononyl Octyldodecyl Glycol Meadowfoamate, Polyethylene, Trimethysiloxysilicate, Cyclopentasiloxane, Lecithin, Cymbidium Grandiflorum Flower Extract, Serica (silk soie), Malva Sylvestris Extract (mallow), Lilium Candidum Bulb Extract (lily), Lactobacillus/Eridictyon Californicum Ferment Extract, Lauroyl Lysine, Alumina, Dimethiconol, Polydimethylsiloxane/Polymethysilesquioxane Copolymer, Phenoxyethanol, Methylparaben, Ethylparaben, Propylparaben, May Contain (+/-): Mica (CI77019), Iron Oxides (CI77491, CI77492, CI77499), Titanium Dioxide (CI77891), Bismuth Oxychloride (CI77163)

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Khaillah on 5/14/2010 3:01:00 PM more reviews by Khaillah

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I'm so disappointed with this powder....the DARKEST shade would only match a caucasian woman of medium-dark complexion. They clearly didnt make this line for African women, whether light, medium or dark. The shades are very limited...and it just looks and feels chalky on my face. I wish they would make the shade that goes with my RCS foundation. Sigh.

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* blackviolet on 9/10/2007 1:24:00 AM more reviews by blackviolet

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry   Hair: Black   Eyes: Hazel    

I have no idea how people get this to work for them. No matter what I do, it looks hideous. I wear this over Colorstay foundation, and it doesn't blend well at all, and looks choppy and blotchy, especially on my nose. I tried applying it alone, and it was the same. It looks awful no matter how I apply it, or how hard I try to blend it. It also accentuates any dryness I have.

Maybe this is only good for people with oily skin? My sister has oily skin, and this powder looks beautiful on her. It just doesn't work for my dry skin, even with moisturizer and sunblock.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ralix on 8/17/2007 4:04:00 PM more reviews by ralix

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I have FINALLY found my everyday pressed powder! I like MAC Studio Fix, but prefer it as a nighttime look. Revlon Color Stay looks smooth and finished without looking too cakey and make-upy. It's radiant without that glittery shimmery look some powders have. I don't care for those pad applicators most compacts come with, so I use a big brush and it goes on great. The powder is fine, and it feels silky going on. I am African American and the Medium Deep is perfect with my skin tone. I like it better than Prescriptives, L'Oreal True Match, Cover Girl Queen and Posner. So glad I read reviews for this product here!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* vickibetty on 2/23/2012 11:48:00 PM more reviews by vickibetty

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond, Kinky, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Update, while I love this powder it just doesn't stay on. I don't know how it can call itself long lasting. Apart from only having a 2 hour face life everything else is good.

Finally the replacement for Revlon's Colorstay Mineral Powder that I've been searching for! After Revlon changed their mineral powder to the Aqua formula, I was bereft and lost, with a shiny face. I tried all kinds of liquids and powders which left me brown/orange/cakey/nude/irridescent/oily/flaky or wrinkly. Then it dawned on me, the penny dropped. Why not just try the Colorstay pressed powder? So I did, and yay!! I use it alone on top of moisturiser and at last I have light, even, coverage which does not scare me when I catch sight of myself in the mirror. No pores, no shine. Yay! My work here is done.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Revlon products

More Pressed Powders products