Bare Escentuals • Rare Minerals • Treatments

rated 3.3(287 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.56%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 grrrlsetsfire on 11/27/2011 10:51:00 AM more reviews by grrrlsetsfire

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have very oily, large pored, acne prone skin. I started trying this because I wanted to switch to more natural products. I am happy with the results but this isn't a miracle product. I do see a reduction in redness and pore size in the morning but as I go throughout the day my face goes back to it's usual self. I think what I like most about this product is it makes my skin look half way decent before bedtime which is a big plus bc I hate the way my skin looks without makeup, especially right after the shower because it makes my face look even redder. So all in all I am not as embarrassed to be around my boyfriend without makeup on.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LuvsMakeup82 on 5/19/2011 12:50:00 PM more reviews by LuvsMakeup82

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Firstly, the puff was nice but got messed up after using it for a while, so I don't even bother with that. I use a soft brush and just make sure a little gets all over my face. I got mine in tan to match my skin tone, and my skin looks soft and airbrushed in the morning when I wake up after I applied it the night before. Maybe that happens with any powder, I don't know. I do like how my skin looks after using this and I haven't experienced anything negative. It does give your skin a softer look when you use it, but as for long-term effects I am undecided. Other than temporarily making your skin look softer and airbrushed, I can't say it's done anything extravagant or that noticeable. I don't feel the need to put this on, and most times I forget about it. So for that I wouldn't purchase it again. Who knows though, maybe it does make a difference, I just can't notice it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 nmicheli03 on 3/9/2011 3:01:00 AM more reviews by nmicheli03

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

This product is my saving grace. I bought this in a moment of desperation and a sale at Ulta and I'm so glad I did! I've been using this for about 3 months now and I can't thank myself enough for purchasing. It's cleared my face of all those icky little under the skin bumps, almost all my redness is gone, I can actually go makeup-free for the first time in years and when I do wear makeup (Bare Minerals) I use way, way less than I've ever needed before.

For all you trying or wanting to try this: it takes time to work!! Like anything else for your skin, it doesn't work overnight or in a month. I think it took about 4-6 weeks for me to see a dramatic improvement in my face. Unless you're allergic to the sulfur I highly recommend this product. I think it's 50% off right now too because the company is redesigning their RareMinerals line.

One thing I did have to do though was take off the annoying little puff and apply the product with a small brush. It works SO much better that way. Hopefully their new stuff will have a better designed applicator.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 mischa on 2/2/2011 2:25:00 PM more reviews by mischa

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I picked this up on sale. I liked the idea of being able to put this on before bed to help my otherwise disastrous skin look a little better, especially if I happened to be with someone I liked. ;) And if it actually does improve my skin... well... Bonus! I can't speak to how well it actually "treats" my skin because I am using so many serums and treatments prescribed by my esthetician already, I don't know which product is doing what. But it isn't making me break out, so that's a good thing.

Alas, I'm single again, so I nixed this as a nighttime "treatment," and I'm using this as a loose powder over tinted moisturizer instead. I wouldn't call it HG, but I do like it because it's not too heavy, nor does it leave me feeling like I have an oil slick on my face a couple hours after I apply it. I hate the other BE products for those very reasons. I also like that it's not super matte, which tends to really accentuate my acne and adult chicken pox scarring. However, it is pretty easy to overapply if you're not careful, but when that happens, I just spritz on some Mac Fix+ or the Rare Minerals Facial Mist.

The applicator is really idiotic. It seems really wasteful and unhygienic, so I threw out the sponge part and use it with a powder brush instead.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 dragon1916 on 12/23/2010 3:32:00 PM more reviews by dragon1916

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

I have super oily, acne prone, red skin. Because of the redness in my face, it makes the foundation I wear look like it's the wrong color. A lady at the BE boutique suggested the Rare Minerals night treatment to help with the redness. I'm SO glad it was on sale, otherwise I probably wouldn't have purchased this! After only a weeks use I can see it has drastically reduced my redness, and curbed my oiliness. I also have very large pores, but haven't really been noticing a whole lot of difference there. Maybe that will take a little longer. But, just to get rid of the redness in my face makes this totally worth the price, plus it hasn't broken me out. I love this stuff a LOT.

As to the packaging, I ripped off the puff and sponge so the product wouldn't be trapped in it and wasted, and just apply the powder with my own brush. Much easier.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sdlesniak on 8/18/2010 10:53:00 PM more reviews by sdlesniak

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

Just recently purchased this, as I was looking for something to wear overnight that would cover my redness and acne and not break me out. So far, I really enjoy the natural finish and the comfortable wear. My skin feels softer and looks more even-toned in the morning. And best of all no break outs yet!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 chrissygalpal on 7/13/2010 9:28:00 AM more reviews by chrissygalpal

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I have been useing the BE line for over 16 years and I for sure thought I would love this product. I was not happy about the price for such a small product but thought I would give it a try. I first noticed that the puff was rough on the skin. I gave it several days to get used to it but it still felt very rough to me. Not soft at all. And as for the product itself, I did not see a big change. In fact, it dried out my skin. I do unerstand that everyone reacts differently to products but for the price and the whole puff thing I was not going to use this product and further and returned it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 juliarchy on 7/10/2010 12:41:00 PM more reviews by juliarchy

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Love this product. It has been so beneficial to my skin in less than 2 weeks - I am excited to see what it does with more time.

I started looking for something to tame my crazy skin after I stopped taking BC. My skin had been perfect for so long and was flaring up with pimples, red spots, oily spots, you name it. I had heard good things about RareMinerals and figured I would give it a shot and it has truly done wonders.

I have read complaints about the applicator but I love getting into bed with clean and toned skin and rubbing the sponge all over my face. I did it one time in front of the mirror to see if it was applying evenly and it wasn't a problem. So like the instructions say, right before bed, I apply it all over. It doesn't cloud up for me unless I tap it on my face (which I do to cover little crevices by my nose and eyes tha are hard to get into.)

The smell doesn't bother me either - I did notice the sponge had a "chemical" odor when I first got it but that quickly went away with use. The price at $60 is expensive but you really don't use a lot, I imagine it will last me a long time.

I think on it's own it's not a miracle worker, but in conjuction with a proper skincare routine it is very very helpful. My skin is more oily now so my routine at night is to remove makeup with a cleansing oil, and then a toner and then the RareMinerals. I forgo a moisturizer because the RareMinerals is moisturizing in and of itself. I have not experienced any dry skin at all.

Love it!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 lizdehart on 6/29/2010 1:57:00 AM more reviews by lizdehart

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I would not buy this product again. The sulfur in my skin made my skin break out and extremely red.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 ckim0122 on 6/12/2010 11:21:00 PM more reviews by ckim0122

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

( light & clear )

I bought this product a second time despite the fact that I wasn't particularly thrilled with it the first time I bought it. The product claims to improve your skin etc etc but it didn't do much to improve my skin - but it didn't damage my skin either.

It was just a good product for extremely sheer coverage/evening out of the skin for when you go work out or make a quick trip to the store. Basically, it's a good product for subtle-subtle coverage when you don't want to put on a full face (but I'm sure anyone could probably find something like that for much cheaper). Or I guess it'd be good for wearing to bed as the ads suggest, not so much to replenish your skin as to perhaps discreetly prettify your face for whomever you're sharing your bed with (?) - haha.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Bare Escentuals products

More Treatments products