Clarins Instant Smooth Perfecting Touch

3.9

328 reviews

66% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

******NEW FORMULA: Cyclopentasiloxane, Dimethicone, Dimethicone/Vinyl Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Hydrogenated Vegetable Oil, Vinyl Dimethicone/Methicone Silsesquioxane CrosspolymerSilica, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Pentaerythrityl Tetraisostearate, Alcohol, Tocopheryl Acetate, Butylene Glycol, Silica Dimethyl Silylate, Acacia Senegal Gum, Phenoxyethanol, Caprylyl Glycol, Hexylene Glycol, Ci 77019/Mica, Ci 77491/Iron Oxide, Ci 77891/Titanium Dioxide, Ci 75470/Carmine.


on 8/15/2015 5:23:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Best under makeup primer for my over 50 dry skin, period. Best skin perfector to use when I don't care to wear additional makeup, period.
Side by side (using Benefit THE PORE fessional on one side of my face over a basic moisturizer & Clarins Instant Smooth Perfecting Touch on the other half)
Clarins
-Completely blurs imperfections
-Completely fills in fine lines & wrinkles & even some slightly deeper ones/blurring out the rest
-Completely Obliterates enlarged pores, freckles/age spots
-Blurs out/smoooths over and gives a look of perfection to that dry/loose (face it "turkey waddle' area under my chin and on the upper part of my neck.

It's heavy duty Dimethicone with a definite puttly like 'skin" tone that PERFECTLY blends into my own light skin tone.

Given the above, I'm fairly certain one would not be as happy with the results if one had darker skin or oily or combination skin.

Please bear in mind that I have quite light but very dry over 50 skin.

Now, when I use the Clarins with a BB Cream over it (or Foundation), I am applying both the Clarins and the BB cream (or Foundation) with a Foundation brush using a rapid tapping motion. This generally gives me flawless coverage for several hours (no powder, I use blotting paper if absolutely necessary, it usually isn't)

I then apply a few dots of cream blusher which are also rapidly tapped on with a foundation brush.

If I am wearing a BB cream or foundation, I use one with an SPF of 25 or greater. If I am going without extra coverage, then I also pat on a spf (using a foundation brush)

I now have flawless coverage good for several hours.

P.S....it looks good..in fact perfect...but it is untouchable except with light tapping motions and a foundations brush...heavy dimethicone will slide like a California mud slide if you rub it.
On days when I don't feel I need "perfect" coverage, I will go for something lighter but still good, like my Benefit the PORE fessional.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.



on 6/22/2015 8:24:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

The product itself is excellent. It's a silicone-based primer, so works well as expected.
It's a thick cream and a little goes a long way.

Silicone is cheap, so this is very over priced for what it is.
It is stable, but the jar does open up for contamination.


on 2/26/2015 4:31:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Great primer for fine lines and under eyes. I find that primers often dry out my skin. This primer moisturizer and smooths my fine lines as it primes.
It might be too slippery to use on your whole face. I just use under eyes, forehead and nose.
I look younger when I wear it.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Love this product! covers imperfertions and smooths skin texture. Super good if you wanna cover acne scars

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/21/2014 3:44:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

A friend of mine loves this product and convinced me to buy it. I liked it, and it definitely made my face look smoother when i applied it. The only problem was, once i put foundation over it...I didn't like the way it looked. It made my skin look a less toned. I think this product is great if you don't wear makeup and are looking for something to help your pores look smaller and skin smoother... But its not that good as a primer for makeup. MIGHT buy again but still not 100% convinced of its magic. I had been using laura mercier primer before makeup and think it did a much better job.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/19/2014 9:04:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I have had a love hate relationship with this primer. I bought this at about 25 years old when my face was much more oily. It slid and wasn't something I liked. Fast forward and now I'm 32. My skin is much more normal but I have those under eye smile lines. I dab a little teeny tiny under my eye and spread. Instant line filler. Hallelujah! It still has too much slip to go around my nose where I get the most oily. But I love this product now... where as in my 20s I was more perplexed by it. My concealer easily glides over top and stays all day. I have even forgetten to put it on before makeup and lightly dabbed it over lines afterwards. Works wonderfully.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 8/14/2014 12:29:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

I bought this product b/c I thought my wedding makeup artist used this on me, but I had the wrong product. Being a primer/makeup base I thought I would get use out of it anyway and so I kept it.

I was disappointed when I opened the jar, because the product strongly resembles the L'Oreal Studio Secrets Magic Perfecting Base, which I don't care for. Thus far, however, Instant Smooth doesn't seem to break me out the way the L'Oreal base did. I use it around my eyes where I have fine lines; and between/above my eyebrows, on my nose and on either side of my nose where my pores are most visible. I don't notice a smell and the texture is very smooth if a little slippery/silicone-y. It goes on very easily and I do use the spatula to get the product to my hands, rather than digging my fingers into the jar each time I use it.

As a makeup base this works fine in that it doesn't ball up under my liquid foundation. However, by the end of the day it does go a little bit oily on my forehead, and perhaps the foundation slips a little.

I like this product well enough and will continue to use it, but I really do prefer the Benefit POREfessional - it stays more matte on me during the day plus it seems to blur more effectively than the Instant Smooth.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 7/29/2014 2:40:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I love all things clarins and I'm the first to give a positive review but really didn't like this primer. Once my foundation was on ( which was clarins foundation also) my nose and chin foundation slipped off. Looked awful. Love clarins but won't be buying this I'm afraid! I would advise anyone to ask to try before buy!


on 5/27/2014 12:38:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I use this primer to blur my pores, and it works really well. It has a thick texture, so I use it only on the pores area. For the rest of my face I use a lighter primer of other brand.
At first, I used to put my regular primer all over my face, and then the Clarins primer on my pores. But it didn't work well. My liquid foundation didn't blend very well, and my cheeks looked cakey. After a few times I changed the order: First I apply the Clarins primer, and then my regular primer. Now it works really amazing.
This is a good primer for covering pores and wrinkles only! but you'll have to find the best way to use it yourself. I think that with powder foundations it's ok to use this primer alone, but with liquid foundations it's necessary to put a light primer over the clarins primer, otherwise it won't blend well.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/5/2014 5:44:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I've been buying this for years - it really works for under eyes! It doesn't seem to work anywhere else though, and I've tried.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Popular Primer/ Correctors


Back to Top