Laura Mercier • Foundation Primer Oil -Free • Primer/ Corrector

rated 2.9(191 reviews)

Average Rating.2.9
Would buy this product again.46%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 lobenchis on 10/12/2014 5:51:00 PM more reviews by lobenchis

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I'm surprised that there are so many negative reviews for this product given how well it's worked for me so far.

I have sensitive combination skin which is prone to breakouts but is dry/dehydrated at the same time so it's often quite difficult to find a product that works for me. I've been using the LM oil free TM for a couple of years now in porcelain but I've found that it often oxydizes on my skin throughout the day so I've been looking for a good primer to apply beforehand for a while now.

I got a sample of the plain LM primer a few months ago (which lasted for like 2 weeks of using it nearly everyday which is realy good considering how small those bottles are) when I last got a TM and I found that it worked well for my skin so decided to buy it afterwards.

I have now been using the oil free primer for about 3 weeks and I'm really really happy with it. As far as I can tell it hasn't caused any breakouts and has really helped with the TM which looks better and more even on my skin and no longer oxydizes which is great. I've also used it with my NARS sheer glow foundation and it looks absolutely amazing so I will definitely buy this again.

The only downside is that it has no spf hence why I only gave it 4 lippies. This isn't a huge problem when I use it with the LM TM (which has spf 25 I believe) but as NARS sheer glow has no spf I'll have to look at buying another primer just to use with that. I'll update the review in a couple months once I've used it more etc but so far so good.

Overall impression: Very happy!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tinkerrbelle on 9/19/2014 12:40:00 AM more reviews by tinkerrbelle

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This beautifully packaged small tube of over-priced illuminating moisturiser is advertised as "oil-free" but its not "fat-free". If you're prone to clogged pores avoid. The first ingredient after water is Ethylhexyl Palmitate which is highly comedogenic and causes blackheads and breakouts!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kitty55 on 9/18/2014 3:19:00 PM more reviews by kitty55

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is expensive, but you get a lot of acne-causing cream for your $$. I used this for 2 weeks before realizing it was the cause of the WORST cystic acne outbreak I have ever gotten from any cosmetic! Says right on the box, " for acne-prone, sensitive skin." I don't think so. This LM primer has Ethylhexyl Palmitate as the SECOND ingredient. This is known to cause acne. Surprised Laura would put this in her products. It's in her Loose Setting Powder also!?
I have tried SO many primers: Too Faced primed and poreless, Hourglass mineral veil, Bare Minerals prime time oil control, Lancome Base Pro-oil free, Neutrogena shine control (which dried out my face horribly), and countless others. My hands down favorite is Smashbox Photo Finish Light- great finish, foundation lasts, no breakouts..

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* materialface on 9/2/2014 3:53:00 PM more reviews by materialface

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I'm torn. I haved loved Laura Mercier's makeup for years now but I don't think this product is a winner for me. I've tried the primer for mineral foundation but I didn't see it at Sephora when I went so I believe its discontinued, but not positive

con's:
- cost of $40 CAD but all of her foundations are in the $42-50 range so it makes sense
- I have used it for 4 days straight, and today being the 4th day, I was extremely oily before noon, patted my face with a tissue, then around 1:30 pm, I was even oilier so I patted my face again and put some powder. (note: i used my Garnier BB cream. When I use my Laura mineral powder, I'm not AS oily)
- doesn't claim and doesn't reduce the size of my pores. Unless you vigorously spread the primer into your pores so they look somewhat gone, they will still be visible.


pro's:
- packaging is on point. its a squeeze tube and there is no excess or leakage whatsoever.
- it is oil-free so it doesn't irritate any breakouts (fresh or healing) that you may have.
- it creates a very smooth surface in prep for your foundation. I had no streaks or patches along my jaw line when I would put my bronzer.

I'm going to give the product 3 more days for a full 7-day trial until I decide I have to return this. I might just have to change my actual foundation/BB cream, but I really don't want to switch and spend more money just so this primer will work.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 echoluster on 8/29/2014 10:37:00 AM more reviews by echoluster

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I let the SA talk me into this along with the Oil-Free Supreme Foundation.

To be honest, I don't think this does anything for me. But, it doesn't hurt either! It feels nice on my skin but doesn't make an appreciable difference in my makeup application or longevity.

I don't normally use primer and I don't ever really feel the need to. Being that this is fairly expensive for a product that doesn't really do anything for me, I won't be buying it again. Good moisturizer (Eucerin) is enough to create a nice canvas on my fair combination skin with large pores on and around the nose.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 LABeautyGal on 7/19/2014 2:24:00 AM more reviews by LABeautyGal

Age: Unknown   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Ugh, do not let the SA talk you into this. I blindly let a sales girl talk me into this without consulting MUA first. This does nothing to control oil and nothing to conceal pores. My skin was oilier than usual and it did not make my make up stick. Definitely just an OK product at best. And overpriced.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 AliceBetts on 5/13/2014 8:23:00 AM more reviews by AliceBetts

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I found this product awful! What a waste of money.... I knew that I should've gotten the radiance primer instead but I was going through a but of a shiny phase and thought this would help combat it but boy was I wrong. First of all the smell is horrible chemically and off-putting. It felt vey heavy when I applied it and seemed to highlight instead of correct all of my flaws it also dried out my skin and made me look flakey. I only used it once and it's still sitting in the bottom of my makeup draw because I don't have the heart to throw it out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 LilyLil on 3/18/2014 10:23:00 PM more reviews by LilyLil

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I continue to buy this product over and over again. YES, foundation primer makes a difference! This one over your regular daily moisturizer creates your canvas. You will not need as much foundation (saves $$) and it looks smoother and more even and matte yet not dry. I have to go to another brand for foundation (Laura M is too dark for me) but I am loyal to her primer.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 ladyc74 on 3/15/2014 5:08:00 AM more reviews by ladyc74

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Why oh why did I get sucked into buying this again?! I knew from previous experience, years ago, that it doesn't work for me. But I thought that now I'm in my late 30s, and my skin is *slightly* less oily, it might be better. Not so. Within an hour my skin felt so greasy and I spent the whole day feeling as though I really needed to wash my face. Ugh. I know it's oil-free, but in my experience that does not necesarily mean a product will work for oily skin. I can't see that it makes any difference to how my foundation looks, either. Dreadful stuff. i don't get the hype. All I can think is that it must work well on normal skins. To be honest, despite all the pushing of primers, I think if you have oily skin it's best to put on as few products as possible.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ashleymayf on 3/4/2014 9:00:00 AM more reviews by ashleymayf

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Such an amazing primer! I never really had much luck with primers preventing oils and shine peeking through but this one did. It doesn't have that silicone feel that a lot of mattifying primers have, though this means it also won't do anything special to hide pores. I found that it soaked into my skin really fast and dried to a nice natural matte finish. I used this under my Laura Mercier silk creme foundation and the two together are silky heaven - without the risk of shine. Highly recommend for those with oily to moderately oily skin (not sure how it would hold up on super oily skin).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Laura Mercier products

More Primer/ Corrector products