Laura Mercier Foundation Primer Oil -Free

2.9

200 reviews

46% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Water (Aqua), Ethylhexyl Palmitate, Stearic Acid, Isodecyl Isononanoate, Glycerin, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, C20-22 Alkyl Phosphate, C22-20 Alcohols, Squalane, Butylene Glycol, Cetyl Esters, Phenoxyethanol, Boron Nitride, Silica, Cetearyl Alcohol, Sodium Hydroxide, Allantoin Tocopherol Acetate, Ascorbyl Palmitate, Hamaelis Viginiana (Witch Hazel) Extract, Cucumis sativus (Cucumber) Fruit Extract, Cymbopogon Schoenanthus Extract, Camellia Sinensis Leaf Extract, Hydroxyethylcellulose, Retinyl Palmitate, Dimethicone, Polyamino Sugar Condesate, Hydroxyethyl Acrylate/Sodium Acryloyldimethyl Taurate Copolymer, Chlorphensin, Benzoic Acid, Polysorbate 60, Polymethyl Methacrylate, Saccharomyces/Xylium Black Tea Ferment, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Ethylparaben, Butylparaben, Isobutylparaben, Potassium Sorbate, Green 5 (CI 61570), Yellow 5 (CI 19140).


Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Absolutely terrible, did nothing at all - an extra step and it smells disgusting. Do not buy.



on 5/25/2015 8:12:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This primer is mediocre. I don't have anything amazing to say about it nor do I have anything bad. It didn't break me out but it also didn't keep me very matte during the day. My makeup didn't slide around my face but it ended up fading during the day. And it didn't do anything in terms of blurring my pores but it didn't enlarge them. I like for the price, you get a lot of product. And since it has more of a watery consistency, I can wear it with anything in my makeup collection. I'm not going to buy it again but I might try some of the other ones in her line because the consistency is pretty good. Also it doesn't accentuate any of my dry areas even though it is oil-free. So all in all, not a repurchase for me but it isn't exactly terrible. I say try it out if you want but don't expect a life changing experience with this primer.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/25/2015 5:02:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Absoulute rubbish i have to say this does nothing for lasting power lasts 3-4 hours at the most i still shine and it really had no benefit will not ne getting this again


on 4/13/2015 2:03:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

Came complimentary with a magazine in a 30ml tube. I apply it after my moisturizer, need to wait for a few minutes so the product settles nicely and evenly on the face. Thereafter I apply sunblock in liquid form. Application of liquid sunblock makes no difference whether primer is being used or not. Thus I imagine if applying liquid foundation there would be no difference as well, I am not able to make a comparison as I rarely use foundation these days. The real difference the primer makes is when I set my sunblock with powder. I use Johnson & Johnson baby power, but I would think foundation powder would work. The powder adheres flawlessly, and looks seamless.

Base line- I would think this primer is more suited for a foundation power as opposed to liquid, does nothing to make liquid applies better on the skin.


How it holds up? Keeps the skin looking flawless for four to five hours. When face gets oily, can blot skin with tissue paper and the makeup would still look undisturbed and good, makeup is not dissolved by oil on the face. When I touch up, makeup does not turn cakey like it normally does. Makeup stays good for eight hours before is dissolve by oil on the face. However one thing to note is it does not control face oiliness, only makes makeup lasts longer and applying touch ups more seamless.


I probably wouldn't purchase it in full size at the retail price, however if I can get a good discount on the product I wouldn't mind purchasing. I have bought additional copies of the magazines to get the complimentary 30 ml tubes. At USD4 per copy I think is a good deal.


on 4/6/2015 6:25:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Pros:
- feels hydrating on the skin
- packaging is handy
- didn't break out

Cons:
- wore this with the laura mercer tinted moisturiser and it still slides off my face
- wore this with other foundations and it was average, foundations do rub off at certain areas
- expensive (there are better ones on the market)
- doesn't control oil production (oily after 3-4 hours?)

Overall, average. Would not repurchase tho.


on 2/22/2015 1:34:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

This takes forever to set? It feels tacky for so long no matter what I do, and obviously foundation+tacky primer=terrible look


Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

So I've been searching for the best primer for my very oily skin. I have told that i should use products that are oil free so i tried our Laura Mercier's oil free primer and It worked really well with my face. I didnt get any breakouts or some sort of problems. I have also read some bad reviews about this but I swear this works out quite well for my face.


on 11/7/2014 12:52:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This worked really well for me.
I have sensitive skin that is combination (oily in the summer). No problems, no break-outs.
Pretty expensive though, so if I can find something else that works, I usually will.


on 11/6/2014 3:23:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

hi this product was stated as really good, but i had a DIFFERENT experience. one i find that it does not go on smooth like using bareminerals primer... which i should have never changed. and it gave me acne and i never had this problem. I had to stop it entirely, because it was liken to an allergic reaction, because the ones on my forehead would itch and so to my cheeks.

I would not recommend it at all. some have the luck and others don't


on 10/30/2014 10:25:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This primer broke me out terribly. I had the worst acne including paonful cystic since my teens. I stopped using and my skin cleared up almost immediately. Returned and went back to hourglass.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top