Laura Mercier Foundation Primer Oil -Free

2.9

195 reviews

46% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Water (Aqua), Ethylhexyl Palmitate, Stearic Acid, Isodecyl Isononanoate, Glycerin, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, C20-22 Alkyl Phosphate, C22-20 Alcohols, Squalane, Butylene Glycol, Cetyl Esters, Phenoxyethanol, Boron Nitride, Silica, Cetearyl Alcohol, Sodium Hydroxide, Allantoin Tocopherol Acetate, Ascorbyl Palmitate, Hamaelis Viginiana (Witch Hazel) Extract, Cucumis sativus (Cucumber) Fruit Extract, Cymbopogon Schoenanthus Extract, Camellia Sinensis Leaf Extract, Hydroxyethylcellulose, Retinyl Palmitate, Dimethicone, Polyamino Sugar Condesate, Hydroxyethyl Acrylate/Sodium Acryloyldimethyl Taurate Copolymer, Chlorphensin, Benzoic Acid, Polysorbate 60, Polymethyl Methacrylate, Saccharomyces/Xylium Black Tea Ferment, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Ethylparaben, Butylparaben, Isobutylparaben, Potassium Sorbate, Green 5 (CI 61570), Yellow 5 (CI 19140).


on 2/22/2015 1:34:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

This takes forever to set? It feels tacky for so long no matter what I do, and obviously foundation+tacky primer=terrible look



Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

So I've been searching for the best primer for my very oily skin. I have told that i should use products that are oil free so i tried our Laura Mercier's oil free primer and It worked really well with my face. I didnt get any breakouts or some sort of problems. I have also read some bad reviews about this but I swear this works out quite well for my face.


on 11/7/2014 12:52:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This worked really well for me.
I have sensitive skin that is combination (oily in the summer). No problems, no break-outs.
Pretty expensive though, so if I can find something else that works, I usually will.


on 11/6/2014 3:23:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

hi this product was stated as really good, but i had a DIFFERENT experience. one i find that it does not go on smooth like using bareminerals primer... which i should have never changed. and it gave me acne and i never had this problem. I had to stop it entirely, because it was liken to an allergic reaction, because the ones on my forehead would itch and so to my cheeks.

I would not recommend it at all. some have the luck and others don't


on 10/30/2014 10:25:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This primer broke me out terribly. I had the worst acne including paonful cystic since my teens. I stopped using and my skin cleared up almost immediately. Returned and went back to hourglass.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/12/2014 5:51:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I'm surprised that there are so many negative reviews for this product given how well it's worked for me so far.

I have sensitive combination skin which is prone to breakouts but is dry/dehydrated at the same time so it's often quite difficult to find a product that works for me. I've been using the LM oil free TM for a couple of years now in porcelain but I've found that it often oxydizes on my skin throughout the day so I've been looking for a good primer to apply beforehand for a while now.

I got a sample of the plain LM primer a few months ago (which lasted for like 2 weeks of using it nearly everyday which is realy good considering how small those bottles are) when I last got a TM and I found that it worked well for my skin so decided to buy it afterwards.

I have now been using the oil free primer for about 3 weeks and I'm really really happy with it. As far as I can tell it hasn't caused any breakouts and has really helped with the TM which looks better and more even on my skin and no longer oxydizes which is great. I've also used it with my NARS sheer glow foundation and it looks absolutely amazing so I will definitely buy this again.

The only downside is that it has no spf hence why I only gave it 4 lippies. This isn't a huge problem when I use it with the LM TM (which has spf 25 I believe) but as NARS sheer glow has no spf I'll have to look at buying another primer just to use with that. I'll update the review in a couple months once I've used it more etc but so far so good.

Overall impression: Very happy!


on 9/19/2014 12:40:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Other, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This beautifully packaged small tube of over-priced illuminating moisturiser is advertised as "oil-free" but its not "fat-free". If you're prone to clogged pores avoid. The first ingredient after water is Ethylhexyl Palmitate which is highly comedogenic and causes blackheads and breakouts!!


on 9/18/2014 3:19:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Other, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This is expensive, but you get a lot of acne-causing cream for your $$. I used this for 2 weeks before realizing it was the cause of the WORST cystic acne outbreak I have ever gotten from any cosmetic! Says right on the box, " for acne-prone, sensitive skin." I don't think so. This LM primer has Ethylhexyl Palmitate as the SECOND ingredient. This is known to cause acne. Surprised Laura would put this in her products. It's in her Loose Setting Powder also!?
I have tried SO many primers: Too Faced primed and poreless, Hourglass mineral veil, Bare Minerals prime time oil control, Lancome Base Pro-oil free, Neutrogena shine control (which dried out my face horribly), and countless others. My hands down favorite is Smashbox Photo Finish Light- great finish, foundation lasts, no breakouts..


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I'm torn. I haved loved Laura Mercier's makeup for years now but I don't think this product is a winner for me. I've tried the primer for mineral foundation but I didn't see it at Sephora when I went so I believe its discontinued, but not positive

con's:
- cost of $40 CAD but all of her foundations are in the $42-50 range so it makes sense
- I have used it for 4 days straight, and today being the 4th day, I was extremely oily before noon, patted my face with a tissue, then around 1:30 pm, I was even oilier so I patted my face again and put some powder. (note: i used my Garnier BB cream. When I use my Laura mineral powder, I'm not AS oily)
- doesn't claim and doesn't reduce the size of my pores. Unless you vigorously spread the primer into your pores so they look somewhat gone, they will still be visible.


pro's:
- packaging is on point. its a squeeze tube and there is no excess or leakage whatsoever.
- it is oil-free so it doesn't irritate any breakouts (fresh or healing) that you may have.
- it creates a very smooth surface in prep for your foundation. I had no streaks or patches along my jaw line when I would put my bronzer.

I'm going to give the product 3 more days for a full 7-day trial until I decide I have to return this. I might just have to change my actual foundation/BB cream, but I really don't want to switch and spend more money just so this primer will work.


on 8/29/2014 10:37:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I let the SA talk me into this along with the Oil-Free Supreme Foundation.

To be honest, I don't think this does anything for me. But, it doesn't hurt either! It feels nice on my skin but doesn't make an appreciable difference in my makeup application or longevity.

I don't normally use primer and I don't ever really feel the need to. Being that this is fairly expensive for a product that doesn't really do anything for me, I won't be buying it again. Good moisturizer (Eucerin) is enough to create a nice canvas on my fair combination skin with large pores on and around the nose.


Popular Primer/ Correctors


Back to Top