Revlon • ColorStay Blemish Concealer with Soft Flex • Concealers

rated 3.6(233 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.66%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 MeganDan on 10/28/2014 2:07:00 AM more reviews by MeganDan

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I love the classic stick, glides on softly and covers like crazy. I've tried a lot of high end foundations but this seems to compare to them all. Does exactly what it's suppose to, covers all blemishes and stays on all day. The price is super cheap and you can easy throw it in your purse and go. Can't live without it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 wildxjasmine on 10/7/2014 11:57:00 AM more reviews by wildxjasmine

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

this is my number 1 concealer. i have purchased this nearly 4/5 tubes and i am absolutely in love with it.
it is very creamy and can be worn just like that if i am out for an hour or less and dont feel like wearing make up. this baby covered most of my blemishes and even red/dark blemish spots. however, the key here is how you applied it as it can be smudgy if you dont know the right step to apply it. i usually applied this with a concealer brush, sheerly,before i applied my foundation, then when i applied my foundation it is crucial to stipple it ( best with beauty blender, sponge) and not brush it away as it will make the concealer blend with the foundation hence removing the concealer. after that, i will apply this again to cover any visible spots and it stays a long time.
even if you get the shades wrong, it doesnt really matter since it works really well with foundation. this works very well to achieve dewy look. and remember to stipple!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Xenaa on 7/31/2014 9:55:00 AM more reviews by Xenaa

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Great concealer but even though it is drugstore, it is for 25 AUD which is expensive.

Pros:
-Covers everything perfectly e.g under eye, pimples, discoloration etc
-Doesn't crease
-Very long lasting
-Natural looking

Cons:
-Expensive

Would look for a cheaper substitute next time.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 libbyfranc on 7/25/2014 11:09:00 AM more reviews by libbyfranc

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

For about 3 years this was my HG concealer. I think this may be a discontinued product, because I'm only able to find it online now- I never see it in stores anymore and haven't for about the last year or so (They have a very similar colorstay concealer in stores, but it is not the one with salicylic acid and is a different formula and shade). I have recently found a new product for my skin that I like much better and have switched to that (I was tired of hunting down this concealer and wanted something more readily available, lol). This concealer was about $8 at Target when it was available, but I have found it online as low as $4 and as high as $12, lol.

I have very acne prone skin- finding a concealer/foundation/powder/etc that does not break me out is a challenge, and I go through a lot of wasted products before finding one that works (my foundation/concealer graveyard looks like the old jewish cemetary in Prague XD lol). I also go through months of breakouts before finding a good fit (yay -_- lol). So when I found this concealer a few years ago, I was very happy because it was the only one I had found at the time that did not break me out at all. :) My skin loves salicylic acid, so I can really only use products that have that ingredient in it (otherwise I break out). The no-breakout factor was really what made this my HG concealer, though it did not perform as well as other concealers I've used (that sadly broke me out).

The thing I loved most about this product was that it did actually help my acne (and my skin in general) while wearing it. :) It helped acne to heal and shrink, and for cystic acne to dry up and peel off like a scab (i know, that's gross, lol). It never caused more acne for me. It did not feel oily, either- actually, this makeup felt dry. It also matched my pale skin tone very well (not 100% perfect, but darn near it, lol. I used the Fair shade). I liked to use this concealer pretty much as my foundation (because less makeup= more natural looking skin, and foundation looks too heavy and fake). I would dot the acne spots and blend in, and then make small dots all over and blend in for overall coverage, with a beauty blender sponge (if done well, it looked very soft). Despite that, this was not a lightweight feeling- it felt a little tight on the face, and I definitely knew I had makeup on, lol. (at the end of the day when i got home, the first thing I wanted to do was wipe my suffocating makeup off, :D). I would set it with the colorstay pressed powder in fair and be on my way. :P I liked the little doe foot applicater, and loved the smell, lol (it had a clean, makeup-y smell). This product could be drying (due to the acid) if skin was not properly moisturized and exfoliated daily. (so long as I did those things, it was fine :P). I would say coverage was pretty decent for a concealer- almost full coverage (some darker acne scars would still show through a tiny bit despite best efforts to conceal them).

Some not so great things about this product- this makeup was on the dry side, so it had a tendency to look cakey, especially if you applied too much. It also sometimes made my pores/scars more noticeable if applied too heavily (lightness was the key). It was really important to exfoliate your skin and moisturize before using this stuff, otherwise it REALLY highlights skin flaking. :( It did start to sink into fine lines and melt a bit by the end of the day (mostly on and around my nose), so I would say with a powder this stuff lasts about 5-6 hours before starting to melt. But the biggest frustration with the product (and a big reason I started looking for something else) was this- this makeup dries very quickly once it's applied, which means you have to blend fast. If you did not blend fast enough, or you went back to give some spots some extra coverage, it would began to remove the makeup, leaving a noticeable bare patch. The only way to fix this was to completely remove ALL of the makeup on your face, and start over from square 1. This was extremely frustrating, and caused me to be late to places several times because I had to completely reapply my makeup. :( So that was the one thing I hated most about this product that made me want something else :D lol. Also, because the makeup was so dry, it took a little scrubbing to remove it completely from your face at the end of the day. It was VERY important to moisturize after removal to avoid skin flaking and drying.

All in all, I give this concealer 3 lippies. Like I said, I have since found a product that I like more (Maybelline's Dream Pure BB Cream), but I will keep the remainder of my last tube as a backup or for spots on my face that need a little extra coverage here and there. Not a terrible concealer (certainly not the worst I've used!), but not the best, either. Despite that I found something better for me, I am still a little disappointed that this is possibly discontinued.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 eclecticgrl on 3/5/2014 7:26:00 PM more reviews by eclecticgrl

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly   Eyes: Brown    

I need high coverage concealers because most days, I skip the foundation. All of my acne tends to leave hyperpigmentation marks on my face, so I need heavy duty concealer to hide them. This concealer is definitely high coverage. It does not break me out and even with my dry skin, doesn't cause flakiness. Underneath my eyes, I notice subtle creasing. The main reason I would not repurchase is because I have the glamoflauge concealer by hard candy ($5 at walmart) which has a similar formulation and more or less the same coverage. It is a little harder to blend in but blends well with a brush. It also wears a little faster than the revlon colorstay but it comes with almost 4 times the product. If you are on a budget, check out the hard candy concealer, but keep in mind that there are only 3 or 4 shades.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 swaggatronA on 3/5/2014 6:36:00 AM more reviews by swaggatronA

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Black    

I usually just dab a blob onto my spot and blend with fingers. Really easy to blend and good coverage, smooths on wonderfully on sunscreen and foundation. However, if what i wanted to conceal happened to be at a flakey stage, it would make it extra dry and emphasises the acne spot instead. So obviously not recommended for dry skin. But otherwise a fantastic daily acne-hiding concealer!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 erikanicole76 on 1/10/2014 6:12:00 PM more reviews by erikanicole76

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

Again, this is another product that is ABSOLUTELY amazing and I am shocked at some of the reviews.

This is the first drugstore concealer that actually worked for me. I have tried so many different brands, treatments, meds, etc and nothing at all compares to what this stuff does. It truly lives up to its name and does exactly what it claims.

I have oily skin, and when I am stressed out, I pick my face. yes totally disgusting I know, I havent been doing it much lately, but Im trying to give you an idea of the acne scars, dark spots on my face :(

I purchased this item last year as they were on clearance at my local drugstore and I bought the last three they had (I mean seriously, I didnt need three, but hey they were on sale, LOL)..

I originally used them as concealer under my eyes, and it worked WONDERS for my dark circles.. which I no longer have them anymore, but that is a totally different review... I decided if the concealer worked that well on my dark circles, why not use it on my blemishes, I mean thats what it says on the tube anyway so why not give it a shot... THANK GOD that I did! this stuff covers up freckles, dark spots, acne spots, you name it!! It doesnt clog my pores either. I use it on my chin area, cheek area, put a couple dabs on my temples where I have blemishes, and VOILA .. GONE! No spots what so ever! I powder my face with MAC's NC42 foundation powder and I spray some Fix+ and my face looks absolutely flawless..

I would highly recommend this to anyone who is trying to cover up dark spots or acne spots without paying a fortune for product. This does the trick and I am totally going to purchase more when I run out!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pickles945 on 1/3/2014 8:21:00 AM more reviews by pickles945

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I love this concealer. I use it on my undereye and there is great coverage without any of the creasing that I found with creamier concealers such as the Bobbi Brown corrector. I spread the amount of concealer that comes out on the applicator across both under eye areas, and this provides the perfect amount. I spread it out with my ring finger and set it with a little MAC mineralize skinfinish natural powder on the Real Techniques setting brush.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* KatWKSF on 10/16/2013 5:22:00 PM more reviews by KatWKSF

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I really love this concealer. I use it two ways: to cover blemishes and as a "foundation" of sorts. I dab the SMALLEST amount on blemishes first. Then I dab VERY SMALL dots on my chin, upper lip, & nose, where I have the most discoloration (from old blemishes) and the most chance of breaking out again. I then blend the dabs on blemishes with a Q-tip and the dabs on those other 3 areas with my pinky. I then dust with Neutrogena's Skin Clearing Powder (with my largest brush). Blemishes and discoloration are concealed, and hopefully, I am also doing a little double-duty to kill the acne I have & prevent more from happening. I do not use any other kind of "foundation." I have not and will not try this on my dark undereye circles - that skin is dry & thin enough, why on earth would I (or anyone else) use a product with salicylic acid on that area? I have other concealers for that. This one is perfect for what I'm using it for & I will definitely keep buying it. The price is right (much lower than department store brands) and the coloration is perfect & long-lasting.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* PALEGRE3N on 9/26/2013 11:04:00 PM more reviews by PALEGRE3N

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This is a decent drugstore concealer for blemishes (its quite matte, it would probably be a little too drying and heavy around my eyes) but I hate how scented it is, it smells like a cheap old lady perfume

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Revlon products

More Concealers products