John Frieda Luminous Color Glaze for Chestnut to Espresso Brunettes

3.3

65 reviews

58% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.2

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Water , Propylene Carbonate , Alcohol Denat , Citric Acid , Cyclopentasiloxane , Xanthan Gum , Dimethiconol , Malic Acid , Propylene Glycol , Pearl Powder , Theobroma Cacao ExtractCocoa , Sodium Hydroxide , Methylchloroisothiazolinone , Methylisothiazolinone , Fragrance , Iron Oxides , Mica , Titanium Dioxide , Orange 4 , Yellow 10 , Ext. Violet 2


on 5/12/2011 9:48:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Black

I was so excited to try this when I bought the Chestnut to Espresso glaze. However, it did not live up to expectations.


Not sure what specific ingredient is at fault, but my scalp burned like crazy while I had the product on and then continued to itch for days afterwards. After three separate attempts, I took it back for a refund.


As others have noted, it stains both hands and scalp. The hands are easy to clean with soap, but the scalp staining requires a shampoo to be rid of it.


This product does work in staining the hair and can be helpful for camoflauging grays or counteracting hair dye fade. However, I think a non-permanent dye, like Clairol Beautiful, will work just as effectively and provide better coverage and more color options...and at less cost and no scalp irritation.



on 4/30/2011 10:39:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I was using Brilliant Brunette Chestnut-Espresso Color Glaze and when I was standing in a certain light I noticed that my hair had that fake red tint to it. Is this normal, what the product should look like? Or am I doing something wrong in applying?


on 3/24/2011 3:04:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I would give this a "10" if possible, it's that good! First of all, I don't use it as instructed. I use about 1/3 of a cup (my hair is a little longer than chin length) while putting it on with gloves (to prevent staining my hands) and a wide-toothed comb. Then I put on a shower cap and leave it for an hour and a half to two hours. I rinse out then shampoo as usual. This gives my medium brown hair which is starting to get some gray beautiful shine and color. It makes the gray a golden color and I have had wonderful complements on it, including from my hairdresser. Using it that long seems to really get the color on there. If this puts off having to color my hair with something more permanent I'm all for it. It lasts 1-2 months, gradually fading away. I think I will begin to use it occasionally after I shampoo, as directed, to give it a boost between the times I use it "my way." Definitely HG status for me. I get it at Ulta when they have their John Frieda BOGO half off sale (it's going on now through 4/2/11), using their $3.50 coupon which makes it quite inexpensive.


on 12/9/2010 12:26:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I've been using this product since it first came out, and I love it. I'm 42 with a little graying mostly in my bangs. I actually use this as highlights for my gray hair. I shampoo every other day, so I only use it once or twice a week. It turns my gray hair a golden color, and blends in nicely. It leaves my hair silky, shiny and less frizzy. The best part is I don't have any roots showing. Even my hair stylist says it looks like I have highlights. I get lots of compliments about the color of my hair. I'll use this until I have too much graying to do so. The packaging isn't the best, but I just squeeze near the top, and the lid pops right off! It does stain my hands, and sometimes my forehead, but I just use bar soap, and it comes right off without any effort, I don't know why bar soap takes it off easier than liquid soap, but it does.


on 2/25/2010 7:15:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I've used this product twice and I don't like it but I don't hate it. I don't like it because first of all its really messy, I got my hairs stained and it took me over 30 minutes to get the stain out so make sure you wear gloves when you put it in your hair. I left it in my hair for about 45 minutes before rinsing it out, it did give my hair the shiny look and my hair was really soft but on the other hand I didnt see a difference in color in my hair. It definitely did not bring out the color as it claimed.


on 11/16/2009 5:59:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Green

I took a chance on this, even though it doesn't really fit in with my new CG hair regimen. I'm on the fence about this. On one hand, it's the messiest product I've ever used. It ruined both my manicure and the bottom of my gray shower curtain (I've started using disposable gloves to avoid one of the problems). I'm also worried about buildup - it's pretty heavy in silicones. However, my hair looks really healthy, shiny, and soft. My hair is super porous and this seems to have "plugged" up or filled in some of the holes - I didn't have to use as much leave in or gel after. It also camouflaged the remainder of old brassy highlights, so that my hair is a nice uniform dark brown.

edit: This really weighs my hair down and gives me wonky waves. My hair still looks pretty shiny, but the weird wave pattern is just not worth it.


on 5/19/2009 4:14:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Blue

I love this stuff! It made my hair shiny,frizz-free,and softer.I dont really notice much of a color difference,but my mom said that it looks a bit darker.I'll definetly buy this again!


on 5/13/2009 3:18:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Hmmm now that I'm reading other reviews I may give this another try, using what others suggested of washing it out.
I used it several times once a week and it made my hair limp and greasy! I think it may be due to the fact that my hair is very fine. So I'm not sure if this has anything to do with it? But I was always had to be careful not to use it on days when I had an important event otherwise my hair would be droopy all night :(
I still have half a bottle so I'm going to use it tomorrow and rinse it out with shampoo to see what happens. For now I wouldnt recommend to anyone with fine hair like me.


on 5/13/2009 9:19:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This has a wierd texture like a runny gel, I found it difficult to use. I tried it twice. It made my hair feel like there was something left in it after I rinsed, not clean and soft.


on 4/29/2009 10:14:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Love, Love, Love it! Not only helps between coloring, it really makes my hair shine and helps frizzys.


Popular Hair Products


Moroccan Oil
813 Reviews
Deep Repair Mask
315 Reviews


Back to Top