John Frieda • Luminous Color Glaze for Chestnut to Espresso Brunettes • Hair

rated 3.3(65 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.58%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* synmyn on 5/12/2011 9:48:00 AM more reviews by synmyn

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Dark   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I was so excited to try this when I bought the Chestnut to Espresso glaze. However, it did not live up to expectations.


Not sure what specific ingredient is at fault, but my scalp burned like crazy while I had the product on and then continued to itch for days afterwards. After three separate attempts, I took it back for a refund.


As others have noted, it stains both hands and scalp. The hands are easy to clean with soap, but the scalp staining requires a shampoo to be rid of it.


This product does work in staining the hair and can be helpful for camoflauging grays or counteracting hair dye fade. However, I think a non-permanent dye, like Clairol Beautiful, will work just as effectively and provide better coverage and more color options...and at less cost and no scalp irritation.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 wmaureen18 on 4/30/2011 10:39:00 PM more reviews by wmaureen18

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I was using Brilliant Brunette Chestnut-Espresso Color Glaze and when I was standing in a certain light I noticed that my hair had that fake red tint to it. Is this normal, what the product should look like? Or am I doing something wrong in applying?

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 soonergal on 3/24/2011 3:04:00 PM more reviews by soonergal

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I would give this a "10" if possible, it's that good! First of all, I don't use it as instructed. I use about 1/3 of a cup (my hair is a little longer than chin length) while putting it on with gloves (to prevent staining my hands) and a wide-toothed comb. Then I put on a shower cap and leave it for an hour and a half to two hours. I rinse out then shampoo as usual. This gives my medium brown hair which is starting to get some gray beautiful shine and color. It makes the gray a golden color and I have had wonderful complements on it, including from my hairdresser. Using it that long seems to really get the color on there. If this puts off having to color my hair with something more permanent I'm all for it. It lasts 1-2 months, gradually fading away. I think I will begin to use it occasionally after I shampoo, as directed, to give it a boost between the times I use it "my way." Definitely HG status for me. I get it at Ulta when they have their John Frieda BOGO half off sale (it's going on now through 4/2/11), using their $3.50 coupon which makes it quite inexpensive.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 EMcTx on 12/9/2010 12:26:00 PM more reviews by EMcTx

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I've been using this product since it first came out, and I love it. I'm 42 with a little graying mostly in my bangs. I actually use this as highlights for my gray hair. I shampoo every other day, so I only use it once or twice a week. It turns my gray hair a golden color, and blends in nicely. It leaves my hair silky, shiny and less frizzy. The best part is I don't have any roots showing. Even my hair stylist says it looks like I have highlights. I get lots of compliments about the color of my hair. I'll use this until I have too much graying to do so. The packaging isn't the best, but I just squeeze near the top, and the lid pops right off! It does stain my hands, and sometimes my forehead, but I just use bar soap, and it comes right off without any effort, I don't know why bar soap takes it off easier than liquid soap, but it does.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 akrash on 2/25/2010 7:15:00 PM more reviews by akrash

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Black    

I've used this product twice and I don't like it but I don't hate it. I don't like it because first of all its really messy, I got my hairs stained and it took me over 30 minutes to get the stain out so make sure you wear gloves when you put it in your hair. I left it in my hair for about 45 minutes before rinsing it out, it did give my hair the shiny look and my hair was really soft but on the other hand I didnt see a difference in color in my hair. It definitely did not bring out the color as it claimed.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* wws1980 on 11/16/2009 5:59:00 PM more reviews by wws1980

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I took a chance on this, even though it doesn't really fit in with my new CG hair regimen. I'm on the fence about this. On one hand, it's the messiest product I've ever used. It ruined both my manicure and the bottom of my gray shower curtain (I've started using disposable gloves to avoid one of the problems). I'm also worried about buildup - it's pretty heavy in silicones. However, my hair looks really healthy, shiny, and soft. My hair is super porous and this seems to have "plugged" up or filled in some of the holes - I didn't have to use as much leave in or gel after. It also camouflaged the remainder of old brassy highlights, so that my hair is a nice uniform dark brown.

edit: This really weighs my hair down and gives me wonky waves. My hair still looks pretty shiny, but the weird wave pattern is just not worth it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* namissaas224 on 5/19/2009 4:14:00 PM more reviews by namissaas224

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy   Eyes: Blue    

I love this stuff! It made my hair shiny,frizz-free,and softer.I dont really notice much of a color difference,but my mom said that it looks a bit darker.I'll definetly buy this again!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 seekliz on 5/13/2009 3:18:00 PM more reviews by seekliz

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Hmmm now that I'm reading other reviews I may give this another try, using what others suggested of washing it out.
I used it several times once a week and it made my hair limp and greasy! I think it may be due to the fact that my hair is very fine. So I'm not sure if this has anything to do with it? But I was always had to be careful not to use it on days when I had an important event otherwise my hair would be droopy all night :(
I still have half a bottle so I'm going to use it tomorrow and rinse it out with shampoo to see what happens. For now I wouldnt recommend to anyone with fine hair like me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 MarbleDes45 on 5/13/2009 9:19:00 AM more reviews by MarbleDes45

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This has a wierd texture like a runny gel, I found it difficult to use. I tried it twice. It made my hair feel like there was something left in it after I rinsed, not clean and soft.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 punkin100 on 4/29/2009 10:14:00 PM more reviews by punkin100

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

Love, Love, Love it! Not only helps between coloring, it really makes my hair shine and helps frizzys.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More John Frieda products

More Hair products