Avon • Shine • Fragrances

rated 3.4(22 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.63%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 aliford on 4/13/2010 12:44:00 AM more reviews by aliford

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Great summer smell, love it. Citrus and fresh, I have to admit I hoard it because things I love get discontinued. Pretty bottle, decent price.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* oxnicoleox3 on 1/10/2010 3:13:00 PM more reviews by oxnicoleox3

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This scent is almost like summer in a bottle! True to its name, it just smells like sunshine. It's definitely great for everyday in the spring and summer. It smells like fresh citrus and light flowers. Check out the body lotion too, it smells exactly the same if you want some extra lasting power. Although, I didn't think I needed it because it lasts all day long. :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* vanillasugardream on 2/23/2007 5:33:00 PM more reviews by vanillasugardream

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

It is a crisp lemony spring scent. i havent smelled anything like it. the bottle is beautiful. My daughter also loves it. We have the powders, and the lotion as well. The scent also carries on for at least 7 hours. a lot of perfumes anymore dont even hold scents long and many body sprays are better.
I have repurchased this from my Avon rep, stocking up for dd and myself :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 mephitine on 2/1/2007 1:53:00 PM more reviews by mephitine

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Not bad. I got a sample from a rep, tried it, and it smells fresh and lemony without smelling too much like cleanser, furniture polish, air freshener, or candy. Quite a feat to accomplish when it comes to lemon scents! I immediately thought it smelled VERY familiar, and thought at first it must remind me of the only citrus scent I regularly wear--Tocca Stella lotion (not the perfume, the Tocca Stella perfume was such a disappointment when compared to the gorgeous lotion I've loved for years). Tocca Stella lotion is probably my favorite citrus scent in the world. But then I realized I was wrong--Shine was not reminding me of Tocca Stella lotion, but rather of the lemon and other citrus scented oils I use when making bath bombs. That's why it seemed so familiar! I've been up to my elbows in this stuff! But that means that the scent is very much the same as what can be easily found in a craft store, mixed with ordinary orange essential oil and maybe a hint of vanilla (at least that's my recipe). So it doesn't exactly smell super-luxe...but it's enjoyable and wearable. It does have a tiny hint of that odd note underneath it all, like someone else mentioned here, that fairly all of Avon's fragrances have. It's almost like a signature, a mark that says, "hey, I'm inexpensive!"...not that inexpensive is a bad thing (I'll take cheap and fabulous over pricey and fabulous any day!), but this particular note really takes away from the sensory experience. There are definitely perfumes made by Avon that lack that irritating note, but many of their modern ones have it. I hope that the Avon folks recognize this problem and are working to fix it. In the meantime, their perfumes aren't that bad, and this one is fairly nice. I'd recommend it to someone who loves citrus scents but doesn't want the sickly-sweetness of some citrus scents that are out there. It's more reminiscent of dryer sheets than lemon Pledge, so it's worth a try! Be aware that there is a floral component to this, it's not purely lemon, but it's not overpowering either. A good mix.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Jenblossom32 on 1/16/2007 1:14:00 PM more reviews by Jenblossom32

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

i enjoy lemon scents.
this is better than Lemon
Sugar perfume.
the jasmine in this is really great because it makes this tangy lemonade fragrance beautiful, clean and girly. Fresh!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dotttB on 1/4/2007 9:35:00 AM more reviews by dotttB

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is a nice scent to me, it smells like clean laundry or dryer sheets kind of. Im wearing a sample so I dont know If I will buy it but its nice.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kooky_pound on 12/20/2006 6:35:00 AM more reviews by kooky_pound

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Great fragrance!.
I love citrus and normally they are more orange like!, this one is lemony initially.
It then dries to a lovely fresh clean scent.
It also is not headache inducing like happy, smells lighter and not as chemical.
Bottle lovely yellow, invigorating.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* catsrsmarterthandogs on 12/14/2006 7:30:00 AM more reviews by catsrsmarterthandogs

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I bought this without sniffing...I'm not impressed. It's not bad...but not great either. I wear it to the gym because it smells clean...almost too clean like I've been cleaning my home. Smells lemony and tart to me. I won't buy again because it's not for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jensen1971 on 12/10/2006 9:49:00 PM more reviews by jensen1971

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

Had a hard time with this one at first-it sprays on very citrusy but does settle down into a nice fresh citrusy scent warmed by orange flower/musk/jasmine. I do think you need the right chemistry with this one to pull it off and could see it souring on a few people. If it works with your chemistry it will make a great summer scent-not sure i will wear it too much in the winter as it doesn't seem well suited to cold weather. Should be good in the hot weather though and will wear it frequently than.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 maliat5140 on 11/28/2006 8:01:00 AM more reviews by maliat5140

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

i dont believe how so many people hated this perfume....sorry ladies but im a big fan of avons shine.. ive stocked up ont his over 6 bottles..i cant get enough... when i wear this ragrance everyone cant stop asking what im wearing and are surprised when i tell them its from avon... ive orderd dozens of them for friends who just cant get enough.....2 thumbs up

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Avon products

More Fragrances products