LUSH Henna-Caca Brun

3.9

59 reviews

77% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 6/10/2015 5:51:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I've used the LUSH hennas and the Rainbow Lab hennas for about 3 years now- I recommend them both. I will say that years ago I used henna for the first time and it turned my hair into straw- it was a terrible experience. I learned later that you can NOT MIX henna with any chemical processing. I'd had my hair chemically straightened about 3 months before I tried the henna and wound up with a really unpleasant dry texture. Do one or the other, NOT BOTH. That turned me off to henna for a few years, then I tried it again.

My hair is fine in terms of each strand diameter, but has a stupid amount of volume in its texture. It's about armpit length, and the kind of hair that dries curly but slowly straightens out over the next few days. I wash once a week, no-poo or something natural and gentle. It's dry hair, so it's very absorbent, too. Natural color is a medium warm brown with a lot of gold in it, becoming almost blonde by end of summer.

Things I have learned about henna:
1) In general, anything other than pure red henna will fade to red over time. Indigo and cassia are used to color henna, which is only/always red, into different shades of brown. But they don't last as long on the hair, so even when I use a dark brown color, it will eventually fade to more of an auburn/red in a month or so. I found that the dark shades of LUSH barely stuck at all, maybe 2 weeks at the most. I use Rainbow Labs henna for darker colors.

2) Water vs coffee vs tea as your liquid definitely makes a difference. If you want deeper brown than red, go with coffee. Trader Joe's makes a liter bottle of cold-brewed coffee concentrate- it's awesome because it's stronger than what you can brew yourself and it's pre-made! I've heard people say that the texture of your henna mixture should be like melted chocolate- I prefer mine thicker so it doesn't drip as much, more like greek yogurt.

3) I don't know who these people are who get henna color to stick after 1 hour but I am NOT one of them. I leave it on for 4 hours or more, usually I aim for 6. I have slept in it overnight, but find that it didn't do anything different than leaving it on for about 6 hours anyway.

4) If you keep it warm or wrap with cling film and a towel, it will be redder. If you leave it on your head cool & unwrapped, it will be darker and more brown.

5) Use it as an opportunity for a deep conditioning treatment. I mix my henna with whatever liquid (for me, coffee and cider vinegar) plus at least 2 T of olive oil, 1 T argan oil, 1 T vitamin E oil, and 10 drops essential oil (I use rosemary for scalp health and grapefruit for shine). I think conditioning with henna is NECESSARY to get the gorgeous shine and volume and to make sure your hair comes out healthier afterwards!

6) "Cook" your henna mixture long enough to watch the dye come out. When you start, it will be green. When it's ready, it will turn brown. I mix it in a glass pyrex bowl double-boiler-style inside a bigger pan filled with water over med/low heat. I stir it with a wooden spoon about every 5 min for 30-45 min until the color changes completely. I let it cool enough to handle, then take to the bathroom and apply it hot/warm to my head and leave it uncovered.

7) If you have thick hair- SECTION IT FIRST. I'll be honest, the total henna application for me takes about 2 hours. Plus the 6 hours to leave in and about 30 min to wash out- It's a day long job. But the results are way better and last longer than if I'm lazy. It takes me a long time to section my hair, I do 1 inch sections and twist then secure in little buns with bobby pins. When I am applying the henna (with gloved hands, no brush), I undo one little bun, smush henna into the roots, then draw it towards the end, applying more to make sure the whole section is caked. I twist it back up into its bun, secure, then move to the next one.

It took me years to troubleshoot this so I hope my information is useful for at least one person! It's true you have to do trial and error to find what works for you, but don't give up! I think it's worth it :-)

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.



on 1/27/2015 12:02:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Huge tip to all you ladies:
If you want something equally effective, way cheaper, much less messy, easier to use and easier to customize, go to your local Middle Eastern, Halal or South Asian store and buy henna for hair there. Some good brands are Jamila and Noorani. Lush is ripping you off!


on 11/26/2014 4:51:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

My hair was previously colored at Paul Mitchell, but it was fading more quickly than I wanted, so this was to boost my color.

I have thick but fine shoulder-length hair and used the entire bar, but I probably could have saved two or three squares. Make sure you add enough water: mine started out way too thick and I had to dunk my head in hot water to melt it through. I wore it for about twelve hours (I don't think I needed more than six) and covered my scalp with a Safeway bag. Apparently you can enhance the brown/reduce the red by using coffee instead of water and by not covering your hair (something about oxidization), which I will do next time.

Washing it out was a pain and my shower was a mess, but it finally all rinsed out after I slathered my head in cheapo conditioner. The end result? A really rich deep brown imparted with subtle reddish tones. And the shine is incredible. I'm aware I won't be able to go back to chemically coloring my hair in a salon anytime soon and am completely fine with that: I can touch up my hair with this once a month and call it a day.

The instructions were cleverly contained in the label, which I liked, but my only gripe with the product is the smell, like mold and hash. Really earthy and I wanted to gag at one point, but I can deal with it for the color payoff. Highly recommend, but make sure before doing it you cover your floor with newspapers and pick up shower cleaner.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

AVOID AT ALL COSTS. Do not believe the hype. Everyone claiming that this product does wonders must have abominabaly awful hair beforehand, and misuse is not an excuse as I followed the instructions exactly.

I purchased this with the intention of gaining lustrous dark chocolate brown hair in the vein of Zooey Deschanel or Anne Hathaway, but to no avail. My hair was originally an average medium brown and after leaving this shite on for 3 hours, leaving crumbs everywhere, my hair was a red-tinted medium mahoghany colour, which is really making it sound nicer than it looks. As for the "conditioning" powers of henna - rubbish. My hair was already in admittedly good condition as I regular use oils through the ends, but there was literally no change. Seriously, save your cash and try an alternative from a health foodshop.

Big disappointment.


on 6/1/2014 4:06:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Grey

I purchased my full-length review on LUSH.com. The short version is that this product is decent. I screwed up the first time & didn't let it sit long enough and didn't cover all my hair, so I had a blonde "halo" while the rest of my hair was a really nice brown. It actually managed to match my roots to the rest of my hair, which is seriously impressive. I just cover the block in boiled water & let it melt itself down. The smell is awful but it's not that messy if you get someone to help you. Just make sure you use LOTS of plastic bags and gloves. The henna is expensive at $30 after tax where I live. But overall it's a great product if used correctly.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 5/11/2014 1:33:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I had recently decided I did not want to put chemicals on my hair every month. I've been going grey since I was 12 and have experimented with every colour under the sun. My hair needed better condition. I did a fair amount of research before decided on cavalry brun lush henna. My hair was a ash dark brown/black. The application - You need to be repaired... This is messy... I covered my bathroom with towels, put cling film and vaseline on my ears and forehead and made up the henna. First time I used two and a half blocks cut up roughly and heated in a glass bowl over a saucepan of water. I added coffee and white wine vinegar. The reviews I had read mentioned this would both tone down the red and help cover grey hairs. After about 20 minutes it was a thick green goo. I didn't mind the smell too much. I took the bowl to the bathroom and put it in a sink of hot water to keep warm. I attempted to use my colouring brush but soon went for grabbing handfuls and just rubbing it onto my head and scalp. Make sure you use the gloves! It went on ok... A few clumps dropped onto the towels and the sink but to be fair after I had wrapped my hair in cling film and added a towel it took no time at all to tidy up. I left it on for five hours and went about my day. When I washed it off I'll admit it took ages, it splashed everywhere in the shower. I used a cheap conditioner to remove the sand like texture to my scalp. Again it cleaned up easierly. Results - beautiful shiny conditioned hair, the greys went a dark blonde colour but have blended. The tone of the rest of my hair is much warmer. I thought my hair looked thicker and longer (suspect this is due to the henna covering the hair shaft). I redid the process to see if I could get a better coverage on the blonde roots (second time went much easier as I knew what to expect and I left it on overnight) the only change I made was I didn't cut up the henna, I put whole blocks in the bowl over the water - this took slightly longer to melt down but didn't feel as sandy as the previous application even though I made it to the same thickness (thick double cream). My greys are still not colour matched to the rest but I will concede they look more natural. I have had sooo many comments on how shiny and healthy my hair looks. I plan on purchasing the black and the red henna on payday and mixing them to see if I can cover the greys better. I am a henna convert. It's harder work but the results are worth the extra effort. Plus the melting the block of henna makes me feel like a crazy alchemist. Considering I spend £8.50 on enough henna for three applications means this is a money saving product for me. Now I need to find the perfect combination to zap the last of my stubborn greys and I shall be very happy.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I was recently advised not to put any more chemicals in my hair to colour it. I've damaged my hair to where I needed to cut about 3 inches off, it looked unhealthy, and I was getting comments from friends and family on how damaged my hair looked.
This is what brought me to henna. This was my first time trying henna for hair dye, and I was really excited in that it both deep conditioned, and coloured your hair. After having a disaster of a first attempt at melting caca rouge in a non heat resistant glass bowl, I went out to buy caca brun.
It was messy of course, but didn't smell that bad. I was careful to wear gloves and use some ointment around my hairline, ears and neck so that I wouldn't stain my hands, so it wasn't terribly messy. I also needed to put A LOT of paper down in the bathroom. Little chunks of henna flew all over my bathroom.
It wasn't that hard to apply to be honest. I let it sit for maybe 2.5 hours, I did cover my hair in plastic wrap, a plastic bag and an old t-shirt.
The colour is AMAZING, I know that it will take a few days for the colour to really enhance but I love how it looks now. I didn't get full root coverage of the red that I had previously in my hair, but it just looks a little auburn.
But my hair is softer, shinier, and just feels healthier. It's even kept the curl that I put in it, so it definitely seems healthier.
I would recommend this product to other's, as well as continue to use it for future dyes, unless of course I find better henna (this was my first try at henna hair dye).

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 1/10/2014 6:13:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Hazel

I really, really like this for my dark brown hair. I've stopped using traditional color and am using this to even out the weird pseudo-ombre between my strawberry blond ends and my dark brown roots and it really works. Color is nice and uniform and with an incredible shine. Took off a lippie for the smell and the cleanup but neither bother me enough to sacrifice my new healthier, one-color hair. ;) You need to use way more than the website tells you - though my hair is shoulder-length, it's incredibly thick and I needed the whole expensive brick to cover everything.

The price is nuts for something you have to clean your shower after using, but it's a quarter as expensive as my normal salon process so I can't really complain. But I do really wish it were cheaper.


on 9/24/2013 1:28:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Love this use it everyone month. My hair is a very dark brown/black anyway so this just makes it more dark and give it shine. Yes it can be messy but I usually grate it the night before. Then in morning apply and get on with my day. By the afternoon I'm ready to rinse it out. I buy a very cheap conditioner for about £1 and use most of the bottle rinsing it out. Then I deep condition and I'm done. The smell for me is pleasant to begin with (herbal) then becomes nauseating. When it starts getting too much I put a couple of disposable shower caps on and that usually keeps the smell from lingering.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/21/2013 1:16:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Definitely not! I had it on for 2 half hours and it didnt work at all. The smell was awful. Then 3 hours later I felt really nauseous with the taste of it in my mouth. Plus I had a red rash on my scalp!,..?


Back to Top