Clinique Super City Block SPF 40

3.5

301 reviews

59% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

PPD = 8. zinc oxide 8.8%, octinoxate 7.5%, titanium dioxide 6.6%, octisalate 2% Other ingredients: water (aqua purificata) purified, trioctyldodecyl citrate, butylene glycol, dimethicone, octyldodecyl neopentanoate, steareth-2, silica, aluminum stearate, angelica acutiloba (japanese angelica) root extract, zizyphus jujuba fruit extract, rosa roxburghii fruit extract, citrus unshiu peel extract, porphyra yezoensis (algae) extract, paeonia suffruticosa (peony) root extract, gardenia florida extract, carthamus tinctorius (safflower) flower extract, glycyrrhiza glabra (licorice) root extract, paeonia albiflora (peony) root extract, poria cocos sclerotium extract, saccharomyces lysate extract, cucumis sativus (cucumber) fruit extract, betula alba (birch) bark extract, hordeum vulgare (barley) extract, rosmarinus officinalis (rosemary) leaf extract, helianthus annuus (sunflower) seedcake, gentiana lutea (gentian) root extract, yeast extract (faex), sodium rna, magnesium ascorbyl phosphate, dipotassium glycyrrhizate, tocopheryl acetate, pantethine, glycerin, glucose, squalane, polyglyceryl-6 polyricinoleate, tricaprylin, propylene glycol dicaprate, chamomilla recutita (matricaria), hexylene glycol, peg/ppg-18/18 dimethicone, caprylyl glycol, barium sulfate, polyethylene, xanthan gum, magnesium aluminum silicate, lecithin, ceteth-2, peg-40 stearate, sodium stearate, steareth-20, sorbitan tristearate, isopropyl titanium triisostearate, citric acid, disodium edta, bht, phenoxyethanol, mica, iron oxides (ci 77491, ci 77492, ci 77499), titanium dioxide (ci77891)


on 7/30/2015 2:47:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I got a sample of this with a clinique gift bag and I had no hopes about it at all. But looks like it has a new updated formula and it made wonders for me in the july heat. It wears really well, I don't shine for hours and the sheer coverage is exactly what I'm looking for. I will definitely purchase a full size as soon as I run out of the 15 ml sample.



on 6/26/2015 4:48:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I really wanted to like this sunscreen. I like the colour and the colour correcting element that it offers without offering too much coverage. I like that it doesn't have an overwhelming smell, and doesn't leave a white cast after applying it. Unfortunately, this sunscreen makes me breakout with really bad cystic acne, so I can't wear it anymore.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/24/2015 5:50:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Medium Brown, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I think I am on my third full tube of this. I originally discovered it in one of those tiny sample size tubes I had received as part of a free gift. I work in international development so end up in very hot countries where I end up not wearing too much makeup. This product is actually fantastic. You know you are protected from the sun, which I definitely need or I tan 6 different shades on my face, and it evens out your skin. I wear it alone, no foundation. On days where I don't have it on I usually wear liquid foundation so its that or this - but this really does the trick and I'm beginning to prefer it over foundation.

It takes about 10 minutes to soak in, and my skin is glowing after. I usually place some on the back of my hand (a dab less than the size of a dime in diameter) and blend it on to my face using my fingers. I'm of South Asian background so I medium brown skin and the tint I guess works. In the past year I have used it in countries where the temperature and humidity levels have been extreme and this product is my go-to. Highly recommended.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/11/2015 12:08:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

Great shortcut for those, um, greasy summer days. The trial-and-error application is worth it considering how it pays off later.

I love this stuff. Only reason it doesn't get 5 lipsticks is because it's still basically an expensive tinted moisturizer. I hate that BB with SPF products I'll have to reapply within a couple of hours are priced like they're long-wear foundations.

But, it's a great BB cream that moisturizes enough that it replaces my separate moisturizer step in the warmer months (hot, humid summers where I live).

The trick to this is not judging the amount you need by how it looks immediately upon application. Too much looks streaky. Too little means ineffective sun protection. I find it best when worked in a little with fingers then dabbed with fingetips to even out, rather than with a brush. It will look a little pale and shiny at first, but soaks in well within 10 minutes.

It does what a BB/tinted moisturizer is supposed to do - evens out skin tone and provides sun protection, except this one actually moisturizes effectively. Doesn't irritate me. My favorite thing about it is that if I need a little more coverage, I can powder the T-zone without City Block turning into a pore-highlighting medium.


on 4/29/2015 8:20:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

$24.50 USD. OMG, this is perfect! The very lightly tinted sunblock is very matte and doesn't leave a greasy film. The tint is very minimal - you can't even tell there''s any color so don't worry about how dark it looks in the tube. I'm very pale, and you can't tell that I put on anything. It absorbs instantly so you don't have to worry about your foundation / concealer caking over it. Texture and cost-wise, this is much better than the face sunblocks I've tried from CD, La Mer and Clarins. HG!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 4/21/2015 10:59:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I've recently started using this again after changing my overall skincare a few months back. Before that, I found this a bit drying, but now after changing my skincare, I think it was my skin in general that was too dry, rather than this product actually causing it, but I think if you do have very dry skin, this may not be for you.
I was using another sun protector before this, that was okay, it did the job, but I'm not sure my skin loved it, like it it seems to love this. Before it was tolerable, now, my skin looks 100% better with this on.
As it has not seemed to annoy my skin, as I have not had any cystic acne bumps come up, I can pretty much wear this without having to put foundation on now (first time in ages). I put a bit of powder on and concealer on one or two slightly stubborn acne scars, if I am in the office, but if not, I literally wear just this now, it really gives my skin a nice finish, and seems to even the tone out nicely.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 3/19/2015 5:17:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Leaves a beige grey cast so cannot be used alone, needs makeup on top! Plus, it leaves a satin/greasy finish and my skin becomes really oily quickly.
Won't repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/2/2015 1:16:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is, having too much of a good thing is actually bad , for oily skin.
Titanium dioxide and zinc oxide for use around eyes area ( no tear ) but not for acne prone ( too blocking) area.
Other chemical sunscreen active ingredients make me cry if use in the eye area ,but good for acne / breakout prone face.

And this sunscreen have both types of active sunscreen ingredients and can't be used . I planned to use this as an eye area sunscreen cuz of its very high percentage of titanium dioxide/zinc oxide , and seems come with a lot more skin care goodies, thinking the low level of chemical sunscreen ingredients would be fine. Um, I was wrong, tears .......

I use two different sunscreens, one for eye area ( pure physical sunscreen ingredients, eg, T.D and or Z.O ), and one for acne/ breakout prone face( no T.D nor Z.O.) This is not for oily skin.


on 7/21/2014 11:50:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown


Doesn't smell like much and in a tube so easy to use but there are better options for dry skin.

Not terrible but I have had better. It gives your face a nice sheen matte look which I do like but I have dry skin so I look drier on certain days and definitely shows the flaky skin. Not too bad for $22 at Sephora but id rather use paulas choice skin recovery spf 30 moisturizer.


on 7/4/2014 11:57:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

For my NC35 skin, the white cast is extremely noticeable. I use it mixed with my BB cream which has an SPF of 30.

Why I love it:
- Love that it uses physical sunscreens (so I'm willing to tolerate the white cast)
- Oil-free
- Moisturizing
- Doesn't irritate my skin
- Smell doesn't irritate me

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top