New York Color Nail Glossies polish

4.1

43 reviews

76% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $

INGREDIENTS



Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

I hate the thin, runny, watery consistency of these; the fact they demand several coats because the formula is so sheer. When they dry they bond really well to the nail, but the look still tends to be streaky. A shame because the shades I got were quite pretty - 215, a white with hint of pink; 217, a light candy/pastel pink.
No to repurchase - despite the cheap price tag.



Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I purchased this product through my work as it's discontinued and for .60 cents a bottle how can a girl resist? I've admired NYC's East Village, but decided to try the NYC Glossies (Turqoise Seas #241) formula. This is a great summer color! I've currently got it on my fingers :) I don't know how the other colors are in this line, but this one seems pretty runny and not nearly as thick as say my OPI's. I have some China Glaze's in this consistancy and I'm okay with that. Turqoise Seas is pretty sheer so I've had to apply 3 coats to get the full color that is shown in the bottle. It also dries very quickly! A plus for someone like me who doesn't usually have patience for my OPI's to dry and end up smudging them. I think this would be a nice overcoat to a darker blue or even a green as it's got a great sheen and sparkle to it. I'm not sure if it's called opalescent or not...The packaging is neat because the square top (plastic) is removable if you prefer your standard thin nail polish top. I love that it's versatile and I probably would purchase this product again, especially for the price! OH and the polish has Vinyl Shine & Pro Vitamin B5 :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/13/2009 2:26:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I have #241 in Turquoise Seas. I received this in a swap. I like how the black cap can be removed. The green-blue (more green than blue) is very sheer, but 3 coats gave me a good green-blue color. I really like it for summer. Not difficult to apply and doesn't chip easily with a top coat.


on 7/7/2009 8:36:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I love, love, love this nail polish. Mine is in Imperial Red, and is a gorgeous bright true red.
I love the short little stubby brush-it delivers a perfect mani! Much better than OPI's annoying wide brushes.
The pigmentation is also amazing, and 2 super-thin coats is all that's needed.
I'm pretty sure this has been discontinued, replaced by NYC's In a New York Minute, which are great, but not amazing.


on 5/28/2009 10:34:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Have these been discontinued? I can't seem to find them at CVS or Rite Aid anymore. I love this product and hope it's not gone for good.


on 2/27/2009 8:09:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have this in 225, a beautiful dark maroon color. I absolutely LOVE the color but it does smell pretty strong, and chips pretty easily (with Sally Hansen Insta-Dri on top, and no basecoat, it lasted 3 days.) Definitely a good way to try out colors you're not sure about, especially with the trendy colors and affordable price. For less than $1 (it was on clearance), I found a color I absolutely love and will start looking for a higher quality replacement.


on 2/1/2009 5:39:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I bought this polish in Color 239 (Hot House Orchid) and I loved it!
First of all, the price is great; Some places sell it for $1.99, but it was $0.99 at my Ulta store.

The first coat was super-sheer and would make it a great polish for layering colors, but you definitely need 3 coats to get the bottle color by itself. After 3 easy-to-apply coats (went on smooth and streak-free), you get a lovely, pale, shimmery orchid that is much more subtle than the bottle would lead you to believe.

A topcoat is a must to get this color to last, but overall the polish looks great, has staying power and is a superb value.


on 12/31/2008 5:39:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

These are very good nail polishes, they come in very pretty colors. They tend to be pretty sheer, but if you add a couple of coats it becomes more solid. They are extremely cheap and last quite a while, they resist chipping better than many other nail polishes I have tried before.


on 12/29/2008 8:50:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

love this polish


on 11/26/2008 10:53:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Last week I bought NYC Nail Glossies #217. It's a sheer baby pink. Here is my opinion:

A) The application was god-awful on this product. It was thick and gloppy from the get-go and was impossible just to get an even coat without streaks and overlaps. You know how nail polish is supposed to settle and "self-level"? Well this was the most unforgiving nail polish I've ever used. I took it all off and started over but got the same result. Maybe I got a bad bottle? because in my experience, a new bottle of nail polish is always thinner and smooth.

B) I do like the brush and the color is very pretty. It came out ok on my pinky nail where there wasn't any overlapping/streaking and it looked like a perfect milky pink on my pale skin.

C) I did like the way it felt once it dried. Even though I didn't get nice smooth coverage, I did leave the polish on both my hands and feet for about a week and it resisted chipping for a long time even with washing dishes every night. Once it dried, this polish felt like it had almost an "unbreakable plastic" or "vinyl" kind of finish that was very resistant to chipping etc.


EDIT: I tried this product again and the application was so much nicer this time. I think I was unfair in my original comments about the application. When I originally put this on I was outside on a hot day and I wonder if that had something to do with it. This time I applied it indoors and not in the hot sun and it went on so nice.


Popular Polishes


Miracle Gel
130 Reviews
Bubble Bath
359 Reviews
Ballet Slippers
345 Reviews
Nail Polish
212 Reviews


Back to Top