Unlisted Brand • Vanicream Sport sunscreen SPF35 • Sunscreen

rated 3.7(9 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.55%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* yelloats on 8/9/2012 3:10:00 AM more reviews by yelloats

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

i use this on my body not face, waaaay too thick for face. has zinc oxide instead of oxybenzone. super thick so it stays on well. i dont find it greasy, its like a smooth feeling on my skin. definititely makes my body feel a bit sticky after a long run but not as much as the neutrogena dry-touch sunscreens. i like :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 claudiad on 7/17/2012 11:13:00 AM more reviews by claudiad

Age: 44-55   Skin: Very Dry   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Thick pasty - stay in pores and could not wash off. I broke out horribly!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 beeb11 on 4/15/2011 10:42:00 PM more reviews by beeb11

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is not the perfect sunblock (does such a thing even exist!?!?!), but it works for me. It doesn't irritate my very acne prone, sensitive skin ( I was using this when my skin was pretty clear). I have been using this consistently for over a year. I also like that it is paraben and fragrance free. However, if you apply the proper amount, it can be greasy. It does leave a white cast but I really don't care. If I am running quick errands then it really doesn't bother me, but if I am going to be out and about for awhile, I try to blend away the white cast with some type of foundation. This sunblock can affect how certain foundations (be it liquid, pressed, or loose powder) apply, so you will have to experiment to see how that works out for you.

I really try to avoid sun exposure, so I do not know how well it guards against tanning because it is really hard for me to tell. But my guess is, not all that well because if I put my face next to my legs, my face is a couple shades darker than my legs but it still keeps the hyperpigmentation marks on my face from getting darker (weird I know, but I hope that makes sense lol). I will say however, that this keeps me from getting sunburns. I am prone to sunburns on my nose and the back of my neck. I currently use this on my face, ears, neck, chest, and back.

I am still hunting for the perfect sunblock that will keep me from tanning and not irritate my skin, but until then, I will continue to use this.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mej5s on 3/22/2010 12:08:00 PM more reviews by mej5s

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Vanicream Sport SPF 35 has the following ingredients:

Active Ingredients: octinoxate 7.5%, zinc oxide 8%
Inactive Ingredients: cetyl PEG/PPG-10/1 dimethicone, cyclohexasiloxane, cyclomethicone, cyclopentasiloxane, dimethiconol, glycerin, hydrogenated castor oil, magnesium chloride hexahydrate, PEG-30 dipolyhydroxystearate, polyethylene, purified water, tridecyl neopentanoate, triethoxycaprylylsilane, vitamin E


Due to the high silicone content, this is fairly matte but the glycerin and castor oil add just enough moisture to prevent this from balling up or ever flaking off. , I wear this over Paula's Choice BHA gel or liquid and find that the shine is bearable and can be blotted down easily.

Application - better to apply over a treatment or moisturizer -- this is somewhat whitening but I am fairly pale. It is not as translucent as Vanicream's SPF 30 or 60 but this is waterproof and much less shiny -- this is still far far less whitening than Coppertone Water Babies, Paula's Choice Mineral Suncreen, or Neutrogena Baby Pure & Free.

The PPD is fairly low (5-8) but I find that I do not burn with this on as it is waterproof and will not budge. I am able to clean this with a cleansing oil OR alternatively by using mineral or jojoba oil on my face and then mixing with a gentle cleanser (Spectro Jel or Cetaphil, Aquanil or Avene Gentle Cleanser would work equally well) and then rinsing.

This is not nearly as tenacious as Shiseido suscreens which broke me out.

This is non-irritating and a great option esp for summer.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 badchix84 on 12/20/2009 2:39:00 PM more reviews by badchix84

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I got some sample tubes of this for free from my dermatologist. It's okay because it's not greasy or smelly (which I hate about a lot of sunscreens), but it's super thick and makes me look ashy when I first apply it (I have medium olive skin). Still, you can't beat the SPF 35. I think I'll stick with Neutrogena, though.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Safin on 7/19/2009 11:16:00 AM more reviews by Safin

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Pro's
Very good in sunblocking and no irritation

Con's
Didn't blend in very well and way too heavy for oily skin. It seems thicker than the Vanicream 30

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dawnwfoster on 6/17/2009 6:56:00 PM more reviews by dawnwfoster

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

A friend of mine highly recommended this sunscreen to me. In general, I love vanicream products and use their moisturizer on my face at night, so I thought I would also love the sunscreen... however I was wrong. It was very thick and difficult to blend into my skin. Nomatter what, there was always a pale cast to my face. The friend who recommended it to me has very pale alabaster skin, so the sunscreen was not noticeable on her face... however I have medium color olive skin and the sunscreen made me look undead. I also did not find this sunscreen to be very moisturizing. I had to apply a moisturizer before the sunscreen, which added time to my routine. I tried using the sunscreen on my body but got discouraged when I found it impossible to blend... it made my arms look like I had rubbed crisco all over, and it settled into the crease of my elbow like chalk. I don't think it's worth the price. On the upside, the sunscreen is very effective and stays on all day. It did irritate my sensitive skin or cause breakouts. When I worked out, it did not run into my eyes and sting like other sunscreens. So obviously there are some benefits to this sunscreen, but I wouldn't purchase it again... HOWEVER, i have heard people say it is great for kids because it doesn't budge.
PS. if anyone is interested, I now use Eucerin's daily face moisturizer with SPF 30, and I love it.

UPDATE:
I wrote the above review about 2 years ago... came across my review and thought I should update it since my opinion has changed. About a year ago switched to a tinted sunscreen, Marie Veronique Organic... and although I enjoy using it, it is expensive and tends to be drying. I recently switched back to using Vanicream Sport Sunscreen for Sensitive Skin SPF 35 and love it. The difference now is that I do not use a moisturizer underneath it, so it settles much better onto my skin. Also, I don't know if they have reformulated it, but it no longer leaves a white cast to my skin (or maybe that is because it can sink in to my skin now that there is no moisturizer)... whatever the reason, this product is now an everyday staple. It can be shiny so I like to powder it. Love it.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MRSLE on 7/25/2007 11:10:00 AM more reviews by MRSLE

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

My history with sunscreens is not good. I have had my share of burning skin, irritation, rashes and acne and until I found this product, could not use SS on my face other than what was in my makeup. For my body I have been using Neutrogena SS for sensitive skin SPF 30 and have used it for at least 9 or 10 years. I really like this product. A lot. I have no irritation or burning and so far, no breakouts on my face.
UPDATE- Not so good on my face but fine for my body. When I finish up what I have I will go back to Neutrogena SS Sunscreen. Less expensive and works just as well.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Sumita on 3/12/2006 9:44:00 AM more reviews by Sumita

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

This is the part-physical, part-chemical sunscreen from Vanicream, with equal parts zinc oxide and octinoxate. When I first put it on, I found it to be as emollient as the all-physical "sensitive skin" sunscreens that I got samples of, but after wearing it for a full day, I discovered that it stays more matte (though still "velvety" rather than truly matte), does not get so shiny after a couple of hours, and definitely feels lighter on. The white cast is also negligible. On my combo skin, there was still a bit of a sheen at the end of the day, particularly around the nose and forehead, but it wasn't of the "oil slick" variety. The "sunscreen smell," completely absent in the sensitive skin versions, is slightly noticeable initially with this one, because of the chemical sunscreen, but this is overall an unobtrusive product. I would buy it for use in the winter when my skin is on the dry side, as an alternative to MD Forte's SPF30, though I still prefer the MD Forte because it hydrates while staying completely matte. But the Vanicream is a third of the cost per ounce.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More Unlisted Brand products

More Sunscreen products