Bobbi Brown • Sheer Finish Pressed Powder • Pressed Powders

rated 3.7(83 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.57%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 EllieRichardsxx on 1/27/2015 7:58:00 PM more reviews by EllieRichardsxx

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Red, Relaxed   Eyes: Green    

The first time I used this, it ran out way too quickly. I thought it was just me using too much so I purchased it again, and about 3 weeks later I'm still in the same situation and don't have much left!! The powder feels a little weird on my face, like I really can tell when I have it on. But the coverage is good, I can use it on my bare face with no foundation and it will cover my scarring and a couple blemishes that I have. But I also think there are other powders that do the same thing for a lot cheaper, so I won't be purchasing this one again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mskaydee on 1/18/2015 8:03:00 AM more reviews by mskaydee

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Medium Brown   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Perfect for my dry skin, sets my base extremely well without creasing or clumping together. I use it sometimes without any foundation with just a moisturiser and it looks just as good.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 dlasky on 1/5/2015 7:59:00 PM more reviews by dlasky

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I really, really wanted to like this product. The coverage is fantastic; it doesn't give your skin that weird sheen like mineral makeup does, and it doesn't look cakey. Unfortunately, it did not control my oil and I had to take it back.

I accidentally flipped the over in my makeup drawer and the powder came loose from the bottom and split in half. So, handle carefully.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* deliazamir on 10/15/2014 9:38:00 PM more reviews by deliazamir

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Let me start with the pros : price is good (RM130.00 in Malaysia), the puff that comes with it is really fantastic quality and a pleasure to use, the powder goes on smoothly and a lot of my natural skin still comes through - which is exactly what I wanted as my skin is now really nice and all blemishes are nicely faded. My skin is oily and throughout the day I only need to touch up the T zone maybe twice. It does not break me out. And it does not have any funny floral fragrances in it, which is good for me. Now for the cons: the packaging is bulky and not at all lasting (the hinge that clicks the compact shut was broken by 2 months of use)... But worse, worse of all *cries* the perfect colour match of Soft Sand for my NC30-35 skin OXIDIZES. You heard me. It goes dark in like a record time of half an hour or so. It OXIDIZES like a mother. I'm not sure about other climates but I am from a warm weather country and we get loads of sun. I don't know if this is a factor to this otherwise pretty OK powder turning bad. Back to the drawing board for the perfect HG sheer pressed powder. Humphs !!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* adamj2004 on 9/2/2014 12:56:00 AM more reviews by adamj2004

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Very good pressed powder. Easily achievable medium-full coverage with a powder puff or you can sheer it out with a brush.

However, for me, the inclusion of tocopheryl acetate (vitamin E) was a disaster and broke me out due to it being highly comedogenic. For those that are not acne-prone and more normal-dry skin type, this would be a great product because vitamin E is very hydrating. However, for me, this was unusable and broke me out horrifically in places of my face that don't normally break out (sides of my nose, forehead).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 MonJes on 6/13/2014 7:46:00 AM more reviews by MonJes

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

First of all the texture is so soft, finely-milled. As for the texture I vote this over my chanel compacte. The main reason I picked this in the first place was bcs of the texture, the sponge thay comes with it was soft too. The packaging was simple and sophisticated altho quite bulky, it takes up 50% space of my tiny makeup pouch. I use this powder as a setting powder for my foundation or concealer when I wear very minimal makeup. Problem is when I apllied it on my face it didnt blend well with my face . this powder sots on my face I waited for it to sink in but it didnt, which was kinda frustrating cause it looked like I was wearing a veil. Yep that obvious. It didnt look pwdery but it looked like a very thin and smooth veil. I actually like this powder but for me its not worth the price I paid for. I wouldnt repurchase, some cheaper brand powders of mine did better job than this, sorry.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Cheungc on 5/23/2014 3:09:00 PM more reviews by Cheungc

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Tan, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

I couldn't wait to get this pressed sheer finish powder when I finally finished my my Bobbi Brown Retouching Powder (in Yellow). I had wanted a mattifying powder which I could carry in my handbag and had previously bought the Retouching Powder (only available in loose powder format) as the store I'd visited didn't have any sheer finish powder in stock.

Despite the Retouching Powder driving me insane with the non-travel-friendly packaging, I loved its soft-focus effect and how airily fine it is. I had assumed the sheer finish powder would be the same, but it's actually quite a different product.

I've got this in Warm Natural, which is also colourless over the rest of my make-up. Whilst its mattifying properties are apparent upon application and I don't expect anything to make my skin sweat-proof against the Dubai humidity, my face does seem to become shinier sooner than with the Retouching Powder.

The texture of the powder is also heavier (which probably explains the weight difference between the two products), so the finish looks like I'm wearing powder as opposed to the soft-focus effect I've become used to. The pressed format definitely ticks the travel-friendly box, and I only re-apply once throughout the day, but I suspect it would easily become cakey-looking if I re-applied more.

I think I'll have to give the MAC Blot Powder a go next time.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 mskittynoir on 5/1/2014 11:57:00 PM more reviews by mskittynoir

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Sorry ladies, this was not good. I have never thrown something so fast back into the box to return it.

I got the white shade for a transparent effect for setting.

One of two swipes on my skin and it seriously just sat on my nose like halloween makeup, didn't settle into my skin for awhile. And when it did, it settled right into my pores, not filling them up for hide them, but filling them in to make them look HUGE! this was a bummer all the way around. The texture of this powder felt quite cheap actually, i usually spend a bit on my makeup so for this price it did not reflect quality. I do think Bobbi B products are good, just not this. I would suggest getting BECCA translucent powder instead, that melted perfectly into my skin, with a matte glow.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* NYCBeauty99 on 5/4/2013 8:22:00 AM more reviews by NYCBeauty99

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I've been using the loose version of this for a little while. I decided to get the in the pressed version to carry around. The powder itself is fine. The color matches me well. It does an okay job of oil control. What I don't like is the packaging. I find it way too bulky. The packaging should have been like the bronzing powder.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 missmelsie on 3/19/2013 1:47:00 AM more reviews by missmelsie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I have been using this powder for about 6 months now, firstly with my Bobbi Brown Long Wear Even Finish foundation, and now with my Skin Foundation. I can now safely say that this powder isn't worth the money!

Firstly, it's called a sheer finish powder but it's certainly not sheer enough. I was matched with the wrong shade and it was really noticeable, even with the lightest of applications. Even when I did hit the right shade, the powder sat on top of my skin and looked very obvious, accentuating my pores.

I'm not super oily, but I do have an oily t-zone, and I don't like looking too shiny. This powder mattified on application, but within a few hours the shine broke through. In fact, when I used it with my Bobbi Brown Skin Foundation (which seems to make me look like an oil slick 5 seconds after applying it) I was blotting within half an hour. It also has zero staying power, but when you reapply it has a tendency to look cakey on the skin.

The Sheer Finish Pressed Powder comes in a compact with a puff and a mirror, which is quite handy, although the compact could be a little sleeker as it's quite large and chunky.

For the price, it would be nicer if it had more staying powder. And even though Bobbi is great at matching yellow-toned people, this stuff just doesn't seem to do any favours working with her foundations. It might be alright if you had perfect skin, but I need something that provides more oil control and doesn't look so noticeable. I won't be forking out to buy this stuff again!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Bobbi Brown products

More Pressed Powders products