Bobbi Brown Sheer Finish Pressed Powder

3.7

84 reviews

57% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

talc, plymethyl methacrylate, silica, dimethicone, pentaerythriftyl tetraisostearate, cetearyl ethylhexanoate, zinc stearate, zea mays (corn) starch, tocopheryl acetate, PEI-10, tetrasodium EDTA, chlorphenesin, potassium sorbate, mica, titanium dioxide (CI 77891), iron oxides, carmine


on 3/16/2015 10:28:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

*Update* Lowered rating from 3 to a 1 star; I tried this powder again and I had to remove all my under eye makeup with a hand lotion because it was so cakey. I couldn't stand having cakey under eye another day. I'm going to return this. If you really want to make this product work, you can try using a very, very light hand. For me, a light layer of this powder sinks into any fine lines or wrinkles I have..

-------------------------------------

This is anything BUT sheer. I don't think a powder that almost have full coverage should have sheer in the name.

When you first apply with a powder brush (Wayne Goss 2), it has light-medium coverage but this powder builds to a full coverage powder after 3 swipes. How can this be sheer? MAC sheer select powder isn't very sheer either but that powder doesn't build. MAC Sheer select is a straight light-medium coverage throughout. Sheer powders are like Guerlain meteorites perles, Hourglass Ambient lighting powders, Chantecaille white tiger pressed powders--these are merely for setting-finishing because it offers almost zero coverage.

I bought this in Pale Yellow 1 to set my concealer underneath my eyes, I tested twice but not sure if it's good for that purpose. It settle really quickly into the fine lines/ wrinkles underneath my eyes.

Usually a translucent powder like the ELF HD (silica) would work well because it is translucent even if that powder did settle, you cannot see it. So, I was not quite sure something of this level of coverage would work. The texture of this powder is thicker than the average sheer powder. It is very smooth, silky and finely milled. What attracted me is the silky soft texture of this pressed powder. Just touch the powder, it feels so silky like cornstarch powder; I will further investigate and re-test this powder for the under eye and will update when I have a different conclusion.



Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Relaxed, Other

Eyes: Green

The first time I used this, it ran out way too quickly. I thought it was just me using too much so I purchased it again, and about 3 weeks later I'm still in the same situation and don't have much left!! The powder feels a little weird on my face, like I really can tell when I have it on. But the coverage is good, I can use it on my bare face with no foundation and it will cover my scarring and a couple blemishes that I have. But I also think there are other powders that do the same thing for a lot cheaper, so I won't be purchasing this one again.


on 1/18/2015 8:03:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Medium Brown, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Perfect for my dry skin, sets my base extremely well without creasing or clumping together. I use it sometimes without any foundation with just a moisturiser and it looks just as good.


on 1/5/2015 7:59:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Green

I really, really wanted to like this product. The coverage is fantastic; it doesn't give your skin that weird sheen like mineral makeup does, and it doesn't look cakey. Unfortunately, it did not control my oil and I had to take it back.

I accidentally flipped the over in my makeup drawer and the powder came loose from the bottom and split in half. So, handle carefully.


on 10/15/2014 9:38:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

Let me start with the pros : price is good (RM130.00 in Malaysia), the puff that comes with it is really fantastic quality and a pleasure to use, the powder goes on smoothly and a lot of my natural skin still comes through - which is exactly what I wanted as my skin is now really nice and all blemishes are nicely faded. My skin is oily and throughout the day I only need to touch up the T zone maybe twice. It does not break me out. And it does not have any funny floral fragrances in it, which is good for me. Now for the cons: the packaging is bulky and not at all lasting (the hinge that clicks the compact shut was broken by 2 months of use)... But worse, worse of all *cries* the perfect colour match of Soft Sand for my NC30-35 skin OXIDIZES. You heard me. It goes dark in like a record time of half an hour or so. It OXIDIZES like a mother. I'm not sure about other climates but I am from a warm weather country and we get loads of sun. I don't know if this is a factor to this otherwise pretty OK powder turning bad. Back to the drawing board for the perfect HG sheer pressed powder. Humphs !!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/2/2014 12:56:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Very good pressed powder. Easily achievable medium-full coverage with a powder puff or you can sheer it out with a brush.

However, for me, the inclusion of tocopheryl acetate (vitamin E) was a disaster and broke me out due to it being highly comedogenic. For those that are not acne-prone and more normal-dry skin type, this would be a great product because vitamin E is very hydrating. However, for me, this was unusable and broke me out horrifically in places of my face that don't normally break out (sides of my nose, forehead).


on 6/13/2014 7:46:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

First of all the texture is so soft, finely-milled. As for the texture I vote this over my chanel compacte. The main reason I picked this in the first place was bcs of the texture, the sponge thay comes with it was soft too. The packaging was simple and sophisticated altho quite bulky, it takes up 50% space of my tiny makeup pouch. I use this powder as a setting powder for my foundation or concealer when I wear very minimal makeup. Problem is when I apllied it on my face it didnt blend well with my face . this powder sots on my face I waited for it to sink in but it didnt, which was kinda frustrating cause it looked like I was wearing a veil. Yep that obvious. It didnt look pwdery but it looked like a very thin and smooth veil. I actually like this powder but for me its not worth the price I paid for. I wouldnt repurchase, some cheaper brand powders of mine did better job than this, sorry.


on 5/23/2014 3:09:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Tan, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Other

Eyes: Brown

I couldn't wait to get this pressed sheer finish powder when I finally finished my my Bobbi Brown Retouching Powder (in Yellow). I had wanted a mattifying powder which I could carry in my handbag and had previously bought the Retouching Powder (only available in loose powder format) as the store I'd visited didn't have any sheer finish powder in stock.

Despite the Retouching Powder driving me insane with the non-travel-friendly packaging, I loved its soft-focus effect and how airily fine it is. I had assumed the sheer finish powder would be the same, but it's actually quite a different product.

I've got this in Warm Natural, which is also colourless over the rest of my make-up. Whilst its mattifying properties are apparent upon application and I don't expect anything to make my skin sweat-proof against the Dubai humidity, my face does seem to become shinier sooner than with the Retouching Powder.

The texture of the powder is also heavier (which probably explains the weight difference between the two products), so the finish looks like I'm wearing powder as opposed to the soft-focus effect I've become used to. The pressed format definitely ticks the travel-friendly box, and I only re-apply once throughout the day, but I suspect it would easily become cakey-looking if I re-applied more.

I think I'll have to give the MAC Blot Powder a go next time.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/1/2014 11:57:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Sorry ladies, this was not good. I have never thrown something so fast back into the box to return it.

I got the white shade for a transparent effect for setting.

One of two swipes on my skin and it seriously just sat on my nose like halloween makeup, didn't settle into my skin for awhile. And when it did, it settled right into my pores, not filling them up for hide them, but filling them in to make them look HUGE! this was a bummer all the way around. The texture of this powder felt quite cheap actually, i usually spend a bit on my makeup so for this price it did not reflect quality. I do think Bobbi B products are good, just not this. I would suggest getting BECCA translucent powder instead, that melted perfectly into my skin, with a matte glow.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/4/2013 8:22:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I've been using the loose version of this for a little while. I decided to get the in the pressed version to carry around. The powder itself is fine. The color matches me well. It does an okay job of oil control. What I don't like is the packaging. I find it way too bulky. The packaging should have been like the bronzing powder.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top