MAC • Studio Fix Fluid SPF 15 • Liquid

rated 3.5(2657 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.58%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sweetfart on 10/4/2012 7:51:00 PM more reviews by sweetfart

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

Yoooooo, I said a ess eff eff eff ess pee eff fifteen
Gurrl, don't act like you don't know what I mean
It's MAC Studio Fix Fluid Foundation
Who would've thought, it's god's creation

Buffed this on my ugly face
At first I swear there was no trace
Of all the acne and scars
Ooo this is way better than Nars
Love the yellow undertone
Which in other foundies can't be shown
Face was nice and matte
Too bad this can't dissolve fat
But wait a minute

Chorus (3x): Wait a minute

Whoa wut the fak
Wow MAC, you actually suck
What's that I see in the mirror five hours later
Holy hell it's every crater
And besides magnifying each pore
In the five hours that I wore
I built up enough oil and grease
For KFC to cook an 8-piece
Plus it smells bad
Like car paint a tad

If you're gonna cost almost thirty dollars
Please don't rub off on my shirt collars
That's thirty dollars I could've spent
Towards paying this month's rent

127 out of 153 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* EnjoyTheSilence on 3/22/2006 3:51:00 AM more reviews by EnjoyTheSilence

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

EDIT: Sadly, I had to return this foundation. I ended up developing some allergies to this after a few weeks. That doesn't mean that anyone else will, though...so I'm not changing the rating.
MY COLORING: I'm normally a NW15 in winter & NW20 in summer. My skin is cool olive. I have no pink in my skin. I have strong blue undertones with a yellow cast to the surface. No peach or orange in my skin, either. Overall, I'm sort of an ashy green, dull color (alien girl!)MY SKINTYPE: I have combination skin that is extremely acne prone. For about 5 days each month (due to menstrual cycle) I get very oily in my T-zone, along with increased breakouts. I always have at least a few small blemishes somewhere on my face; sometimes my skin goes crazy and I'll have a really bad breakout. My skin is moderately sensitive & I'll frequently have reactions/redness/itching to unknown aggressors. I usually have some mild flaking around blemishes. My skin turns over quickly, but does not release dead skin cells as fast as new ones are produced. I have to help things along w/ chemical exfoliants.HOW MY BARE SKIN LOOKS: The texture is fairly smooth 75% of the time (with just a few little bumps here & there.) However, I have lots of discoloration in the form of post-acne marks. I'm pale, but multi-racial so these marks are pretty dark. They tend to be a deep red that turns purple after a week, then eventually brown. Not pretty, and something that definitely needs to be covered. Most foundations do not cover these marks & I end up having to spot conceal each one which is tedious & time consuming.WHAT I LOOK FOR IN A FOUNDATION: I like a natural/satin finish. I don't want anything too matte or dull looking. Because my coloring is dull, I want to bring a little radiance to the surface finish. If I go too dewy, that just accentuates blemishes & T-zone oiliness, so that's not good. I'm almost 30, and fortunately have no wrinkles/lines yet, but I still look for foundations that will keep a youthful look to my skin. Too-dry or matte formulas definitely make my skin look older. I want something that stays flexible; is longwearing; looks like REAL skin; covers discolorations well; doesn't break me out; not too dry/matte; not too dewy/slippery; AND matches my coloring perfectly.STUDIO FIX FLUID REVIEW: Love it!!! I was terrified to try this. I'm still traumatized by my encounter w/ a LM Moisturizer (cystic acne galore), so was not eager to try something new all over my finally-calmed-down skin. My good friend is a MAC MA as well as a MUAer, so I trusted her when she told me I'd love this. Of course, there's no way for her to know if I'd react to it, so I still had to do a patch test.For the first few days, I wore this only on my forehead & chin (so if I was allergic, at least I wouldn't get a rash all over.) After that I applied it all over, but closely monitored how my skin was feeling/looking. It's been 9 days of wearing this all over now, and so far so good! I'm very pleased with how natural my skin looks while wearing this, as well as the long wear. The color match & coverage is great, too. I apply it with a dry, non-latex sponge. I swipe it on all over to even out skintone all over, then stipple it on where I need more coverage.FINISH: Demi-matte, satin, natural.COVERAGE: Sheer to moderate/full, depending on application tools & technique. It's a buildable foundation.TEXTURE: Silky, almost powdery in feel. It's velvety & flexible on skin once dry. It's a longwear, bonds-to-skin formula, but you have some time to blend & work with it before it sets & dries.LOOK: Natural, satin; not too dry/matte, not too shiny/dewy. Looks just a step more satin/matte than a teen or child with perfect skin (what we all want!)COLOR: I chose NW15 for myself. I find this formula to run just a bit darker than other MAC formulas, as well as a bit more yellow than I've experienced with other NW shades. NW15 will work for me in summer, whereas I usually have to go up to a NW20. If you are NC, you may find this a bit orange on your skin. If that happens, check out the NWs. For instance, if you are normally NC30, you could very well be a NW25 in this formula. You'll need to try it out on your skin before purchasing. Extremely pale, porcelain skin won't find a match in this, unfortunately. I'm quite pale, but definitely not porcelain & the palest NW shade is close to being too dark on my winter coloring. I took off a lippie for the slightly-off color designations.This foundation has a slight chemical/rubbery scent due to the volatile silicones & binders in it. It has that typical longwear/transfer-resistant foundation chemical scent that I find in Revlon Colorstay & Estee Lauder Double Wear. Doesn't bother me at all, but some may be sensitive. No perfumey scents, though.INGREDIENTS (at least for shade NW15. May vary in deeper colors): ACTIVE INGREDIENT: Octinoxate 2.50% Other: Water/Aqua/Eau, Cyclopentasiloxane, PEG-10 Dimethicone, Butylene Glycol, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Dimethicone, Magnesium Sulfate, Silica, Dimethicone/PEG-10/15 Crosspolymer, Laminaria Saccharina Extract, Algae Extract, Tocopheryl Acetate, Sodium Hyaluronate, Lethicin, Hydrogenated Lethicin, Xanthan Gum, Sorbitan Sesquioleate, Methoxy Amodimethicone/Silsesquioxane Copolymer, Laureth-7, PEG/PPG-18/18 Dimethicone, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Propylene Carbonate, BHT, Chloroxylenol, Phenoxyethanol, Methylparaben, Propylparaben [+/- Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Iron Oxides (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499), Chromium Oxide Greens (CI 77288)]

42 out of 44 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 virtah on 3/14/2011 7:10:00 AM more reviews by virtah

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I know there is a lot of confusion on the colourings of MAC products so i emailed MAC and asked. Here is their reply before i get onto the reveiw:

MAC foundations, concealers and powders are coded as follows:

• NC – Neutral Cool (yellow based) 80% yellow tone 20% pink tone

• NW – Neutral Warm (pink based) 80% pink tone 20% yellow tone

• C – Cool (yellow based) 100% yellow tone

• N – Warm (pink based) 100% pink tone

To help you roughly determine your undertones: Pink (NW) undertones would tend to burn in extensive sunlight. Yellow (NC) undertones would usually tan easily.

The higher the number, the darker the product shades. This should help you determine your undertones and which shade to use. 15 – Lightest, 55 – darkest. As the number gets higher the shade gets darker.

The warm vs. cool issue can be confusing. We use an Artist's colour wheel to assist us in determining undertones. It places yellow undertones into the cool category and pink undertones into the warm category. NC (neutral cool) is neutral beige with golden undertones. NW (neutral warm) is neutral beige with pink undertones. N (neutral) is a blend of pink and yellow undertones and C (cool) shades have olive yellow undertones.

To determine what your undertones are, take a look at the underside of your forearm. If your vein looks more blue, then you most likely have pinkish undertones (our NW category). If your vein looks more greenish, then you have more yellow or golden undertones (our NC category).

Also try this trick: pull your hair back from your face and drape a true white cloth around your neck. White needs to be the only colour that is next to your face. The white cloth will reflect the true undertone of your skin. Look at your skin in natural daylight to determine if your skin is more golden or more rosy. Colours from clothes can cast shadows on the face that can make it difficult to determine your undertone.

SO the review!
This is definitely the best foundation i've ever used. I got it in NC20 just at a lucky guess (bought it before id emailed MAC) and it is spot on. The yellow tones evens out my skin, there isnt any red in sight once ive used it, just a perfect canvas :) wooo.
It goes on evenly and smoothly with a foundation brush, even without primer and it does not feel heavy. It has lovely matt finish but also a subtle glow which gives you depth and shape to your face.
Only thing is, the packaging. Throw in a pump for free MAC!! When using a high market product you do not expect to have to buy a pump to go with it. But i dont have one and i dont say it completely necessary, would make life alot easier if it was there though :)
No breakouts with this foundation either!
All gooood!

37 out of 38 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 SoliDeoGloria on 8/6/2010 9:29:00 AM more reviews by SoliDeoGloria

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Attn: Women with oil, acne prone skin...READ ME.

I rarely write reviews, but I have to speak on this.

I am a black woman in my late twenties who's always struggled with acne since I was 12. I was overjoyed when my mother allowed me to wear makeup and finally began wearing it on a fairly regular basis when I was 16.


I was introduced to MAC in 2004 and I've worn it Studio Fix in about every form since then. It offered great coverage for my terribly uneven skin. I also loved the new compliments beign showered on me as well. lol...The problem with having acne is the constant desire to cover up the scars and hyperpigmentation caused by breakouts. It was like a never ending cycle of breakouts and cover ups. I'd noticed that my skin has gotten worse in every way over the past 5-6 years, but always attributed it to hard luck and bad genes.



I finally decided to read some reviews on MAC SFF (wearing it for the last 2 years on a daily basis to cover up my disastrous, uneven skin). I ran into some GREAT reviews for the product, but also saw some not so great reviews about it. Users discussed the appearance of black heads and whiteheads on the day of or immediately after wearing SFF.


I didn't want to believe that my beloved MAC could possibly be wreaking havoc on my skin. It was my HG Foundation! It was like being told that my best friend was the one who's been spreading rumors about me. I mean, every best friend has flaws (oxidation, easily transfers, fades after a couple of hours of wear), but you deal with it because she's your bestie. You refuse to believe that she's really an enemy. LOL...you don't want to believe it....SOOOOO, I continued to use my MAC! Finally after counting no fewer than 8 eruptions during December 2009 on my face, including two large, painful nodules, I decided I had to truly figure out if MAC was really a frenemy!


I did some research on the internet and was on the search for another foundation. I'd had bad experiences with mineral makeup (ashy, gray looking on my skin tone), but read in article after article that it was a good option. I finally decided on a product line about two months ago. I purchased a mineral foundation and wore it for a week and a half. I experienced no breakouts. I was shocked. I really was. And it washed off SO easily (something MAC SFF doesn't do). I switched to MAC SFF for a few days to test my skin's reaction--Breakout CITY.



In all fairness, I think liquid foundation with medium to full coverage in general, is horrible for women with oily, acne prone skin. I did the same thing with MUFE HD the week before last, wearing it for 4 consecutive days, only to breakout with 4-5 new little treasures. I'm still dealing with two that refuse to go away. Other than that, I'm back to my mineral foundation and all is well in the world. My next step is to find a derm who will prescribe me prescription grade fade cream/gel.



Final thoughts:
The worst part about being addicted/loyal to this product, or any medium to full coverage liquid foundation, is that you could, as I did for years, ignore the idea that it's tearing your skin up.



If you've had a great results with this product, good for you! The makeup is beautiful and the foundation selection is huge. If you are an oily, acne prone girl, who doesn't have problems with this product, again, GREAT! Just saying, if your skin has grown worse, and you KNOW it's grown worse, look into mineral foundation or no foundation at all....It's not worth the emotional baggage that comes along with having jacked up skin, not even for ONE day....

Love.

23 out of 23 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 LRG on 12/29/2008 3:48:00 PM more reviews by LRG

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I've had mixed feelings about this product for a long time now. I'd say since it came out, actually. I've always tried to make it work for me, but it always ended up looking cakey, or thick. But I always went back to it now and then and tried to make it work because I could always sense it's potential. I knew if I could just find the right combo of products/brushes etc to use with it, that I would most likely love the results. Well, I think I've finally done it! These are my tricks for making SFF look beautiful.
1) Make sure you use a good moisturizer. If your skin is at all dry, I doubt SFF will look good. I recently switched to heavier moisturizer because of the winter weather, and I think this has a made a big difference in the way SFF looks on my skin.
2) Invest in some Fix+ and the 187 brush!
3) Don't use too much product. You really only need the smallest amount of this stuff.
My application method is as follows : Moisturize. Let your moisturizer soak in a bit. Apply a primer. Use your 187 to pick up a small amount of SFF. Lightly stipple it where you want it ( I do one half of my face at a time because I find it sets quickly). Then spritz your 187 with fix+ and buff away! I love the result of applying it this way. Then i take a big powder and brush and apply a tiny amount of MSF natural powder to set it. Again, only use a little!! Then I apply my blush/bronzer/highlight and spritz my whole face again with fix+ again to set the make up and take away any powdery look I have going on at that time. It looks natural, and glows, and evens out my skintone better then any other foundation. I think my biggest mistakes before were using too much product and not applying with the 187 (so therefore not stippling and buffing). I tried using the 190 and it went on way too thick for my liking. Lastly, buffng with fix+ gives me a result unike any other.
Sorry if I rambled, but hopefully this helps someone who has been trying to get SFF to work for them too!

20 out of 20 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bellasera973 on 3/6/2012 1:57:00 AM more reviews by bellasera973

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

IF YOU WEAR GLASSES (like I do) PLEASE READ MY REVIEW!:

My glasses have that "glare protection" coating on them, and this makeup can EAT AWAY at that coating.

I started noticing the bottom edges of my lenses looking like they were scratched, so I brought them into my local eyeglass store, and the woman told me that the glare protection coating was starting to come off. She said that certain chemicals in foundations and powders can cause this.

I had to replace both my lenses, and immediately stopped using Studio Fix Fluid, and guess what? Problem solved.

I wasn't a fan of this foundation anyway, because no matter what method I used to apply it (I even had the girl at the MAC store apply it for me, to teach me how) it always looks thick and cakey. And when I applied too little, it didn't look like I was wearing anything at all.

MAC will always be highly overrated.

16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Remy2106 on 2/13/2011 11:33:00 AM more reviews by Remy2106

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have a word for this foundation. The reason why many women are not able to find their perfect match for their skin tones/colours, despite that MAC is producing millions of colours and offering 'better' selection than most other cosmetic brands, is quite simple: they are creating colours based upon dogma and preconception of women's skin, not on down-to-earth research on real women.
For example, many Occidental or Caucasian women find the NC range too yellow, and NW too deep red. And in fact this is also the case for Oriental women. According to certain research conducted upon the skin undertones and colours of Japanese women, the result show that many fair-skinned women do NOT have yellow tones, NOR red, but neutral or beige tones.
So I guess I am not the only one who feel when I put the NC15 on I look like one of the characters of Simpsons - despite that the colour itself is a reasonable match, it turns the skin yellow, especially in pictures and if this is a deliberate result expected by the leading catwalk makeup artist cosmetic brand then I have to say that its not my cup of tea.

13 out of 22 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sabzter on 11/15/2010 4:31:00 PM more reviews by sabzter

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I've been wearing this foundation for years (since 2008). I was doing just great with it and I used to wear it everyday. No breakouts, no irritation, just perfection. One day I decided to venture out to find a "better" and "more lightweight/natural" foundation. I tried a bunch---Dior Forever, ELDW, Chanel Pro & Mat Lumiere, Clarins Everlasting, Clinique, BB Natural Finish, and the list goes on. Boy oh boy did I wreak havoc on my skin with all of these! You're either going to have a love or hate relationship with this foundation. Either it is going to completely ruin your skin or it is going to not do anything at all to it and actually make it better. Fortunately, I fall into the latter category. Thinking for a while that I was breaking out from this foundation, I rest assured that it was trying all the other foundations that made my skin terrible. This is GREAT for my skin and I am acne-prone and have THE MOST SENSITIVE SKIN in the world!!! I feel like if anyone touches my face, I might just break-out, that's how bad it is.

The thing with this foundation is that even though it is very thick and paint-like, it is oil-free and does not contain the typical comedogenic ingredients that most other foundations do. I'm guessing it's probably b/c MAC was initially made only for make-up artists. It also covers beautifully---full coverage, but doesn't accentuate your dry spots like Chanel Teint Innocence and Chanel Mat Lumiere do. It dries to a powdery natural-matte finish and lasts all day. It doesn't really look "natural," I mean people will be able to tell you're wearing foundation, but it definitely makes your skin look absolutely flawless.

The trick to this foundation is to use a very light power on top. I use MAC Blot Powder to set the foundation. A lot of people use MAC's Sheer-Pressed or MAC's SkinFinish Natural. While those are incredibly beautiful powders, they're a bit heavy to wear on top of SFF and may cause that cakey white-trash effect that everyone tries to stay away from. And you're also going to feel as if your skin cannot breathe and is being suffocated with a heavy powder. The Blot Powder just sets it, and doesn't add any color or texture so your foundation just looks fresh all day. I've never had to re-blot the SFF as the Blot Powder is really effective upon its first application. I also apply this with Lancome's flat foundation brush, as that provides the heaviest and most flawless coverage.

Removal---I get rid of this foundation with Pond's Cold Cream. Then I wash my face with my BP Cleanser. This is a very tough foundation to remove as it has incredible lasting power. Make sure to get all of it off, otherwise you may have a zit or two in the morning. Of course, we cannot blame this on the foundation, only our laziness. =(

Guys, for those of us with sensitive skin who can tolerate this foundation wonderfully, my advice to you is to not venture out for something newer or better. They are sure to break you out and ruin your sensitive skin. Like I said, the reason my sensitive skin can tolerate SFF is due to a lack of typical comedogenic ingredients + the oil-free factor. Also note that just b/c a foundation is oil-free does NOT mean that it won't break you out. Ingredients like stearic acid and mystyric acid are sure to cause problems, but silicones in foundations are hit or miss.

Oh yeah and I have fair-medium skin and I wear NC20 b/c NC25 turns orange on me. I wear the Blot Powder in Medium-Dark since it runs light. Hope this helps. If you have any questions, email me. =)

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 toothfairy72 on 5/8/2008 1:54:00 PM more reviews by toothfairy72

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

Okay, I´ve been wearing it for 4 months now and I have to admit, I had to work out how to get the perfect application. I made the mistake of a first-timer and applied it the way I would have my other foundations which are sheerer. Does not work!
Since I really don´t see the necessity in spending a fortune for MACs brushes I figured out how to look flawless and natural by using my fingers.
First off: exfoliate your skin regularily. This foundation might show any dry spots easily.
Before applying put on a really good moisturizer and let it sink into your skin for 10 minutes. THEN use the Prep/Prime from MAC! It does make a difference: you´ll need a lot less of the fluid because it just glides on effortlessly and doesn´t get into your pores at all(one of my problems). Let the P&P dry for about five minutes>>>important! I know this seems like a lot of preparation when you´re in a hurry in the morning, but what I do is just brush my teeth/fix my hair/get dressed in the meantime...
THEN use your middle/ indexfinger and really take as little an amount as possible, almost to where you can´t see the fluid on your finger. Tap this into your skin and repeat until you have the coverage you want. This stuff is highly pigmented, so you definitely do not need as much as you would normally. You only need extremely little!
I experimented with this stuff and finally found a way to get that "no-make-up-look" and still get sufficient coverage for my redness and blotchiness. And voila! It works. You can´t see the coverage at all and I still have flawless - but natural looking skin!
If you apply this the way you would a regular foundation, be aware that you will look VERY made up.
Nonetheless, I love it. It´s expensive, yeah...but you need so little, that in the end you´re actually paying a lot less.
Be sure to get a very translucent/colorless and fine loose powder to set it. The powder makes a huge difference, too. Even if you carefully
apply your foundation, the wrong powder will destroy that natural looking skin.
The only thing I don´t really like about it is the bottle...there really should be a pump! I don´t like sticking my finger into the bottle-breedingground for bacteria...no matter how clean you are.

4 months later: I´m not breaking out at all, I just notice that now in the hot weather I get oily quite quickly.

10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MaleficentFoxx on 12/4/2008 11:34:00 PM more reviews by MaleficentFoxx

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Okay, so I LOVE this foundation!! Its gives awesome coverage without looking cakey or heavy if applied properly.

I use NW20 in all MAC products and I couldnt be without them. My skin looks absolutely amazing with this. I would definitely repurchase. As for the packaging, I prefer the open bottle, yes pumps are nice, but for me its not a necessity, especially since you cant stick your fingers in the bottle anyways. lol.

For reference:

MAC Products-NW20
Bobbi Brown Foundations- Warm Sand
Laura Mercier- Warm Ivory
Bare Minerals- Fairly Light
Revlon- Nude or Nude Beige

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Liquid products