MAC • Studio Fix Fluid SPF 15 • Liquid

rated 3.5(2677 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.58%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 dylanVoDkAwifey0911 on 2/26/2015 8:27:00 AM more reviews by dylanVoDkAwifey0911

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Tan   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I'll admit, this product exceeded my expectations. I think MAC is terribly overrated not to mention their rude employees and extortionate prices are enough to put anyone off. My first ever purchase: the MAC Studio Sculpt concealer was THE worst concealer I have ever purchased. 1 concealer from the chemist worked better than that studio sculpt crap. Formulated for dry skin, my butt. As a result I was terribly skeptical about this foundation. It's quite pricy for something that looks like it belongs in an art classroom. All foundations hate my skin. I've tried Revlon and Max Factor all the way up to MUFE, Chanel, Nars and Dior, and nothing has ever made my skin look good or provided the coverage I need. I hate 95% of foundations because I have huge pores, Sahara desert skin, fine lines and a few bumps and pimples. They cling to my dry patches, cover nothing and come off too easily. I am tan and bought this in NC42. It looks like tomato soup in the bottle and feels and smells exactly like poster paint. The smell is very odd. I have extremely dry skin and as soon as I read reviews about how this is only for oily skin, I panicked. However, all is forgiven because as soon as I put this on my face becomes flawless. Like...porcelain smooth. Mannequin like? Hahaha! I don't mind because I like my skin to look as plasticly perfect as possible. No dry patches, no fine lines...just smooth matte perfection with a hint of dewiness. I guess thanks to the silicones my face looks great with this on. It stays put and doesn't slip off. I love this stuff. I have no idea why it works for me, but it does.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 victoriasadele on 2/25/2015 7:59:00 PM more reviews by victoriasadele

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

The coverage of this product is AMAZING! It is a heavy full coverage which is perfect if you're wanting every blemish covered and to have a flawless airbrushed look. The duration is which this foundation lasts is also great, I have forgotten to take my make up off by accident after a night out and woke up with my foundation still in place as it was!! You can't say that for many foundations...

It comes in a glass bottle which is great quality however I had to pay an extra 4 just for a pump!!

The foundation does feel heavy n the skin and is quite thick in consistency, I feel like you have to work quick with it although it is blendable - i've always found using a stippler brush works best. It also smells a bit like paint which is sometimes offputting.

However the reason I would not purchase this again sadly is due to how it made my skin after use. I suffer from dry skin. I ALWAYS use moisturizer and then a hydration primer and a few days after wearing this foundation it made my skin go patchy, blemishy and have big dry flakes that it took me 3 days to get rid off. With continued use it began to sit in my pores and cling to every bit of dry skin I had. I've had to discontinue use of it :(
But I do feel if your skins much more on the oily side then to go with this foundation as it is really good just not for my skin type!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 OhSnapSarah on 2/24/2015 6:11:00 PM more reviews by OhSnapSarah

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

holy grail foundation, always my go to. im in nw 13 which is my perfect match. so many shades available and for me it applies as a medium foundation. dont like applying another layer tho as it can get cakey. wish it came with a pump though. its pricey but cmon guys its MAC and you'repaying for the brand name. Already gone thru like 6 bottles and each bottle lasts me about 2-3 months.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 coffeestains on 2/23/2015 1:56:00 PM more reviews by coffeestains

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I'm not a huge fan of this foundation. If you have dry skin (or even normal skin) then I wouldn't recommend this to you. It clings to your dry patches and tends to look cakey! I honestly wasn't expecting this foundation to be disappointing. It just didn't look natural and it just looked like my face had been painted with wall paint (haha, no joke). My mother, who has slightly oily skin, also tried it out. It looked cakey on her skin, too :(

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 SeloMartia on 2/19/2015 12:44:00 PM more reviews by SeloMartia

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I have a love hate relationship with this foundation, the first time i tried this product it seemed flawless and even though i did wear it for the whole day, It wasn't too oily, more of a dewy look which i didn't mind (even though I'm an oily gal) . NC50 matches me perfectly as I do have strong yellow undertones, however my chin area is a tad bit dark so I colour correct and put the foundation over it, after a while it starts separating and looking a little off which annoyed me. It doesn't come with a pump which is a big let down, and also it tends to oxidise a bit, but not too much like other brands. Im still on the hunt for a more natural foundation that I could wear everyday, since the studio fix looks a bit too cakey for my liking. All i need is to even my skin since I don't really have any pimples or scarring, but for this of you that are masking allot of imperfections, this foundation might be right for you as it is full coverage to me, also I heard the kat von D foundation is really good at masking all kinds of imperfections, hopefully i'll find my HD foundation but this is not it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 RixTrix on 2/15/2015 6:18:00 PM more reviews by RixTrix

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

This is my HG foundation. This makes your skin flawless and is so easy to apply. I apply it with a sigma f80 or real techniques expert face brush and then finish with a beauty blender. I set it with Laura mercier translucent or Ben Nye luxury powder. It lasts all day, even through sweating at the gym. This foundation can be applied in small amounts and sheered down or full on like I do, if you like to be very made up which I prefer. It photographs well also.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Sharmine on 2/15/2015 7:27:00 AM more reviews by Sharmine

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I do love this foundation!! It gives me excellent coverage! Covers all my blemishes without a doubt. One thing with this foundation is...you have to MOISTURISE!! And you may need to fiddle around with moisturisers to see which one goes well with this foundation and you skin. I use the good old Astral cream! Apply astral cream and then wait for at least 5 minutes. I use a foundation brush...a beauty blender I found didn't give me the coverage I waned. I use the coco beau big fat foundation brush. I have had people complimenting my skin so much. I also mix a little illuminizer with this foundation as it leaves a semi matte finish.i would Defo buy again. Only use it for special occasions as it breaks me out if I use it everyday.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Isha02 on 2/13/2015 5:32:00 PM more reviews by Isha02

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I love this foundation as it was the only one able to flawlessly cover my acne scars. It feels quite heavy on the skin and is a bit pricey but it's worth every penny.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SmokeySings on 2/12/2015 2:40:00 PM more reviews by SmokeySings

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Grey    

Very disappointed in this.

This dried my skin like no other foundation has. Like, immediately as soon as it was applied, my skin felt bone-dry. I have oily/combo skin. So imo, this should not have dried me out like that.

It also turned almost immediately yellow on me (the MAC sales associate matched me up with NC20). Of course, he only applied a little swipe to my jawline, so I did not get a chance to see how it really looked or performed. Lesson learned-ask for samples. If you get none, best to not buy the product!!! Or at the very least apply the product yourself in the store, as you would at home, and walk around the mall or wherever for an hour or so to get an idea how you might like the product.

And not to bash this completely, but it made me want to rub/itch my skin.

Thankfully it did not break me out, which was a big worry.
This just did not work for me.

I could not wait to get home and wash it off.
Coverage was decent, which is the only reason I gave this 2 stars/lippies as opposed to just one. But definitely would not re-purchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 smmakeup on 2/10/2015 4:55:00 PM more reviews by smmakeup

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I was recommended at the MAC counter that I was shade NW20 but I do find the colour slightly too peachy for me. It smells like paint, but it doesn't bother me too much. I like the coverage this foundation gives, it conceals my uneven skin tone/redness very well although I still need to use a concealer as it doesn't completely cover my acne scars. A problem I have with this foundation is that it really doesn't leave my skin looking very 'smooth', it is a little bit cakey and very matte, but I will keep repurchasing this until I can find a high coverage foundation with a smooth finish.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Liquid products