Dermalogica • PreCleanse • Cleansers

rated 4.1(321 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.74%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* prplepolkadotz on 8/20/2014 7:17:00 PM more reviews by prplepolkadotz

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Smells horrid.. I can't stand it. However it does remove makeup effectively! I am in beauty school and we use this on clients during facials and 90% of them complain about the scent

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Mattewis on 8/14/2014 10:55:00 AM more reviews by Mattewis

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I used Dermalogica in 2005, but not this one. I used the cleansing gel, multi-active toner, active moist and the total eye care. The gel was blah (nothing special), the toner was nice but made me sneeze, the active moist burnt me and the eye product was great but gave me milia. Then I stopped using Dermalogica after 6 months. Fastforward to June 2014. A Dermalogica shop opened right next to my house- how convenient, I thought, no more online shopping for my products (I normally use Paula's Choice). So I bought the travel sizes of pre-cleanse, special cleansing gel, and the toner to see how my skin at nearly 31 handles Dermalogica once again nearly a decade later. I still feel the same way about the gel= blah, and the toner still is nice but I still sneezed a lot. So no to those.

Now for the pre-cleanse. It smells great and it was a dream to use. It felt like being massaged in a salon every night. First, there are way better make-up removers for less money on the market. I don't think it is that great! Nice, yes, but a luxury. However, I then got acne! Other reviewers mentioned this too. I have a tendency towards getting acne, but very mild. Before using pre-cleanse, my skin was nearly flawless. After two weeks of use I look like a pizza. Lots of congested pores, small acne, whiteheads. Never did my skin look this bad. It must be the pre-cleanse because my skin did not react to the gel and toner in this way.

Back to Paula's Choice and my skin is immediately better. No more new zits and in time it will all vanish again. If your skin easily breaks out due to open pores then be careful with this product. I am glad I didn't buy the full size because that would have been an expensive acne-attack. Test it first- the travel sizes are great for that purpose.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 flikstars on 7/3/2014 6:51:00 PM more reviews by flikstars

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Other    

I use this to remove my makeup at the end of the day. I then follow up with special cleansing gel, hydramist and overnight repair serum. If I don't use the precleanse, not all of my makeup comes off properly (I use a brush), it is my hg makeup remover! I will also use it post-workout to remove the sweat and junk that builds up whilst exercising. Once you start using this, you'll realise that your face was never as clean as it could have been.
It is an oil but it doesn't make my skin any oilier as it completely emulsifies when it comes into contact with water, so it gets washed off twice - once with a rinse and once with my cleanser. I think I'd cry if this ever got discontinued!
Overall: expensive but totally worth it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 BeautyAddict62 on 6/23/2014 4:12:00 PM more reviews by BeautyAddict62

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I love Dermalogica and received a 10ml sample with my Skin Smoothing Cream. I have to admit, I was skeptical of this product because I thought it just added another extra step in my skin regime. I was very pleasantly suprised! I have been using this now for the past few months and I cannot live without it. I feel like it is an extra luxury for my skin. I wear quite heavy make up and this gets all the crap out of my skin without irritating it. I follow the PreCleanse with my normal cleanser and it leaves my skin so clean, smooth and healthy looking. If you are unsure of this product, I recommend trying out a sample. I cannot recommend this product enough!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jaya_1981 on 6/7/2014 10:37:00 AM more reviews by jaya_1981

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Love this, its the one skincare product that I don't change up. I like to massage onto dry, clean face and leave for a little while when I can , between 15-25 mins once a week. I really feel as though it dissolves clogged pores. Otherwise I use it daily at night in the shower. Apply to dry face, massge then wet hands emulsify and use your other cleanser. The benefit on hacing all the oil and gunk off your face so that your skin can take in the benefits of your cleanser is unbeatable!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 tambam12 on 5/14/2014 3:27:00 AM more reviews by tambam12

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Pre-Cleanse is probably my favourite skin care item of all time. It's a product that I loved so much from my first use, that it cemented my dedication to a nightly skin care routine. I couldn't wait to use this every day! Using an oil cleansing to remove makeup, in my opinion, is the best way. It smells amazing, it removes everything and the packaging it seriously perfect. All oil cleansers should be packaged like this. It's a great starter for people new to oil cleansers and has never once irritated my skin, nor any of my friends skin. I give out mini bottles to all of my friends at Christmas! And an added bonus - it's called precleanse! The name specifies that it's used before a cleanser, which I love because I know a lot of people get confused! - x

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mimochi on 4/23/2014 9:41:00 PM more reviews by mimochi

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Precleanse is the bomb. I'm a huge believer that oil removes oil, as this is formulated with kukui and olive oil. It melts off all my makeup very gently and does not break me out. Since this is called Precleanse, it's meant as a makeup remover before your actual cleansing routine. The best way to use this product, according to the Dermalogica consultant that taught me how to use it, is to apply with dry hands to dry face. That is, if you have the bottle version. I'm not a fan of the bottle because it's kind of awkward to dump out, so maybe I'll try the wipes next time. But I will repurchase this forever.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 altw on 4/16/2014 6:22:00 AM more reviews by altw

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I bought a small travel size of this to give it a go before I commit to the whole thing (dermalogica is pretty pricey). I don't use it every day, only when I've been wearing makeup and need that extra boost! I'm still on my travel pack which has lasted me about 4 months so far so I'd say you get quite a bit for your money! However it is extremely runny so be careful!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 pianoBUTTER on 3/15/2014 6:27:00 PM more reviews by pianoBUTTER

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

Gotta love this product! it's the best makeup remover I've ever had :D

i use it on cotton pads & q-tips to remove eye makeup and it certainly does a quick job. on normal days when i don't have makeup on I'd massage my face with this for 10 minutes or so before cleansing. my face always feels so smooth afterwards.

it smells really relaxing too. like bath oil :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Concealergeek on 2/2/2014 3:55:00 PM more reviews by Concealergeek

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I am a double cleanse person, so this product is so convenient for me. It removes every trace of make up, including eyes and water proof mascara. It leaves the skin soft and hydrated. I love the smell and the texture. I wash afterwards with a soft cleanser. If you only cleanse once, this is not for you though. I will repurchase forever.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Dermalogica products

More Cleansers products