Dermalogica PreCleanse

4.1

329 reviews

73% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $$$

Not tested on animals

INGREDIENTS

Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Prunus Armeniaca (Apricot) Kernel Oil, PEG-40 Sorbitan Peroleate, Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Seed Oil, Cetyl Ethylhexanoate, C12-15 Alkyl Benzoate, Oils Of: Borago Officinalis Seed, Aleurites Moluccana Seed, Oryza Sativa (Rice) Bran, Carthamus Tinctorius (Safflower) Seed, Citrus Grandis (Grapefruit) Peel, Lavandula Hybrida, Cymbopogon Schoenanthus, Citrus Aurantium Dulcis (Orange), Lavandula Angustifolia (Lavender), Citrus Nobilis (Mandarin Orange) Peel; Solanum Lycopersicum (Tomato) Extract, Tocopheryl Acetate, Decyl Olive Esters, Tocopherol, Dicaprylyl Carbonate, Isopropylparaben, Isobutylparaben, Butylparaben, Citral, Limonene, Linalool.


on 6/17/2015 1:40:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

First of all I'm not new to the oily cleansing method I used the precleanse years ago and it was horrible runny doesn't rinse off well yet stripped my skin and cause redness plus horrible breakouts under the skin bumps even though I double cleanse with a separate cleanser after. This is not strong enough to remove all my makeup especially full face of makeup from skin care sunscreen liquid foundation concealer powder blush..... just cause my skin to become unbalanced. Before using this I did not have any under the skin bumps only mild breakouts. This made my skin dry underneath and super oily on the surface and all red with tiny bumps and couple large pimples on my cheeks. The bottle packaging is also horrible the oil runs down the bottle when you poor it out. For those who are new to oily cleansing this is not worth $38. Shu uemura is better but more expensive worth it because they have oil cleansers for different skin types.



on 5/28/2015 10:23:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

HG. I always double cleanse whenever I'm wearing any makeup on my face, and this is the only pre cleanse that has worked for me without fail. I have tried Clinique's cleansing balm and oil, Neutrogena's cleansing oil, various micellar waters, the lot. This is the only cleanser that truly dissolves all my face makeup and removes it properly. The price is seriously off-putting, especially for a student like me, but I honestly cannot live without this as my skin breaks out and goes haywire whenever I don't use this as a pre cleanse. Gentle and so suitable for girls with acne and/or wear heavy face makeup. Packaging's a bit flimsy so it can get a bit oily and messy, and I do wish more product came with its hefty price tag.


on 5/19/2015 4:06:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Oily, Dark, Warm

Hair: Black, Relaxed, Medium

Eyes: Black

Gave me the worst cystic acne of my life. Huge, painful, deep and inflamed!
It took me so long to figure it out - I changed my makeup, pillows, cut out dairy, all sorts of spot creams and eventually went to the GP in tears.
I convinced myself that since I was carefully "emulsifying" it and using my cleanser afterwards it couldnt be clogging my pores.
I can see by other reviewers that it works for them but if you see your skin changing while using it, please stop as soon as you can.
My entire cheeks are covered in acne marks and I fear because the acne was cystic, these are permanent. My skin is ruined and if it wasnt for a layer of thick concealer and foundation, I would never leave the house.
Learn from my experience :-(


on 1/15/2015 9:54:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Black

I received some samples of PreCleanse from the Dermalogica SA and noticed that my skin was congested after using, but decided that it might be purging so took the plunge and bought the whole bottle.

To use it, you apply the oil to dry skin, massage in and then add water to emulsify and rinse off. I would then follow up with Derm's Special Cleansing Gel.

After about two weeks I was left with dozens of whiteheads and similar congestion on my jawline - my skin felt like sandpaper under my fingers and looked worse. When the congestion started spreading up to the rest of my face, I stopped using PreCleanse. By process of elimination it was definitely this product that caused the breakout.

My skin is just now clearing up but I am so disappointed as I'm a cleansing oil fanatic! I've used Shu Uemura, Moogoo and even Bio Oil (very naughty as it is full of mineral oil but used the whole bottle without issues) and Dermalogica is the only oil cleanser that has given me such a reaction. I will be taking this back to Dermalogica to get my money back - such a pity as it has gotten some great reviews.


on 12/14/2014 9:39:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have never tried a cleansing but now that I have I will never go without it. I actually tried it by accident when I went to ULTA. One of the associates was going to do my makeup but I still had makeup on. She told that in addition to being an associate at the store, she was also the skin specialist! She basically gave me a mini facial for free! And this was the first product she used. She rubbed it all over my face and then placed a very warm towel over my face and rubbed it off just slightly. I loved it so much, I bought a bottle. It had an essence of great oils and it rinses clean.


on 11/17/2014 2:13:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Removes makeup very thoroughly and doesn't cause breakouts (for those who are skeptical about putting oil on acne-prone skin). Leaves my skin so soft and looking so smooth. I use differin which can cause peeling but when I use this I never get this problem. I have been using it for years and will continue to use it in the future.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I love cleansing oils and, even though I have a favorite (ADE Cream Cleanser, which is basically an emulsifying oil cream cleanser), I continue to torture myself by trying more out because, well, I belong to MUA. Anyway, this popped up on my radar when I was browsing around some spa shop on vacation and was dying to buy something. I figured if I got something I would definitely use, I could justify it. The ingredients list is impressive if you lean towards "natural" products as it contains a host of natural oils such as apricot kernel, sunflower seed and safflower, as well as essential oils like lavender and orange. The scent is definitely dominated by the lavender oil, which I don't mind because I find it soothing. Obviously, I wouldn't classify it as a truly green product as it contains parabens and the like.

The oil itself is a thinner consistency, thinner than sunflower oil would be by itself, but not watery. I usually used a dime-sized amount and that would cover my whole face. If I used twice that much, I could spread it all over my face, neck, and decolletage. It was much easier to spread than Josie Maran's oil cleaner, which is thick as shit. I think it did a really good job at cleaning my makeup off, which is the main reason I use oil cleaners. It took care of sunscreen, foundation, concealer and eye makeup, including mascara. I didn't think it emulsified as well as it could have because I definitely recall breaking out if I didn't follow up with a cream or foam cleanser afterwards. That's probably my fault since it is called pre-cleanse, but I was kind of hoping it would have just rinsed clean and saved me a step. Not so much. I would compare this to MAC's Cleanse Off Oil, but it costs more and is a little harder to find. Overall, 4 stars and I would recommend it to someone looking to double cleanse who likes the scent of lavender and prefers a thin oil cleanser and is brand loyal to Dermalogica, otherwise, I would just use the MAC or my personal favorite, ADE Creamy Cleanser.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/27/2014 2:09:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is a great precleanse. I began using this is esthetics school and I haven't stopped using it. Any skin type can use it. For oily skin types like mine, it does a great job of helping to remove that sticky oil that for some may take two cleanses with your normal cleanser. You use it on dry skin and massage, then add water and massage some more while getting a milky solution that easily rinses off.
The smell is wonderful! For the person that said she used it in beauty school and 90% of the clients complained about the smell... this was never the case for me. I was in a 1200 hour esthetics program (which is the most hours in the US), so I did a ton of facials and not once did I have a client complain about the smell of this product! In fact, it was the easiest product to retail to clients.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Smells horrid.. I can't stand it. However it does remove makeup effectively! I am in beauty school and we use this on clients during facials and 90% of them complain about the scent


on 8/14/2014 10:55:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I used Dermalogica in 2005, but not this one. I used the cleansing gel, multi-active toner, active moist and the total eye care. The gel was blah (nothing special), the toner was nice but made me sneeze, the active moist burnt me and the eye product was great but gave me milia. Then I stopped using Dermalogica after 6 months. Fastforward to June 2014. A Dermalogica shop opened right next to my house- how convenient, I thought, no more online shopping for my products (I normally use Paula's Choice). So I bought the travel sizes of pre-cleanse, special cleansing gel, and the toner to see how my skin at nearly 31 handles Dermalogica once again nearly a decade later. I still feel the same way about the gel= blah, and the toner still is nice but I still sneezed a lot. So no to those.

Now for the pre-cleanse. It smells great and it was a dream to use. It felt like being massaged in a salon every night. First, there are way better make-up removers for less money on the market. I don't think it is that great! Nice, yes, but a luxury. However, I then got acne! Other reviewers mentioned this too. I have a tendency towards getting acne, but very mild. Before using pre-cleanse, my skin was nearly flawless. After two weeks of use I look like a pizza. Lots of congested pores, small acne, whiteheads. Never did my skin look this bad. It must be the pre-cleanse because my skin did not react to the gel and toner in this way.

Back to Paula's Choice and my skin is immediately better. No more new zits and in time it will all vanish again. If your skin easily breaks out due to open pores then be careful with this product. I am glad I didn't buy the full size because that would have been an expensive acne-attack. Test it first- the travel sizes are great for that purpose.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top