Dermalogica • PreCleanse • Cleansers

rated 4.1(322 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.74%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* vanbergc on 12/4/2009 12:10:00 AM more reviews by vanbergc

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I haven't tried tons of makeup removing cleansing oils...DHC, Boscia, Clinique's Take the Day Off Cleansing Balm, and another German one whose name I can't remember. This is the thinnest one of the bunch, but also the most elegant. Works about the same as the others, but I like the oils better...apricot, then sunflower, and a few others down the list. It's light and effective. Love apricot oil...it was also in the brand I can't remember, and was very nice there too.

I always double cleanse at night, either to get sunblock off, or makeup, or whatever. I cringe every time I see someone mad because a certain cleanser can't get their makeup off. I can't imagine trying to get makeup off with a normal cleanser. People complain about how unhygenic they think creams in tubs are...I wonder how people can care about that when they won't even take the time to clean the makeup off their faces properly. Anyhow, I won't let a day go by that I don't really clean up my face with a gentle double cleanse.

This product is great! It's absolutely my favorite, and I would buy again in a heartbeat.

18 out of 20 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 pushpop on 7/5/2007 8:48:00 AM more reviews by pushpop

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I believe this is Dermalogica's best invention by far! I have combination skin and highly prone to breakouts and clogged pores (comedones & cystic pimples). The first time I read/heard about this I thought I would be mad to use this "oil" on my face. I had almost written it off immediately as pimple fertilizer until I tried a sample given to me by my beautician. OH MY GOD I NEARLY FAINTED - IT IS A MIRACLE PRODUCT. I use it as the first step to my double cleanse routine. It beats any make-up remover I have ever used (I have used Kose, Lancome, Biotherm, L'Oreal, Chanel etc).

It effectively dissolves and removes (1)sunscreen, (2)MAC Fluidline gel liners which are difficult to get off, (3) mineral foundations, (4) mascara base + mascara (even waterproof) COMPLETELY and with minimal effort. No longer do I need to waste time using dual-phase makeup removers and and worrying about pulling the delicate skin on my eyes. Gentle enough to use over eyes and I wear contacts!

I am almost halfway through my first bottle. Best part is I do not breakout from this wonderful product! I am very surprised. It is important to keep in mind that you should always double cleanse so as to remove everyday make-up and sunscreen off completely as build-up or improper cleansing can lead to pimples and congestion. I learnt that from my beautician.

Again, best ever make-up or sebum remover. I LOVE IT! You have to try it to believe it! 10/10!!

P/s: The screw on lid makes this an ideal travel partner as usual pop-up tops leak!

UPDATE: Lost 1 lippie as I have found an even better and more effective cleansing oil - Dior's Magique Purifying Cleansing Oil. Precleanse does not remove hardcore Japanese mascaras that are budge-proof such as Kiss' LOng & Curl mascara or SANA's Extra Large mascara.

10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Anna_Copa_Cabana on 1/11/2007 11:55:00 AM more reviews by Anna_Copa_Cabana

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

It product has become indespensible to me. I've had persistant blackheads on my nose and chin for as long as I remember. I suspect it's from my sunscreen, which I insist on, or possibly even the base of the RAM 0.04% I was using. Who knows, but I always had them. Glycolic peels were too harsh for me, microdermabrasion didn't help this particular issue, and regular facials got rid of them, but they always came back. Enter precleanse. Within a week of adding this pre-cleanser to my routine, my blackheads have disappeared. They literally shrunk a bit each day and now they're gone. I think they were being caused by product buildup even though I used a cleanser with AHA's plus a foaming face cloth each night to wash my face. I know it sounds dramatic, but I honestly can't believe my eyes when I look at the pores on my nose. The difference is just that dramatic. I don't know if this is the best cleansing oil out there, I've only tried one. However, if you're skeptical about the concept of rubbing oil on your face to remove makeup and sunscreen, have no fear. It really does work. I don't even use my eye makeup remover anymore. This particular cleansing oil seems light, has a nice subtle (non-irritating) fragrance, and leaves my face feeling soft. I always follow it with my regular cleanser though. For reference, I have very very acne-prone skin, combo and sensitive, and I have had absolutely no problems with sensitivity or breakouts.

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LucyBelieves on 3/8/2006 2:34:00 PM more reviews by LucyBelieves

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Hmmm, what to say about this product. First off, let me share my experience with other cleansing oils. Mac dried my skin out terribly, even in the humid summer climate. Shu Enriched was the best I had found so far and I had tried all (Light, Cherry, Regular, Green Tea) of their offerings. DHC's did not move me in any way, in that it seemed to do nothing to improve or hurt my complexion. I consider myself to have "normal" skin most of the time, getting drier in winter with patches of eczema. In the summer I get more comination but never am I fully oily. The viscosity of PreCleanse is slightly thinner than Shu oils, more like Mac's.
The smell is completely organic lavender, grapefruit and orange. This is the most highly fragranced dermalogica product I have ever used. Now, the main fault I find in this product is that when you apply water to begin emulsifying, you have to apply a lot more water than you do with other brands, to acheive any sort of lather/foam. If you apply a bit too much water though, then it is like you have passed the point of no return and you are stuck with a slight oily film on your face. That is fine as you can then just cleanse with your normal cleanser, but I like to see the makeup and sunscreen liquifying. Also, this stuff, while not being as thick as other oils, is difficult to spread. It doesn't, however, leave my eyes foggy. Even the Shu Enriched I love has a tendency to blur my eyes if I am not super careful.
I have been using this 2x a day for almost 2 weeks and it has not broken me out yet, as was the case with the regular Shu Oil and Shu Light. So for that alone, it is worth considering.
I am a sucker for packaging and I just adore this stubby little bottle. I am sure many will appreciate the squeeze top bottle, I however would find a pump easier... the oil is sliding in between my fingers by the time I put the bottle down. I then have to move it around in my palm and like I said, it doesn't spread too well so you end up with a good amount permanently stuck in between your fingers. You must press harder than normal to get it distributed on your face evenly too.
PreCleanse is good, not great and terribly expensive in my opinion. I think it adds up to be only a couple more dollars more than Shu, forgive me if I am wrong as my millilitre to ounce brain calculator is disabled at the moment. The Dermalogica is $32 for 5.1oz. With Dermalogica, you have no clue how much is left in the little white bottle. I would not purchase this at full price. The Ingredient list is available at http://www.skin-one.com/precleanse.html

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SaraLee2 on 5/7/2006 9:31:00 PM more reviews by SaraLee2

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I love this! Packed with essential oils this makes my face feel so good! The smell is light and fresh. Texture is a very light oil that you massage into your face for a minute, then add a tiny bit of water to emulsify, turning it into a very light, white lotion like consistency that rinses so clean and leaves my skin so soft. I then use my cleanser after this and my face has never been this clean without being too dry. Packaging is a short, squat plastic bottle that doesn't leak and travels well. Pretty pricey at $32 for a 5 oz bottle, but you don't need a lot and it works so well I'm hooked.

INGREDIENTS: Caprylic/Capric triglyceride, Prunus Armeniaca (Apricot) Kernel Oil, PEG-40 Sorbitan Peroleate, Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Seed Oil, Cetyl Ethylhexanoate, C12-15 Alkyl Benzoate, Oils of : Borage Officinalis Grandis (Grapefruit) Peel, Lavandula Hybrida, cymbopogon Schoenanthus, Citrus Aurantium Dulcis (Orange) Extract, Tocopheryl Acetate, Decyl Olive Esters, Tocopherol, Dicaprylyl Carbonate, Isopropylparaben, Isobutylparaben, Butylparaben, Citral, Limonene, Linalool.

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 b3llav1ta on 12/13/2010 11:05:00 AM more reviews by b3llav1ta

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Luv luv luv this product! I have an oily complexion, so I used to stay away from anything that has 'oil' in it. Until a few years back, I read all the good things about 'oil fighting oil'. Then I tried all sort of oil - from mixing my own to Shiseido's. They kinda worked, but never really to my satisfaction. Entered PreCleanse from Dermalogica. I was complaining about how easy my pores clogged to my esthetician, and she handed me a sample of PreCleanse. I tried it, and just like that - I fell in love with this 'oil'. Pour some on the palm of your hand, rub and massage it all over your face and neck - focusing on the problem areas. I can feel those tiny beads of white heads coming out as I massage it around my T area! If you asked me one item I cannot leave without, my answer would probably be: PreCleanse.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ada982 on 8/26/2009 11:58:00 AM more reviews by ada982

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Oh cleansing oil how I love thee let me count the ways...If you wear artistic makeup like me you need to invest in a good makeup remover and cleansing oil. I know cleansing oil? But I have oily skin...Guess what oil loves oil and this is a hydrophilic, so once water is added and the product turns into a milky emulsion oil, dirt, makeup and even waterproof ANYTHING washes away. Here's the thing about this product it is called PRECLEANSE for a reason. You need to use a cleanser after!!! Think about it - try using just your plain cleanser and be honest....does your makeup get completely off your face? If you say YES you are lying!!! If you are wearing little to no makeup I can possibly agree but if you are a full face makeup girl...you know exactly what I am talking about.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 marcellewood on 5/18/2009 8:58:00 PM more reviews by marcellewood

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I usually use the Boscia Cleansing Oil but decided to try the Dermalogica on a whim as I was ordering something from whatgreatskin.com (my fav Dermalogica online retailer) with a 10% off coupon. The oil comes in a large bottle with a small stopper that you have to shake to get anything out. It's not very efficient and there is no way to get any extra back into the bottle OR measure a small amount out at any time. Its a thick, clear oil that has a slight lemony fragrance, it spreads easily and emulsifies with a small amount of water. It takes about 90% of my make-up off - I still need to use a separate eye make-up remover - and I always follow-up with a water soluable cleanser and my Clarisonic brush. It doesn't cause me any break-outs or make me oily, but it doesn't leave my face feeling 'clean'. With the Boscia, it rinses away completely, with very little rubbing and I don't need an extra eye-make-up remover usually. The Boscia is thinner, runnier and emulsifies easier too. They cost about the same and I will finish the Pre-Cleanse but won't be repurchasing it in the future. I plan on going back to the Boscia, which I would recommend to anyone!
EDIT: I realized that I needed to use a little more of the product to get the results that I was looking for ... since then, I am very happy with PreCleanse and will be repurchasing it when the bottle runs out. It lasts a really long time though so that might be a while still. I am still not crazy about the packaging and would prefer a pump bottle or something similar.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Mia_8030 on 9/17/2012 10:12:00 PM more reviews by Mia_8030

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Wow!

I've only just got around to using a sample of Precleanse and I had enough to cleanse two nights. I know that using a product twice might not be the best test drive to form an opinion of a product, but I am so pleased with the sample that I am purchasing the full sized product. Tomorrow!

I have used cold creams, oils, MAC's oil cleaning version, and this is by far the best. Where a cold cream leaves heavy residue that is difficult to remove and where MAC's oil cleanser left quite a bit of oil behind after rinsing, Dermalogica's precleanse really does emulsify with water to rinse of clean. The smell is great - like a creamsicle but more heavy on the orange. I can't comment on the packaging because I tried a sample in a foil pouch. Cleansing - all makeup came off. Not a stitch left on my face. It feels so much better to precleanse and not have to work to get residue off your face or feel smothered with a heavy product. Because I wasn't happy with cold creams and MAC's oil I have been using straight up almond oil to precleanse, as I find it to be light and not as difficult to remove. Precleanse is lighter than the straight oil I've been using and feels nicer!

If after prolonged usage I am no longer quite as happy with Precleanse, I will update. For now, I am giving high ratings because I have been blown away by the product and I fell it is good enough to purchase a full size.



Update November 2 -12
I purchased a full bottle and I am still loving Precleanse. Of all oil cleansing methods that I have tried, I like Precleanse the best. I went thorugh some bad skin and I am not 100% sure what the culprit was, but with the addition of Precleanse to my routine and eliminating products that just were not doing me any favours has seen a big improvement i nthe condition of my face. I no longer have as many clogged pores and the ones that I do have are tiny and extracted easily. My skin is healing and isn't getting dry now that winter is here (last weekend humidity was at 23% in my house). I feel that for an emulsifying oil cleanser, Preclease really does emulsify with water, leaving no reside.

I am very, very happy after an extended trial and will be purchasing again when I run out.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 poppydoll on 8/12/2011 10:31:00 AM more reviews by poppydoll

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This was my first cleansing oil, and I must say it's a great product!
Like a lot of people, it used to not make any sense to me to put oil on my already oily, acne prone face, but after hearing a lot of raves I decided to try it.

Pros:
- Effective at taking off my fdtn, sunscreen, bb cream, TM, eye makeup. Everything.
- Does not strip my skin. Even after using my cleanser my face feels nice and soft.
- Surprisingly has a light scent that I like
- Does not break me out/clog pores
- My complexion has evened out since using it

Cons:
- On the pricey side
- There is major suckage in the packaging department. It actually blows so much that I took a lippie off and I'm usually forgiving when it comes to product packaging. I traveled with it (currently in Asia for 6 weeks so brought full size) and almost HALF the bottle leaked all over my stuff, even when I wrapped it. But I admit I also wasn't smart enough to transfer the entire contents to a seperate bottle oops lol ah well, next time! Despite the travel incident, it's still annoying to use on the daily. It always leaks on the sides when I try to get it out and I hate to think I'm wasting a good, expensive product! Dermalogica can I get a friggin' pump on this, please???

Besides the crappy packaging I will repurchase because I do think it's a very good product. I will be trying out other oils just to see how they compare but PreCleanse definitely gets my stamp of approval.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Dermalogica products

More Cleansers products