Cover FX • Cover FX - Natural FX • Liquid

rated 3.4(138 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.52%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 MamaSher on 3/15/2014 8:49:00 PM more reviews by MamaSher

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I went to SDM today to try this. I have rosacea and my skin is super sensitive. This felt drying and turned orange/scaly. I would rather have red cheeks then the look this stuff gave me. I returned the tube without even opening since I was so disappointed with the sample.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 rthibode on 12/28/2013 1:06:00 PM more reviews by rthibode

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

This is my second tube of this foundation. I have normal skin (neither dry nor oily) but I do have melasma which requires a high-coverage foundation.

I also have to wear high spf mineral (physical) sunscreen under it, so I don't use the primer. Just sunscreen, foundation, creme blush, then powder (also Cover FX, or sometimes Jane Iredale).

I do not touch up during the day and find it lasts very well in all seasons, but it will rub off on clothing (e.g., winter coat that rubs on my chin/jaw).

For me, the trick with this foundation is to apply with a very damp sponge. It is sold as a liquid foundation but it's very pigmented and will go on too thick if the sponge is too dry. Unlike with other liquid foundations, I don't blot the sponge with a towel, just squeeze out the water lightly with my fingers. Sometimes I dampen the sponge then dip it into a little inexpensive moisturizer like Cetaphil before using. I then squeeze a bit of the foundation onto the back of my hand and then dip the sponge into it as needed.

Because I try very hard not to disturb the sunscreen underneath, I just press and stipple the sponge, never dragging across my skin. For areas that need more coverage, I can build up layers by just stippling a bit more into the area.

I can also get good results with fingers but prefer the finish with a sponge. I never got the hang of foundation brushes and haven't tried using one with this product.

As someone else noted, this product will separate, especially if it's warm. Shake well and/or massage the tube before using.

The only other problem is that in some areas it can be a little cakey (e.g., around my nostrils). This only happens with certain mineral sunscreens so it's not the foundation's fault. But I think it you had very dry skin it might have the same effect on you.

I switched colours for my second tube and I'm really pleased with the match. My first tube was E20 and I found it orangey. I kept mixing other things with it and got pretty good matches until I used it up with various scraps of other leftover foundations. This time I tried a couple of samples first and found my perfect match is actually C20. What a difference! It looks so natural on me.

I am normally a big cheapskate but to me this product is worth the $37 I paid.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* composure on 9/10/2013 8:40:00 PM more reviews by composure

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

A MUA recommended this to me in E30 (light skin with pink and yellow undertones). I let her know that I was quite oily and acne-prone and she reassured me that this would be suitable for my skin type.
How is it the first day I am wearing this and I hate it already? Upon squeezing it onto my hand I knew the consistency was much too creamy and tacky. I felt like it didn't quite blend well into my skin, though I had a light hand and applied it sparingly. Even with primer, powder and setting spray, it did not fair well throughout the day. From application at 7:30am, by the time I got to work at 9am...I was already oily!! Coverage is medium. A lot of transfer. I felt like this just has a dewy finish and it is definitely not for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 shadowboxin on 8/28/2013 12:16:00 AM more reviews by shadowboxin

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

someone at my work had this foundation and i looked up reviews for it and since they were all pretty positive, i went out and bought it for a solid 43$ canadian. i'm a e0, the lightest neutral shade. at first i was so extatic to try it and do my face with it.
At first i really loved it. it covered my whole face nicely and my imperfections ( i didn't have many ) too. My face is really sensitive to a lot of things so i thought this might be a good foundation to try and i can splurge 43 dollars on a good product. On top i would put clinique almost powder powder. in 01 fair. It looked nice and didn't orange at all. The foundation really didn't need a lot to go all onto your face.
This is my third bottle of the foundation and (before i guess i didn't exactly care) I don't like how it makes my face so oily during the day... It's kind of disgusting especially because my face is not oily at all without makeup on. I would find my t-zone oily halfway through my shift at work, and when walking around in the sun I would find my makeup starting to get oily walking around for even ten minutes. Thus i found myself applying powder foundation on top of my face a lot during the day , which made my powder last only 2 weeks at most, and i kept adding makeup to my face which my face didn't exactly like , either.
Also, when i'm applying the makeup and i'm done my foundation, i finish applying makeup to my eyes and usually put powder on after. I find this stuff NEVER DRIES. It's so hard to put on powder because my brush bristles will move the liquid around on my face making streak marks. I've waited a half an hour before too and it still gives me the same result.

I suggest that if you have really acne-prone dry skin, this may be for you. It's not nessecarily for me though. I started using boujoir paris 10 hour sleep effect foundation with smashbox HD primer and it works very, very, well. I love it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 geishadollbeauty on 8/26/2013 6:30:00 PM more reviews by geishadollbeauty

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Other   Eyes: Hazel    

I love this foundation my shade is g40 - g50. in mac im nc35 -nc40 but nc37 in most of there foundations. I was looking for a foundation that wouldn't break me out because my mac foundation seemed to be breaking me out a lot lately. since wearing cover fx my skin has been great. this foundation is great for dry skin. it leaves your skin with a dewy and glowing finish, just beautiful. the price is ok for this foundation it does last a long time.I absolutely dont recommend this foundation in humid weather. it will slide off your face. if your lookin for a winter foundation this is it. the smell is a fresh non chemical smell. I love the smell. will be purchasing this again and again

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 soofabu on 7/11/2013 12:54:00 PM more reviews by soofabu

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I was excited to get this foundation because it claimed it was a water based foundation and I had never had one before. First of all, about the only thing I liked was the coverage it gave. It did give a pretty full coverage without looking cakey. My skin isn't oily but when I used this foundation it seemed to make my face oiler then normal. With that being said, it didn't last very long and I found myself doing touch ups more then normal. The breaking point for me is when it started to break my skin out from the amount of oil it was producing. So, I don't recommend this foundation especially if you have oily skin. To bad because the coverage really is great. Hope this helped! :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* heyannette on 6/9/2013 12:37:00 AM more reviews by heyannette

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

DESCRIPTION OF ME ~ DESCRIPTION OF ME ~ Very warm, yellowy complexion with a tendency to get redness on my cheeks and around my nose, mid 30s. MAC C2/NC20 Large clog prone pores, oily skin which is also sensitive, blackheads, occasional simple acne.
GENERAL DESCRIPTION OF PRODUCT ~ thick but blendable, liquid, high coverage, corrective and oil-free foundation.
PACKAGING ~ 30ml/1 oz squeeze tube screw cap. Very user friendly.
CONSISTENCY/TEXTURE ~ Thick, opaque and creamy liquid.
APPLICATION ~ I use my finger tips or a foundation sponge. Very blend-able.
FINISH ~ Dewy, set it with powder for sure..
SHADES ~ Cover FX will have your shade, they have an awesome selection. Part of my love for this product is the perfect match to my skin. It's really hard to find true yellow/olive with the coverage, finish and durability I want. I use M20.
COVERAGE ~ It's coverage is medium/almost full which is great, because this makes the product customizable. I can use a thin coat or a thicker coat for more coverage. I have absolutely no problems with it not blending, it's actually very blend-able. I use my fingers or a make up sponge. Used over a primer and it's pure perfection.
STAYING POWER ~ It isn't a long lasting foundation for those with oily skin, unfortunately. It will slide around even with powder. And, all I know is my own skin and experience. Those without oily skin this could be a fabulous!!
SCENT ~ Unscented.
OVERALL ~ It's just not for me, I prefer hard drying foundations like Revlon Colorstay, MAC Studio Fix Fluid etc. But, given the colour range in this line, it you have normal skin and want more coverage than your average foundation and you want to stick to drugstore stuff, this is worth a look. Not that it's any cheaper than department store foundations! lol
The consensus here is pretty negative for this foundation but it deserves more credit. This is a pro product, I say, spend some time with it. It really is fabulous. But, if you have oily skin why bother? It wasn't MADE FOR YOU. Stick to the foundations made for your skin type and stop leaving such negative reviews for a makeup that was never intended for your skin type.
Thank you Seclusae2 giving me permission to use your great reviewing format.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ericavander on 6/4/2013 9:30:00 AM more reviews by ericavander

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought this foundation (water-based foundation in colour E10) from Shoppers after trying (and returning) the L'Oreal True Match foundation. My friend used to work at Shoppers and told me to try the Cover FX brand as it was specifically designed for people with acne and other skin ailments. I had an employee help me match a good colour for my skin - this one best matched my MAC NW20 colour. I love this foundation. A tiny amount goes a long way. It's water-based so its very hydrating and doesn't make me breakout further. It covers nicely and makes for a nice dewy finish. Very happy with my purchase!! ALSO the employee at Shoppers said the chemist at Cover FX was also a chemist for MAC - no wonder I like this product!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cali on 5/2/2013 2:04:00 PM more reviews by cali

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This review is for the natural finish oil free liquid foundation. I am the color G50. This foundation is a beautiful medium coverage, hydrating foundation that is great for sensitive skin. I was worried it might clog my pores but it hasn't at all in the last two weeks I've been wearing it. I originally had the cover fx cream foundation but the shade I got then was too light (G40) and I could never get it to look dewy on my skin. So I'm glad I returned that and took the plunge on the liquid foundation. I have sensitive, normal to dry skin and this formula does everything I want it to. It doesn't irritate, provides very good coverage, and leaves my skin looking younger!! Bonus for us ladies with dry skin in our 30's.

The G50 looks dark at first and smidge too yellow but once it sets into my skin it perfectly matches my neck and coordinates with my upper body color. Lets just say my face is Lucy Lui (including some freckles), neck is Jessica Alba and body is Eva Mendes. So its been a pain finding a foundation that is tan with yellow to olive undertones and can cover redness/blotchiness, but doesn't make my face look fake. While most rave about the color range of this line, I think they could take it a step further and introduce 1/2 shades or shades in between their current colors. To me, I think there is at least a shade or two that could be in between G40 and G50, but that's just me.

I've applied this with a damp sponge and gone in with my Real techniques expert face brush, tried it with the RT buffing brush, and then tried it with just the RT expert face brush by itself. All of these ways apply it beautifully, but I realized I could save and not use so much product if I just used the expert face brush. I smooth on a light layer or two in downward motions and then stipple in extra coverage on areas that need it. It does do a very good (but not great/super) job of covering redness and evening skin tone. If I was in a pinch, I could run out the door without concealer but I never do that so I go back in and cover blemishes and freckles with Dermablend Corrective liquid foundation in Sand Beige. I'm really liking that as a concealer right now, even better than my Hard Candy glamoflauge. After I get one or two light layers of foundation on, I eat breakfast and let the liquid set (5-10min). Then I go back to finish all my makeup by adding in my concealer and then setting with Fusion of Color Aura Lusion Tinted Diamond setting powders. This helps blend and set everything and I can buff the medium/dark color into the sides of my face and down my neck to make everything match. (side note - these diamond powders work way better (for airbrush finish) than plain silica mineral finishing powders. Plus, fusion of color is a lot cheaper than Purely Cosmetics diamond powder).

This foundation is also versatile in terms of what you wear under it. It looks superb over Crème De La Mer and no primer needed at all. This gives a smooth, ultra hydrating skin finish and gets better as the wears on (for me at least since I have dry skin). I have also tried it under Weleda Rose Day Cream and used 100% Pure Luminous Primer. This gives me a more immediate matte finish but I know it will last all day and stay there even if I am outside under hot or humid conditions. I will still get a little dewy by afternoon and evening, but not as dewy with the CDM. So its nice to have options depending on the mileage and coverage I will need that day.

I also noticed that my face is very soft and redness is really reduced when I removed this at the end of the day. I like that and it feels like the foundation is protecting and soothing my skin. The only down side is the stinking price!! $40 bucks is a lot!! but if I don't find anything else then I will buy this makeup again because I like my face, neck and body actually matching for once. Lol.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 tawniethetiger on 4/11/2013 6:36:00 AM more reviews by tawniethetiger

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Let me be fair by saying that I only had this foundation on for about 30 minutes...BEFORE I TOOK IT OFF!! For color reference I'd say G30 is close to NC25 and G40 is close to NC30. I heard good things about this foundation from MakeupGeek so I got a sample. I put it on, blow dried my hair (this is my every day routine which works fine with my UD Naked Skin Foundation) and then when I went to put on my blush and setting powder about 20 mins later my face looked like I had the foundation on for hours. I was already super oily. So needless to say I was very disappointed with this foundation. May be better suited for people with normal to dry skin. It is a medium to full coverage and is SUPER thick and pigmented. A TINY BIT goes a long way. Too bad this foundation sucked for me, I really wanted to like it. Instead I hated it so much I took it right off...ooh well.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Cover FX products

More Liquid products