Unlisted Brand • Mineral Oil • Moisturizers

rated 3.8(44 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kyl77 on 6/13/2014 10:44:00 PM more reviews by kyl77

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

A while back I bought a large bottle of mineral oil, because I had this brilliant idea I was going to make my own cold cream. Needless to say the cold cream was a disaster! However, I had the good sense to hold on to the mineral oil, which I started using as an eye makeup remover. This is the 100% pure mineral oil you get in the laxative aisle at the drugstore. It's fragrance free, and a large 16 oz bottle only costs about $3.00 dollars.

Normally I use cold cream to remove my makeup, but if I'm just wearing eye makeup, I use this because it's a bit easier. What surprised me about the mineral oil is how thick it is. It's definately different from baby oil, which is thinner and is perfumed. This has no scent, and I like how the thicker product stays put and doesn't seep into your eyes.

It's easy to use. I just put a little bit on a cotton ball and gently dab it on my eyes. I also like to include my eyebrows even if I'm not wearing eyebrow pencil, because I feel like it really condtions your brows and eyelashes. Then I wash my face.

Another trick I do with the mineral oil is to use it under my eyes before washing my face. I got the idea from reading this terrific beauty book from the 1970's called "The Natural Way to Super Beauy" written by Mary Ann Crenshaw. Crenshaw is a big believer in the Erno Laszlo method and apparently knew the man himself. She outlines his method in the book and mentions how she puts a special oil under her eyes before washing with his special soap. So, I went online and found the oil she's talking about, which they still sell. Guess what the first ingredient is? That right, mineral oil. Except his version costs $45.00 dollars. I tried using the mineral oil under my eyes before washing, and it works great. It sort of protects the delicate eye area while you clean. The whole eye area feels fresh and soft when you're done washing. Mineral oil is such a great, inexpensive product to have on hand. For only a few dollars, you have very little to lose.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* liz48170 on 9/27/2013 12:59:00 PM more reviews by liz48170

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Kinky, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I use plain cheap mineral oil to remove make up, then I typically clean my face again with another cleanser.

It would be better to suspend this in water first but I dampen a cotton pad. Tthat is what most make up removers are - oil suspended in water with a few chemicals, so you pay $$$ for a tiny bit of oil in water keep that in mind when trying to spend less on make up

Any type oil would be fine, Argan, Olive, etc.

No need to pay $$$$$$ for a few drops of oil in water to remove your make up when you can get (gallons literally) by using another oil or mineral oil, just use water with it.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 asunta on 2/10/2013 7:43:00 AM more reviews by asunta

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I have been using jojoba or almond oil for years to remove my makeup but recently decided to try mineral oil (not the baby oil) because i was on a budget and i really dont like it at all! It was not light like jojoba and seemed to strip my face instead of leaving moisture. I just hated the feeling on my skin and its so thick. And then after 3 days it broke me out. I guess it will sit there till i need it for other purposes. Definately will not repurchase.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* caramelkiss19 on 10/27/2012 9:39:00 PM more reviews by caramelkiss19

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I tried cleansing with this for my clogged prone skin but it yielded nasty results. I do however like this for an eye makeup remover. I use a waterproof eyeliner and mascara and this is very gentle on my eyes and the left behind moisture can't be bad. Also wonderful for shaving legs.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* TeeCube on 10/3/2012 8:58:00 PM more reviews by TeeCube

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I use drugstore brand mineral oil (found in the laxative section, yuk, but grab and go, no pun intended) and it is odorless (unlike baby oil) and colorless. 16 oz bottle. I love it for moisturizing my face, hair, skin plus it can be used as a makeup remover. Inexpensive. I do like baby oil but the scent bothers me sometimes, and I prefer products with no scent anyway. Plain old mineral oil is perfect for me! It comes in an opaque white bottle with a screw cap. I peeled the labels off so as I was using it for beauty things the word "laxative" wasn't glaring at me. Now, it's just my oil.

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pawnshop_rose on 8/1/2012 3:48:00 PM more reviews by pawnshop_rose

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

My skin has been quite temperamental lately. It's dehydrated/oily, sensitive and prone to clogging and now getting some break outs. Not fun. I noticed that some gals on the skincare board have had good luck with using mineral oil as a cleanser/moisturizer. I had some baby oil lying around and I thought I would give it a try. The first week I just cleansed with it, I would rub it on my face then remove it with a warm, wet baby wash cloth. My pores started to get very clogged so I thought that I would try using another cleanser to remove the baby oil, instead of just using the wash cloth. That didn't work well either. I then thought that maybe I was using the wrong kind of mineral oil. I ordered some cosmetic grade mineral oil from Garden of Wisdom. I tried using it a pre-cleanser, cleanser or moisturizer and it failed on all accounts.
My skin felt suffocated. like I was walking around with plastic wrap over my face. My pores became so clogged, it was horrible. At the same time my face was oily yet sooo dry. I should have patch tested this first, leason learned. I wish I could give this zero lippies!!!

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lotusfairy on 8/1/2012 6:16:00 AM more reviews by lotusfairy

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is definitely not for everyone and I suggest you get pure mineral oil as baby oil contains fragrance that might irritate some skin types. I did some research on mineral oil. For years I was scared of using things with mineral oil in it for fear of adverse reactions. I come to the conclusion that quality does matter in this case for me. I tried baby oil first to ease myself into it but favored it more as a body moisturizer and sporadic hair serum. Pure mineral oil I use as a pre-cleanser. I then follow with my sebamed cleanser. I don't get clogged pores and my face is super soft. Existing acne seems to fade as time goes on. So far I have been loving this. There is no scent and a bottle cost me less than six dollars at the drugstore. I pour a little into a travel bottle to make things easier. I use a quarter amount on dry skin and it removes my foundation very well. I then get a wet washcloth and gently rub off

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Elektra2070 on 7/24/2012 5:01:00 PM more reviews by Elektra2070

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

After going the NO HEAT route for my wavy hair, I began the search for a styling product that would define, weigh, and control my hair without being a gel, mouse, or hairspray.I've tried products from Bumble and Bumble, Frederic Fekkai, John Frieda, John Masters Organics, Paul Mitchell, Chi, Healthy Sexy Hair, leave-in conditioners....and none did what I wanted,

I wanted more weight to my hair, defined, maybe piece-y, and moisture.

The Bumble styling lotion came very close, but had the stiffness and the Fekkai stuff had the moisture but no definition. So I went back to cosmetic grade mineral oil and slathered it on before bed and the next day I got the hair of my dreams.

I am in the process of growing out and trimming away all the damage from heat products, so I do have a bit of frizz and just use a serum or baby lotion (just a tad) to calm it down and it works.

This method will not work for someone who contiues to heat damage their hair on a regular basis. But it will work for someone who does not heat style or is seriously limitng the usage of heat on their hair.

From my experience, mineral oil has not dried out my hair no matter what the season is or the temperature outside. So do not believe the lies out there about it, its propaganda spread to take away your hard earned money and direct it to ineffective products.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lemonz4us on 7/5/2012 7:26:00 PM more reviews by lemonz4us

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I'm gonna jump on the mineral oil band wagon. I used to think mineral oil was bad bla bla bla, go all natural yea yea, but i found out that mineral oil isnt so bad, it can be clogging to some, but that's about it.

Why i like it? it takes off everything. I don't wear makeup(I'm a guy) but i wear sunscreen during the day that needs an oil based cleanser to remove. It removed my kose sunscreen which is as tenacious(if not more than) shiseido's --that was the true test--. It's cheap, dollars at your local store. it's also known as baby oil

How do i use it ?
I use this as a pre-cleanse. First i dampen my face and neck a little, then i take a bit of the mineral oil and slather my face with it, neck, too. The sunscreen i wear just comes right off. I massage for about 30 seconds to a mintute, 2 minutes at most, then i take a warm damp wash cloth and gently take most of the oil and whatever it picked up, off my face, i rinse the cloth, wring it, and repeat, done, My face is completely bare( well technically i have the residue left of mineral oil). i follow with my normal cleanser (olay foaming sensitive). pat dry. done. this is usually done in my shower. my face is completely clean and fresh for night treatments. it's that easy.
Some people can just do the mineral oil and go to sleep with no issues. for some, following with a cleanser is necessary or they'll break out. I feel as though the occlusion from the mineral oil will block my night treatments from getting to do their maximum potential job on my skin, so i follow with a cleanser just to be on the safer side.

Oh!!! i forgot, on another note, i find the fragrance in baby oil to smell nauseating, and for some reason it irritates my skin, too? i tried out the cutting board (straight MO) oil that you find at bed bath and beyond, it has no scent and doesn't bother my skin, i wish there were other places that sold unscented mineral oil since at bb&b it's about 6 bucks whereas at the drugstore, baby oil is usually 2 bucks. If fragrance doesn't bother your skin at all, by all means go ahead and use the baby oil, there's no harm in using it. my skin just can't tolerate the fragrance.

There's no reason why you shouldn't try this, you could potentially save yourself hundreds of dollars by using this for dollars, instead of buying those deparment store cleansing oils. If mineral oil doesnt work for you, you could always try a different oil till you find one that works for you.
Glad i had the courage to try this and thanks to the skin care board for suggesting this.
Update: this takes off makeup too , awesome!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mml2145 on 6/27/2012 1:00:00 PM more reviews by mml2145

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

YES! YES! YES! Mineral oil is the BEST thing I've done for my skin. I have acne prone skin and am on two acne medications (Benzaclin and Retin A Micro). Both of them are pretty harsh on my skin so I am always looking for gentle cleansers. I was using CeraVe hydrating cleanser but it still left me a little dry. I went to the SCB and jetfan suggested I try mineral oil. I figured, why not? I used cold cream in the past and had no problems with it. Well, it has been over 6 months (and countless bottles of MO later) I am forever hooked. I use it as my cleanser and makeup remover. It doesn't break me out or dry my skin out.

For my face I wet my skin, pump some MO in my hands, rub them together and apply. I rub it all over my face for about a minute. I used to do 5 minutes when I first started because I could feel blackheads coming out and flakes balling up. When I am done I take a muslin cloth with warm water and wipe it all off. That's it!! Then, I either apply RAM or my moisturizer which is Vanicream.

I also use mineral oil for shaving. It has totally transformed my legs. When I was using shaving cream I would always get razor burn, so bad that I never wore shorts or skirts. Now that I use MO my legs look so much better! I do get a tiny bit of razor burn but I just use some witch hazel when I get out of the shower and I am good to go. Even DH has commented on how great my legs look and how smooth they feel.

I get my mineral oil from Garden of Wisdom (N/A). It is cosmetic grade so it is just the right consistency. Plus an 8 oz bottle is about $4. I have gone through 7 bottles or so, I always order 3 at a time and store them in my vanity. Oh and the last thing is that when I do wear foundation, it goes on so smooth!! Before I couldn't get foundation to look good because of all the flakes from the RAM. Now it is perfection :D

Hooray for mineral oil!!!!!! *\o/*

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Unlisted Brand products

More Moisturizers products