Alpha Hydrox • 10% Enhanced Cream • Moisturizers

rated 4.2(212 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.79%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 1 of 5 daniebug4h on 4/13/2014 7:19:00 PM more reviews by daniebug4h

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

I tried to give this a decent chance, but it just didn't work for me. I had been using the Walgreens brand 8% AHA cream with great results and decided to upgrade to this product. It broke me out pretty badly and aggravated my skin like crazy. I had to stop using it. I'm not sure if it's my skin not tolerating the 10% but I would never use it again nor recommend it. It's going up for swap!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 quiksilvababe on 3/26/2014 7:59:00 PM more reviews by quiksilvababe

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

found this at grocery outlet! super cheap price compared to other prices. I like it alright, it smells not so good though, chemically.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 caithunter on 3/16/2014 4:57:00 PM more reviews by caithunter

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This product works wonders! With it being 10% glycolic acid it tightens the skin almost immediately! Super inexpensive. I would pay big bucks for this even if it wasnt so reasonably priced. This product will dry up ANY active acne. The acne spots will flake off in about two days! No scarring! The smell isnt too bad but nothing special.Great for all skin types but I think will work wonders for oily skin! Will keep oily or combo skin balanced! I highly recommend this to any one who is young or matured. It will prevent fine lines and wrinkles as well as tighten existing wrinkles/ fine lines. Overall- amazing product!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 neelofur on 2/12/2014 3:34:00 PM more reviews by neelofur

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

i always have a backup of this product! its very cheap when i purchase it from winners and does an amazing job for evening out skin texture. Does not irritate unless you have an opening in the skin. Use uder moisutriser. Got rid of small black heads i started to get around my chin due to medications. Been using for over 3 years now and do not plan on stopping. Saw a wrinkle on forehead get smaller after months of use. Was not expecting that. Over all excellent product especially for the price!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pulsesync on 1/13/2014 8:43:00 PM more reviews by pulsesync

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I'm nearing the end of my jar right now -- already got a backup, but in the Enhanced lotion form instead of Enhanced Cream. Let me tell you how my acne is 99% gone due to this cream and ******very important***** petroleum jelly on top of it.

At the time I bought this cream, I also bought Cerave AM moisturizer with SPF 30 hoping for the best in terms of sun protection and moisture seeing as I was going to be putting acids on my face (I also very occasionally spot treated with Paula's Choice 2% BHA liquid in the CLEAR line). My acne was moderate, and ever-present. If two to three pimples were healing, two to three were definitely popping up nearby. I would have maybe 6-10 pimples at any given time, and the lowest I ever had was probably 2 small pimples. I rarely got cystic pimples though (maybe a handful in one year). That was simply how my skin was, no matter what kind of acne treatments I tried (and previously, sulfur-based or benzoyl peroxide spot treatments were the most effective).

I applied this at night after cleansing with almond oil + Pond's Luminous Cleanser. For 5 weeks using it alone, I did see a difference in my acne but not dramatic, and I knew I had given it enough time. So, to test out its performance further, I did what I tend to do with a lot of my skincare: I put petroleum jelly on top of it. I've found that regardless of the type of anti-acne skincare product or moisturizer, its effectiveness is dramatically boosted when I've ***dabbed*** (not rubbed) petroleum jelly on top of it. I just try to cover most of my face in a very thin layer, very light touches when I dab. I do this for the next 4 days -- and wow, I haven't seen such an improvement in the first 5 weeks as when I did in 4 days.

So I continued and continued this for the remainder of 2013, same skincare routine with the same products. I will also add that I switched to Lucy Minerals (original formula) foundation instead of any liquid foundation (when I used any of my liquid foundations regardless of price/brand/ingredients/just opened/old, I always got breakouts and the vicious cycle of breakouts > cover it up > breakouts would repeat). Since then, I truly do not worry what my skin looks like without makeup and half the time I don't even wear my LM foundation when I go out. If you like this cream now, see if you like it even better with petroleum jelly dabbed on top for a couple nights in a row. And if you don't like it, try the same! It makes the biggest difference.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Endit on 1/10/2014 12:59:00 AM more reviews by Endit

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

For a long time, I've been a bit bias against AHAs. I knew their purpose and all, but I thought BHAs were superior. BHAs cause less sun sensitivity, they get down to the pore to clear breakups, they are are anti-inflammatory, and I even heard from a derm after comparing the two he thought BHA was better for the same reasons I did! However, I decided to try this AHA out since it was really well priced and locally available.

PROS: The bias is over now. This works a lot faster than BHA. I've only used 1% BHA (I know, not fair comparison), it they took a while to get good all over results. This, even after 1 day of use I can tell something is different about my skin. My skin has some smoothness and feeling of overall improvement. Can't fully describe it, but I know it's doing something. And yes, it does help with breakouts as well!

CONS: It's not hydrating in the least. I don't think it's drying, but it's the kind of product that needs good moisturizing after. Also, I hate having to let actives sit on my skin for 15m before doing the next step. Smells not so great either, I'm going to assume that's the pH balance used (I'm fine with the smell though).

OVERALL: I really like this. I don't like to exfoliate [deeply] 24/7, instead just when I think I need it, and I think this could work for that. I could use it a little more consistently when I want it, and then step away. I use a Clarisonic already and this in combination with it is nuts. Unnatural smoothness. That being said, I'm going to try the lotion instead next time. You get a lot more for the price and it doesn't have a jar opening.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Lettucehead on 12/23/2013 12:54:00 AM more reviews by Lettucehead

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I don't usually write reviews, so take it as a testament to the value of this cream that I felt compelled to write a review!

Amazing stuff! I have fairly sensitive, very pale skin. Over time, I've had more and more issues with large clogged pores (particularly over my cheeks near my nose), uneven skin tone, rough texture, hyper-pigmentation, and just general dullness and tired appearing skin.

The first time I used this, I experienced some mild to moderate tingling/burning, but that faded with continued use. It has a rich thicker texture and you only need a thin layer to cover your entire face. The tub will last a fairly good length of time. I don't find that it irritates nor dries my skin out - two things I was concerned about prior to starting it. I have to say, though, I don't like the 'tub' container - a pump would be much better. No biggie though.

I've been using it almost daily morning and night for a couple months now - I've been very pleased! My skin is clearer, brighter, lighter! The texture and skin tone has evened out. No, it won't make your skin that of a 2 year old, but pretty impressive nonetheless! I've always looked younger than my age, but I'd say that this helps continue that trend.

Fantastic price given the quality ingredients and great effects of the cream. I plan to continue using it, and I also recommend it to my family and friends.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 stardust1394 on 9/9/2013 10:42:00 PM more reviews by stardust1394

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

First of all let me start by describing my skin: oily, large pores, VERY sensitive (sometimes I can only use water to wash my face or it burns like hell), VERY acne prone including inch deep pitted scarring. Ok, i've tried every cream and pill for my acne except accutane because it is toxic, and i have other health problems including endometriosis which makes my acne cystic and stubborn as hell, I recently (about 5 weeks ago) had a sciton 400 micro laser peel for my acne scars which is the mother of all lasers for acne scarring (check out pics online if you don't believe me :p any who, after my skin was mostly recovered from looking like burnt bacon, i had terrible dark pigmentation around the area of the laser treatment because i picked at the skin while it was healing (oops). I tried just about everything for the pigmentation and was about to give up when i found this product on amazon, it had great reviews so despite being nervous about the somewhat high AHA concentration and how it would react to my skin i gave it a try. WONDER OF ALL WONDERS! 2 weeks later, the pigmentation is improving and the annoying tiny bumps from leftover acne are almost gone :D I heard another reviewer say that it took her 2 months to see results so although i have a while to go my pigmentation is much easier to cover with makeup now than ever. the only downside is that i had to cut down using this once a day from twice a day because this product caused mild irritation and itching which i solved by putting on a mild moisturizer over the Alpha Hydrox cream. All i have left to say after this entirely long speech is Alpha Hydroxy, praise be to you. You have saved my face.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Nikki08 on 9/6/2013 2:08:00 PM more reviews by Nikki08

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Wanted to love this cream so badly. Apparently my dumb skin had other plans. It burnt like holy fire and made my skin turn bright red and swollen. I talked my husband into trying this despite the war it made on my face and it works really well for him. Cleared up any acne he had and kept that oil slick of face in check. Didn't even tingle or sting him at all. So I say if you don't have sensitive skin whatsoever give it a try otherwise AVOID like the plague!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 greatskin4 on 4/15/2013 11:17:00 PM more reviews by greatskin4

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Grey    

first of all i have to say that i waited 2 month before writing this review because i wanted to be as objective as i can. I absolutely love this product. I always had beautiful skin and then last november after some dramatic events in my life i started getting some minor acne on my face. first they were minor, then mild, then moderate to heave and then 1 moth later i ended up w cystic acne on my cheeks, forehead and neck. i became depressed and did not want to leave the house, i had to put heavy foundation on and it could not hide all the acne spots i had. from being a woman who turn heads walking down the street i became a person w a low self esteem constantly trying to cover my face w my hair. i tried everything. i eat very healthy, go to the gym once a day, do not smoke and take care of myself. nothing would help my skin, i drank antibiotics, bought proactive, did not use any make up unless i had to leave the house and in the time seeing myself in the mirror became more and more painful. i had horrible hard bumps EVERYWHERE under my skin and red spots that would not leave for months. finally i got some retin'a micro that helped to bring my cystic acne to a head, but even using it for 4 month it did not fix my appearance. my skin felt smooth to the touch and i did not have painful bumps under my skin anymore but i had just as much new acne and red spots. every morning i would wake up to see 3 new pimples on my face, my cheeks were painful to look at. finally i read an article about glycolic acid and i decided to purchase Alpha hydrox products. i got 10 percent cream, 10 percent toner and a cleanser. i stoped using retin A micro completely.
packaging is ok. it is pretty cheap looking but thats what keeps the price cheap too. i go through a jar every month because i use it for my neck, hands and face twice a day. price is amazing. when my local tj max had it, i purchased a year supply, i swear. they were charging 7 dollars per jar. crazy cheap. so the very first morning after i tried cream i woke up and i swear i could see the difference!!! it was not "i think it kinda looks better, because i hope for a miracle" reaction, i woke up, looked in the mirror and said OMG. red spots i had on my cheeked faded significantly over night. i mean, they still were there and they were unattractive but instead of being bright red they were actually pink. and i did not get one pimple overnight. my skin felt nice and firm and i did not get any shine during the day like i normally do. i kept using the cream and 4 days later my girlfriend noticed that my skin looked better, i did not say anything. but i kept using it. and besides my face i started using it on my neck and my hands. one night i put cream on my hands and put soft gloves on and i could see the difference the next morning. after a month of using cream i was able to walk around the house without make up and looking in the mirror w a smile. now, 2 month later, my acne scars r all faded. i still have one little red spot but i can see it is going away very fast and i do not get any pimples. one time i had a pizza night with my friends and drank a lot of alcohol and went to bed late, i got one tiny pimple in the morning and it was gone 2 days later.
i think this is the longest review i have ever written. so sorry for that. but i am in LOVE with this product. i ll keep using it. i recommended it to 3 of my girlfriends and they all love it. i understand that it does miracles for my skin and i am so happy i finally found one product that fits me so well. maybe it will not work just as good for you but for 10 dolars i would give it a try!!!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Alpha Hydrox products

More Moisturizers products