Cover Girl • Eye Enhancers - Pure Romance • Eye Shadow

rated 3.2(24 reviews)

Average Rating.3.2
Would buy this product again.50%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 marvelousred on 1/17/2014 7:02:00 PM more reviews by marvelousred

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Violet    

I bought this last minute because I was going on a trip and didn't want to bring my Urban Decay palette (too cumbersome). Anyways, the colors were really pretty, it was nicely priced, and the packaging was very basic and non fussy. But when it came to put it on my eye, it was a disaster. The eyeshadows are very chalky and you hardy get any color pay off at all. It tried everything, with/without eye primer, wet, dry, using my fingers and different brushes. It just didn't do anything and it was hard to blend. Spend a few extra bucks to get a better eyeshadow. I really like almay and loreal.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 nellieter on 10/31/2013 11:36:00 AM more reviews by nellieter

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

While I am glad to see that this worked well for some, for me, this barely showed up on my eyelids or anywhere else that I tested it. I gave it two lippies though because it is possible to use this (at least a couple of the colors) I guess, just as like a shimmering dusting. But on me, no pigmentation, and whatever did show up was not flattering. Dull, chalky, tired. It should be noted that I have fair skin, so the lack of pigmentation is not because it wouldn't show up on my skin tone.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 mmmaggie on 8/17/2013 1:06:00 PM more reviews by mmmaggie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

The shadows in the Pure Romance pallet have a hard formulation and low pigmentation. I was really excited by the colors, especially the purple/taupe, but all of the colors were gritty. The formulation just felt and looked old. I purchased the new packaged quad so it is definitely new. I probably won't buy another quad from Cover Girl which is too bad as their packaging would be great to throw in a purse.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* alexanna7 on 2/2/2013 12:00:00 PM more reviews by alexanna7

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Pure romance is a verry nice eye shadow palette,that contains:a matte taupe,a satin mauve,a pale pink-mauve,a satin white. it goes really well on the application,it stays on fairly long.For a more softer look! Love it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 marydlsu on 1/30/2013 11:02:00 AM more reviews by marydlsu

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This is another Cover Girl eyeshadow collection that's extremely easy to apply, very user friendly, and I find flattering on my fair complexion. The colors are very blendable and hard to mess up. I was surprised at how good this trio looks on my eyes, and I use it once a week.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 ShimmerSands78 on 7/22/2011 1:42:00 AM more reviews by ShimmerSands78

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

So chalky. I'm glad that I got this as a stocking stuffer last year, because I dont feel bad that I wasted my money. The colors have minimal pigmentation, they don't blend well, and overall definitley not worth purchasing. May be good if you wasnt a very very natural purple/plummy look.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* TheReviewLady on 12/8/2010 7:22:00 AM more reviews by TheReviewLady

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Black    

I like how small and cute the Cover Girl eye shadow compacts are but my positive feelings end there. "Pure Romance" is chalky and unpigmented. When applied to my skin, all four colours become a variant of muddy grey. I also had to apply a lot of shadow to get any colour (muddy grey colour) to show, so if I continue to use this I would probably go through it in a week. Also, it irritated my sensitive eyes. This was cheap, but never again, never ever again. What a waste of money. In Australia Cover Girl eye shadows cost around $13 -- that's cheap here -- but I could have put that money into savings for a decent MAC, which costs around $30.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 stilllovely on 10/7/2010 12:33:00 AM more reviews by stilllovely

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

From left to right the shades are:

'Passion Plum' chocolate brown
'Rose Petal' pink plum (pretty sheer)
'Faint Blush' (very sheer pink)
'Whisper Soft' great highlight colour.

I only use the chocolate brown and the highlight colour. These work really well. The middle 2 pinks are very sheer and hard to see.
I would not purchase again as only 2 of the shades work for me.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tango2470 on 8/13/2010 12:23:00 AM more reviews by tango2470

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Crap.

Chalky, all colors appeared the same once applied. That being said it took about ten wet applications for ANYTHING to appear. It also had fallout, and the packaging was crappy.

Maybe an 11 year old just starting out with makeup might find this OK since it doesn't show up. Other then that. I would NOT reccome it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* monicaking77 on 8/2/2010 11:23:00 PM more reviews by monicaking77

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

These are pretty colors... sheer but nice and dusty. I liked these more when I was a beginner but I still use a shade or two from time to time. Even though these aren't hg, they are affordable and nice enough that if I ever ran out, I would repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Cover Girl products

More Eye Shadow products