Nexxus • keraphix • Conditioner

rated 4.4(28 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.82%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 4tee1 on 10/9/2012 9:43:00 AM more reviews by 4tee1

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I have been a Nexxus customer since the 1980's. This review is for the new formulation, I don't think it's fair to review something based on what it WAS. I have highlighted/colored shoulder length, wavy hair, live in Oklahoma and I am almost 50. That combination is enough to make me seek out a moisturizing routine for my hair. Especially in the upcoming dry winter months when the heat runs and dries my hair out even more. I hate static! I already use Therappe shampoo (yes, the new formulation) and am very happy with the results but I never felt like my conditioner was as good. So I decided to bite the bullet and purchase Keraphix. It is expensive but I use a quarter sized amount about 4 times a week on the ends of my hair, so the bottle will last me a good long time. This shampoo/conditioner combination makes my easy to wet comb. After blow drying, it is soft, managible and static free.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 4seaglass on 9/7/2011 10:55:00 AM more reviews by 4seaglass

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I used the original keraphix for nearly 20 years and loved it. Always came through for me UNTIL they changed it. I actually contacted Alberto after they bought out Nexxus. They admitted it is nothing like the old keraphix, nothing even similiar. I have been searching high and low for a similiar conditioner now for a year and nothing comes close. I could open up by only beauty supply store with the amount of products I have in my bathroom.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bunnypie on 9/30/2010 2:47:00 PM more reviews by bunnypie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Lately my hair has been dry and kinda puffed up with frizz.
I tried this on my hair for a few weeks now and I love it.
On the bottle it tells you to use it with the Nexxus therappe shampoo, but I found out that it is much better to use it with the Joico moisture recovery shampoo. In any case it is better for me, since the therappe shampoo didn't moisture my hair enough and gave me dandruff.
The conditioner untangles my hair, and gives it shine and softness.
I always use it on damp hair, comb it, and leave it in for 3 minutes or longer. Then I rinse my hair thoroughly with cold water, but not ice cold.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 greenmascara on 9/16/2010 12:50:00 PM more reviews by greenmascara

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I agree with one of the other reviewers that this product has really gone downhill since it was reformulated. At one time after having double-process dye jobs THREE TIMES in 1 month, my haircutter, who was on the research panel for nexxus/jheri redding, showed me how to save my hair with a combo of nexxus stuff: keraphix, epitome and emergencee mixed together and put on damp hair -- then sit under a heat lamp for about 1/2 hour -- and the hair was shiny afterwards!! also, Therappe shampoo became my shampoo until my damaged hair grew out. So what's the point of this story? These have changed FOR THE WORSE since nexxus was bought by @!.#!! Alberto-Culver and they reformulated them with cheaper ingredients. Now, instead of being awesome, they're just ho-hum. Keraphix used to be a lifesaver for me, but when I usf the new stuff last month it did nothing special. Therappe now has lauryl sulfate in it and it did'nt before and it really makes a difference--it doesn't work anymore!! I hate Alberto-Culver.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lawcat on 2/19/2010 4:23:00 PM more reviews by lawcat

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I bought a giant bottle of this stuff about 2 years ago, and really liked it, but it is super rich and my hair is fine and easily weighed down, so I have not used it that often. I recently have done some experimenting with coloring my hair, and turned it into lifeless straw!!! It is pretty sad. I pulled out my bottle of Keraphix, and it turned my straw back into hair! I am very pleased as I did not think anything short of shaving my head could fix the mess I made.

Since I bought this awhile ago, I cannot comment on the new/old version as I do not know which one I have, but it is probably the old version.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mysticachai on 1/31/2010 1:57:00 AM more reviews by mysticachai

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Determined not to ruin my hair this time I grew it out, I bought this product after reading the great reviews. I love it! It really makes my hair shiny, manageable and great in NYC dry winters. I use it once or twice a week (otherwise it's too rich) and it renews my hair every time I use it. Pantene, Dove just can't compare. I definitely will keep repurchasing.
One small complaint is that the product is very thick and i have to shake the bottle pretty hard when it's half empty.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* DDGattina on 9/3/2009 9:16:00 PM more reviews by DDGattina

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I love the old Keraphix...and I hate it when companies change the formula and keep the name the same. So my rating is for the old keraphix...I will not be buying the new one. Nexxus: be honest & treat your customers right! If you are going to discontinue a formula, CHANGE THE NAME. At least PART of the name.

Too bad. This treatment conditoner was superb for post-color. I'd spread a big dollop, put on a shower cap and let it sit for at least an hour. I could tell it was being absorbed because it completely disappeared. This meant that I needed to add a moisturizer afterwards-- I used Davines Lovely Curl Conditioner. My hair air dryed to the best condition ever!

Nexxus...please please please bring back the old formula!!!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* loverofmineralmakeup on 6/24/2009 3:11:00 PM more reviews by loverofmineralmakeup

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Warm   Hair: Black, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This is a review for the original version of Nexxus' Keraphix Conditioner for the "new and improved" version IMO is crap.


On to the review of the great product, this is a great strengthening conditioner. I use it once a month to give my hair a super conditioning treatment. I wash my hair with Nexxus' Therappe or Botanical Botanoil Shampoo, I use Keraphix and sit under the dryer for 20 mintues, then rinse, then do a quick condition with Nexxus' Humectress and rinse again, I either go back under the dryer/blow dry or air dry my hair and then style my hair as usual. This stuff IMO is better than the similar products by Keracare and Aphogee and I am completely devoted to my Nexxus family of products - I am a convert for life I just hope I can continue to find the original formula of this conditioner.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 tinyt33 on 5/23/2009 1:59:00 PM more reviews by tinyt33

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Other    

OK, absolutely love Keraphix. However, the "new" reformulated version (since the company was sold, etc.) is SO inferior to the original. I had gone to purchase this because I was almost out. I usually use it about once a week for my fine highlighted hair, and that's all it takes to make it shiny, soft and not tangly and dry as it would be without my weekly dose of Keraphix. Anyway, I couldn't find the bottle I'm so familiar with, but figured they just changed the packaging. Boy, was I wrong. It smelled the same, but looked and felt so different. The original doesn't feel so slippery, and the results were terrible. I returned it immediately ($20.00 oncluding tax is not cheap) and found the original in Rite Aid.
If you use and love Keraphix, make no mistake-they are NOT the same, or "improved, with more conditioners", (aka cones which cause major buildup) which is what the 1-800# person told me.
They have some nerve charging the same price for this yucky stuff. Needless to say, I won't be making that mistake again. I just hope I could keep buying the original until the new one is all that's left. Then I'll find it online.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 TheLadyKatie on 5/4/2009 11:21:00 PM more reviews by TheLadyKatie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Great, turns my hair into silk. I love this stuff, can't do without it, even when I travel. I buy it regularly. A little goes a long way, which is nice, given the price!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Nexxus products

More Conditioner products