Parfums De Nicolai • Cococabana • Fragrances

rated 3.4(22 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.50%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 idressyou on 8/13/2010 6:25:00 PM more reviews by idressyou

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I got a sample as an extra from a lovely MUAer (TY R:), and have to say this is just oddly beautiful. It reminds me of those old drip candles from the 70's that you'd put into wine bottles to create hippie art from the accumulated melted wax... the ones that were made from real beeswax that came from clove fed bees... but, not the smell of them burning; the smell they threw when it was a warm day or the heater was cranked, and the wax had just softened a bit... that combined with the smell of invisible Scotch tape is what Cococabana smells like to me, and I love it. Both are scents I've always had a fondness for, and both have warm memories attached. I never would have expected either, given the notes, but I would definitely buy a bottle of this just because its so very comforting to me and melds really well with my chemistry. There's nothing sharp about it at all, to my nose.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* stephhamilton on 12/30/2009 5:05:00 PM more reviews by stephhamilton

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

very sharp and soapy with lots of coconut. It didn't mesh very well on me at all, it smelt like coconut soap mixed with a generic male cologne smell which was most probably the cedar which doesn't seem to wear well on my skin. I really didn't get much tuberose or any other white floral.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* essija on 11/2/2009 8:10:00 AM more reviews by essija

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

This is absolutely Stunning! Will be a perfect scent to wear next Spring. Tuberose and Coconut are a lovely combination here, and they just happen to both me favorite notes of mine. Give it a try...

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* 9154mf on 5/12/2009 10:09:00 PM more reviews by 9154mf

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

This opens with a sharp, intense burst of green cedar, mixed with some tuberose which I really do not like. it's reminding me of disinfectant, really pungent and yuk! A very herbal freshy type smell, can barely detect coconut milk, not doing anything for me. Want to wash it off. Within minutes the coconut milk pops it head up gradually until the scent is more a rounded even mix of white floral and smooth milk. About an hour later, it has softened alot, so much in fact, that if I really liked it I would be upset about it's staying power being so minimal. Its still there but hardly. Luckily I do not like it. White florals always strike me as cheap smelling and sickly and this is no exception. On the right person, this could smell lovely, but I really don't think it's great at all. I thought it was so boring in fact that I could hardly be bothered even writing this review!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ikura on 9/21/2008 1:36:00 AM more reviews by ikura

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Very interesting, but only for certain moods. The tropical flowers and coconut are saved from malibu barbie hell by the bitter orange, cedar, and palm (woods yes, tanning spray NO). This is possibly a "natural" scent for a place that I've never been to. It's a bit too sweet and ...greasy? to wear often. I wouldn't get another bottle, but a sample would be fun.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kborda on 5/21/2008 1:24:00 PM more reviews by kborda

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This is a strange scent. Not what you would consider a warm tropical scent. I don't smell any sweetness at all. Much more green and herbal. Green tuberose, green coconut, and to my nose - fresh rosemary. There's something else it reminds me of, but I can't put my finger on it - perhaps it's the cedar? It's really quite intriguing!!! But I'm on the fence about it. Definitely don't hate it, but not sure it's love either. Perhaps I need to wear it a few more times before I can make an educated decision! Expect an edit. :-)

Update: I purchased this fragrance! Why? Cause it's so unusual! Upping my rating to 4 lippies.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* BasiaS on 5/15/2008 12:51:00 PM more reviews by BasiaS

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

What a great tropical scent for those who like their scents a bit more complex and less shrill than so many of those pikake/tuberose/jasmine perfume oils on the market today! Cococabana starts off with a bitter orange twist over a luscious coconut note, mingled with tuberose, and a rich, amber-tonka note in the base that's present in so many PdN scents. It's a bit too strong for me, but it's still lovely and fun!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Mac789 on 4/21/2008 10:46:00 PM more reviews by Mac789

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I bought this on a whim when it first came out, having never smelled it before, and I have since purchased another bottle. This is a unique tropical scent with a strong suggestion of dried palm that gives Cococabana a huskiness, as if it has been brushed with a dried palm frond.

Cococabana might be classified as a "sharp" tropical floral. A distinct green note conjoins with citrus to lift the florals away from heavy-handedness, yet it retains a sultry character. There is coconut in the mix, but keep in mind that coconut as a fragrance note is note coconut as an ice cream note. Coconut is a strange thing: It is dry and oily simultaneously, an occasionally bitter note that I have found ruinous to cheapish fragrances where it suffers from overuse. Here, it augments the dryness of the palm note; although it is distinguishable it does not have that odd oily quality. The green and citrus offset this enough to be able to enjoy the coconut in correct proportion.

Drydown retains much of the heart, with additional woody notes. This is a summer staple for me, refreshing in an unusual, piquant way.

I've seen some discussion of Cococabana relative to Goutal Songes (I own both EdT and EdP), but to me they are nothing alike. Cococabana has many separate compartments that the Goutal does not, and Songes does not have the greenness of the de Nicolai. The only thing in common is a bit of sharpness replacing a sweetness that some tropical fragrances have (like CSP).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* rnornan on 11/24/2007 9:36:00 PM more reviews by rnornan

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

What a changer! This fragrance starts out really unique, and pungent. There is a twinge of green opium on my skin (the flower secretion not the perfume by YSL) and a fuzzy feeling in my nostrils. Midway through the tuberose emerges, but the opium fuzz remains....then as its dying quickly becomes quite generic. It's unlike any other tuberose I've smelled--no creaminess, but the first spicy tuberose to come my way. Not FBW, but I'm very glad I tried this. Have wondered what Ms. Nicolai would do for tuberose--such a talented lady!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* veruska on 7/17/2007 3:19:00 PM more reviews by veruska

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Lovely cocobana it's the ideal holiday scent.It's not a tropical scent and the coconut is so subtle that you can easily miss it.It's not for hula skirts and garlands of flowers.It's for huge white sunglasses and capri pants strolling in the very expensive yacht marina of capri.It has a very wealthy european feel.Still it doesn't have any sillage power so minus 2 lippies although i'd love to have a decant soon.In the start i don't get any pineapple but mostly the greeness of galbanum mixed with coconut.And after that it's time for ylang-ylang and nothing more ,but i don't mind i like ylang.It's a simple but pretty composition.After 2 hours i smell a rich vanillia enriched with musk.Oh poor chemistry ,someone else said that this must be applied with caution.And me i have to search for it.Go figure!!!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Parfums De Nicolai products

More Fragrances products