Revlon • ColorStay Makeup with SoftFlex SPF 15 Normal/Dry Skin • Liquid

rated 3.8(483 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.67%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 rhapsode on 10/17/2014 12:24:00 AM more reviews by rhapsode

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Wow, okay. I am on a poetic pilgrimage for my HG foundation. This journey has taken me to the mac counter numerous times (studio tech, studio fix, mineralize liquid, face & body), dior (diorskin forever, dior hydra life), Nars (matte & sheer glow), bare minerals, cover fx, l'oreal, sonia kashuk and now - revlon.

Having super dry skin and just turning thirty, I am hyper aware of any fine lines and wrinkles I might otherwise overlook in my younger years. The best performing for coverage, natural-ness and non-wrinkle forming (before now) were: diorskin forever and nars sheer glow. so far.

I suppose I am a bit of a brand snob when it comes to makeup, mainly because I simply can't decide if something's amazing or awful, so rather than doing the leg work, just let reputation and my wallet decide.

Tonight I picked up the Revlon Colorstay formula for dry skin after humming and hawing over it and reading way too many reviews. It was constantly revered by the best beauty gurus so felt it was at least worth a try. I am not super in love with the matte look as being dry, I feel a slight glow livens up my complexion and makes me look healthy and like I'm drinking my 8+ glasses of H2O a day, so didn't expect to love it.

I used this with a beauty blender (after priming with rimmel's stay matte primer) - damped it and patted it over my face. I did not find it hard to work with or drying overly fast as others have complained. WHOA. It didn't seep into my forehead lines! It covered my hyper-pigmentation! I felt I was just seeing things so rushed into numerous rooms with a mirror to test the lighting. Nope, it was real. All real.

As mentioned not so much liking the matte look, I added a dot of sonia kashuk's perfecting illuminator liquid into the mix and reapplied with beauty blender. BEAUTIFUL. I found my HG! FOR SO CHEAP.

This seems too good to be true (especially since my new concealer is Maybelline's stay fit - and NOT MUFE, benefit or mac) - I feel like I have been a silly mindless consumer my entire life. Drugstores are now dangerous for me and I am looking forward to finding more "even better than sephora" products.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 alyssa21mia on 10/9/2014 11:00:00 PM more reviews by alyssa21mia

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

It's really surprising to me that so many people like this foundation. First off, my skin is definitely finicky and sensitive and it's obviously possible to be allergic to an ingredient that others aren't so I'll let the fact that this made me itch severely, slide. So I first applied this with the elf blush brush (which I use for many liquid foundations) and it looked cakey so I tried it again with two other tools - a flat-top brush and the beauty blender. I can't even really express the amount of sheer disgust I have in this foundation like I would rather wear nothing (rosacea, pock marks, acne, and all) than have to wear this stuff. I sound so dramatic but I swear I'm not. It just sat on my skin like a mask and accentuated every single flaw that I have. I have dry skin so I made sure to properly moisturize before the application but this foundation really made it look like I hadn't moisturized in days.The shade was way off, way too pale but the next shade was way too dark so I wouldn't have been able to wear this anyway unless I got two and mixed them. I may just be one of those rare cases where me and the product just do not mix whatsoever but I've never experienced such a disappointing product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lizo4ka on 8/17/2014 12:04:00 AM more reviews by lizo4ka

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

For the average person without a lot of dryness or acne scarring, this would be absolutely perfect. It covers well.

Unfortunately for me, I have a lot of skin issues. If I slack -at all- on my skin regime, I end up flaking like there's no tomorrow. I also have past and current acne problems, along with skin that is constantly red and irritated looking. This alone couldn't cover up my imperfections, though it did pair well with the mac concealer I use. I went through two bottles before deciding to move on and try some other foundations.

The reasons I decided to move on were mostly based on how the coverage was. It just didn't sit very well on my skin. It didn't feel like it was moisturizing enough, so it didn't move around my face very well and tended to highlight dryness and clumps. I think it's a great choice for many though: it's very affordable, for the average person it likely would give good and lasting coverage, and the colour range is wide. I think it is worth it to give it a chance. I'd just suggest to buy it at Ulta, so if it doesn't work out, you can return it.

If I am unable to find another foundation that works for me, I could see going back to it without feeling too horrible.

EDIT: A month has passed since I decided to move on from this foundation and I just went to Ulta yesterday and got a new bottle. None of the other foundations I tried really did much or covered as much. I also started using jojoba oil, which seems to be helping my flaky problem. I'm out of concealer right now and I have to say I am impressed at how much this covers. It also switched shades and I like this new shade much better.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 paine724 on 8/9/2014 9:25:00 PM more reviews by paine724

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I wore this foundation for the first time today and it looked incredible! You definitely need a moisturizer and I like to wear all my foundations with a primer but this foundation applied well with my sigma f80. I'll continue wearing this for a few days and do an update to this post. The one thing I hate about this foundation is no pump and that can cause it to become messy :( I didn't notice any accentuation of dry patches or

I wear the shade true beige and I'm an NC40 in mac foundations. The one shade up from this was too dark but true beige blends in perfectly with my skin

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 JunkieXL on 8/6/2014 8:15:00 AM more reviews by JunkieXL

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I used to be a big fan of Estée Lauder Double Wear but I was a bit put off by the price. I was looking for a cheaper replacement and found this. I use the one for combination/oily skin as my skin has a tendency to go shiny during the day. It took some practice to apply as is dries pretty quickly. Once I mastered that, it's a great foundation. Good coverage without looking too heavy and very good staying power. I'm not really sure how it affects my adult acne... I guess it's just very important to take it off properly at night. The only big nono for me is the packaging. How can you put such an awful, hard to use glass bottle without a pump on such a great product? It makes it hard to dispense which is a shame. Considering all of the above, it's still one of my HG foundations.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sofgrove on 8/4/2014 12:34:00 PM more reviews by sofgrove

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

This foundation is the best I've found in a drugstore. Originally I was looking for a foundation that wasn't too pricey but gave me the same coverage and staying power as high end products. I usually use Estee Lauder but I decided I wanted to save that for 'special occasions' or when i'm going out for a long time (as it stays on alllll day). When I bought Revlon Colorstay I thought that the best way to really test this product is wearing it on a night out (which is usually a time I would tend to use a better foundation). When I first applied this I couldn't believe how nice it looked, I thought this was too good to be true and was expecting it to wear off after a lot of dancing and drinking, but it didn't.
This foundation really did do the job as good as the Estee Lauder double wear and from now on will prefer to buy the Revlon foundation to get the results of high end products while also saving the money.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 glamguru on 7/16/2014 2:28:00 PM more reviews by glamguru

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

The best foundation! I always but it again and again. The most recent one I bought was so thick it was hard to shake out of the tube. Goes on evenly, matches my skin color and stays put.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 limoncandy on 6/28/2014 11:59:00 PM more reviews by limoncandy

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Excellent foundation. I have acne prone skin, and it does not cause me any breakouts. Long lasting, non drying, and excellent color range. I use #180 Sand Beige, and am between NC20-25 on MAC foundations. A bit pricey for a drugstore foundation, I have tried high end foundations ( Benefit, Marc Jacobs, MAC, IT Cosmetics, etc) and it is more than worth it. Will continue to buy, have not found anything better.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 laurenjill05 on 6/25/2014 1:11:00 PM more reviews by laurenjill05

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This review is for the newest Normal/Dry formula. I got it last week and really like it. It lasts on me ALL day, gives medium/full coverage. I got the shade fresh beige which is a good match for my light/medium olive skin tone. I didn't give a full 5 lippy rating due to limited shade range and lack of pump.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 gee1ny on 6/19/2014 9:30:00 PM more reviews by gee1ny

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I think this is the best drugstore foundation out there! Good coverage, staying power and makes the skin look flawless. I like that I don't have to powder my face when using this since it seems to control oil very well. It also does great over dry skin, my face has been extremely dry lately because I wear benzoyl peroxide and it didnt accentuate them dry patches at all and rather covered them. So I would say it is great for all skin types which is awesome. Only downside is that it doesn't have any spf so make sure to use sun screen!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Revlon products

More Liquid products