Revlon ColorStay Makeup with SoftFlex SPF 15 Normal/Dry Skin

3.8

492 reviews

67% would repurchase

Package Quality: 2.8

Price: $$

Package Quality: 2.8

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Active Ingredients: titanium dioxide 4.4%, zinc oxide 2.0% Ingredients: water, cyclomethicone, trimethylsiloxysilicate, butylene glycol, dimethicone, cetyl PEG/PPG-10/1 dimethicone, polyglyceryl-4 isostearate, HDI/trimethylol hexyllactone crosspolymer, nylon-12, phenyl trimethicone, magnesium sulfate, isododecane, boron nitride, methicone, laureth-7, mallow extract, lily bulb extract, lactobacillus/eriodictyon californicum ferment extract, cymbidium grandiflorum flower extract, silk, tocopherol acetate, retinyl palmitate, ethylene brassylate, tribehenin, bisabolol, silica, alumina, isohexadecane, polydimethylsiloxane/polymethylsilsesquioxane copolymer, polysorbate 20, polysorbate 80, ammonium polyacryloyldimethyl taurate, sorbitan sesquioleate, tetrasodium EDTA, phenoxyethanol, methylparaben, ethylparaben, propylparaben. May contain: iron oxides, mica, titanium dioxide, bismuth oxychloride, zinc oxide.


on 4/12/2015 4:22:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

This is probably my most hated foundation of all time. Although the shade Buff is perfect for my NW15/NW20 skin and I don't dislike the lack of a pump too much, the consistency and texture did nothing for me. Even when applied with a damp beauty blender on top of exfoliated and moisturised skin, the foundation always dried matte and cakey, leaving the skin looking uneven, powdery and mask like. I'd bought the foundation previously and didn't learn my lesson. No matter how many ways I try to use it, I despise how it looks on me.



on 3/26/2015 3:47:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

My holy grail foundation :) I apply dots with my fingers and blend it with real techniques miracle complexion sponge. I have very dry skin so I have the normal to dry skin formula (the new one that comes with a pump and 15 SPF). I apply it after applying a clinique moisturizer (DDML+) that makes my skin very smooth. My skin is very fair so I have the shade 150 Buff which is a neutral shade (not pink or yellow but in between) and it fits my pink undertones. I love the covrage. It looks natural but covers very well. I will repurchase this.


on 3/15/2015 5:19:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Grey

I had been using the combo/oily formula and I know that was re-formulated not too long ago, and it seemed to cling to my dry patches in an un-attractive manner. I did not feel ready for normal/dry, because I tend to get shiny even a couple of hours with the oily/combo formula..BUT..I was starting to think along the theory of sometimes treating oily skin like oily skin makes it even more oily-The theory is that you are 'drying out' the skin, which makes the skin produce more oil, hence the shine, or that is the theory, anyway.

So I thought, why not try the normal/dry formula. I bought this at WM, so if it was a disaster or just did not work out, I knew I could return it, hassle-free,

So far this is working very well!! I will say this has a slight scent, whereas the oily/combo formula I did not detect a scent with, and my nose is sensitive to smells. But this scent is not so strong that it bothers my nose or my skin.

This glides on like a dream; it also is easier to blend than the combo/oily formula. I find with the combo/oily formula, I have to blend the combo/oily formula 'at the speed of light,' as I call it, or it dries ASAP, and not in an attractive way.So this normal/dry formula blends much easier and better.

Will see how this fares during the summer. But for right now, very late winter/heading into spring, this is working like a charm. Also oddly enough, I do not notice the shine like I did with the oily/combo formula, so the theory just might be working/true in this case!! YAY!! This also stays true-to-color during the day; not changing colors or turning orange or funny colors, etc. Just wears very nicely.

My plan is to stick with this even in the Summer and just powder as needed, but we will see. So far this is awesome!! Great coverage, too! Will definitely re-purchase!!


on 3/7/2015 5:48:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Blue

Bought this after running out of my last foundation and kept hearing good reviews so thought I might as well try it out. Bought this in Ivory and I think it blends and matches my skin tone well. It is buildable and gives quite good coverage and I don't find it makes my face look cakey or patchy, it also lasts quite a while on most days. As there is no pump an excessive amount of product can spill out a bit on my hand but apart from that, a good, cheap foundation!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I was backed into a corner two days ago, as I had ran out of my usual foundation, and my partner had lost my brand new bottle that I had just bought. The only shop I could get to had a wide range of make up, but not the foundation I normally buy. I opted for this as the description matched that of my existing one, and it was discounted to £7.99 so I assumed it would be good quality.

The product states it's for normal/dry skin. I personally have normal skin with a tendency to get dry patches on my nose and cheeks.

First up - I hate the bottle. Initially I liked the idea of no pump, as the last bit of make up tends to get stuck in the pump action bit, but this style of bottle is messy and fiddly. Anyway, I applied it with a brush and it gave good, even coverage. However, even though I usually opt for full coverage make up, I've never used one quite as cakey as this. Twice I had to clean it off and try again to get it looking natural opposed to theatrical! I sealed with the powder I normally use and went about my day.

After around 2 hours, this was sliding off my eye lids and under my eyes. I had lines of makeup that I had to keep blending back in with my fingers, yet this is called "Color STAY"? By the end of my working day I started to notice crusty patches on my cheeks and nose, so I took it off and used an apricot scrub to clear this up. Tried it again the following day after using extra moisturiser but I'm sat here now with a pretty crusty face. These are 1cm+ patches of what I can only describe as thick flakes of skin. When this is removed, my skin underneath looks angry and red :(

I absolutely HATE this foundation, and I will be throwing it away. It's not even good as a back up foundation, I'd rather go bare.


on 2/22/2015 11:42:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I love trying foundations but I ALWAYS come back to Revlon Colorstay for Normal/Dry skin. I use to use the combo/oily formula but that became too thick for my skin. I have more normal skin with slight oiliness in my T-Zone. The Normal/Dry formula works so good. It's more liquidity than the combo formula. It doesn't break me out. It's lasts a good 10 hours. I don't use a primer. I just use a setting powder on days where it might be slightly warmer or hot. I have tried high end and drugstore foundations but Revlon is my #1 favorite because of coverage, cost, and I know it won't break me out. If I want a lighter coverage I just mix my Colorstay with a little of my moisturizer. I like the way it applies with both a flattop kabuki or my beauty blender. I've been using Colorstay for about 7 years now. I will continue to use it. Love it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/25/2014 5:56:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

ok so I have a lot to say about this product... this is very odd because it claims to be for normal to dry skin ( I am dry) so I will start with the pros.. *PROS *does last long *color match was amazing (buff) so perfect no oxidizing *nice creamy consistancy *awsome coverage even with one thin layer *CONS *makes peach fuzz, pores, bumps in skin noticable.... *heavy on skin (but that is to exspect with full coverage fndts) *price..about 12.00 *no pump *NOT MOISTURIZING AT ALL! and I do apply moisturizer at first but still does not help *makes dry patches noticable *dull and flat look after aplication *after I take this off at night my skin feels STRIPPED its so dry and even red in places I have to double up on my moisturizer SO there you have it I hate to be a debbie downer when this DOES WORK for so many people but not me and I wanted to state that this has no good effect on dry skin. will not repurchase.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I love this foundation although the price $38NZD is a little more than I want to pay! I used to have really oily acne prone skin, now that my acne has cleared up my skin is very dry so I needed to purchase a foundation suitable and this is great! It doesnt cling harshly to the dry patches on my face and leaves a dewy finish on my skin. I prefer to wear it without powder as I hate a matte look on my skin however i've found that when I do it does make it last longer. Unfortunately I've got the glass bottle without the pump but the design with the pump is a big yes for me! I'll enjoy the pump when I repurchase this.


on 11/2/2014 11:33:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

HG FOUNDATION! No other brand has this kind of coverage, even high end. It does not feel heavy, and actually kind of smells good. I apply mine with a stipling brush for a perfect finish. Holy grail for years now


on 11/2/2014 10:58:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Black

pro: cheap, sturdy bottle, good coverage, not too thick, no weird smell, big color range.
con: a little thick, not moisturizing enough.
not a superb foundation but for its price, it is definitely unbeatable and highly recommended!


Back to Top