Stila • Natural Finish Oil Free Makeup • Foundations

rated 3.7(123 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.55%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 liorak on 5/17/2014 4:55:00 PM more reviews by liorak

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Great foundation overall. I think this would be great for any skin type. It looks very natural on the skin. I am shade C in winter/fall. I got this from Winners (like ROSS in the states) for like 15$. I was pretty impressed with it. Some foundations break me out, this one didnít. But then again the only foundations that have broken me out are cheap drugstore ones! It is a very natural finish, so it looks like skin. It is alright in the dry patched areas. But I canít seem to find anything that doesnít break up in-between my eyebrows (super dry there.) I mean my whole face is fairly dry, but that is the only area I have real problems with! Ever super luminous foundations give me trouble there. So I am guessing nothing with work for that, but a girl can dream! Great coverage, buildable, natural looking.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 kristynrawr on 5/23/2013 2:49:00 PM more reviews by kristynrawr

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Purchased this on stila's website while it was on sell! It's a decent foundation, but takes a while to build up. I use this on the days I don't feel like applying a bunch of Mac all over my face.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jordannh on 2/27/2013 8:11:00 PM more reviews by jordannh

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I've been using this stuff since 2006. They don't sell it in stores any more, but it's still available online, thank goodness.

I use shade C most of the year and switch to shade D in the summer. I've never had a better color match. It's just perfect for my skin. I've tried many others in the past 6-7 years, and nothing has even come close, in color and in texture.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 HOPI87 on 11/25/2012 11:17:00 PM more reviews by HOPI87

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I absolutely love this foundation for days when I just want to have a simple look, a natural look. And it does exactly that, looks natural, covers well, doesnt cake, no extra oils. I love it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Lauren153 on 9/14/2012 11:10:00 PM more reviews by Lauren153

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

While this foundation wasn't all bad, it definitely wasn't worth the $50 it cost. A Shoppers Drugmart mua recommended this to me when I told her I was looking for a foundation that looked natural, would cover my hyperpigmentation and breakouts, and wouldn't leave me an oily mess by the end of the day.

Here's the good:
-looked very natural, even if I put a lot on

-the colour match was dead on. I wouldn't have to blend this down my neck (though I do anyway). I have it in 'C'.

-it stays on my face better than most foundations (5-6 hours)

And now the bad:
-OIL. And not the nice dewy kind of oil, but the disgusting kind that takes two sheets of blotting paper and powder to fix.

-I'm currently using a topical benzoyl peroxide product, and while it does dry my face out, I've been using it for over 4 months and have figured out a system that stops my face from getting flakey. You'd think this foundation wouldn't make me dry since it makes my t-zone super oily. WRONG. This almost feels like a clay mask after a couple hours of wear, as if it's tightening on my skin. And while it looks nice initially, if I look in the mirror at noon, lo and behold, the flakes start appearing. Dry and oily skin at the same time? Not cute.

-COVERAGE SUCKS. I asked the mua for medium coverage, and this is definitely not medium. And it won't build up for me either. No matter how much I apply, it looks the same as if I'd only applied one layer. And I've applied this a hundred different ways, it's always the same. I know that's what concealer is for, but for a foundation that costs $50 to have hardly any coverage at all? That's what I'd expect from typical drugstore foundations, not high end ones.

-The smell. It's difficult to explain, but it almost reminds me of my
listerine mouth wash. Very unappealing.

-The price. Complete rip-off.

-The ingredients. Something in there is starting to break me out :S


Okay, so I have a lot of negative things to say about this foundation, but that's just me. If you have oily/combination skin, then steer clear of this. Maybe if you have normal skin and don't need a lot of coverage, then this would be perfect for you, but I honestly think there are a lot of better foundations out there for a lot less.
Definitely would not buy this again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ellen1159 on 9/11/2012 2:11:00 PM more reviews by ellen1159

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Purchased in shade C113A. Would probably be better for someone younger and with oilier skin than mine. I get oily in the t-zone, particularly in the summer, but it was still too matte for me. The coverage is light to medium on me, which unfortunately, at age 52, isn't enough (some sun damage).

Still, it has a nice weightless feel on skin. Too bad it doesn't work for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kdmorin on 7/10/2012 11:32:00 AM more reviews by kdmorin

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have been using this foundation for about 3-4 months and I love it! I've tried so many liquid foundations looking for one that would match my yellowy golden tan skin and shade e was perfect for me. The coverage is medium and you can build on it without it looking gross. I put on an average amount and I wear just a cheap sheer powder over it and it looks super natural and my friends and family have told me over and over again how it looks like I'm not even wearing any makeup. The packaging looks really nice but I have broken a bottle since its glass so it wouldn't be the greatest thing to travel with but besides that the packaging is fine considering that the foundation comes out easily. It also doesn't make me break out which is fantastic. This is definitely worth the $50 CAD I had to shell out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lingysnowbunnie on 6/30/2012 10:34:00 PM more reviews by lingysnowbunnie

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I was recommended this after having to return the Benefit foundation that turned my face orange :/ I bought it at Ulta for $19. I honestly don't think I would spend $38 for this foundation.

PROS: light to medium coverage, feels nice on my skin (dry/combo), wasn't too dewy or matte, wasn't too runny or thick and blends easily (I use the real technique expert face brush-LOVE), did not look cakey at all, didn't break me out as I have sensitive skin.

CONS: Smells horrible - I don't know why or if I just got a bad bottle because it was the last one left but it smells like old paint. The smell eventually went away but it lingers for about 10 minutes after application. No pump - I just prefer a pump for sanitary reasons. The color is still a little off (was matched with E)- I'm in my summer tan phase and it's still a tad light for me. The next color up is EXTREMELY dark and orange.

The CONS aren't that big of a deal. I usually set my foundation with powder anyhow even though I have somewhat dry skin. I like the finished look of smoothing and evening everything out so I just use MAC mineralize skinfinish natural in medium deep to even the color of my face out. The smell is bothersome when you're applying but it does go away.

I don't think it's worth spending the full price of $38 because I feel for that price, I should be able to get a foundation without the smell, color match and pump! I'd even spend a little few dollars more if it works for my skin and color match. For $19, it's worth it. I'll likely just use up this bottle for the summer. I tend to be about 2 shades lighter during the winter anyhow.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* BeautBetty on 6/17/2012 3:15:00 PM more reviews by BeautBetty

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

for those who use this and like it, some of the local ULTA had limited shades at $19usd as of 6/19/12
very expensive. I did not buy.
Package is just a pour bottle-this does not bother me-I use qtips all the time.
quality is nice
will not re purchase because at regular price I find other ones of better quality ( lancome for example)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 vwterry on 5/17/2012 1:36:00 PM more reviews by vwterry

Age: 44-55   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

This is one of the few foundations I've tried since passing age 40 that doesn't look cakey. I still have to blend well to keep it from settling into lines, though. Beautiful finish, but I have two complaints: (1) low staying power (would have to reapply every few hours); and (2) difficult color match. I am usually the second-lightest shade in drugstore brands, but shade C in this product is a tad too light for me. (This makeup probably would be great for someone with a very fair complexion who has a hard time finding a color match in some lines.) I've tried mixing in a bit of D (ka-ching on having to buy two bottles of this stuff!), but I still can't get the color quite right. Still working the color match because the product does look good on my skin.

Edited to add that I have learned to mix shade C with just a smidge of D for a good color match, but this stuff just disappears from my face within a few hours. That's SO frustrating, but I'm still using it because it is the only thing I've tried that looks remotely natural on my skin and doesn't highlight wrinkles as if they're in neon.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Stila products

More Foundations products