Avene Cicalfate Creme Restauratrice

4.4

111 reviews

84% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Ingredients: Water (Aqua), Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Mineral Oil (Paraffinum Liquidum), Glycerin, Hydrogenated Vegetable Oil, Zinc Oxide, Propylene Glycol, Polyglyceryl-2-Sesquiisostearate, PEG-22/Dodecyl Glycol Copolymer, Aluminum Sucrose, Octasulfate, Aluminum Stearate, Beeswax (Cera Alba), Copper Sulfate, Magnesium Stearate, Magnesium Sulfate, Microcrystalline Wax (Cera Microcristallina), Zinc Sulfate.


on 7/23/2015 12:52:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Other

My combo-oily/sensitive skin often responds poorly to vitamin C, retinal and acids, but I need at least one of these on a regular basis to remain clear from blemishes and clogged pores. Zinc can be helpful for when I am suffering with flaking or peeling skin and I've had moderately good results with Avene products in the past, so I tried this after an AHA incident that turned me into a housebound freak-show.
Since then, I use this cream on the worst of my occasional blemishes overnight, layered under my preferred spot treatment (Nelson's homeopathic acne gel or Medik8 beta-gel) and around my brows, between my eyes and on my nose if I am dehydrated. The heavy moisturizers in this make it wholly unsuitable for my complexion on a regular basis, and I agree with some of the other reviewers that the mineral oil in this product is unfortunate (and I would suspect unnecessary, though I am no expert). Because of my conservative use of this product, I have not broken out or had a negative reaction to it, but it does help speed the healing process, calm redness and inflammation, and prepare my red nose for tinted moisturizer when I simply *must* leave the house with a peeling mess of a face.
Metal tubes are great for packaging in my opinion, but because this is used in such small quantities, the thin material of the tube split in several spots within a few months - I'd like to see this in more of a medicinal quality or thicker package like most ointments. Still, I think the price is fair, and having a reliable in-case-of-emergency cream settles the nerves a bit in the midst of a severe upset.
Though I chose "yes", I might not buy this product again if I found a replacement zinc cream. Despite it's small size, I doubt I will use the entire tube before the expiration date and I hate to waste product unless I find an additional use for it.



on 7/5/2015 8:44:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

After months of extremely dry cracking skin on my foot I did some research and found out that a good barrier cream with the ingredient dimethicone is what I needed to start repairing my skin. It's been about 5 days and I have to say this product has me on the road to smooth, soft skin again. I don't know how my feet got so rough, sandpaper-like and dehydrated to the point of painful deep cracks that made it hard to walk but no matter, they are healing well thanks to Avene Cicalfate. A little pricey but totally worth it after seeing the result. I even used this on my son's eczema and his skin is smooth and nearly flawless now. It is not like diaper cream as some reviews suggest. It actually does absorb well even if it appears a little thick and greasy at first. I am thrilled to have an alternative to prescription steroid creams for my son's eczema, which is not ideal for prolonged use. I will definitely purchase this cream again!


Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Kinky, Coarse

Eyes: Hazel

fantastic. Nourishing, non-irritating, actively soothing, and not once gave me a blocked pore. I can use this interchangeably with rosehip oil as an intense moisture boost, and it does well with my very oily skin. Must for everyone.


on 6/19/2015 11:00:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This is a very typical baby (diaper) cream, which works as an occlusive, not as a moisturizer. If babies get eczema or diaper rash, the occlusive cream (usually mineral oil-based) provides a barrier the bacteria can't get through. To be able to do this these creams don't get absorbed in the skin. In this case we're talking about an extremely greasy, thick, white cream. You can imagine how suitable it is for facial use on adults and especially under make-up. It is designed to be a wound-healing cream, so buy it only, if that's the purpose you want to use it for. It can also be helpful after laser treatments, over- exfoliation or retinol.
But there are better and more versatile products in this category. La Roche Posay's Cicaplast has the same function, but it is cosmetically more elegant, I can imagine that people use it as a primer. The Baume version is good if you want moisture as well. Eucerin's Aquaphor is similar to Cicaplast, I recommend it over Cicalfate too.


on 6/7/2015 2:39:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This cream is a serious miracle for my sensitive acne-prone skin. It is a must-have for me!
I began using Cicalfate to treat my chapped dry red sensitive skin during treatment with Accutane, and from there I discovered this product could work miracles for me, whenever my skin is fragile, red and extra-sensitive. It is really rich and thick, but easy to spread and will melt down with the heat of your skin. This is the only product that will make the burning and discomfort stop the moment I lay it on my face. I usually apply a fairly thin layer all over affected areas to sleep, and spot apply for day use.
I recently treated a serious chemical burn with the help of Cicalfate (from hair removal cream), and it gave my skin comfort, moisture and helped it regen really fast, with no scarring.
Oh, it has no fragrance or chemical smells.

Tips about how I use it:
I believe because it an oil-based cream, it will not add enough moisture if your skin is SUPER chapped and dry, just sit on top of it. So I always make a lotion mask with an hydrating alchool-free lotion before to pack my skin with moisture. Then I dry my face and apply Cicalfate right after. If I have open wounds, I will pile a little on top to make sure they are covered.


on 4/4/2015 5:12:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have been using Cicalfate for years and I am very happy with it , I use it locally when I have some scars caused my acne or over my all face when my skin is very dry , to make it more easy to apply I mix it with some drops of bio oil or natural Argan oil. It works very well.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/30/2015 1:05:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This has the exact look and consistency of cream cheese. If you spread this on toast and serve it people are gonna eat it without questioning. Also, even though this is the thickest cream I have ever seen, it does not moisturize at all. It's very sticky and tacky. It also claims to reduce redness. I have very minor redness and this did not make it go away. And this has a lot of mineral oil in it and it broke me out. Terrible product. It literally did nothing except give me pimples.


on 3/11/2015 10:30:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

For some reason this cream caused skin discoloration for me. I am of Indian origin, and using it for a scar, the skin untouched by said scar turned purply-grey. I am not sure which ingredient in the product could be responsible.


on 2/4/2015 2:51:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I always keep one tube of cicalfate cream on my shelf. It is like my miracle "8-hour Elizabeth Arden cream": an over-the-counter cream I use whenever I have a small wound or any irritation on my skin and want to accelerate healing. It is thick and white, but it sinks well after massaging. Packaging is great; you have small and large sizes. I'll repurchase.


on 1/28/2015 5:30:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

The Cicalfate Creme saved my skin.

I have sensitive, dehydrated acne-prone skin. After a very long bout of adult acne straight after high school I was devastated with the scars left over. I have only realised just recently that my skin breaks out when there is not enough moisture and of course, I was using salicylic acid and strong drying products during that stage.

I was browsing through reviews looking for something to buy (Priceline skincare sale 40% off) when I found this product and thanks to the good reviews, decided to buy it. Thank god I did. The cicaflate is a very thick white creme that is a little difficult to spread before it is warmed up. It soothes irritated skin - I layer this on areas with existing breakouts or scars and it is well moisturised and less red the next day.

TLDR; Love it.




Back to Top