Alba Botanica • Plumeria Replenishing Hair Wash • Shampoo

rated 3.4(50 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.58%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 phoebeclaire on 6/8/2013 1:08:00 AM more reviews by phoebeclaire

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I'm currently using this shampoo with the Alba cocuonut milk conditioner. It leaves my hair shiny and soft, with little to no hair fallout. I like it so far, and if it continues to work this well I will probably repurchase. I have fine, damaged hair that I dye dark brown, and it doesn't dry it out or fade my color. When my hair is still damp, I put in some Organix Awapuhi Ginger Dry styling oil, and my hair looks and feels amazing. This is the only sulfate free shampoo that both A) actually cleans my hair and B) doesn't give me horrible dandruff. I'm not sold that sulfate free makes such a difference but so far, I love this shampoo. It also smells really good, in a tropical kind of way.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* snoopy68 on 4/3/2013 9:23:00 AM more reviews by snoopy68

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I bought the Alba Plumeria Replenishing Hair Wash and Conditioner at Target - combo pak - $9.99. I have a pixie cut, but my hair is heavily highlighted, so even though it is short it tends to be a bit dry. Since the shampoo is not creamy I really feared that this product may be too drying for my hair. Not so! It cleanses very well, but gently, with no build-up. The smell is not strong. I really love this shampoo! And I cannot rave enough about the incredibly moisturizing conditioner! Oh, I think the conditioner is the best that I have ever used in my entire life! I'll save my rantings on the conditioner for that review.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 princessapink on 6/21/2012 3:40:00 PM more reviews by princessapink

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I used to really like some of this company's shampoos but I think each one is fairly different and I can't remember which ones I liked the best. After a few years of not buying these products, I decided to revisit them and picked up a Plumeria shampoo and conditioner. It's supposed to be good for color-treated hair, the bottle states. It also states that the formula is new and improved. I was a bit hesitant as new and improved usually means worse than before. As I feared, the formula left my hair flat and dry. The conditioner did nothing to moisturize either. I paid $9.99 usd for each bottle so spending $20 on inferior products, no matter how good they smell or natural they claim to be, left me feeling quite disappointed. I am now wary of purchasing the other varieties, especially if they are not the old formula. Guess it's back to drawing board for me, in my quest for natural shampoos that work well.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 bubbleluscious on 5/10/2012 6:58:00 PM more reviews by bubbleluscious

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I don't rly have anything to complain about this shampoo.. it smells amazing(very pleasant floral/fruity/tropical smell), doesn't irritate my scalp, and most importantly leaves clean and soft hair!! This is my favourite shampoo I have ever tried and the price is reasonable as well. It doesn't perform any miracle feats, but If you are looking for a basic shampoo without all the sulfates and parabens etc but that actually does the job, I would definitely recommend this one!
& great if u have oily hair&like to shampoo on a daily basis

EDIT: Ehh I think it is a bit more deserving of 4 lippies. Still a great pick though!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Nerds99 on 3/24/2012 6:48:00 PM more reviews by Nerds99

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I've only used it twice, both times with the Gardenia conditioner (as it seems to be the preferred pairing according to the reviews; I do have the Plumeria conditioner, I just haven't used it yet), and it seems to work pretty well on me so far. My hair is clean, soft, shiny and manageable, and smells awesome :) I also use Alba Botanica's Very Emollient mango and honey body wash, followed by their kukui nut body oil. I like that these products are more on the natural side, don't contain a bunch of chemicals and silicone, and they all make me smell amazing. This shampoo, so far, has not dried my hair, and it lathers really well for not having any sulfates. I know that the lather is a "psychological" thing, and not really necessary to "clean" the hair, but I have to have lots of rich, foamy lather, or I am just not going to like the product. This one does the job in all the ways I need so far. If that changes, I'll update :)

**EDIT**
This seems to work better each time I use it. My hair has gotten softer, silkier and more manageable than it was before I started using this product. I also started using the Plumeria conditioner and I think I might prefer that one to the Gardenia (the Gardenia seems to weigh my hair down just a bit...I would still use it on more humid days, though).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 ancientchives on 7/16/2011 6:39:00 PM more reviews by ancientchives

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

This was really drying on me. I kept using this for about 2 weeks because it was sulfate-free, but then I started getting horrible dandruff!! It ended up drying up my scalp so I really wouldn't recommend this to anyone. I haven't had dandruff since I first started puberty about 12 years ago and this seems way worst then then =(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 jenn7oregon on 6/2/2011 1:52:00 PM more reviews by jenn7oregon

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I love the smell of this shampoo but it dried my hair out a bit and I lost much more hair when brushing after the shower than with other shampoos. I am too young to loose hair so if a shampoo does that I am not going to buy it again. At least it doesn't have parabens or sulfate in it. Aubrey shampoo is much more organic and gives me healthy looking hair.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 SamanthaJustine on 11/9/2010 5:09:00 PM more reviews by SamanthaJustine

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

A little heavy for my hair but I can use it a few times a week with no problem. Love the scent!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 julesanddaisy on 8/17/2010 7:07:00 AM more reviews by julesanddaisy

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This shampoo and the conditioner are amazing. I started using it about 4 years ago and clearly I really like it. My hair is naturally curly and dry (and coloured). Alba plumeria shampoos and conditioners aren't heavy but seem to tame my hair. It's also an alternative to using regular shampoos as it doesn't contain sulfates. My boyfriend used to use and antidandruff shampoo but discovered that by using this shampoo he doesn't have dandruff. The smell of the plumeria (frangipani) is great too.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* gypcc on 6/21/2010 1:29:00 PM more reviews by gypcc

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Dry   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

i'm on the fence... i love the smell, not too sure about the results. i was hoping for my hg shampoo... if i'm on the fence... this is probably not it. i dont hate it, i'm just not sure about it. i've used it for three shampoos... it lathers, which i like, and thought as a natural shampoo i'd not get much by way of lather... the smell i already mentioned... but it's not all that replenishing, at least i dont feel as thought it's giving my hair much moisture. we'll see how i feel at the end of the bottle. i'll give it that long (altho after seeing the review chances are it'll be another one cluttering the shelf). UPDATE, gave it another star because it doesnt have Sodium Chloride in it, and I can use it now that I've had a Keratin Treatment.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Alba Botanica products

More Shampoo products