OPI Designer Series - DS Chiffon

4.5

17 reviews

76% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 9/11/2012 4:21:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I was lucky to get this before it was discontinued, and I love it! I almost didn't pick this color up because I almost never wear light pinks, and was skeptical of it's level of holo-ness because of prior experience with other paler toned Designer Series polishes. While not as holographic as DS Divine, Exclusive, or Glamour, I was surprised with how holographic this one is. The color is also lovely and flattering to many skin tones. I would buy another bottle if I ran out and it hadn't been discontinued. OPI needs to bring back all of their older DS colors!



on 8/5/2011 2:59:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Other

DS Chiffon is from the first instalment of the Designer Series. It's a light, warm pink, and because it is so holo, it is a great pink for those of us who generally cannot wear pinks or simply dislike them. It is quite sheer, with two coats you can still see VNL, but if you wear some type of underwear there should be no problem. This polish does pull warm, peachy undertones, but with the holo, it kind takes those down a bit so it should look fine on cooler skintones as well.

Formula is flawless as usual with the original Designer Series. If you want a light pink, this is a great choice if you can find it at a reasonable price.


on 5/4/2011 3:50:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I was lucky enough to score this polish recently at a good price on the web. I love it, the holo is amazing on this! It's a gorgeous light pink color, my skin tone does pull a little bit of a peach undertone out of the color, but it's definitely not a deal breaker for cool skin tones, the holo more than makes up for this. Great application, OPI brushes are the best in the business IMHO. I consider this one of the jewels of my collection.


on 7/12/2010 7:40:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Amazing holographic polish! The base colour is a light pink with coral/peach undertones. There appears to be a bit of debate about the actual colour in these reviews, but I suspect it has to do with lighting and skin tone. My skin is *very* cool and can draw orange shades out of anything with the slightest bit of warmth to it, so I can see the peachy undertones in some lighting. I suspect that if you have neutral to warm skin tones anyway you won't notice it. However, I think this versatility means that this colour really will suit any skin tone. This is a glittery girly pink for all comers!


The texture is smooth (not gritty like normal glitter) but the holographic shimmer is amazing! It sparkles pink and silver in direct light - I can't stop looking at my hands on the wheel as I'm driving - bad, I know. Indoors the holo shimmer isn't as visible, but the colour is still a very pretty pink.


The coverage is good - three coats required for bottle colour on the nail. The wear is great, as with all OPI polishes. The texture is lovely and smooth, no glitter particles in it, which also makes it easy to remove. I hate trying to scrub off the glitter bits in my usual glitter polishes, but this is a breeze!


Buy again - definitely! And I'm going to try to track down all the other Designer Series colours - shame they are so hard to find! Kind of expensive, but completely worth the price!


Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I really love this color. Actually the better the lighting the more I love it. In "good" light and outside this is a dazzling barbie pink holo but if office / school / bad lighting it can look like a flat murky peachy (!!??) pink from a distance...prettier close but meh. I wish it looked like it looks outside all of the time but I will take what I can get because this is a beautiful polish. It applied really well, I do 2 thin coats and its easily opaque. This dries fairly fast and super smooth. The name is fitting, makes me think of a 1950's prom dress and this polish definitely has that feel. I'd recommend this.


on 3/24/2009 8:26:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

OPI's Designer Series Chiffon is a warm rosy/peachy pink holographic polish. It is super sparkly in the sunlight and even indoors you can see much of the holo effect. The application was super-smooth, opaque at two coats, and very fast drying (about three minutes betwee coats). It dries to a super-shiny finish which makes even a top coat optional. The wear time was also great with minor crazing and cracking at day five. While I like the color and have bought extras I'm on the fence whether it might not be too light. It gives almost a "mannequin hands" kind of effect.


on 9/8/2008 4:20:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

i simply adore this color! it's a very soothing pink yet glam with its holographic effect. Application was great with no need for a top coat to achieve a total shine! Though I still apply top coat to seal. Absolute wear - I wore it for one week but no traces of chipping!
And the best part is.. removal was a breeze!


on 7/28/2008 11:31:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I picked this up at a pedicure, hoping for a fun sparkly look. Like other reviewers noted, this is a cool pink with a beautiful shimmer. I'm fairly neutral toned and didn't feel like this color did much for my skin. It would look much better on my fingers than toes and lacked the wow factor I was hoping for. However, I will say this color looks very pretty in the sun, applies well, and lasts long. Might work better for others just not a favorite for me.


on 7/21/2008 3:46:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Yeap, this is a cool-medium pink- absolutely no salmon, peach or red shades. I love the colour and the holographic glitter, its so fine and shiny, no need to top coat at all! I dont usually go for glitters- they're great to look at, but a pain to remove, so I never buy np with glitter. But this is amazing! I'm on the lookout to swap for more DS :)


on 4/5/2008 7:10:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Hmm...did they change the color along the way? Other reviewers have described this as a cool pink, but my Designer Series DS Chiffon nail laquer is a warm light coral/peachy pink with holographic ultrafine microglitter. It does dry to a smooth and shiny finish unlike a lot of glittered polishes, as another reviewer noted. This smooth and shiny finish makes a topcoat more optional with this polish than with more matte polishes. It is also very easy to remove, too. It is a somewhat sheer shade. I haven't yet tried it for layering over other colors, but it would probably be nice over other warm sheers and cremes that aren't too dark.



However, I am not a fan of the price of $12.50 retail, and I prefer cooler shades, so I will not repurchase. I'll try Designer Series DS Elegance next since that seems to be this shade's cooler counterpart.



Great OPI quality but not my favorite, I'm afraid. :-(


Top Rated OPI Products

image

Koala Bear-y

74 reviews
image

Malaga Wine

151 reviews
image

Dutch Tulips

76 reviews
image

Romeo & Joliet

87 reviews
Back to Top