Homemade Vitamin C Serum

4.4

162 reviews

89% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 2/17/2015 1:58:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This is the 3rd time I've made the C Serum - I use Kassey's 15% C and Ferulic Acid recipe (found here: http://www.skincaretalk.com/a/15-c-serum-with-tutorial - I omit the Optiphen, the polysorbate 80 and the xantham gum - I like mine thinner, and I just make fresh when it starts to turn)

The only thing I did different this time was I bought some ultrafine LAA from lotioncrafter.com, and it dissolved in less than a minute, as opposed to the "regular" LAA that took literally hours to dissolve! Seriously, if you are going to make this stuff, do yourself a huge favor and get the ultrafine LAA. I even tried putting the regular stuff in the food processor and pulverizing it, and it still didn't work nearly as well as the ultrafine (the food processor was my 2nd attempt - still took forever)

I use this in the AM under my moisturizer - it takes only a moment to sink it, and I don't even know it's there, but it does keep my skin brighter and firmer. And it's mondo cheap, plus you get the thrill of being a mad scientist! :D Love it to death.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.



on 1/22/2015 2:32:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Other, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I cannot believe I am just now hearing about making my own vitamin c serum!!! As soo. As I read all the reviews (and I do mean all of them), I ran out to get some vitamin c powder to whip up a batch as I already had all of the other ingredients. I added carrot seed oil, lavender and geranium essential oils to it and OMG!! I saw a difference after the first use and now 4 days later I cannot believe the difference this has made in my face! At 37, I was getting laugh lines that stayed even after I was done laughing or smiling and they are almost completely gone after 4 days using a 10% serum!! I can't wait to see what happens when I up the dosage in a few weeks!! I will NEVER be without this again!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 1/10/2015 4:01:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I used to buy NuFountain C20, which was very good, but now I've been making my own vitamin C serum for years. I store it in an amber glass bottle in the refrigerator and my recipe remains stable for at least 2 months. Here is my mixture:
3/4 teaspoon ascorbic acid (NOW vitamin C crystals)
2 Tablespoons Thayer's alcohol free witch hazel with aloe
1/4 teaspoon vegetable glycerine (NOW)
Dissolve vitamin C crystals in witch hazel. Must dissolve completely! I usually have to use the end of a spoon to grind the crystals a bit to help it dissolve.
Add glycerine and stir.
Pour into amber glass bottle w/ dropper and store in fridge.
I think the addition of the witch hazel instead of distilled water is what preserves this serum for so long.
Works just as well as nufountain for a fraction of the cost. I can't imagine paying $$$ for Skinceuticals when the ingredients are sooo cheap.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 1/9/2015 1:50:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

For my DIY C serum, I use l-ascorbic acid powder from Garden of Wisdom with aloe vera juice in a ratio of 4 parts aloe to 1 part powder. I store the mixture in an amber glass dropper bottle and make a fresh batch every 4-5 days.

TBH, the DIY serum does not give me results that are as dramatic as an HE serum such as Skinceuticals.

However the DIY serum is a fraction of the cost. IME, Skinceuticals oxidized before I could get through half of the bottle, which is why I did not repurchase.

I have been using the serum 5 times a week for 3 months and have noticed that my skin tone is more even, acne scars have faded by 50% or more and small sun spots seem lighter in color

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 12/24/2014 11:27:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I have been making my own vitamin C serum for well over a year now. I use the L-ascorbic fine powder from Lotion Crafters, and distilled water. I have worked up to 20%, and my skin tolerates it well. I have however developed yellow/orange fingernails from using this solution! I have been careful that it does not touch the nails, but they are all discolored regardless. I connected with a doctor on-line that had written an article/researched the use of topical vitamin c (Dr. Pumori Telang-Saokar) and he confirmed that this staining is from the serum. He advised me to wear gloves when I mix and apply it, and that over time the staining would fade. We will see. Has anyone else had this side affect? Please respond if you have.

thank you

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 12/7/2014 7:11:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

***************Why only me*********
I am so disappointed right now. After using this product my skin turned 2-3 shades darker. I was not planning to get tan. I don't need tan because I already have warm complexion. Glycerin made my skin looks shiny/greasy. What's up with that? I made my toner with distilled water 2-3 teaspoon, 1/8 tea of vitamin c powder, 1 tea spoon of glycerin. I made fresh batch every week. It would look fine when I applied this toner at night but in the morning after cleansing my face would look darker? I got summer tan in winter which I don't appreciate.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 11/13/2014 9:23:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I make this as a toner - ascorbic acid and distilled water, which I allow to dry and follow with an oil that contains vitamin e and other goodies. I've been using it for five months, starting low and building up to 20% or a bit less vitamin C. I have sensitive skin but haven't really had any problems with sensitivity. The toner lasts a week but not longer kept in a dark place.

It's not the magic wand I was hoping for, nor can I swear its not doing anything. After about six weeks use, it seemed to me that my skin looked firmer. I'm at a time of life when my skin should be deteriorating rapidly and its not. Perhaps that is as a result of this regime.

Nothing you put on your skin makes as much difference as eating and sleeping well but i will definitely continue to use this.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 11/1/2014 7:08:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I've been making this with very little glycerin for a few years...long before I read it on makeupalley.
I use an amber dropper bottle.
50 grams distilled water or 3 1/2 tbs
25 ml of glycerin-that's abput 1/8 of a tsp. I use so little because glycerin for me draws water out of my skin, and not so much from the air.
3 grams of fine ascorbic acid powder.

L-ascorbic is the same as ascorbic acid. Do not use ester c.
This serum has the optimal pH of 3.5. It has to be under 4 to penetrate, but less than three will irritate the skin. I use pH test strips I buy from a compounding pharmacy. They compound c serum there and these are the test strips they use.

I like my own vitamin c serum I really don't like glycerin but I add enough to facilitate absorption better, but know that vit c will penetrate the tissue without it, if at the correct pH. The glycerin just makes it easier, and you see faster results.

Do not crush vit c powder in unmeasured amounts into your palm with your choice of cleansers of cream or what have you. Ascorbic acid is just that: acid. It behooves one to measure the amount and check the pH before using vitamin C , or else cause damage to the skin.

32 out of 34 people found this review helpful.


on 10/29/2014 10:48:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

the quantities for preparing the serum have been given in gms...could this be given in terms of teaspoons...the one I prepared was too thick and difficult to pour from the dropper bottle


on 10/11/2014 11:03:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm

Hair: Red, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

This is--hands down--the best kept DIY beauty secret out there. My skin is both dry and dehydrated and this has completely changed the look and feel of my skin with just a few applications. Given that this is DIY, one can experiment with the formula and tailor it to suit individual needs.

Making the serum:
Just dissolve vitamin C powder in the smallest amount of water possible, then add vegetable glycerin (two to four times more by volume than vitamin C solution). Make sure that the vitamin C is completely dissolved in the water before adding the glycerin otherwise the serum will have vitamin C chunks that can be scratchy and irritating. I also like to add almond oil (about a quarter of the total volume) and three drops of rose oil. It is important to store this serum in a dark bottle because light will accelerate the break down of the vitamin C; I prefer to store mine in the refrigerator. Use a dropper to prevent bacterial contamination. This serum will oxidize relatively quickly and I suggest making it fresh about once a month; you can make it in smaller quantities to save materials. If it turns pale brown or starts smelling strange then make a fresh serum.

How to use:
Generously apply the serum to the face and back of hands before bed and wash off in the morning. Apply three or four times a week or as need. Make sure that skin is clean before application. Avoid applying too close to the eye area, but generous application to the under eye area will fade dark circles over time. Wear sunscreen during the day--this serum can increase the skin's susceptibility to sun damage, although it will repair and protect in the long run.

What to expect:
Hydrated, glowing, bright skin. A gradual restoration of skin's moisture barrier if one has dry and dehydrated skin. Sun spots and hyper-pigmentation will fade over time; skin tone will gradually become more even. Acne scars will heal faster and fade. Skin will be smooth, gently exfoliated, and dry flaky patches will disappear over time. You may experience redness at first, but it shouldn't feel painful or uncomfortable. Decrease the amount of vitamin C in the formula if you experience burning or irritation. Try not layer this serum with other products. I have super dry skin and this provides plenty of moisture that lasts throughout the night.

Take home message:
Try this before plunking down money for an expensive serum. It works better than anything else I've tried. Bang.

Edit 1:
I use pharmaceutical grade vitamin c powder from NOW. I start by dissolving 1/4 tsp of vitamin C powder in 1.5 tsp of water. Gently stir (do not heat) until all the powder has dissolved. Decant the vitamin C solution if small granules are left. Add 2-3 tsp of glycerin and stir; then add 1 tsp of almond oil (or your favorite face oil) and stir. I like to add 3 drops of rose oil. Make fresh serum every 3-4 weeks if it is stored in the refrigerator. Make fresh serum every week if it is not refrigerated. I find that the vegetable glycerin helps to moisturize my skin and bring all of the serum ingredients together, but leave it out if glycerin is not for you; you will need to shake/mix the water and oil together before applying. I do not recommend combining vitamin C powder with products like moisturizers, cleansers, or serums because the formulation could be sensitive to low pH or the vitamin C could break down in the presence of certain ingredients.

Edit 2:
Holy crap! I've been taking supplements lately and I think I stumbled across a potent combination. In addition to using homemade vitamin C serum 3-5 nights a week, I've been taking 1,200 mg of NAC (N-acetyl cysteine; with molybdenum and selenium) at night on an empty stomach before bed, 50 mg of zinc and 1,600 IU of D3 with breakfast, and 1/3 to 1/2 a packet of Emergen-C in the afternoon. This combination has improved my skin more than the retin-A and spironolactone prescription combo from hell, which was harsh and had several nasty side effects. I should probably mention that I am a redhead with PCOS-related acne and sun damage. By itself, NAC reduced my "chin beard" and slightly improved my skin tone, but when I combined it with the vitamin-C serum, my "liver spots" and pigmentation practically disappeared and my acne situation has improved. My retin-A (prescription) was not able to do all of this! I must admit that I'm not sure if the zinc, vitamin D, and Emergen-C are contributing to the result; I'm trying to avoid catching something nasty this winter, however, zinc has been shown to improve skin.

32 out of 33 people found this review helpful.


Popular Treatments (Face)


Retin A
525 Reviews
Lemon Juice
396 Reviews
Nerium AD
66 Reviews


Top Rated No Brand (DIY or homemade) Products

image

Epsom Salt Bath

107 reviews
image

Sugar

247 reviews
image

Ice Cubes

39 reviews
image

Oatmeal Mask

200 reviews
Back to Top