Essie • Crystal Nail File • Nail Tools

rated 4.7(63 reviews)

Average Rating.4.7
Would buy this product again.90%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Rumz on 4/12/2013 12:14:00 PM more reviews by Rumz

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

This nail file is amazing and has changed my life! I bought this 3 years ago and it is in perfect condition (I dropped it once when out of its case and it has a tiny chip but still works fine). This is well worth the high price it will last you forever. will list the positives of this nail file.

1. It lasts forever, or pretty much as long as you don't break it.

2. It files nail beautifully, you can file it both ways and it does slip your nails. It almost buffs your nail down rather than file, it files smoothly which prevents nail breakages and keeps nail strong.

3. It comes with a protective shatter-proof case which I keep it in and it has stopped my file breaking many times.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Lisa1000 on 8/2/2011 9:01:00 AM more reviews by Lisa1000

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I bought this a year ago and I still love it. It was my first crystal nail file and I'll never go back to emery boards. It leaves my nail edges incredibly smooth and it takes up very little room (compared to a stack of emery boards that wear out and need to be replaced).

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 llewis01 on 2/19/2011 12:24:00 AM more reviews by llewis01

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I love my Essie Crystal Nail File. I have had it now for almost 1 year and have no regrets with my purchase. When filing my nails, it leaves the edges smooth and without snags; it also prevents splitting and peeling. It makes filing my natural nails easy and fast. I like that it can be washes, and sanitized for continued years of use. I plan on buying another Essie Crystal File as a backup to keep in my purse. Also, it comes with a convenient case for protection. You won't be disappointed.
(Not Affiliated)

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 tisha_oz on 10/6/2010 10:53:00 PM more reviews by tisha_oz

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

After dropping my last crystal file I was on the prowl for another one today, trying to decide between another Essie and a Nailtek. I searched the product reviews and this board for a comparison and did not find one, so I am posting this comparison in case it helps anyone in the future.

Since I had Essie and Revlon in the past, I coughed up a little more for the Nailtek, and I am glad I did! Here's the skinny:

1) Revlon - not worth your $$. Too rough at first, then takes way too many passes to file anyway, nails on chalkboard effect all the time, dulls quickly. Just go for a better one IMO.

2) Essie - very good, this was my first one. However, after a year or two of use it dulled. The case was also a pain to handle and not lose the cap, which is why I ended up breaking it.

3) Nailtek - my favorite!!! It is smooth but has enough grit to file quickly. Once in a blue moon you do get the nails in the chalkboard effect, but just it's really just once in a while and the same is true with the Essie. Within a minute I learned to adjust my angle and motion without issues. A couple passes go a long way (but not in a bad way). This is the smoothest and most effective of all, plus the case is cute and effective. Now if it lasts the Nailtek will definitely be my HG!!!

I hope this helps someone out there. Crystal files are DEFINITELY the way to go if you want to grow your nails. I can't believe Trade Secrets charges $22 for the Essie, though. It's $9.99 at Ulta, and the Nailtek is $16.50 there too. Of course if you can get a coupon then you save a little more.

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* DitaVee on 8/24/2010 9:25:00 PM more reviews by DitaVee

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This review is for the mini file.


I bought this as a 'just in case' to keep at work, but started using it a little when I misplaced my larger Manicare crystal file for a couple of weeks. It does a good job, but I found that within a few days, the nails I had filed started to crack/split on the edges. Once I found my regular file and went back to that ( had to file my nails short past the splits), the cracks stopped again, so as nothing else had changed I'm pretty sure it was this file.


It does do the job and it's really handy in size and has great storage, but I would not use it or anything more than an emergency fix. It just doesn't do as smooth a job as my manicare crystal file, and I can even feel the difference when I run my finger along the surface - it is much rougher.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LilShortie on 6/4/2010 11:15:00 PM more reviews by LilShortie

Age: Unknown   Skin: Dry, Neutral   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I used this for a long time, don't remember how long, but over a year. I thought it was OK. Less annoying than other types of nail files. This one was my file, but I may toss it now...I've discovered the Sephora brand glass file, that one files my nails a lot smoother and they are no longer peeling and as I just mentioned - nail edges are much smoother now.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Carolion on 3/15/2010 12:01:00 PM more reviews by Carolion

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

I'm trying to grow out my nails for the first time in my life. According to various boards and forums, crystal files are the way to go, and they're right!
I noticed right away when I used this that the edge of my nail was perfectly smooth, so there's nothing to snag and eventually peel/break/tempt me to chew.
I like that this is washable and it retains its surface. I look forward to having this for many years!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 willy56 on 3/11/2010 8:57:00 AM more reviews by willy56

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Silver   Eyes: Blue    

No breakage in two months- I will never go back to metal or emery board files. SUPERB product!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lalaland on 2/3/2010 8:25:00 PM more reviews by lalaland

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

There is not much you can say about a nail file so forgive me if someone has already stated what I am about to. I used to be a nail tech in high school and some of college, so I've seen my share of files, emery boards, etc. The crystal concept is nothing new, but I never used it until I purchased the essie one. I trust and like essie products a lot, plus I hate the debris other files leave behind. That was always such a pain when using them on other people. This file is way less messy, easier to sanitize, longer lasting and leaves the nails smoother because it is not like cement or grains glued to a board. It is not cheap, but in the long run, it will be more cost effective because you will not have to constantly replace it. I like the tip because it is good for going under the nail to smooth out or take away tips of the nail that folded inward (you know what I mean right?). The only flaws, which are very minor: it is not thin enough like other files to really get the sides of the nails very well and if used a certain way it can make you cringe, like nails on a chalkboard. Overall excellent buy, especially if you are using it on yourself and you like to keep it handy.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* wws1980 on 11/20/2009 2:31:00 PM more reviews by wws1980

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I've had this file for two years now, so I give it points for being remarkably long lasting for a glass item. I bought this file since it was supposed to be better for the health of my nails, and also because I felt a bit guilty repeatedly chucking the sandpaper type of files in the trash. I don't see any difference at all in my nails whatsoever. I think the Essie nail file is overpriced (I paid $22 at Trade Secrets) for what it is. I have two other glass files in my procession - a $7 one from SDM, and a dollarstore one - they're just as good!
A sidenote: It doesn't bother me at all, but my roommate runs screaming from the room every time I file my nails with this. He says it sounds like nails on a blackboard to him...something to keep in mind, if you're sensitive to that.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Essie products

More Nail Tools products