Lancome • Definicils Mascara • Mascara

rated 3.7(1490 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.58%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 RenataRos on 7/25/2014 1:30:00 PM more reviews by RenataRos

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I am always looking for a good mascara, since mine was discontinued mine last year. I have good lashes but need a little extra. The reviews were great but it just seem like the everyday buy in the store mascara. If you are looking for lengthening this one is not for you. It doesn't separate the lashes very well either.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lilyjoha on 7/10/2014 6:46:00 PM more reviews by lilyjoha

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

works good, doesn't smudge easily, lashes don't get dried out from it

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* chicredress on 7/6/2014 9:20:00 PM more reviews by chicredress

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

In short: genius mascara that defies all odds. Made me go back to HE mascara when I'd sworn it off forever. So good, it makes my cheap-a$$ angry.

I have a long, long history with Definicils. When I was in high school, in the early 90s, when I think Definicils was introduced, I was using Voluminous. And I was using volumes of Voluminous, and it started to damage my lashes, and they started to fall out in the outer corners. Distraught, I went to the department store and somehow ended up at the Lancome counter crying the blues about my damaged eyelashes, and she sold me on Definicils. My lashes returned to their normal state. The stuff is truly high quality ish.

Eventually I left Definicils, years later, I don't know why but probably due to poverty. I have since tried a billion mascaras. I was a devote of Dior Show for a while, but for the most part I embraced drug store mascara because I used so much of it, I needed it to be cheaper and I found plenty that I liked.

Lately, however, I have been frustrated. I'm 40 now and my skin is more delicate; I don't like to struggle to get mascara off, but at the same time, I hate the flaking that I've been seeing lately in the products I do like as far as application, or the smudging I also seem to always get-- and I can't do waterproof, my lashes fall out.

So my mom took me to Sephora in May, as a gift and I got all sorts of fun things and ended up with a sample of-- yup, you guessed it, DEFINICILS. So I tried it. And now I'm using it every day. It's just perfect. My lashes-- semi-long but absolutely straight and invisible w/o mascara-- look perfectly coiffed, good amount of drama, no smudging when I wear it on the bottom lashes, which I seriously find miraculous, and the piece de resistance is that it truly comes off with soap and water.

So, yeah. I'm gonna buy this again when the tiny sample tube runs out (but no sign of that yet and I've used it daily for a few weeks) and I'll be mad, but also happy.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Slone07 on 7/3/2014 7:48:00 PM more reviews by Slone07

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Holy cow, I'm kicking myself for never using any of these samples before! I've had possibly a hundred of them! Maybe more! This week, for whatever reason, I cracked one open and used it and it has become my absolute favorite mascara. Just like that. The brush is perfection with firm bristles that really get IN there and get the job done, but aren't sharp and catch on my upper waterline causing me to flinch and get mascara under my eye. The formula is glossy, exceedingly lengthening, and non-clumpy. I am not usually a multiple coats kind of gal, but this formula is so pleasant to work with, that it's hard not to want to apply more. lol All of my other mascaras PALE in comparison to this one...I'm just sad I didn't try out a sample earlier!

ETA: And I got my first EVER compliment on my lashes today. Was told "they're gorgeous" and that "they look like falsies." I've always had sparse, fairly short natural lashes thanks to my thyroid struggles. I'm sold! LOL

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* AprilShowas123 on 6/14/2014 8:07:00 PM more reviews by AprilShowas123

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

This is the best mascara for everyday use. It's light and conditioning. Not good for a night out but perfect for school/work/easy going date/trip to the store.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 dierregi on 6/7/2014 4:08:00 PM more reviews by dierregi

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Black    

This is definitely my favorite mascara. I have been using it for years and occasionally try something new, most times to regret it. It completely fulfills my expectations: it comes in a slender, square, thin container. It is quite dark enough for my lashes. The wand is small just as I like it. The product does not clump and has decent lasting power. Finally, the price is OK for me.

I do not like: thick tubes, thick wands, sticky mascara, anything that clumps or that is difficult to remove.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 liquidhappy on 6/4/2014 6:44:00 PM more reviews by liquidhappy

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I love, LOVE this mascara. What put me on the hunt for a new mascara was by the end of the day, for some reason, it would get into my eyes and BURN like no other!! Nothing could be done other than remove my mascara, so heaven forbid this happen on a night out! I even tried Origins thinking natural was the ticket and it still would burn, although less than others. So, not only does this not burn like the dickens...ever, but my lashes are b-e-a-u-t-i-f-u-l! I get so many compliments on my lashes, even from strangers (like my dentist and new beautician). My lashes are healthy and I even think growing longer because I don't have to scrub to get it off. I don't use a eye-make up remover, just my face wash lightly lathered over my lids. So it doesn't flake, clump,smear, the tube lasts forever, no need to re-apply before dinner, and doesn't burn. I just hate the price tag - $30! :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* alina08 on 5/26/2014 9:25:00 AM more reviews by alina08

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This mascara is kind of grayish, which I do not really like for upper lashes. I like the brush style for lower lashes. It has good reach and definition for the lower lashes. This mascara extends the length of the lashes very well, but does not seem to curl. I would not repurchase this product because I only use it on lower lashes, but I do like it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Mandylee05 on 5/9/2014 1:40:00 AM more reviews by Mandylee05

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Best mascara hands down! I switch between the original formula and precious cells and I'm always getting compliments on my lashes or people asking me of they are fake! This is another essential beauty product in my make up bag.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Cammmi on 5/8/2014 3:45:00 PM more reviews by Cammmi

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Very nice for definying lashes. I doesn't irritate my eyes and last all day without smudging. One day, I cried and I was surprised how the masacara hold up really well!
I'm on my second tube and will definitly repurchase. I do alternate with other mascaras because I like testing. I do find it takes a moment to apply. When in a hurry I love MAC extended play mascara.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Lancome products

More Mascara products