mark • Face XPert • Liquid

rated 3.4(64 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.59%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 sadielovesmakeup06 on 11/25/2012 8:43:00 AM more reviews by sadielovesmakeup06

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

**discontinued
this foundation was one the only liquid foundations mark carried when i started selling it, so i got it to try out. its ok for a light to med. coverage, but the packaging sucks! its small, and has a sponge applicator that dips into the product that is controlled by a stopper, so product access is limited, and hard to get sometimes... the stopper is not removeable!! color selection is (was) okay, I got the 2nd to lightest shade, and product look is nice and cute, but functionality is just not there with this, i can see why it was discontinued

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 emily3806 on 4/14/2011 9:33:00 PM more reviews by emily3806

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Mark XPert in BUFF is perfect to match my Asian skin (yellow skin tone). My issue with this is that I really have to layer product to get the coverage I need.

Otherwise, this foundation is perfect. It sponge applicator lets you just dab it on your face, (I find that using clean, moist fingers is the quickest and easiest) and blend it. There is a filter thing in the packaging, I always just pop it out. For me it gives me easier access to the makeup, although it is messier.

It doesn't break out my skin, and it has a nice texture. I would say it's a thick liquid. It's relatively inexpensive at $9 and it seems to last quite a while.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 DarinaArt on 3/19/2011 2:39:00 AM more reviews by DarinaArt

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

This was my first ever 'cheap' foundation. I decided to give it a try, and I really love it. It has a lovely texture, not quite liquid but not quite cream, which I like. I can't feel that it is on my face one applied, at all. It is light, but has very nice buildable coverage. I wear this mostly in the day, but it has a nice enough finish for special occasions and parties. Especially considering it doesn't have SPF, which I find vital in photo friendly makeup.
I love that it is oil free and doesn't irritate my spot prone skin. I would definitely recommend trying this product out. I do feel foundation is where you want to spend you're money, but this product refreshed my theory.
For reference, I am nw20-25, and the shade nude and buff are perfect. I alternate/mix the two colors depending on season/tan.

UPDATE 4.16.11: I would say that Nude is the perfect color match for nw20 skin, good for pink or neutral undertones. Buff, on the other hand, is just too yellow for me. Even when mixing both colors it doesn't look natural on me. That's the only downside to this product, the lack on suffienct color range.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Nat360 on 3/15/2011 9:03:00 PM more reviews by Nat360

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I really like this foundation nice and light and it matches my skin tone well but I think they should really consider extending or making more shades available. I was looking at the stopper/shifter there are slots in them. You are suppose to shake the bottle to get sponge saturated but it might pose a problem later though when foundation runs low. I suppose the stopper has its purpose though this foundation is a bit gloppy compared to most other foundations which are more liquidy. Coverage goes on smooth if used with a foundation brush and if not set with a powder will slip off and transfer on to clothes easily. Probably not the best if you touch your face constantly or work with a mask on all day like I do. This foundation I found is best used where it won't come onto contact with anything by the end of the day I had no makeup on (lower part of my face anyway)

OVERALL: I rate this a 4
~ its quite gimicky but goes on nicely with foundation brush which will provide better application sponge is more for blotting foundation onto a clean face.

~ Colors need to be more extensive the undertones are either to pink or they are two orangy they tend to lean towards the warmer tones for some reason (red). I guess they can't provide every spectrum of the rainbow but it would help being that there are more then 2 tones of skin color for every shade.

~Feels light on skin but if you have oily or combo skin you might have to blot a little throughout the day. I have combo so I have to set and blot otherwise I get get complete slippage. Use of a good primer might hold the makeup longer. Ive used the Mark Primer and had better results (cheaper then most other brands not heavy or prone to breaking out)

~By the end of the day my face did not feel irritated and heavy like it usually does with other brands. Will repurchase this over and over till it's discontinued or I'm enticed by another brand :)


1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 JaneSmith03 on 3/2/2011 10:23:00 AM more reviews by JaneSmith03

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I've been using this foundation for several months and have come to really enjoy it.

Prior to using Mark foundation, I was alternating between Bobbi Brown, MAC, and Nars Foundation. I was complaining to a friend who has DRAWERS full of make-up that I should really try Mark. She forgot to tell me that you can't buy the merchandise through a store.

Coincidentally I was discussing foundation with my co-worker when she mentioned that she was an Avon/ Mark rep. So I ordered this foundation along with 5-8 items (all I love).

Pros:

1) LIGHTWEIGHT - unlike NARS or Mac, this foundation extremely lighweight. I don't feel it begin to melt as the day goes by.

2) LONGLASTING - I thought Bobbi Brown was long lasting but this foundation certainly holds up throughout the day. In addition, it doesn't begin to shine 4-5 hours into using it. As a result, my blush and eye shadow hold their colour a lot longer

3) CHEAP! - For $10, this foundation is very comparable (if not better) to counter make-ups (i.e. Makeup Forever, Mac, etc.)

Cons (sorta):

1) PACKAGING - like many users, I've also found the packaging to be frustrating. So one day, I decided to pop the white filter "thingy" that holds the sponge and realized that there's a reason for it!

The consistency of the foundation is "gloopy" and not liquidy or runny like other foundations. Therefore, when you use it without the sponge, it's a little difficult to apply consistently.

The sponge and plastic filter prevents the user from using too much.
The sponge holds the foundation and the user has the option of applying more pressure to get more product. Afterall, there's areas on your face that may need more foundation than others.

OVERALL:
Having a library of make-up brands...I've come to really enjoy Mark products. This particular foundation is enjoyable to wear and holds itself well throughout the day. And for $10...who can complain.

Try it out folks!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 blndiee06 on 2/24/2011 12:05:00 AM more reviews by blndiee06

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I really like this foundation and in my opinion it's comparable to Chanel's Teint Innocence.

I really don't have any acne, only a few acne scars and it covers them well. It keeps my face oil-free and it doesn't oxidize on me. My only complaint is the packaging...it's horrid.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Rkhan715 on 11/20/2010 3:13:00 AM more reviews by Rkhan715

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This sucks! It doesnt cover anything even after 4 layers. i love the pressed powder which is comparable to mac's studiofix powder foundation. I both both in buff which is a good match in the powder for my nc25 skin (studiofix liquid and nc30 in powder) but the foundation color was a little too light. And what is up with the stupid packaging? I hate this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 crazykewl on 7/8/2010 8:04:00 PM more reviews by crazykewl

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

SO frustrating!!!! I've had this sitting in my foundation drawer for weeks and I keep wanting to try it but cant! The applicator is SO stupid, you can't get anything out.

I tried using needle nose plyers to get the stupid white liner out but it wouldnt budge.

It was only 10 bucks, but it was 10 bucks WASTED!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ashersaharai on 5/10/2010 6:43:00 PM more reviews by ashersaharai

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I like this product because it was very exact to my skin tone!
But I hate the applicator, I feel like there is nothing in it and I have to shake it profusely in order to get something out. I recommend if your looking for a light foundation that matches your skin. But the applicator sucks

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 wynniethepooh11 on 4/1/2010 9:19:00 PM more reviews by wynniethepooh11

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

This foundation was downright frustrating. The only good thing I can say is that it was a good color for me. The applicator was a sponge in the cap. and I had to stop using the product with half of the bottle still full because i couldn't get it out. Very sheer. Not full coverage AT ALL. barely covered me at all. Would not recommend.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More mark products

More Liquid products