Clairol • Renewal Shampoo and Conditioner • Hair

rated 3.8(41 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.78%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* taralynn36 on 7/3/2007 5:02:00 AM more reviews by taralynn36

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I really wish they would bring the old formula back. This was my HG in the early part of this decade. I found the reformulated version at Big Lots and it was quite as good as the old. Still liked it though but it just wasn't in the same league. This stuff did wonders for my dry weak hair.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 bettybrown on 6/9/2006 9:30:00 AM more reviews by bettybrown

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I wish they would bring this stuff back in the old version! As caartist noted below, there have been changes to this conditioner since Procter and Gamble bought the Clairol brand. First, they made it into a cheap heavily silicone-based conditioner, and now they seem to have discontinued it altogether.


In case they ever bring it back, I am reviewing the OLD formula here. This is the formula that Clairol used back when Clairol did not belong to P&G. This was a magnificent conditioner - smelled great, worked wonders, very little silicone, and was very inexpensive. My hair was always silky and extremely shiny after using this. There was also an intensive treatement that was even better, but that has been discontinued as well. I stocked up on the old version when they changed the formula, and am at the end of my last bottle now. : (


For comparison here are the OLD ingredients of the CONDITIONER: water, cetearyl alcohol, cetyl esters, behentrimonium chloride, panthenol, vaccinum myrtillus extract, saccharum officinarum (sugar cane) extract, hydrolyzed wheat protein, citrum medica limonum (lemon) fruit extract, citrus aurantium dulcis (orange) fruit extract, hydrolyzed elastin, reinyl palmitate, acer saccarinum (sugar maple) extract, linoleic acide, amodimethicone, cetrimonium chloride, stearamidopropyl dimethylamine, cyclomethicone, dimethicone copolyol, citric acid, peg-35 caster oil, fragrance, trideceth-12, polysorbate 20, disodium edta, phytantriol, sodium pca, methylparaben, propylparaben, methylchloroisothiazolinone, methylsothiazolinone.


And here are the OLD ingredients of the INTENSIVE TREATEMENT: water, cetearyl alcohol, cetyl esters, behentrimonium chloride, panthenol, vaccinum myrtillus extract, saccharum officanarum (sugar cane) extract, hydrolyzed wheat protein, citrus medica limonum (lemon) fruit extract, citrus aurantium dulcis (orange) fruit extract, hydrolyzed elastin, retinyl palmitate, acer saccharinum (sugar maple) extract, linoleic acid, cetyl alcohol, stearamidopropyl dimethylamine, magnesium aluminum silicate, frangance, cetrimonium chloride, amodimethicone, xanthan gum, dimethicone copolyol, cyclomethicone, citric acid, stearyl alcohool, peg-35 caster oil, polysorbate 20, phytantriol, trideceth-12, disodium edta, sodium pca, methylparaben, methylchloroisothiazolinone, methylsisothiazolinone.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 aross79 on 10/5/2005 10:00:00 PM more reviews by aross79

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I loved this stuff. It left my hair more manageable and less frizzy than any other shampoo & conditioner. Unfortunately it's been discontinued now :-( Would buy it in a flash if Clairol brought it back!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sybsters on 9/5/2005 10:35:00 AM more reviews by sybsters

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I used this yearssss ago, but the conditioner made my hair OHHHHH so soft. I don't think they make it anymore because I can't find it on the clairol site nor do I ever see it in stores. :[

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 SinfulDesires on 2/23/2005 11:27:00 PM more reviews by SinfulDesires

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

Smells great, totally gets all the styling gels, mousse, sprays what have you out of your hair. Squicky clean. Cheap too.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* birdmadgirl on 7/29/2004 11:43:00 PM more reviews by birdmadgirl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy   Eyes: Blue    

I've been alternating this line with three others, and this one is my second favorite. Leaves my hair feeling soft and doesn't weigh it down. Smells good, too. And it's super cheap :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LittleGnome on 4/23/2004 7:35:00 PM more reviews by LittleGnome

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

A friend told me about this a long time ago & I kind of disregarded...but I picked some up on sale at Walmart and I love it! My hair feels so smooth, silky & weightless! It has bounce and shine! And it really rinses clean. I love that you don't have to use a lot of the product. A superb value. BTW I used the one for permed/color treated hair.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Honeysuckle on 4/9/2004 5:28:00 PM more reviews by Honeysuckle

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Excellent & Top of the line! It's my fave shampoo! I've tried so many & never thought that I'd finally find one that is cheap & works great.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 finestmamaseeta1 on 2/12/2004 12:32:00 AM more reviews by finestmamaseeta1

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is my absolute, all-time favorite, gotta-have, shampoo and conditioner combo. i have naturally curly, super tangled hair, and this stuff works wonders for me. it detangles, and leaves my hair silky smooth. an added bonus is that it smells great.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 CatEyedCutie on 2/11/2004 12:47:00 AM more reviews by CatEyedCutie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I was out of town and in need of something to wash my hair with. I went to the closest walmart and picked up the cheapest combo I could find. I got back to my hotel room and was shocked by the results. It's one of the best products I've ever used. My hair was silky and shiny, I was in love. This has now become a staple in my hair care regime. 2 thumbs waaay up for Clairol 5x Daily Renewal Rehydrate formula. Ba da, ba ba ba...I'm loving it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Clairol products

More Hair products