MAC • Frost - Steamy • Eye Shadow

rated 4.5(241 reviews)

Average Rating.4.5
Would buy this product again.82%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 blair_77_1999 on 10/18/2014 5:42:00 PM more reviews by blair_77_1999

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

The most gorgeous shade of turquoise eye shadow that you will fine. The quality,opaqueness, ease of blending is not matched by any other company.I really didn't think I needed this since I already had Swimming(a light green) however I recently purchased Stars & Rockets along with Vibrant grape & saw this look featured with Steamy on a blog. No doubt when doing one eye with each Steamy most definitely set the look off. I also tried Aquadisiac since they are similar but Steamy formula is much better.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 elencole on 1/31/2014 3:44:00 PM more reviews by elencole

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

Recently bought and still experimenting on. Looks vibrant whet pat on the lid with a 239 brush, but faded to a very pale bluish green when I tried to blend it a bit with a 217. Not my best eye shadow to work with. My favourite combination so far is heavily applied (pat, not swept) on the inner 1/3 of the lid, cork on the outer part and lots of black mascara. Better apply over a paint pot, as it's not really long-lasting on its own.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Leeopeth444 on 11/13/2013 8:15:00 AM more reviews by Leeopeth444

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I love this turquoise eyeshadow! Blends great and lasts all day. Like to put a little of deep truth in the outer corner of the eye with it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Earthyeyes on 3/24/2013 8:10:00 AM more reviews by Earthyeyes

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This eyeshadow is very beautiful.

I own many teal and blue eyeshadows but this colour truly reminds me of a mermaid. It is a stunning mix of blue and green, and I love the texture and how wonderfully it blends.

I paired this with Urban Decay's Omen eyeshadow from the 15th Anniversary palette and I was amazed how lovely they looked together! On the upper lash line I lined my eyes with Mac's Superslick Eyeliner in Nocturnal. This was for the day time mind you, I just wanted to wear something colourful and pretty, when the weather is dull and grey outside.

Mac makeup artists commented how pretty my eyes looked when I went in to purchase Russian Red (the most gorgeous red ever - get it!) and I took that as a sure sign this eyeshadow is a winner in my books!

Honestly I love this colour and there are so many ways you can wear it: as an eyeliner, paired with Expensive Pink or Coppering for a twist.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bailokaye on 8/10/2012 12:57:00 AM more reviews by bailokaye

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

A very pretty shimmery aqua blue color. Blends well but really needs to be packed on instead of swiped on. Looks good with a variety of different colors and a great way to wear color without being too bold or extreme.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 erwachenspring on 7/30/2012 9:54:00 AM more reviews by erwachenspring

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Looks gorgeous blue on the lid once applied wet, but turns into a grey-blue color that's still beautiful, but not the color in the pan I fell in love with. I have NW20 skin. I will find a look to wear this beautiful shadow with, I don't really do 'smokey however.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* applecour on 4/25/2012 9:06:00 AM more reviews by applecour

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Grey    

Although I love this color, and it's super blendable & true to color, it just doesn't look good on me. I really wish it did, because I love it ): I wouldn't recommend it for blue or grey eyes. Washes your eyes out in my opinion.

EDIT: I recently paired this color with Jane's Rockstar (neutral, medium brown) and some black cream liner on the top and it looks gorgeous! Maybe I can rock this color after all. I'm super excited that it won't be wasting away in my palette any longer. Highly highly recommend!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 McKaelaM on 3/30/2012 8:43:00 PM more reviews by McKaelaM

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Iíve had steamy for probably a good 2 years and I still canít find a solid way to use it. The color is beautiful, and I donít know if itís my eye color that steers me away or what. Even when I do wear this, I feel like I only use a light wash and it ends up getting blended into one of the blues I use more often. Pretty color, but probably not for me.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mya2403 on 3/19/2012 6:40:00 PM more reviews by mya2403

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love steamy on top of a dark base like fluidline in blacktrack. The colour is beautiful and really brings out my eyes. I like to wear this on the lid with Jealousy awakes on the outer v and swimming in the crease. Vanilla to highlight.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* XxPRINCESSAxX on 1/14/2012 11:55:00 PM more reviews by XxPRINCESSAxX

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Other    

The MAC website describes this as "Bluish-green w/gold pearl (Frost)" and that is right on. It is one of those aqua/teal shades but definitely leans more toward the green side. The swatch on their website is also pretty accurate. It's definitely a warmer rather than cooler shade.


Because it's a frost, it doesn't show up nearly as dark on your eyelid as it appears in the pan. This may be a pro or con for you depending on what you're looking for.


It's a nice shade, but I rarely use it. I would not repurchase it because I probably won't finish it, and because I don't think it's too unique. You can find something the same (or close enough at least) easily in another brand.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Eye Shadow products