NARS Velvet Matte Lip Pencil in Cruella

4.3

69 reviews

79% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS

c12 13 Alkyl Ethylhexanoate, Candelilla Cera (Euphorbia Cerifera Wax), Polyethylene, Cyclomethicone, Phenyltrimethicone, Silica, Dimethicone, Sucrose Acetate Isobutyate, Hydrogenated Coco Glycerides, Di Calcium Phosphate, Quaternium 18 Hectorite, Propylene Carbonate, Propylparaben, Methylparaben, Aroma (Flavor), Lecithin, Tocopherol, Ascorbyl Palmitate, Citric Acid, May Contain ( /-): Mica, Iron Oxides (CI 77491, 77492, 77499), Yellow 6 Lake (CI 15985), Blue 1 Lake (CI 42090), Manganese Violet (CI 77742), Yellow 5 Lake (CI 19140), Red 30 (CI 73360), Yellow 10 Lake (CI 47005), Red 6, Red 7 Lake (CI 15850), Red 28 Lake (CI 45410), Red 22 Lake (CI 45380), Carmine (CI 75470), Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Bismuth Oxychloride (CI 77163)


on 5/9/2015 12:24:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I got this in my sephora birthday gift. I fell in love with it. It is such a pretty red and im an nc15 and i thought id never look good in a red but i love this, and converted me to red lipstick. A con would be that it isnt a superstay formula where it stays put after kissing or eating/drinking, cause it does, and i would have to reapply after eating. Its also a lip pencil which is a plus so i can line my lips and then draw them in, but id have to sharpen to get a point sharp enough for lining. The nars sharpener works wonders for it.



on 4/22/2015 4:03:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

This is the perfect blue-based red lip color for my very tan, olive skin! Applies creamily and dries not completely matte, but with a velvet-matte finish. Long lasting, even through eating, surprisingly, and leaves a nice red stain. It's not too bright or dramatic that it's weird to wear out on a normal, casual day (like to go to Target or whatever) when you still want to look pretty. Doesn't seem to dry out the lips, either. It's definitely worth a try. The only thing I don't really like is that when you sharpen the pencil, you lose product. If they could put this into a lipstick bullet instead, that would be even better.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

Not overly impressed with this one. The color is beautiful but it does not stay put. It is very smooth but it's a mess even with primer. It does feel nice on though. If it were a bit easier to work with I would use it more. I know red can be difficult but this is very unforgiving! It also stains so be ready for that. I've only been happy with it once or twice where I didn't remove it within the first hour. I like this company, just not this product/color.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Red, Relaxed, Coarse

Eyes: Hazel

I have been going through this phase of finding the perfect true red matte lip product and I bought this out of impulse through the Nordstrom website. It is a true red, like many other reviewers have mentioned here. The formula is OK, very soft and matte, as it fades it leaves a nice stain on the lips too, but it sets and builds up in every little line and crack on the lips. It deposits in between the outer line of the lips as well.
Normally I don't have a problem with expensive things if they are worth it. But Nars, seriously, twenty six dollars??? Here's the thing , I would say it is completely worth it because of the brand and formula, but it is a WOODEN pencil, which means it has to be constantly sharpened and there is a ton of product wasted; and also, the cap on the pencil is very clunky and doesn't snap on the top tightly.
So far. Not impressed.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/16/2015 10:26:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

So pretty, I love it. Got this as a Sephora gift, it's my first Nars. I like how this feels & looks on my lips. I may even purchase a FS in the future.


on 3/14/2015 10:10:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Beautiful color pay off. And matte to boot!


on 3/5/2015 1:35:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Like many others, I have gotten this as a birthday gift from Sephora. The only thing I like about this product is the shade.

Pros:
It's a rather beautiful shade of red - pretty dark and vampy. It is a true red, not too blue or too orange. It also gives a pretty uniform color - not patchy, no areas that are "skipped". It is very matte.

Cons:
It applies more like a lip pencil. It is very dry and goes on only where you put it. It is not like other matte lip products, where you can put them on and "spread" them around your lips. It takes a few "coats" to build up an even uniform layer. It isn't too drying, but it definitely feels better with a balm under or over it.
The quality does not justify the price.
This one does not twist up, and needs to be sharpened.

Overall, this one is not a unique, must have product. You can find this shade in other matte lip products that are both easier to apply and much less expensive.


on 3/4/2015 2:54:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I usually only use lip stains, since I have super dry lips (so I can put balms over them). I received this as a free birthday gift from Sephora and really like it! It's a perfect, dramatic red. I have pale skin, and often reds just look too much on me, but this is perfect- not too orange, not too blue (I have a cool skin tone).

It stays put when put on lips by itself, but when I put a regular lip balm on top for extra moisture, it came off all over (as many lip pencils do). If you don't have that obsession of putting extra balms or glosses on top of lip pencils, you won't have a problem.

I would not have bought such a dark/bright color, so I'm glad I got it as a freebie, since I really do like it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/17/2015 3:17:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

My only con to this is I hate sharpening stuff. But for a matte lippy it truly IS velvet. Not drying. But I can wear like the MAC retro mattes so I wasn't expecting this to be a problem. From like 7pm to 8am or whenever I'm sans makeup, my lips are coated in pure lanolin. So during day I can deal w it. This makes my teeth look so white! Good addition to my red collection. Sephora VIB rouge bd gift. I have pale cool skin. It's so easy to define my Cupid's bow with this ... I guess that makes up for the annoying sharpening. Would repurchase.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 2/17/2015 5:02:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I received this along with another NARS Satin Lip Pencil as a birthday gift from Sephora. I hesitated since I don't normally use lip crayons--I usually stick to the traditional lipstick or lip balm, and have not had great luck with any matte lip formulas since my lips are naturally dry to begin with, causing matte formulas to crack and flake off, or build up into a mess of flakes. Not flattering.

For once though, this matte lip pencil did not cause my lips to flake! The matte finish feels luxurious and I like that this isn't a chunky lip pencil, which I find harder to apply color with precisely except with a lip brush. The NARS Velvet Matte Lip Pencil formula also does not drag on my lip like the typical dry matte lip formulas do. I like to smack my lips to spread the color though, and true to matte formulas, this one does dry fast and my lip does feel like it drags over itself when I smack my lips and eventually it my lips feel unbearably taught after 3 or 4 hours, when I feel the need to wipe it off and reapply. Wearing a lip balm prior to this helps a lot with conditioning the skin and improving the longevity of the color.

I saw that the full size pencil is $26 though so I'm glad I got this as a free gift! The formula goes on luxuriously and the deep matte red feels all kinds of vampy, but matte pencils just don't wear comfortably for me so I wouldn't shovel out $26 to treat my lips to hours of drying. I'll still continue to wear this for short outings and wipe it off as soon as I'm home, but I wouldn't hear it for a full day.


Video Reviews & Tutorials

Sephora VIB ROUGE/Beauty Insider Birthday Gift 2015 by Orange mint Pop



Top Rated NARS Products

image

Coconut Grove

29 reviews
image

Bali

35 reviews
Back to Top