Oscar Blandi • Luce • Hair Treatments

rated 3.2(41 reviews)

Average Rating.3.2
Would buy this product again.51%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 pandalucy on 2/19/2010 6:27:00 PM more reviews by pandalucy

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

i got a 1oz bottle as a folica extra. i have VERY thick (in a ponytail my hair is about the size of a susan b. anthony coin), coarse, wavy hair which is halfway down my back, few products really can tame it!


i am currently using paul mitchell skinny shampoo and conditioner. after shampoo/condition i used about 1/3 oz of the luce in my hair. i was surprised, i expected to have to use almost the whole bottle but at that point my hair felt nicely coated -- stuck a shower cap on, and waited in the tub for about 3-5 minutes. after rinsing (warm water) i could immediately tell the difference. put the hair up in a microfiber turban for a while, then when almost dry put in some of OB's jasmine hair serum (which I'm not in love with, btw, but I figured if I was going to do one OB product, might as well use my other!). when my hair was almost dry i twisted it up into a chignon, and when i let my hair down a few hours later, it was amazingly shiny, smooth, and soft. it really worked well with my hair's wavy texture, and i'm super impressed.


this is expensive, but i will definitely rebuy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* media_cookie on 1/12/2010 12:02:00 AM more reviews by media_cookie

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This stuff is awful. I use Terax Crema as my daily conditioner and my long dyed hair is in excellent shape. I've had this bottle for about a year and have never liked it. I pulled it out two days ago and tried it again and remember why I dislike it so much. I applied after conditioning and left on approximately 5-10 minutes.A) the smell is truly awful. Heavy, heavy perfume, almost like a hair dye smell. B) it leaves my hair as dry as straw. Just a stiff, dry mess. The scent is so strong it lasts until you shampoo again......Something I was tempted to do immediately....

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* violet978 on 11/17/2009 7:29:00 AM more reviews by violet978

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I had the same complaints as prior reviewers: it left my long, fine hair a tangled mess. It did impart shine once I worked out the knots, and I love the smell of this stuff.

It eventually got put at the back of the shelf, and a coupe months ago I dragged it out to give it a second try. This time I mixed it with equal part conditioner, and after shampooing, put the mixture in my hair for about 3 mins.

Voila - no tangles, the scent is there, and my hair is shiny. If you have this on our dud shelf, bring it back out and give this a try.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lidababy on 10/20/2009 3:25:00 PM more reviews by lidababy

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I am pleased with the results. I chemically process my hair so I used Oscar's products for such - - followed up with Luce. I used a leave in conditioner and setting lotion so I had no tangles. I rolled my hair and sat under the dryer for a little over an hour. When I removed the rollers and styled my hair you would have thought I had gone to an expensive salon on Madison Avenue. The smell was incredible and the gloss and body was evident! On Monday my co-workers thought I had gotten my hair done at the salon and they could not stop commenting on the smell and body (a few of them could not resist touching it to see if it was a wig). If you have chemically treated hair, you should use Oscar's shampoo and conditrioner for such followed by Luce. A leave in conditioner - setting lotion might do the trick for you.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 suchetab on 9/2/2009 10:50:00 AM more reviews by suchetab

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Other    

I have had this product for a couple of years and I used it on and off but never used it like the instructions. I would put it on and rinse it off and then be disappointed. Finally I followed the directions and the results were amazing!. I have found out that when I use this product my hair stays silky for days and I can go 3-4 days without washing (long hair, work, school+kids so no time to wash everyday). The key is to use a lot less than you think and to keep it away from the scalp. I mix it up with Loreal's Feria conditioner and my hair never looked this good. The smell is a bit too strong for my nose but I can live with that.



2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 regenton on 2/18/2009 6:37:00 PM more reviews by regenton

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I followed the directions and put this on for 10 minutes post-conditioner, wrapping with a warm damp towel and rinsing with cool water.

Yes it made my hair extremely shiny... BUT, it felt hard and a bit sticky, it was VERY knotty (and hard to get out the knots!), and much more frizzy than usual with litlle hairs sticking up everywhere! After I blow-dried it, it looked nicer and still very shiny, but my hair still had a horrible "tacky" texture to it - it was driving me nuts so after a few hours I just got fed up and washed it all over again.

The smell didn't bother me as much as it seems to bother other people. But for the price - this just didn't do it for me.

Last but not least - I usually don't care much about packaging, but this bottle was ridiculous! It had a weird genie-bottle shape, and it's so hard that it's difficult to squeeze any product out. What a pain!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Rachelchick on 2/15/2009 8:38:00 PM more reviews by Rachelchick

Age: Unknown   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

After I bought this, I checked makeupalley for reviews before trying it. I was initially hesitant because I saw all the bad reviews. I decided to try it anyway. I was pleasantly surprised! I loved how it gave my hair shine and perfect managability. It was an expensive buy for me. I believe it was $20? For a hair product, I think thats a little rediculous. However, it worked for me. I'm going to conserve it and make it last as much as possible, but once I'm out I will probably buy more.

There is one Con to this- If you are someone who doesnt like chemical smells, this isn't for you. I really don't like smell but put up with it because the finished product is so great!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* peb_les on 9/14/2008 7:03:00 PM more reviews by peb_les

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

After reading the mixed reviews, either people loved this or hated this, I decided to give this a try.
I followed the directions, shampooed, and conditioned my hair, and then put this
on for about 10 minutes.
My hair was a knotty mess. I sprayed it with a detangler and air dried it.
This product left it unruly, frizzy, and it had a rough texture. Where was the shine,
gloss or smoothness?
I just returned this product and will not buy again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* boogiedisease on 8/15/2008 1:31:00 AM more reviews by boogiedisease

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Green    

I left this behind at my partner's house last time I stayed over, and I'm cursing myself out over it!

Based on reviews and commentary both here and there, I thought this would be one of those overpriced, useless products.

Quite the contrary.

About my hair -- it is very thick, coarse, slightly wavy, very frizzy and flyaway, and DULL. I'm constantly on the lookout for something that's going to smooth my hair and tame frizzies/flyaways (but doesn't leave it limp and lifeless)... and of course, something that incredibly boosts the shine.

Let me tell you, this product significantly contributes to the tameness of my hair!

I shampoo my hair twice a week, and use this once a week.

I apply after shampooing/conditioning, but I don't cover it. I do leave it in for 10 minutes. Then, I rinse with very cool water. I can feel a difference in my hair during the rinsing process. It feels smoother and more conditioned.

The real results are evident once I begin to style my hair.
It makes my hair incredibly soft, and I can see a nice sheen while my hair is still wet.

I still need styling products to complete my sleek look, but I find when I use this, I definitely need less of the pomades and such.

I feel it's because of this that my hair lays down where it should, instead of looking like a poofy mess.

Yes, it does contain -cones. Personally, I've never had a problem with them. I NEED them! Any time I've switched to -cone free products, I've regretted it. Those are the products that immediately cause my hair to be all crappy...

As long as this stuff is made, I will repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 dahooie on 1/20/2008 6:53:00 AM more reviews by dahooie

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Used this as directed (as others have commented)....made my hair crazy shiny (w/ or w/out flatiron). I shampoo & condition w/ Dermalogica products (see review) and follow with this (but only once every 10 days or so). be sure to rinse it out well, as this really smooths the cuticle and may leave some hair types limp. My search is over! FYI, I have very thin/fine shoulder length virgin hair with some wave (i.e., my hair goes dead straight or super curly depending).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Oscar Blandi products

More Hair Treatments products