Clinique Color Surge Duo in Buttered Bronze

3.8

9 reviews

44% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 10/1/2013 7:50:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

The palest shade in this duo is very shimmery and looks too frosty on my lids. I don't wear this ivory color at all as I prefer a matte or slight shimmer. The darker color is too orangey on my eyelids although a beautiful bronze-gold in the pan. Most of Clinique's eyeshadows are silky and good quality but I wouldn't buy this duo again. I like both shades of a duo to be wearable and this just doesn't suit my pale skin.



on 5/5/2010 4:12:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

The highlighter colour (cream/vanilla/pale yellow) is very frosty, but a little goes a long way and is actually quite nice. The brown is not pigmented enough, but good for day use. I am getting fallout for both colours... so not pleased in this department. But at least application is smooth and most of the shadow stays put reasonably well.


on 12/24/2007 1:46:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I'm a huge fan of Clinique e/s, because I love the way their colors can make a good daytime as well as nightime look by building up the colors. This to me is not bad, but not that great either. I agree with other reviewers that the highlight shade can be a bit frosty, so if you don't like very frosty shades I'd not recommend it. However, I apply it sparingly and blend it well, and it turns out OK on me, so I'm happy using it. Also, the brown shade in the compact is rather light (probably to balance off the very light yellow highlight shade), so if you want darker browns for something more dramatic, don't take this compact. I also have Like Mink and Twice the Spice and both of them have darker browns in the compact, although the highlight color is not as light or frosty. Personally, I think this compact is not too bad, but if I were to rebuy, I would rebuy Like Mink, and give this a miss. Still, it's not too bad..

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/3/2007 3:35:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Green

What a lovely eye shadow duo! I use the light ivory shade as a base colour over the whole lid and as a highlighter on my browbone and the inner corner of my eyes. The darker color (light brownish bronze) is not very rich or high in pigment but enough for my extremely pale complexion. I apply it on the outer corner of my lid and the crease. Both colours are very easy to blend and contain just the right amount of shimmer. Perfect! Will definitely be trying other shades from the Color Surge range soon...


on 12/28/2006 2:21:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Wow. I love these new e/s by Clinique. The color of Buttered Bronze duo is a frosted milky ivory w/ a hint of yellow and a shimmery medium brown w/ a hint of gold. At first, I hated this duo b/c the offwhite was just too frosty for my tastes. But, I realized, like w/ all of Clinique's new e/s, that you don't need to use much, especially with frost. I also like using the off white as a brow highlighter, for the inner and outer corners of the eyes and sometimes down the center of my nose. I do wish that the brown was a hint darker since I have moderately fair to medium olive complexion w/ dark brown eyes, sometimes the golden brown looks a tad too light. But still, I love this duo. For a more professional look, this one may be too frosty, I would then suggest Like Mink, Spicy, Choco-Latte, or even Teddy Bear. Buttered Bronze is also great for a night look, just add a darker crease color.


on 7/15/2006 11:30:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

A very pretty duo. It's great for a neutral eye it really makes my green eyes brighter. The eyeshadows are super silky and very easy to blend, but neither is a very rich colour. I wouldn't repurchase it because albeit pretty the colours are very similar to others in brands I prefer.


on 4/29/2006 6:23:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I am so impressed with Clinique's Color Surge eye shadows. So silky, fine and smooth. This duo is great for neutral eyes, with some sheen. Beautiful!


on 2/22/2006 5:44:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

So perfect. I was a bit skeptical at first, especially by the lighter shade. I put it on, and it was soo pretty. I love light, shimmery shadow on my eyes. This is better than white shimmer, it's so soft. The only bad part about it is that the brown shade is too light to show up enough to define my eyes. I still love it, though. It's wonderful, and I could wear it every day. I even used the lighter shade to highlight my brow bone and the inner corner of my eyes. Beautiful.


on 2/7/2006 10:30:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I generally love the Color Surge shadows but this duo is quite boring in my opinion. Buttered Bronze is a light pale yellow/cream highlighter shade and a bronzed brown crease shade. Neither color is unique, very standard shades in fact. The duo does create a nice daytime subtle eye look its just a little too plain and boring for me. The shadows are very silky and smooth and meium pigment intensity. Comes packaged in a silver compact with mirror and duo sponge brush applicator and retails for $17.50. Nothing special here.




Back to Top