Pureology • Nanoworks Shampoo • Shampoo

rated 4.0(120 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.71%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 Scarlet39 on 7/1/2014 7:14:00 AM more reviews by Scarlet39

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I went against my better judgement and purchased this very expensive shampoo. I had read and head so many good things about this line, that I just had to see what all the fuss was about. Well, I'm not impressed. The reason I say I went against my better judgement is that this shampoo contains a fairly significant amount of Copolymer, which is an acrylate and can not only build up on the hair,but can leave the hair feeling dry and brittle. After using this shampoo, my hair feels dry and is on the frizzy side. What a disappointment.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 gurlypowa on 3/8/2014 3:46:00 AM more reviews by gurlypowa

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I read so many rave reviews so I decided to give this expensive shampoo a try. I don't have a problem with the price, as I've been using many high end shampoos in the past, some even MORE expensive than this one (Alterna Science of 10, Philip B white truffle and OUD forever shine megabounce). I'm not sure why I didn't get the spectacular results I was expecting. It's not a terrible shampoo, but because I've tried so many luxury brands, I set my standards very, very high. My hair type is completely fried, frizzy, but fine and flat. with most shampoos, either u get the hydration, or u get the volume... very rarely do you get both. I style it every day with a curling iron, and its very long, so I need the best shampoos out there to make my hair looking somewhat presentable. This shampoo did an adequate (not phenomenal) job with hydrating, but it weighed my hair down. Still, the results were better than the majority salon brands I've tried, like AG, Redken, Biolage, etc. It didn't preform as well for me as Alterna science of 10, Philip B, or even Bvlgari (my HG, and also marginally cheaper than this one!!)

**UPDATED!** bumping it up to 4 stars now. I don't know what happened, I haven't changed any products and my hair is beginning to look better now- much more volumeous than when I first started using Nanoworks. Still not as great as with my Bvlgari shampoo, but deserving of 4/5 lippies!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 nicoleeverett on 2/10/2014 11:23:00 AM more reviews by nicoleeverett

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I've used this for years and still feel it's one of the better shampoos out there. It smells great and leaves my hair feeling extremely soft and hydrated. The price is a little crazy but if you can stomach it, this one's definitely worth it!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 b82 on 12/10/2013 11:34:00 PM more reviews by b82

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I am so disappointed in this product and glad at the same time because I will be saving money not having to purchase this again. This just confirmed that expensive does not always mean better. I am giving it one lippie because I don't think I would use this on my hair even if it were free, yes it was that bad on my hair. It made it appear frizzy and unmanageable. I have slightly fine to normal hair that's naturally straight, it has been chemically processed over the years but rarely does a shampoo make my hair look bad as this did. I am assuming this does wonders for a lot of people based on the review but might not be for everyone. I am going back to using Alterna Cavier Repairx Instant Recovery.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* KatWKSF on 10/9/2013 3:47:00 PM more reviews by KatWKSF

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

This shampoo is a rarity in that it actually does what it says it will do. It definitely will improve the condition of your hair, both immediately and over time. It has a rich, emoliant texture that actually feels like it will be nourishing. Against the annoying battlecry I hear on MUA all the time about "sulfate free shampoos don't lather!", nonsense...this is one of many that DOES. The price of this product is exorbitant, by far the most I have ever spent on a shampoo, but the repair it provides is worth the money. This probably leaves you wondering why I would not re-purchase, why it is not the shampoo in my shower right now nurishing my own damaged hair, and why I gave it away to my sister. I CANNOT stand the fragrance. It is awful, IMO. It's such a shame too, because I absolutely LOVE the fragrances of all the other Pureology products, and I mean literally all of them. I've tried just about everything they make. Most of their products have great, herb-y scents, or fresh scents. This is extremely masculine smelling and VERY heavy. I just hate it, so much so, that I gave it away. I SO wish they would change the scent because I would love to keep using it. It's a great product...but I just can't stand the smell.
*UPDATE:* After spending $40 each on the Nanoworks shampoo and conditioner, I just cannot continue to use them based upon the awful fragrance. The benefits of using them are not so amazing that they can't be achieved with better smelling products. I have moved onto to other product lines (currently Mixed Chicks) that work at least as well and don't smell so strongly (badly).

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 LyndsayLauren on 9/29/2013 10:56:00 PM more reviews by LyndsayLauren

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

My HG shampoo & conditioner! I have enough hair for two people & get double process color every six weeks. I also get Keratin treatments 2-3 times a year. This keeps my hair feeling great & whenever I go in search of something new to add in to my rotation, sales associates balk that I would ever try anything else. It's very lightly scented. I like heavily scented products (think 90's Pantene), so I wish the scent would linger a but more. I did notice a formula change when L'Oreal bought Pureology. It became thinner and cheaper feeling. It's still my all time fave shampoo, however! Worth every penny to protect all the $$ I spend maintaining my color & Keratin smoothness. You get what you pay for!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 nailaholic on 8/17/2013 3:29:00 PM more reviews by nailaholic

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This product line is just a blah. Nothing to write about really. I have dry thick strands and heavy hair, I mean i have a lot of hair and this didn't make a difference to me. In fact this made my hair way to frizzy which is what I really hate.
The Smooth line is prolly better imho. Too expensive for something that didn't do not even a tad bit of miracle on my hair. John Frieda frizz ease is way better than this and only costs $11 for shampoo and conditioner.

If you want to make your hair look like a haystack go ahead and buy this.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 RedLipsCatEyes on 9/19/2012 12:22:00 PM more reviews by RedLipsCatEyes

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

This is one of my favorite shampoos. My hair is fine though I have a lot of it. It tends to be dry more than damaged. I have it at a level 8/9 golden blonde which took a lot of bleaching on my naturally level 2 hair. So you can imagine how sensitive it is! That being said, any time I do a chemical process on my hair, this is what I reach for. Within one or two washes, the damage feels reversed. I have seen in my line of work a lot of bad bleach jobs - people who have done far less to their hair than me and who have Brillo pads for hair. I credit my hair to good shampoo and good products and the NanoWorks line is an integral part of that regimen.

The shampoo itself is very thick and has a great lather. It's very moisturizing - hair feels like you used conditioner when you wash out the shampoo. I love the smell. After a few weeks of use, my split ends were gone, my hair was softer, had weight, bounce and movement. I bleach every 3 weeks and this is a must after bleaching.

I will say this for those reviewers that feel like this isn't working for them. A few things might be going wrong - there are a good amount of silicones in this (cyclopentasilaxone, amodimethicone, etc). The frizziness you are experiencing is likely silicone build up. As this is a sulfate free shampoo, it is not harsh enough to wash away the silicones. That's why you are experiencing better results with Pantene or Redken which have harsh sulfates (with the exception of the Redken Curvaceous line). Using a clarifying shampoo weekly or bi-weekly depending how often you wash will help to remove that residue and this shampoo will work the way it is meant to which is working MIRACLES.

You may also have hard water which causes mineral buildup which in turn causes frizziness, damage and discoloration. A chelating shampoo can help with this. I use Malibu Hardwater Wellness shampoo before every wash as the water I use is quite hard.

I LOVE the NanoWorks line. In my opinion it is best used every few washes (I alternate with the Hydrate line) especially after chemical services or when hair feels particularly compromised. PLEASE NOTE - it does darken my blonde just a little bit so it's not best for highly lifted shades as far as brightening goes. But that's a sacrifice I'm willing to make every few weeks as it brightens right up again after another wash. The repair this shampoo/conditioner duo offers is unmatched in my opinion. I will buy over and over again (but it lasts forever so I won't need to do it but once a year).

15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 misskittycity74 on 9/17/2012 11:28:00 PM more reviews by misskittycity74

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I purchased this shampoo & conditioner after reading all the glowing reviews. I am hooked!!! My hair was starting to look damaged; I get foils every 10 weeks and blow dry daily. After 3 uses my hair looks smooth and feels silky! The scent is a little too perfumey for me, but after using it for a week I don't really notice it anymore. I can shop at pro beauty stores, so I get it at discounted price (which is still outrageous to me). You only need a little, so it should last a while. With all sulfate free shampoos, you should apply it to super soaking wet hair after you emulsify it in your hands first. If you don't follow that procedure, you're results won't be as good. If you can afford it - buy it!!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sherrier on 8/20/2012 9:39:00 AM more reviews by sherrier

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This did nothing for my hair. I can't believe I spent so much money on it. It makes my hair dull, unmanageable and frizzy. I will stay with my Pantene and Redken.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Pureology products

More Shampoo products