Derma E • Glycolic Facial Cleanser with Marine Plant Extracts • Cleansers

rated 3.8(30 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.73%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 Selinan347 on 4/2/2014 10:49:00 PM more reviews by Selinan347

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I see that a lot of people have noticed break outs when using this product. Unfortunately, I have been breaking out too. As always, I did some research, and I found that it is OK and actually pretty normal to break out when first using a glycolic cleanser. Glycolic acid is an exfoliator, and therefore all that gunk stuck in your pores is finally coming out. So within 2-6 weeks the break outs should stop and you should have super clean pores. I have been using this cleanser for about a week and yeah, I am breaking out, but only in places I normally do (if you break out where you normally wouldn't, that might be a bad sign) so I am really hopeful that within the next few weeks my face will look great. The other good thing is that this product makes my acne have a very fast turnover rate. Fingers crossed!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kloduska on 2/13/2013 1:47:00 PM more reviews by kloduska

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I think that this product is pretty good. I've been using it just for a few days but I already noticed smoother skin and better complexion (I have very oily, acne-prone skin). For people who break out I think that it is very important to first remove your makeup with tested products, as the glycolic cleanser is really just to get rid of some dull skin cells; and later, clean your face with another product after using the glycolic cleanser to remove the slimy feel.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lady_muimui on 9/18/2012 10:46:00 AM more reviews by lady_muimui

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Black    

Contrary to some of the reviews on this board, I felt like this is my HG cleanser. I have acne-prone skin and tried everything for the past 10 years from drugstore brands to expensive department store brands to foreign brands, but this is it. Glycolic Acid is an awesome exfoliator without the harsh abrasives. I've been using it since May, and it's almost October now. Already ordered a second bottle.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 eddiecatt on 7/4/2012 12:19:00 PM more reviews by eddiecatt

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I've been using this for two and a half weeks in conjunction with the microdermabrasion scrub, and I must say it has made the biggest difference of any product that I've tried in the last year and a half of product junkie-hood. I've had trouble with acne for the past year or so, but was reluctant to try anything with glycolic acid because I'd had a bad experience with the past, but now that I've figured out how to moisturize intensively, I figured I should give it another go with a gentler formulation. I had a few pimples last week, but am putting that down to the scrub bringing some bacteria to the surface--despite my panic, though, they stayed small and didn't get too inflamed and are now more or less gone. My skin looks more even-toned and my acne scars are also slowly fading (with a bit of help from Vit E oil). It does sound as though this product is irritating to some people, but it's worth trying--because it really works.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 jessamay on 6/22/2012 2:42:00 PM more reviews by jessamay

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Like many reviewers - this breaks me out. I get tiny little pimples around my mouth, chin and cheeks. They are very odd and this is very frustrating to me as otherwise, this product works really well. It actually smooths my skin and it is one of the few things that makes some headway with my longtime, flesh colored clogged pores/pimples. But then it gives me the angry, little red ones so I can't use it. If this does not break you, I can imagine this being a really good product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jellybabe23 on 3/29/2012 3:40:00 AM more reviews by jellybabe23

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I stuck to a really good skin care regime that consisted of simple products. Once my skin became comfortable with those products, I decided to introduce this glycolic cleanser into my routine because I've heard many good things about glycol cleanser and how it can micro-exfoliate without the harshness of a scrub. I tried this product for 2 days and have gotten the worst pimples thus far. I'm not even near that time of the month, and my skin is already wreaking havoc! So I know it was this product. For something worst $12 and with simple, quality ingredients, I expect so much from this product. I guess my skin didn't cooperate with something in it...oh well. I returned it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 turquoiseginger on 10/9/2011 9:43:00 PM more reviews by turquoiseginger

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I like this product. I was using a similar glycolic facewash that my dermatologist gave me which cost $30 a bottle. This only cost me $10 for a similar amount. It does the job, plain and simple.

I purchased it through iherb.com.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 faffner on 2/7/2011 5:33:00 AM more reviews by faffner

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Using this cleanser was not a positive experience. I use a 10% glycolic gel in my normal morning routine, so I know it can work well for my skin, and I was hoping to simplify my routine by combining exfoliation and cleansing steps. This cleanser burned my skin more than just about any other cleanser I've tried (except Arcona Berry Bar). After using this for less than a week, my skin was bright red, bumpy, and raw, and I developed small pimples like I hadn't had in years after only two days. I did, of course, discontinue my glycolic gel and all other exfoliation products when I tested the cleanser, so I know it was the culprit.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 jackontherocks on 9/9/2010 12:02:00 PM more reviews by jackontherocks

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

I think if you have sensitive skin, this is probably a good cleanser to use. It feels very light and gentle for an acne treatment. I usually use it in the AM to get my moisturizer off, and something stronger in the PM to get any residual makeup off.

Not sure how well this worked on my acne, since I used it in conjunction with a bunch of other acne treatments (birth control, grandpa thylox, differin, aveeno calming), but it certainly didn't hurt my progress.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 magdvn on 4/6/2010 4:08:00 PM more reviews by magdvn

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

amazinggggggg. except it smells horrible, but if it's making my skin clear, i dont care :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Derma E products

More Cleansers products