Derma E Glycolic Facial Cleanser with Marine Plant Extracts

3.8

33 reviews

69% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Water (Aqua), Organic Chamomilla Recutita (Matricaria) Flower Extract*, Cocamidopropyl Betaine, Glycolic Acid, Glycerin, Glyceryl Stearate, Cetearyl Alcohol, Ceteareth 20, Spirulina Maxima Extract, Carrageenan (Irish Moss), Organic Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Extract*, Hydroxyethyl Ethylcellulose, Phenoxyethanol, Potassium Sorbate.


on 6/10/2015 10:05:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Medium Brown, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I've been looking for a good face wash for a few weeks now. I've previously been using Dove sensitive skin soap (i know, I know) and it was working for me but recently it started to really dry out my skin. I did a lot of research before finally settling on this. I read previous reviews and was hesitant to try because some were quite negative. But, I'm glad I went ahead and tried for myself because I absolutely LOVE this face wash. I was told to go slow with it and use it only once a day at first and then up it to 2x a day if I had no reactions. I never broke out - didn't even get the white heads people have said. If anything my skin is absolutely flourishing. In just a week I can already see a significant difference in my dark spots fading. My pores are almost non-existent and my skin is soft and clear and bright. I don't find this drying at all; nor does my skin feel tight after washing and drying my skin. This product is perfect to use with a Clairsonic if you have one. I use this with my Clairsonic at night, especially if I've worn make up that day and get even better results than when I just use my hands/fingers. Speaking of makeup this cleanser is a GEM at taking it off. I don't have to use cleansing clothes first - though, I will say use eye make up remover pads. I wouldn't use the product around my eyes. This is preference only and not because I did and it burned or anything. It's important to use the product as stated. Applied to dry skin, water added after working it in and then rinsing it well. Took a lippie off because it is a bit pricey (I found it at Healthy Planet and it was $30) but very much worth it. I will try looking online to see if I can order it cheaper. Packaging is fine - no complaints. I will definitely be purchasing this again and again. I can't say enough good things about it. Definitely a HG product.



on 9/10/2014 6:40:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I've literally owned this Derma E Glycolic Facial Cleanser with Marine Plant Extracts for two years, and it's in the old style packaging to boot. My bottle says it is good another full year before it expires (the label doesn't have one of those 12 or 24 month icons, just the expiration date on the bottom of the bottle). It has taken this entire time to work through it, and it's still half full. As a natural, fragrance-free product, it has always had the smell reminiscent of paste the kind teachers give kids for craft projects in school. (I still remember the class clown eating the stuff in 3rd grade. Yuck!) I don't find that this product irritates or reddens my skin; in fact, and I can get it rather close to my eyes without a problem.

This Derma E glycolic acid facial wash works differently than most. It applies to dry skin and exfoliates after a minute or two with the aid of a damp washcloth (when I remember, I apply it before I take a shower). The good news is that it does visibly smooth skin. In particular, I can feel that my skin is smoother after using this facial wash. Unfortunately, I'm still not convinced I can get away with this product on a day-to-day basis because glycolic acids tend to break me out, no matter the brand. I pretty much keep this around for when I need smoother and more radiant skin for some sort of event/occasion, knowing I may have to deal with a minor breakout 1-3 days later. (Glycolic acids tend to cause weird breakouts, too, like a pimple beneath my eyebrow.) I feel like my bottle is too old to go on using much longer, but I hate to waste. I'm determined to see if I can work up a "pimple resistance" by using it every other day, instead of once or twice a month. If my skin will tolerate it, I'll report the positive results. At this point, however, not sure if I would repurchase. I simply have better results with BHAs than AHAs.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/21/2014 3:39:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

After using this cleanser for a month, I still don't know if I would repurchase it or not. The price is right and it's fairly natural (cruelty free, wind energy certified, oil-free, fragrance-free). The consistency is ok and it's fairly easy to rinse off. Ever since I stopped taking birth control pills, my skin has been breaking out and looks really dull. At 43, it's pretty depressing to have occasional acne. So I don't know if this product has been breaking me out as it has other reviewers, or if I'd have this problem regardless.


on 6/11/2014 7:27:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This cleanser is less expensive and much better than Serious Skin Care's Gylcolic Cleanser.
It is mild yet extremely effective;. I was suprised that there was no break in period to get used to the strengh. It is not strong at all yet it dissolves dead skin without stripping. I always use it twice at night to remove my makeup and once in the morning, Results smoother , thinner younger looking skin. I have sensitive skin and this is just perfection.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/13/2013 1:47:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I think that this product is pretty good. I've been using it just for a few days but I already noticed smoother skin and better complexion (I have very oily, acne-prone skin). For people who break out I think that it is very important to first remove your makeup with tested products, as the glycolic cleanser is really just to get rid of some dull skin cells; and later, clean your face with another product after using the glycolic cleanser to remove the slimy feel.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/18/2012 10:46:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

Contrary to some of the reviews on this board, I felt like this is my HG cleanser. I have acne-prone skin and tried everything for the past 10 years from drugstore brands to expensive department store brands to foreign brands, but this is it. Glycolic Acid is an awesome exfoliator without the harsh abrasives. I've been using it since May, and it's almost October now. Already ordered a second bottle.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/4/2012 12:19:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Black

I've been using this for two and a half weeks in conjunction with the microdermabrasion scrub, and I must say it has made the biggest difference of any product that I've tried in the last year and a half of product junkie-hood. I've had trouble with acne for the past year or so, but was reluctant to try anything with glycolic acid because I'd had a bad experience with the past, but now that I've figured out how to moisturize intensively, I figured I should give it another go with a gentler formulation. I had a few pimples last week, but am putting that down to the scrub bringing some bacteria to the surface--despite my panic, though, they stayed small and didn't get too inflamed and are now more or less gone. My skin looks more even-toned and my acne scars are also slowly fading (with a bit of help from Vit E oil). It does sound as though this product is irritating to some people, but it's worth trying--because it really works.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/22/2012 2:42:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Like many reviewers - this breaks me out. I get tiny little pimples around my mouth, chin and cheeks. They are very odd and this is very frustrating to me as otherwise, this product works really well. It actually smooths my skin and it is one of the few things that makes some headway with my longtime, flesh colored clogged pores/pimples. But then it gives me the angry, little red ones so I can't use it. If this does not break you, I can imagine this being a really good product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/29/2012 3:40:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I stuck to a really good skin care regime that consisted of simple products. Once my skin became comfortable with those products, I decided to introduce this glycolic cleanser into my routine because I've heard many good things about glycol cleanser and how it can micro-exfoliate without the harshness of a scrub. I tried this product for 2 days and have gotten the worst pimples thus far. I'm not even near that time of the month, and my skin is already wreaking havoc! So I know it was this product. For something worst $12 and with simple, quality ingredients, I expect so much from this product. I guess my skin didn't cooperate with something in it...oh well. I returned it.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I like this product. I was using a similar glycolic facewash that my dermatologist gave me which cost $30 a bottle. This only cost me $10 for a similar amount. It does the job, plain and simple.

I purchased it through iherb.com.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top