Seche Vite • Clear • Top/Base Coats

rated 4.2(36 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.77%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Esmay on 1/15/2013 6:22:00 PM more reviews by Esmay

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Silver   Eyes: Blue    

Would not buy this top coat again. Turned thick and gloppy after a few uses and 3 weeks. Still had 75% full bottle. the nail shop I go to uses it but they have to constantly thin it out they said. So no, I went back to Sally Hansen.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 samsungasong on 10/10/2012 7:55:00 AM more reviews by samsungasong

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Other, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

This product is terrible.

Not only does It peel off within hours, the shine is just average.

The only positive is how fast drying it is.

For the price, I'm extremely disappointed. If it sold for a much cheaper price I still wouldn't purchase it. Don't waste your money, other cheaper brands do a much better job.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 JulieRL on 9/18/2012 11:11:00 AM more reviews by JulieRL

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have only tried the Top Coat of Seche Vite but omg I love it. When the product is new it applies so nicely. You can get a nice thin coat of this easily and it dries very quickly. I also never have to worry about my nailpolish chipping too soon. HOWEVER, once this top coat has been opened it dries out very quickly. The product turns into a sticky glob that is impossible to apply. I know that all nailpolishes dry out eventually but this top coat dries out much quicker than any other product I've tried before. That being said, I will still buy this top coat again just because when it works it really works! I also haven't found anything better yet so until I do I will keep going back to this product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 polishproblem on 9/18/2012 10:08:00 AM more reviews by polishproblem

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I special order this top coat after reading all the hype on various nail blogs, and I am glad that I did! It dries very quickly and adds a lovely glassy, glossy finish, making my amateur nail job look salon-quality. I will definitely purchase this again.

That said, there are some down sides:
- It had a strong, unpleasant smell
- It contains toxins (it even includes a warning that it might cause birth defects and reproductive harm...I think because of the toluene, but not sure about that)
- It causes the nail polish to shrink, but wrapping your nails with your color helps to counteract this
- It is a bit expensive, especially if you have to special order it.
- It MUST be applied to wet/tacky polish. Applying it to dry polish can cause flakiness, but as long as your color is still tacky, you will not have this problem

That being said, it has saved me a lot of time and frustration, since I no longer get sheet impressions if I do my nails in the evening, I don't need to spend a lot of time waiting for my nails to dry, and I love the super super glossy look, especially on dramatic vampy fall colors. These benefits, for me, far outweigh the downsides.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MmmQuinn on 9/15/2012 1:20:00 AM more reviews by MmmQuinn

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I suppose it's about time I do my own review on this topcoat, since it's hands down my favorite.
Seche Vite makes my polish dry 99999x faster than other top coats, even the "fast dry" ones. Some claim SV gives them shrinkage, but I don't have this problem with it. It also gives my polish a shiny finish.
My only complaint is that it can become quite goopy after about 1/2 the bottle is used, and it sort-of crusts around the top of the bottle, making the opening and application difficult. However, at only 5 or 6 dollars a bottle, I can't complain. Would always buy again!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 butterflyashes on 8/7/2012 6:42:00 PM more reviews by butterflyashes

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

HG base coat for me. No staining for the past year that I've used this. It's great for people with shallow or no ridges because this base coat is super thin, almost watery. It dries in a minute or two so you don't have to worry about smudging it everywhere like normal ridge filling base coats.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 plasticbambi on 7/2/2012 4:29:00 PM more reviews by plasticbambi

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I'm a little surprised to see that people are using this as a top coat. It was to my understanding that you Seche Clear is a "crystal clear base coat" and is to be used along side Seche Vite Dry Fast Top Coat. In any case....

I love this product. This makes me my nail polish last for at least 3-5 days and up to 2-3 weeks on my toes. No other base/top coat has ever worked as well and in all honesty they don't work as well without the other. The Seche Vite doesn't bond without the base coat. So you have to get both but, its so worth it. I'm on my second bottles currently :)

HG for sure

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 LuxeLuver374 on 6/6/2012 1:06:00 AM more reviews by LuxeLuver374

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

Even though I recently decided to stop using SV's quick-dry top coat, I have continued to use this base coat with great results. Perfect formula, dries fairly fast. I have worn this under all sorts of colors from sheer to black and I have never experienced staining. The only real gripe I have is that the brush comes nowhere close to the bottom of the bottle, so when you get about 3/4 of the way through you need to tilt the bottle to get the coat on the brush. And there will still be wasted product on the bottom. I would repurchase this base coat, but it is certainly not a HG product for me, and I am looking for cheaper alternatives.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jsterorange on 4/7/2012 8:39:00 AM more reviews by jsterorange

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I love this! I never used to bother with a top coat and if i did it was always just the cheapest one i could find. I was given this by someone for a gift and it has totally changed my views on using a top coat. I believe that when i apply this properly it makes my polish last longer than without or with a cheaper one. By how long also depends on the polish i believe. It is a thick formula which i really love and makes it easy to apply unlike the cheaper top coats which can be very thin and runny. It makes my nails feel so smooth and glossy when applied and makes my nails feel really really strong, i love it! My nails are always in crap condition which is most likely down to me being lazy etc etc but as soon as i apply this my nails look healthy and feel so strong. I will keep repurchasing for as long as i have nails lol. Only downside for me is that the price seems a little steep for a top coat, think it's about 10.00 from boots although i except you could probably find it a bit cheaper online. That said even for 10.00 i will repurchase, that's how much i love it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Ricksgirl32 on 3/27/2012 9:47:00 AM more reviews by Ricksgirl32

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Yes I will re-purchase over and over in fact I will never use a different top coat again! This stuff is incredible! Like others say it dries sooo fast,it even dries the polish under it,how awesome is that??? Very easy to apply,if it's thick in some places and thinner in others,no worries it will dry the same! i purchase mine from amazon for under $6 bucks! Fantastic product at a fantastic price I highly reccomend this :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Seche Vite products

More Top/Base Coats products