Physicians Formula • Mineral Wear Talc-Free Mineral Loose Powder • Powder

rated 3.6(777 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.65%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* troo12 on 7/5/2014 6:17:00 PM more reviews by troo12

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I attempted to use this as a powder a few years back but it made my skin look incredibly dry/cakey and I have oily skin! So I put it away and have now come to find it works amazingly as a finishing powder. I tried others but they're lack of pigment made me look ashy. So this one is perfect! It isn't very pigmented but that's what makes it great over foundation.
Oh and the brush is a definite joke haha :) just toss it and use a different one

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 limoncandy on 6/29/2014 12:17:00 AM more reviews by limoncandy

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have used this as a setting powder for years, it does not cake up but would not use this as foundation. It is not pigmented enough. It will accentuate dry skin. Overall I like it, I have sensitive acne prone skin, and this does not cause me any problems. The container is great for a loose powder, the brush on the other hand not so great.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 GrantMichael on 6/22/2014 12:34:00 AM more reviews by GrantMichael

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

omg haha this was my loreal mattique (like the most helpful reviewer had) in high school... always at my locker, though as staying power was an issue. still overall great foundation, might go pick some up to take a trip down memory lane (and now its summer, im oily again!)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* blooiejagwa on 6/7/2014 11:19:00 PM more reviews by blooiejagwa

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

This is quite expensive for a 'drugstore' brand. It is pretty much equal to some Clinique makeup here. Other than that, it is truly a top quality item. The silly brush is there for show. Still, brands like Dior and Chanel pull the same gimmick, so I wouldn't dock a point for that. I use it to set my foundation/concealer (lightly) and build it up under eyes (gradually) or use it to sweep away eye makeup fallout. It is spectacular. I took off a point because the price is high for drugstore, the colours are too limited (Translucent Medium is not exactly right for me), and I haven't used it long enough to have any idea about sensitivity. If it causes breakouts as so many ppl here have mentioned, I will update.

->It has fine sheen running through it (finer than the Chanel powder imo)
->With the right brush and technique, I think most people who can find a match would like it.
-->Some higher end loose powders like Elizabeth Arden's, are so jet-milled, so fine, that they're great for mature skin. This one is ALMOST there, not quite. It's very fine, but if wrinkles/lines are an issue, I might recommend some HE powders instead.
-->If you build it up (swirling on in 2 or more layers), you will DESPERATELY need highlighter/blush, to not look like a doll. The coverage is good!
->Staying powder is better than my other powders that I own (Wet n Wild, Dior, Chanel, Clinique, Bare Minerals). Hot summer day-->lasted hours. I still touched up afterwards, for the 'PERFECTLY' made-up doll look, but it looked naturally perfect for hours without touch-up.
->Clinique Almost Powder is better for a true 'foundation' type powder, to be used on its own, because it offers more coverage. However, it looks cakey easily, so it is best for solo usage. PF is good for those who wanna keep using their regular base.
->Melds into the skin after a few minutes. Looks light/airy/translucent, not cakey.
->Totally airbrushes away my pores
->Be careful not to breathe it in :(
-->I LOVE the packaging. Also, tip! Ecotools Retractable Kabuki, take off the top>>pour some of the PF powder into it-->put the lid back onto the kabuki brush-->VOILA! on-the-go powder in your brush without having to take the actual container with you everywhere!!!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Prznbreeze on 6/5/2014 12:04:00 PM more reviews by Prznbreeze

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I'm surprised this foundation doesn't have better reviews. I've been using it for a few years after switching from bare minerals and have loved it. In the last few months leading up to my wedding, I was searching for a foundation that could beat this one. I have tried: makeup forever HD foundation, Almay clear complexion, revlon color stay, tarte Amazonian clay, cover fx liquid foundation, Laura mercier silk creme, Vichy dermablend, physicians formula liquid foundation, becca liquid foundation, bare minerals liquid foundation, and Laura mercier mineral makeup. None of these foundations have been as good as the physicians formula mineral foundation! The coverage by itself is medium but I wear the physicians formula concealer RX under it (it's amazing) and wear the loose powder on top. It doesn't feel like I'm wearing makeup and it's full coverage. Also, I have very sensitive acne-prone skin and I don't break out wearing this. If you look at the ingredients and compare it to other foundations, you'll notice it contains a lot less ingredients.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 luisajiron on 5/18/2014 7:04:00 AM more reviews by luisajiron

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Absolutely love! This product is great for young women who are not looking for full/max coverage. It feels great on the skin (does not feel cakey or as if you're over doing your foundation) and does a great job of keeping a young, healthy glow. Works best with a primer or moisturizer to last all day. I do not find the smell to be disturbing however the packaging isn't the greatest & the applicator they provide is horrible!! I highly recommend to high school students & teens. It also works fab on top of a bb cream for a little extra coverage & glow!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 BigPrimpin on 4/19/2014 6:32:00 PM more reviews by BigPrimpin

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I have had a pot of this sitting unused for ages, because Translucent Light is too pale for me. I bought Buff Beige recently and after dusting it over a tinted moisturizer (Neutrogena), decided to give it a shot on its own.

There are 2 ways I've applied this, with virtually no difference: with moisturizer and without. This is a pro+ in the product's favor as many foundations either need a moisturizer underneath or are so affected by one that the finish/wear is compromised.

I use Sonia Kashuk's Synthetic Buffing Brush and am able to build up to a coverage I am very pleased with. I finish with ELF Makeup Mist & Set spray and find the powder wears easily 7 hours. My EcoTools Kabuki is what I usually prefer to apply powder foundation, but for some reason, this SK brush works better with these minerals. There is a nice glow to the finish, which I prefer to matte. Once buffed in thoroughly, it reminds me of Bare Minerals, yet the coverage seems superior. I love that you get 14 g of powder for $10-13. I poured my Buff Beige into an empty moisturizer jar with a screw lid, and poured my Translucent Light into an empty Bare Minerals container, which I now use for highlighting.

I gave 2 lippies for the packaging simply because it is very easy to open the container and pour all of the powder into something else. If that weren't an option, it would be awful. lol

Nutshell:
*Those with very oily skin may wish to set with a high def powder (I like ELF), prime first, or need to blot.
*Bulky, messy packaging and cheapy brush; both easily remedied.
*Very affordable/amount for the price.
*Most importantly, the brush seems to make the biggest difference in application. Buildable coverage but more buffing is necessary.
*Color selection could be more varied (especially for deeper skintones), but even if you buy 2 or 3 to mix, you're still not spending a fortune.

This is becoming my everyday foundation. Looks natural, evens out my skin without looking caked on, leaves a pretty glow, contains spf 16, no breakouts.

*Shade Update: After noticing some oxidation with Buff Beige, I found a better color match with Translucent Medium. While TM appears more pink toned, it buffs out to a truer beige and does not turn darker/orange.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Spiralunix on 4/3/2014 12:10:00 AM more reviews by Spiralunix

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This is the best drug store powder I have ever used. I bought some last summer and used it for the first time when I got pretty sun burnt on my face. Just a few layers completely hid the red, evened out my tone, and you could still see my freckles underneath, it looked like i had no make up on!
Pros:
-This gives me just enough coverage to minimize pores (I have huge ones)
-covers up minor flaws and small pimples, yet keep my skin looking like real skin as opposed to looking fake or cakey
-There are tiny little sparkles that can be seen in the powder also that do not show up on the face as sparkles, but blend to give me a beautiful, healthy glow.
-My skin is relatively oily, VERY sensitive, and mildly acne prone-this powder never irritated my skin or broke it out-in fact the condition of my skin has improved since using this.
Cons:
-Smells really weird and gross (can't smell it once it is on face though)
-Very messy-powder flies everywhere, rubs off on clothing
-Does little to control oil
-Crappy packaging
-Brush it comes with sucks-very horrible to apply. I use my own sigma brush to apply

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 MisstinaaR on 3/10/2014 8:51:00 PM more reviews by MisstinaaR

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I have been using Physician's formula for about 5 years now...no joke. I HATE liquid foundation because it always breaks me out, and always dries out my skin, or makes it look un-natural. I have also tried switching to other powders (loose and pressed) due to the somewhat expensive price of physician's formula....but I ALWAYS go back to this product. All other powders seem to look too un-natural for me, either making me look cakey, taking away too much of my undertones, and drying out my skin. I have dry skin in the winter and oily skin in the summer. This product seems to work well for both seasons. I have to reapply only once, but that's not for about 6 hours, which is good enough for me. I usually have to reapply every 2 hours with other powders.

My skin:
VERY acne prone
light with yellow undertones
dries easily
Shade I use for this product: Soft ivory

I gave it 4 stars only because I wouldn't say it's PERFECT, but it is the only powder I will use.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 mermaidprincess1993 on 3/10/2014 8:41:00 PM more reviews by mermaidprincess1993

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I bought this at shoppers a few months ago, and from what I can remember it was a little pricey for a drugstore powder. The packaging isn't the greatest. But I do find it evens out my skin tone a lot, and looks really natural on me. It doesn't give me that powdery look on my face which i enjoy a lot. considering most powders tend to make my nose look more dry and cracked then it actually is. The brush is pretty much useless. I wish the coverage was a bit better. I have to flip the powder upside down with the lid closed to get powder to come out, and it can get a little messy at times. So I guess it's safe to say you end up wasting a lot of product. But the powder itself is nice. It feels light on my skin, I find a lot of the other powders at the drugstore feel a lot heavier on my skin. I like using it on it's own if I'm having a bad breakout, or my skin is really dehydrated. I have used this powder previously in the past on my face when I had peeling red scaley looking skin during the winter months (seriously my skin looked awful) and I used this powder and my ex had actually commented that my skin looked a lot better after applying the foundation. He couldn't even tell I was wearing foundation. I just wish the foundation was cheaper, therefore I probably won't be buying it again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Physicians Formula products

More Powder products