Bare Escentuals • Bisque • Concealers

rated 3.6(357 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.63%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lushlife505 on 8/29/2014 12:15:00 AM more reviews by lushlife505

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This was far too light for me. I do not like the reverse raccoon effect or the very light "highlighting" that everyone seems to be into. I like to look naturally flawless not like look at me I have foundation on, oh and by the way I am "naturally" trying to contour and highlight my face lol. Where people got that this looks good is beyond me.
This product like their others I find to increasy my oily skin, look cakey, and crease easily.
Overall not a fan of their products except the lipglosses which I think cost too much for just a gloss.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Steelermummeh on 8/15/2014 4:48:00 AM more reviews by Steelermummeh

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This is a bit of a mixed review, so please bear with me :)

I first tried the multi-tasking concealer thingy when my eldest daughter told me how great it is. My initial thought was "...okay...but honey, you have really gorgeous, olive-toned skin to start with...and I'm a hot mess of sallow redness and my flakes have flakes of their own".

"Trust me," she said (always a dangerous proposition, but anyway)

"Okay then", I said (feeling the clock ticking down to inevitable disaster).

Well would you know it, the darned thing worked! So I bought mysef a whole kit and was maddeningly disappointed. My husband bought me another, in the other appropriate shade, but no luck there either. Both were far too yellow and looked just dreadful.

The only BM concealer/foundation success I've ever had has been the multi-tasking concealer in bisque. As my skin has changed over the years, I've had to adapt the prep work from time to time, but when my skin is nicely hydrated, moisturized and primed, it's perhaps been the most consistent , longest-lasting mineral powder I've ever used. Smells of nothing in particular, the packaging is "meh", the texture is...texture-y, I suppose, and that's really about all I can say.

The only caveat I have is that on days when I'm dehydrated, no amount of moisturizer and primer will fix things - it's going to go on cakey, it's going to stay cakey and I might as well just stick a birthday candle in my skin, invite some of my friends over and call it a party.

Outside of that, I did have a consultation with a salesperson who confided in me that for the most part Bare Minerals is most suited for people who have good skin (with nothing major to fix) to begin with...oh irony, you are such a funny little thing!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* yjanney on 7/31/2014 12:35:00 AM more reviews by yjanney

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I've had mixed results with this product. It has never caused me to break out, like some of the heavier, creamy concealers did. I can usually layer it enough to cover up whatever is giving me a problem, but I have oily skin so by midday I would have to reapply. Anything that was purple-based (under eye circles, PIH) would never quite get covered up by using this. Also, the powder is messy and can get all over.
For the price, I probably won't buy again. I don't regret trying this and I'll use it all up, but my search for an HG concealer continues...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* honestopinions on 7/7/2014 6:36:00 PM more reviews by honestopinions

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Tried a sample of this. Someone I know said it was the only thing that covered up large spots (acne) without 'cracking' over them. It did not 'crack' over my large ones either so this was impressive. However, when I tried to add a bit more to cover the redness it didnt cover very well. I thought it was just for small areas but was a bit taken aback to see it was supposed to be multitasking. I tried it on cheeks where I have large pores. No effect, except for making it look a muddy colour. Didnt cover the pores up. Under eyes, even worse, dark circles as dark as ever. The colour is too dark for my very fair skin. This other person said it was a bit light for the medium toned skin which is now a bit tanned but I see you can get it in darker shades too - but not lighter which is crazy.
It is very expensive.
I was initially impressed with it appearing to cover the larger spots on my face without drawing attention to them like other Concealers and foundations I have tried. It did not cover completely though and was too dark and rubbish for larger areas, covering large pores or under eye circles.
I like the fact that it does not contain many ingredients.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Galela on 4/3/2014 12:29:00 PM more reviews by Galela

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I have red cheeks I need/want to cover and when I apply this stuff it looks 100 times worse.. The whole area looks like a big shiny bruise or something. Not for my NC20 skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 ShopaholicsAnonymous on 3/23/2014 12:04:00 AM more reviews by ShopaholicsAnonymous

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I originally like this concealer a lot. I felt like it had great coverage and looked natural.

Over time, it began to break me out horribly. I would use it on one zit and the next day I would have 2 new ones right next to it. It's also dry so it makes my breakouts look flaky. My breakouts decreased almost immediately when I stopped using this product.

I'm still searching for my HG concealer but this definitely is not it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sconzzy on 6/17/2013 4:16:00 AM more reviews by sconzzy

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I received a small pot of this as part of my get started kit, it was not something I would ever have bought as I have never been a fan of conceiler despite having shadowy under eyes I always felt conceiler made this stand out more so gave up.
But having received this I gave it a go and I LOVE it, I now use every day and off the whole set its my favourite product. I use with the conceiler brush in my set, which is great.
I hav not used up my sample yet but will deffinitly buy a full size when I have!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Jch3110 on 3/14/2013 3:48:00 PM more reviews by Jch3110

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Grey    

I have been wanting to try this for ages but everytime I went to get some it was sold out. Finally managed to get hold of some and I am not disappointed! Initially was a bit underwhelmed as the colour looked really dark and when I put some on to try it looked really cakey and made dry patches look worse. But decided to give it another go and am so glad I did. This time I dabbed it on with my finger rather than a concealer brush and I got a much better result. It just seemed to melt into my skin and leave nice smooth finish even over dry skin. If I apply this and then apply foundation over the top my skin looks perfect. One lippie taken off as I don't like it so much for under my eyes, but I still think it's worth buying because everywhere else it's great. It is expensive but like all Bare Minerals products I know it will last for ever so I guess it works out as value for money long term.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 moushka26 on 3/10/2013 7:42:00 PM more reviews by moushka26

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

After five decades of wearing makeup (I'm 63) I've finally found a concealer that hides the redness around my nose and on my chin from tiny broken capillaries. This mineral powder concealer, called simply "Bisque" (formerly called "multi-tasking concealer") works better than any cream concealer in my still-oily T-zone. It's packaged in a neat little container with a closeable sifter that lets you measure out just what you need. Over the years, I have spent literally thousands of dollars on foundations and concealers to hide redness and some acne scars. Available in five shades, the two lightest, Bisque and Summer Bisque, work beautifully for my NW20 colouring. Cream concealers, even with primer and powder, disappear from my face within ninety minutes. Bisque is good for three or four hours before i have to touch-up. I don't use it under my eyes, but for everything else, this is my HG. Hope they never discontinue this product. If you have redness and oily skin, give it a try. You can always get a free sample from Sephora.
Edited to add: I've just tried "Summer Bisque," another shade of the same product, and I'm switching as I prefer the slightly yellow base. I think it cuts the red a bit better. My other comments still apply. I love this stuff!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 DixieJane on 2/1/2013 5:55:00 PM more reviews by DixieJane

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I bought this product with high expectations because: a) it's from a company that says their products are actually good for you skin. b) I had read lots of good reviews.
When I started using it I wasn't disappointed, it gave great coverage without feeling heavy on my skin. But soon after I started noticing immediate negative effects on my skin. The overall color of my face turned significantly red, to the point that it looked like my face was from a different body. Also, anywhere were I used the concealer, I experienced immediate heavier outbreaks! Turns out there are ingredients in the makeup that effect a lot of people negatively. As soon as I quit using this and all other products with this ingredient, my skin instantly began healing. It's been about 2-3 weeks, and my face is almost 100% better, with no redness and little-no acne. I would advise you to be very cautious when considering using this product. It was a nightmare for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Bare Escentuals products

More Concealers products