Ava Luxe • Vanilla Musk • Fragrances

rated 4.1(12 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.83%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tessture on 12/17/2011 9:41:00 PM more reviews by tessture

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

A lovely smoky, warm vanilla musk, but it is definitely very very sheer. Not much sillage, but I love it anyway. Just a gorgeous scent, but if you like a lot of throw, this is not your Vanilla Musk. (Try Nemat International's version: They're very alike, but Nemat is stronger.)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 UnBelleParfum on 8/5/2011 8:20:00 PM more reviews by UnBelleParfum

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Vanilla Musk (I have this in the oil concentration) is an example of a quality vanilla fragrance; it’s rich, sweet and creamy like a scoop of high-quality vanilla bean ice cream. It has that wonderful desert-like sweetness without feel overly sugary or cloying. It also lacks the thin, artificial ‘screech’ of many cheap vanilla scents.

The musk is definitely a secondary element in this fragrance, vanilla takes all the attention. The baby-soft layer of powdery musk compliments the vanilla heart and together they make for a perfect pair. There’s little development with this scent, it opens and closes with the same notes lingering on the skin until it’s barely more than a sweet, musky whisper. A perfect scent for cuddling on the couch during a cold winter’s night, there’s something sexy about Vanilla Musk in a cashmere cardigan and bare feet kind of way. It’s relaxed, yet sensual and I couldn’t imagine ever tiring of this wonderful perfume.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ashleydutta on 3/8/2011 12:34:00 AM more reviews by ashleydutta

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Hate to bring the reviews down on this one, but this one really didn't work out for me. I love vanillas - especially sweet vanillas, and especially if a little musk is thrown in - but I really did not care for this. First of all, there is barely any scent detectable. I have to put my nose right on my wrist and sniff hard, and I barely get any smell. What I do get is a plain, boring, watery vanilla that smells like a vanilla candle or air freshener...maybe I got a bad batch? I got the perfume oil, and I ordered directly from Ava Luxe so I know it's genuine. I also gave it time to warm up on my skin and tried it a few times. Each time, a very weak, barely there boring vanilla. That said, I LOVE Ava Luxe's Love's True Bluish Delight and Ambra Tibet!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* simplicity on 12/31/2010 8:42:00 AM more reviews by simplicity

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight   Eyes: Black    

Ava Luxe Vanilla Musk is as close as you'll get to a Tihota dupe and also with great staying power. Pure sweet vanilla and warm musk.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Bagfish on 7/4/2010 11:26:00 AM more reviews by Bagfish

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I have just finished a spray decant of Vanilla Musk perfume extrait and have now had to buy a bottle of the perfume oil as I just think this is one of the most wonderful vanilla-musk scents that I have ever tried.

It's warm without being cloying, and sweet without being sickly. It's a scent that works surprisingly well in the heat of summer as the musk gives it a cleanliness which prevents it from being "too much" for warm days, unlike many other vanilla scents. The vanilla is not the vanilla of ice cream or bakery goods, it's more vanilla flower or pod than vanilla essence.

The musk is clean without being fresh or cold or soapy and lightens and brightens the vanilla into something quite heady and delicious.

It's quite a linear scent and it really is just vanilla and musk, there's no obvious florals or nutty notes, but sometimes this is the sort of thing I want to wear, a sweet, light musky vanilla. It is complete delight to wear and I'm really looking forward to getting my 5ml of perfume oil ASAP as I need some more of this lovely scent.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jamc811 on 9/15/2008 11:15:00 PM more reviews by jamc811

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

This has a lovely dry vanilla extract blast to begin with, then a hint of something milky-sweet, the crème of crème brulee; stays quite foody throughout, doesn’t broadcast much, softens out on the finish to a vanilla whisper. The musk plays second fiddle to the vanilla, but the whole thing is quite beautiful. I almost gave it a 5, but stuck with 4 because this scent is quite simple and linear. A definite must for vanilla fans!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Wyrmiax on 6/10/2008 8:16:00 PM more reviews by Wyrmiax

Age: 44-55   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Rich and sweet, with a playdoh note. (This is actually a plus for me, but I know it's not for everyone.) Reminds me a lot of Lavanila Pure Vanilla. I was a little puzzled by Serena's use of the Andy Warhol picture of Marilyn Monroe to illustrate this scent, then realized it's perfect--Marilyn actually wore Chanel No. 5, but Vanilla Musk fits her image perfectly! Took off a point because the drydown turns a little harsh on me.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Anbreen on 11/1/2007 3:11:00 PM more reviews by Anbreen

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

Unhappily, I shattered my bottle on the bathroom floor JUST as Serena went on extended break!

My skin amps both musk and vanilla. So,I thought it might be a nightmare. NOT! It's delicious, and JUST right! Lots of compliments. Some neck sniffs.YUM!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 darkhoney on 8/13/2007 2:32:00 PM more reviews by darkhoney

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Yum, yum, yum...the best vanilla musk I have ever tried. Clean but sweet. It is a great everyday scent...comforting and sexy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Rivercat0338 on 5/19/2006 1:54:00 PM more reviews by Rivercat0338

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

Very sweet and pretty. Similar to Love's True Bluish Light but muskier and not buttery, giving this one the edge over LTBL. Starts off a tad too sweet but then the musk comes up and balances it out. Might be good for layering with other scents too. Lasting power on me is ok, stays warm and close to the skin but I get little pleasant whiffs now and then.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Ava Luxe products

More Fragrances products