Ava Luxe Vanilla Musk

4.1

12 reviews

83% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 12/17/2011 9:41:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Fine

Eyes: Brown

A lovely smoky, warm vanilla musk, but it is definitely very very sheer. Not much sillage, but I love it anyway. Just a gorgeous scent, but if you like a lot of throw, this is not your Vanilla Musk. (Try Nemat International's version: They're very alike, but Nemat is stronger.)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.



Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Vanilla Musk (I have this in the oil concentration) is an example of a quality vanilla fragrance; it’s rich, sweet and creamy like a scoop of high-quality vanilla bean ice cream. It has that wonderful desert-like sweetness without feel overly sugary or cloying. It also lacks the thin, artificial ‘screech’ of many cheap vanilla scents.

The musk is definitely a secondary element in this fragrance, vanilla takes all the attention. The baby-soft layer of powdery musk compliments the vanilla heart and together they make for a perfect pair. There’s little development with this scent, it opens and closes with the same notes lingering on the skin until it’s barely more than a sweet, musky whisper. A perfect scent for cuddling on the couch during a cold winter’s night, there’s something sexy about Vanilla Musk in a cashmere cardigan and bare feet kind of way. It’s relaxed, yet sensual and I couldn’t imagine ever tiring of this wonderful perfume.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 3/8/2011 12:34:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

Hate to bring the reviews down on this one, but this one really didn't work out for me. I love vanillas - especially sweet vanillas, and especially if a little musk is thrown in - but I really did not care for this. First of all, there is barely any scent detectable. I have to put my nose right on my wrist and sniff hard, and I barely get any smell. What I do get is a plain, boring, watery vanilla that smells like a vanilla candle or air freshener...maybe I got a bad batch? I got the perfume oil, and I ordered directly from Ava Luxe so I know it's genuine. I also gave it time to warm up on my skin and tried it a few times. Each time, a very weak, barely there boring vanilla. That said, I LOVE Ava Luxe's Love's True Bluish Delight and Ambra Tibet!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 12/31/2010 8:42:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Other

Eyes: Black

Ava Luxe Vanilla Musk is as close as you'll get to a Tihota dupe and also with great staying power. Pure sweet vanilla and warm musk.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 7/4/2010 11:26:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I have just finished a spray decant of Vanilla Musk perfume extrait and have now had to buy a bottle of the perfume oil as I just think this is one of the most wonderful vanilla-musk scents that I have ever tried.

It's warm without being cloying, and sweet without being sickly. It's a scent that works surprisingly well in the heat of summer as the musk gives it a cleanliness which prevents it from being "too much" for warm days, unlike many other vanilla scents. The vanilla is not the vanilla of ice cream or bakery goods, it's more vanilla flower or pod than vanilla essence.

The musk is clean without being fresh or cold or soapy and lightens and brightens the vanilla into something quite heady and delicious.

It's quite a linear scent and it really is just vanilla and musk, there's no obvious florals or nutty notes, but sometimes this is the sort of thing I want to wear, a sweet, light musky vanilla. It is complete delight to wear and I'm really looking forward to getting my 5ml of perfume oil ASAP as I need some more of this lovely scent.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/15/2008 11:15:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This has a lovely dry vanilla extract blast to begin with, then a hint of something milky-sweet, the crème of crème brulee; stays quite foody throughout, doesn’t broadcast much, softens out on the finish to a vanilla whisper. The musk plays second fiddle to the vanilla, but the whole thing is quite beautiful. I almost gave it a 5, but stuck with 4 because this scent is quite simple and linear. A definite must for vanilla fans!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/10/2008 8:16:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Rich and sweet, with a playdoh note. (This is actually a plus for me, but I know it's not for everyone.) Reminds me a lot of Lavanila Pure Vanilla. I was a little puzzled by Serena's use of the Andy Warhol picture of Marilyn Monroe to illustrate this scent, then realized it's perfect--Marilyn actually wore Chanel No. 5, but Vanilla Musk fits her image perfectly! Took off a point because the drydown turns a little harsh on me.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 11/1/2007 3:11:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Unhappily, I shattered my bottle on the bathroom floor JUST as Serena went on extended break!

My skin amps both musk and vanilla. So,I thought it might be a nightmare. NOT! It's delicious, and JUST right! Lots of compliments. Some neck sniffs.YUM!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/13/2007 2:32:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Yum, yum, yum...the best vanilla musk I have ever tried. Clean but sweet. It is a great everyday scent...comforting and sexy.


on 5/19/2006 1:54:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Very sweet and pretty. Similar to Love's True Bluish Light but muskier and not buttery, giving this one the edge over LTBL. Starts off a tad too sweet but then the musk comes up and balances it out. Might be good for layering with other scents too. Lasting power on me is ok, stays warm and close to the skin but I get little pleasant whiffs now and then.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Popular Fragrances


Coco Mademoiselle
Coco Mademoiselle
1375 Reviews
Chance
Chance
963 Reviews
Pink Sugar
Pink Sugar
1887 Reviews
Angel
Angel
1830 Reviews
BOMBSHELL
BOMBSHELL
140 Reviews


Back to Top