Too Faced • Quickie Chronicle-The Plaything Of Passion • Palettes

rated 4.0(29 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 Delilahcakes on 4/23/2012 4:31:00 PM more reviews by Delilahcakes

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Bought this on EBay on a whim.

I like the colours. The blush is a beautiful peach, which suits me perfectly. It has a tiny hint of shimmer, not enough to frighten but it glows. It blends well and lasts ok, and the palette is a great size to chuck in my bag for touch ups.

The shadows are cute, especially the peacock colour which is beautiful as a liner. The brown has iridescent glitter, but this doesn't translate, and the shade is actually nicely matte.

The two glosses have a fab texture, creamy and long lasting. The peachy shade I wear a lot, but the browny version is very frosted and only suits me with a tan. Having them together does mean it all gets a bit goopy with shadow, but that us being slammed around in my bag all day.

Overall a nice palette. I'd probably get a different WC rather than straight repurchase, but this is a cute little palette with plenty of wear.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* danai on 7/4/2011 3:52:00 AM more reviews by danai

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Reviewers below mention that in their opinion the eyeshadow color combination in this palette is not the best. I beg to differ here, as I find that for me it is spot on.
To be specific, as has already been explained, this contains a banana yellow, which I prefer to think of as light gold as it is very slightly shimmery and more flattering than you'd expect a yellow to be, a rich chocolate brown with a few sparkles that are not really very noticeable on, and an absolutely gorgeous, dreamy turqoise. For me this combination creates the perfect summer look: I use the light gold as an all over wash, the brown on the crease and outer edges to add definition and I use the turqoise as an undereye eyeliner with a slanted brush, on the outer one third of my lower eyelid. This last touch is what really sets the look off, as the beautiful blue/green shade gives a brilliant touch of color and freshness. The result is absolutely fresh and summery on my hazel eyes; I believe this will work brilliantly on any shade of brown eye. I haven't seen it on lighter eyes, but I love the combination so much I doubt it can really look wrong on anyone. But I can't say for sure.
The blush compliments the eye look perfectly; it's a light peach that will make fair skin look a little sunkissed.
I'm not really impressed by the lipglosses, they seem to be too frosty for me, but they do last. I avoid them to be honest, as I'm not very fond of palette lipglosses. Also I find four lipglosses on one palette a little excessive. Maybe I'd prefer two lipcolors and one more eyeshadow instead of the other two, so that you could get one more look out of it. But anyway.
The quality is fantastic, everything is soft, finely milled, pigmented and blendable. I use Too Faced Shadow Insurance and everything seems to last just fine.
To sum things up, I think this was worth it and I would get it again, even though it will be hard to completely use it up.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* angellove1705 on 9/11/2010 9:03:00 PM more reviews by angellove1705

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I have recently developed an obsession with these cute little books and this one has such beautiful colors. That being said I hated it after applying it. I love the blush. If I could I would depot it and use it all the time. The eye shadows are beautiful, but are a weird combo and overwhelmed my pale complexion. I tried applying just two shadows and it still was just too much. Very disappointed with that. The glosses are nothing special. I think this is best suited for someone with a darker skin tone.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sconzzy on 8/19/2009 6:01:00 AM more reviews by sconzzy

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I know its a bit late in the day but I just saw the mini of this pallet on trademe (NZ online auction) and just had to give it a try. I love it. I cant complain about a single item on it. I love green and this peacock colour is very hard to get, especially in this kind of quality. I am surprised to say it but i almost like the brown even better, its deffinitly more wearable and the texture is just so perfect, its sweeps on so nice. the blush has surprised me, i would never buy such a light blush but actually i love this one, its so good in the winter when i have swapped my gold bronzer for a silver shimmer, unfortunatly though its just moving into spring now! the lip glosses are also amazing, i especially love the top colour, its so pretty and pearlised but not to over glossy like lipglosses can be. overall i highly recommend this if you can still get it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ninadg2 on 4/28/2009 7:38:00 AM more reviews by ninadg2

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I have the mini. The eyeshadow duo is fantastic, I love it- pigmented and soft. Together, the teal and brown look sultry on my brown eyes but as they're not shimmery, they're not OTT for daytime. The blush is poorly pigmented and the lipglosses have a dry tacky feel and look frosty if not used sparingly, BUT the e/s duo makes this palette worth it for me and a no brainer palette for when i'm in a rush.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* turkey2083 on 4/18/2009 6:24:00 AM more reviews by turkey2083

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

A friend bought this mini palette and the colors were wrong for her so she gave it to me. It was perfect for my complexion. Everything looks good. I thought the chunky glitter in the brown would be nasty, but it didn't really show up at all. I used a gold base and the teal color really popped! And the gloss was great too! I used it alone. I gotta post a picture.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 pinkipixie on 8/15/2008 8:36:00 PM more reviews by pinkipixie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This review is for mini palette.

The mini palette includes 2 eyeshadows which are highly pigmented as other toofaced eyeshadows. But the brown one has got really big glitters in it and it is not as soft as the green one. Green e/s is perfect. It is soft and not so glittery.

The lipglosses looks so pretty when applied with a brush. They are a little frosty colors but it is up to how much they are applied. I get lots of compliment when I wear the pink lipgloss.

I also like the peach blush although it barely shows up on my skin. I have to apply it over and over again. But when my makeup is finished with this kit, there is really a big difference on my face like a professional makeup artist helped me.
If the color of the blush was more pigmented, I would definitely repurchase it. But since some of the colors in this palette are not suitable for me, spending those much money on this palette will be a waste for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cosmokid on 4/6/2008 9:35:00 PM more reviews by cosmokid

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This review is for the full size palette.

Firstly, the eyeshadows. This palette has a soft banana yellow, a bright peacock green and a milk chocolate brown with golden shimmer. The yellow is nice enough, albeit unspectacular, and works nicely with the other two shades. The green is very pigmented, which normally I wouldn't complain about, but as this is such a bright shade it makes it very hard to wear. I have to layer the brown on top to tone it down. The shimmer of the brown is quite subtle, and used wet this is passable as an eyeliner, although it's not very dark. The combination of the yellow and green is similar to Too Faced's Fantasy Island e/s duo. Quality and pigmentation of the shadows is great, but the colour combo is too bright for my tastes.

The blush is a soft shimmery peach. This goes on more like a highlighter, as when I swipe my brush over the pan all I can see on it is bit of shimmer and a whisper of colour. Definitely not up to the usual QC standard.

The lip glosses are quite nice, especially the bronzey pink (the top right hand shade). The other shades are essentially in the same colour family, ranging from light to dark(ish) and all with a pearlised finish.




1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cranberry7 on 2/27/2008 8:43:00 PM more reviews by cranberry7

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I gave this palette 3 out of 5 lippies because I really liked 3 of the 5 products in it. The blush is gorgeous. I especially like it for winter because my skin tends to get bright red in the cold and any color blush aside from peach just enhances the clown look. The lip colors are very pretty. I was worried they might look too frosty but provide just enough shimmer/shine. I'm not too crazy about the eye shadows. I didn't like the application, I found them hard to blend. The colors look much prettier in the palette than they did on my skin. The packaging of the palette is adorable though and I have not had any problems with it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* beauticonnexion on 12/25/2007 10:09:00 PM more reviews by beauticonnexion

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This is the review for the full size quickie. It comes with a blusher, 3 eyeshadows in Brown with glitterbits, A most lovely peacock green and a cheery yellow base. The lipglosses are copperish, nude shades.

The texture of the shadows are pigmented, easy and smooth to apply without much layering. The glosses are shiny but not really appear to be obvious. Good lasting powers though. The blusher is peachy, something i prefer to be pinkish. Overall fab cos it is so slim and portable but one lippie down cos the glitters in the brown shadows do not hold at all, migrated into my eye after applications and really irritated my eyes to bits.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Too Faced products

More Palettes products