Becca • Bird of Paradise Gloss • Highlighters

rated 3.3(12 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.58%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 kellieliza on 4/30/2010 3:58:00 PM more reviews by kellieliza

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I just find this difficult to use. It's quite a dense solid creme/gel that needs to be warmed on my fingers before I can apply to my skin. The highlighting effect is very pretty, though as others have commented, very subtle. It works better if I'm in a hot climate, but then I don't need any extra glimmer...

I won't repurchase this one.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jokasta on 3/9/2010 6:54:00 AM more reviews by jokasta

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Great highlighting product. Paired with a cream blush it gives you a healthy, glowing look. No glitter or fake metallic shine. The quantity though is totally ridiculous for the price you pay.
Edit: Really not much I can do with this eventually. I really wanted to like this but nothing I tried gave any exceptional results. Very disappointing. I get better results on the cheeks with a bit of almond oil under my cream blush and as a highlighter it fails to highlight anything. Thinking of it, I paid a ridiculous price for something that is really uneventful.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 pertiegurlie on 11/22/2009 3:54:00 AM more reviews by pertiegurlie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

If you put on some cream blush, and then pop this on the tops of your cheekbones, you get this great healthy effect, like you are a happy Heidi-type who prances in Swiss fields, picking flowers and tending to goats.
It's really good for when I want to wear the least amount of makeup, but still look better than I feel.
.
Bad thing: it's suuuuuper expensive and I'm sure I could find cheaper highlighters out there. But sometimes it's just fun to wastefully splurge, yeah?

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 noinoi on 6/28/2009 1:34:00 PM more reviews by noinoi

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

What is so nice about Becca's products is they are pretty much all geared up to give you a natural but better than natural look. This means you don't make too many mistakes with her products unless you get the wrong base colour or something.

Bird of paradise gloss is super duper for getting the glossy eye look which I think is sexy. You can use it to give some gleam to other areas but its real raison d'etre is the eyes. If I had the cash or could get a special deal I would buy it again.

EDIT: Continue to love this product. Its fabbo for muting and toning down eyeshadows that don't quite work. Love.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 popkid on 6/12/2008 9:03:00 PM more reviews by popkid

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I had an awful day. I sobbed buckets. But the Bird of Paradise gloss remained intact on my eyelids and even when I rubbed them I was left with a gorgeous sheen. Ladies this for me -a person who messed up part of a makeup counter is a good thing.

I was dying to try this and was thrilled when i found they resloved packaging issues that meant for over a year no one could get hold of the product since the metal discs pinged off onto the faces of ladies luncheon companions as told to me by a keen Becca MUA.

The product felt a little sticky going on-I HATE STICKY but once on felt moisturising and no hair was glued to my highlighted cheekbones. My creased eyelids (too much sobbing) looked alight and radiant. I hate eye makeup-it makes me look like an Albatross but this worked! I looked radiant. I would also use it as a lip sheen-I hate gloss, prefer the biteable plump sheen. This is perfect.

My only qualm would be the meagre quantity and price.
I think using a brush to apply this would mean better application, look and less product. I think the effect may be lost with fingers in regards to other reviews.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mtalla27 on 7/18/2007 1:41:00 PM more reviews by mtalla27

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Ok so I have to say that this product did nothing for me. When you have olive skin certain products just don't show up on you and this is one of them. This is a completely useless product in my opinion-save your money for something more worth while. The idea sounds good, but when you acutally go to use it there is literally nothing on your skin. As if you never applied it.

If you are looking for a product that has more glowing qualities try the Shimmering Skin Perfector. That is the best highlighter on the market and believe me I have tried them all. It gives you that perfect candlelight glow.

Pass on the Birds of Paradise.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* nLkky on 3/24/2007 2:02:00 PM more reviews by nLkky

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I guess I'm the minority here because this product did nothing for me. I literally could see no difference after I applied this to my skin. No sheen, no iridescence, nothing. I'm on the lighter end of the spectrum so I figured that this would definitely be seen on my skin, but that wasn't the case. In the pan the color is beautiful. It is an opalescent, mother of pearl color. I really really wanted to like this but alas, it let me down. Definitely try this color in person before you buy.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* chicredress on 2/9/2007 3:35:00 PM more reviews by chicredress

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This was my first Becca item, still my first, but I can tell they take cosmetics seriously and put a lot of thought into their products. For some reason I desperately wanted this, and I definitely don't regret it, and may buy it again when this one is through. I am mostly loving it as a light lipgloss, as it really works for my lipgloss-averse personality. Its not very shiny, just kind of dewey, and makes my pigmented lips just a wee bit paler. I have used it on my eyelids too and it's very nice, but very "greasy" for an eyelid product-- i.e. you can feel it on, and it creases, but there's no way it couldn't. However, as a lipgloss, this is going to be used up really, really fast-- I have already hit pan and I've had it a few weeks. I think its a highly luxurious item, very non-essential, but I am happy I have it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 flyyy372 on 1/4/2007 4:53:00 PM more reviews by flyyy372

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

i agree w/some of the other reviews... it makes your eyelids look glossy and any eyeshadow to "pop", it also gives a subtle shine to the upper cheekbones and brow bone area. i just don't think it lasts very long, maybe a few hours but not all day. i do like that it's not glittery or clubby looking. i also like that you can get that glossy/silky effect on the eyes but just be aware that you may have to reapply if you're looking for it to last all day. the color is good too, not too pinkish, bronze-ish or orangey.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* storybookheroine on 8/10/2006 10:42:00 PM more reviews by storybookheroine

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Excellent product for cheeks, eyes and lips! Subtle radiant glow w/o looking like you applied something to your face. I am not much on highlighters as I find them to look rather over the top but this is really beautiful. It gives you a nice glowy look that is not a greasy look. Normally I think glowy looks like people need to powder themselves down a bit but this is very workable and looks just the way you want it too, natural and pretty. Love it on my eye lids. Gives that glossy look you see in magazines and it lasts and lasts like nothing else I've tried. Pretty shimmer gloss on lips and again long lasting. I love this product and hope to try more of Becca's multi use items.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Becca products

More Highlighters products