NYX Powder Blush - Terra Cotta

4.4

79 reviews

82% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 8/13/2015 1:19:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm

Hair: Black, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I am a sucker for any makeup product labeled "Terracotta'. I have a Terracotta lipstick that I love, and terracotta nail polish. I'm always on the hunt for "true" terracotta, that is, the color that is the exact shade of the huge earthenware pots you can find at any hardware store. Most makeup that boasts of being terracotta that I have found, is really just coral with a heavy dose of pink.

This blush is a very close match to that perfect terracotta. It has a lot of orange and bronze in it. I can see this blush being used as a bronzer for some, since it's SO bronze and shimmery. It certainly warms up my skin, but not in the way that I would expect a blush to do so. The color of this blush is very warm and packed with shimmer. It reminds me of a coppery orange colored sunset.

While that sounds nice in theory, what I got was a blush that was so orange toned that I loooked like I had used too much spray tan on my face. This is really, really pigmented so it's very easy to go overboard. I also don't like looking like a shimmerbomb was thrown at my face, and I noticed a LOT of shimmer on the apples of my cheeks. The only plus was that it went on so smooth and soft. Really, I loved the texture more than anything.

This blush has a very soft, satiny feel to it. It literally feels like you're running your fingers across a piece of smooth silk. Maybe that's way it's set into the pan in a quilted design? EIther way it's a very nice touch. The packaging is decent and easy to open. It's worlds above Wet n WIld but still doesn't compete with Maybelline, as their Fit Me line reminds me of NARS.

I paid about $3.98 for this on clearance at Target. I wouldn't have paid full price for it. I'm not a fan of NYX cosmetics in general, most of their line pulls too pink for my yellow-toned skin.

I like this blush but I don't see myself using it that often (or at all) after summer ends. It just has too much shimmer, and it's too orange for my complexion, and not that natural looking on me, to be honest. I avoid overly orange looking foundations, so why would I use a blush that defeats that same purpose? I might try using it as an eyeshadow, as I already have an awesome bronzer from Sephora that I love.

I highly prefer Milani's Luminoso, as that's a more natural looking coral pink gold that can be used year round, and is far more flattering.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 8/8/2015 1:38:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Neutral

Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Black

I think this blush would look great on someone with lighter skin than me. I'm NC25 and I have a medium skin tone. The formula is nice and smooth; the packaging is pretty, simple and easy to operate. I'm just not impressed with the pigmentation. Maybe the one I got was a dud. Many of my other NYX blushes have pretty good pigmentation. This one can't even really be used as a bronzer because it doesn't show up on my skin. Very disappointing especially because of all the rave reviews from others.


on 7/27/2015 5:58:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I had originally thought this blush would be too dark for me-I'm light but I have olive undertones. I got this after seeing KathleenLights use it and boy oh boy, I was wrong! This adds a beautiful glow to my cheeks like Milani luminoso does, however it looks a bit more natural on me personally because it's not so peach. I would say this might be a couple shades darker. I love NYX blushes, and this one is probably the best one I own. I will repurchase when I run out, but beware, a little goes a long way!


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

SUUUCH a fabulous blush. I typically am not a huge fan of blush although I buy 700 different colors I know I will never use more than once and it bums me out. I'm more of a bronzer/contour kinda girl....so the only blushes I tend to reach for are more "natural" colors and far far away from the color spectrum of pinks/reds/etc. I usually use peachy colors or bronzey/tan colors. My favorite all time blush I use 99% of the time and is the ONLY blush I have ever hit pan on is MAC's "Trace Gold" blush. It is so friggin beautiful and I haven't been able to find anything that comes even close to it until now. This color is so gorgeous. It is like a bronze coppery color that is so beyond flattering on my NC30-NC40 skin tone (just depends on how tan I am/if I have a spray tan or not). It gives that perfect "summer glow" and looks absolutely beautiful in pictures. I love wearing it with a red lip or brighter eye shadows because it's slightly subtle yet glamorous. I feel like I have the J-Lo summer glow when I wear this! Do not be worried - there are no chunks or even specs of glitter in this bad boy just a beautiful sheen. It's definitely not matte and I love it. NYX blows me away yet again!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/13/2015 12:00:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I like this shade a lot, however, the packaging sucks. Once I tapped the excess product on the back of the plastic lid and it cracked. NYX has got some fabulous blushes in terms of shades. I also have it in "Cocoa" and I really like it. It's way too dark for me so I use it to deepen my contour. They should really improve the packaging quality though. It's pretty cheap!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/17/2015 4:07:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

This is a pretty blush, but that and it's cheap are the only nice things I have to say about it. The texture is rock hard, . so the resulting application is either too little to see anything or much too much, which is a major problem for me, since it is way too dark for my fair skin (also too frosty and orange). For far superior quality at the same price point, Milani Luminoso is a much prettier blush.


on 11/18/2014 2:57:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I like this blush but I wouldn't say I LOVED it...

The colour is very pretty and works quite well as a bronzer for me as I have fair skin. Gives my skin a nice bronzey glow. BUT this doesn't last all day and within few hours I can hardly see it anymore. May just be my skin type though.

I would definately consider repurchasing this though :)


on 9/30/2014 11:42:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I was afraid this would be a glitter bomb but when my NYX blush in Stone finally ran out (and is now discontinued!), I decided to give it a shot. It turns out it is not glittery on at all. It's not super pigmented, like pretty much all NYX powder products in my experience, but with blush that's not a bad thing (at least IMHO). The color is buildable so that you don't end up looking like a clay-cheeked clown. The color is a nice warm, brownish peach that is a flattering shade for my pale skin, with or without bronzer.

The texture is not super smooth or as finely milled as some HE blushes, but it blends in well enough and doesn't lend itself to a lot of fallout. Has not caused any skin issues. For $6, I'm pleased. It's not a replacement for Stone, which could also fill in for contouring to some extent (this is too peachy for that), but it's a good one to create a pretty Fall flush.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/3/2014 8:56:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Other, Warm

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is my consummate summer blush. I'm NC44 (normally)/NW43 (summer) and find that this blush gives the most subtle, beautiful golden glow. I especially like wearing it after I've gotten sun touched and when my hair is highlighted or has been lightened by the sun. Absolutely beautiful!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/7/2014 11:00:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This blush gives me the prettiest bronzy glow. These blushes are great for the price and are an inexpensive way to try new blush colors :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Popular Blush Products


Reflex
Reflex
126 Reviews
Ambre D'Or
Ambre D'Or
28 Reviews


Back to Top