Etro • Royal Pavillion • Fragrances

rated 3.4(11 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.54%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 noinoi on 7/5/2010 6:03:00 PM more reviews by noinoi

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

To me this perfume starts with a classic floral scent which is pretty and aqueous. It feels green and fresh. Then you get a wilting flower smell and something a bit carnal and earthy at the end. Drydown is cut grass or vertiver? Rather than unisex I think this perfume goes both ways... Feminine to start masculine as the perfume settles next to the skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* elfriede on 7/15/2009 2:02:00 AM more reviews by elfriede

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Sweet summer flowers and greenery, jasmine and mimosa, then soft tuberose and sandalwood, ending with warm & soft animalic notes. The civet & castoreum are surprisingly subtle, but "skank haters" be warned, this is not a shower-fresh-clean scent. Close to the skin, nectar-sweet (almost over-ripe) and languid (but interesting and satisfying, too). This evokes: dozing in a hammock with a cat on your belly (the animalic element) beside a flower garden on a perfect summer's day, listening to Satie's Gymnopedie No. 1.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sucrose77 on 4/4/2008 2:46:00 PM more reviews by sucrose77

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I just stumbled upon this when the Etro fragrances appeared at Filene's Basement, and I'm crazy about it. I'm usually attracted to jasmine and tuberose scents initially, but there's always something about them that is too heavy and "perfumey" or else too clean and artificial. This one is neither. The flowers smell alive, green, and a bit earthy. It is sheer without being wan. The quality that some people seem to interpret as rotting is the same one that I've found in natural perfumes, which makes me suspect there are natural ingredients being used here. It doesn't develop much as it dries down, just a lovely floral blend that makes me happy when I sniff it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* alice_alix on 11/12/2006 9:07:00 AM more reviews by alice_alix

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Interesting opening but it turns a way too sharp on my skin. I have a mixed feelings about it, like something is missing here in its composition.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 jlea on 5/10/2006 1:54:00 AM more reviews by jlea

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Black   Eyes: Violet    

The beautiful opening 30 minutes of this honeysuckle/gardenia scent is simple enough to get someone to associate fresh flowers with your presence. However, I don't care for the generic sharp, perfumey drydown.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 mommyofcutie on 12/25/2004 6:03:00 PM more reviews by mommyofcutie

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I have to agree with VictoriaF, to the letter. She nailed the description.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bmichlig on 10/10/2003 10:19:00 PM more reviews by bmichlig

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

What a flashback - I opened the tiny sample vial and instantly was three years old, sitting on my mother's bed watching while she dressed. She wore L'air Du Temps by Nina Ricci, and Royal Pavillion seems close to that at first - a rich floral that is still

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* impishnature on 6/5/2003 3:23:00 PM more reviews by impishnature

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

You know when you've let vase of flowers sit too long because you're too lazy to throw out the dying flowers? And the water turns murky and green? Royal Pavillion smells just like that green, rotted-stem vase water that you can't pour out fast enough. In general, I dislike heavy florals. So don't ask me why I'd even go near the sample vial of this...I didn't know! I didn't know!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* manon on 8/24/2002 4:00:00 PM more reviews by manon

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Imagine strolling through a misty greenhouse showcasing iris, jasmine, gardenias, ferns, palm trees, etc., or standing on line in a florist's shop, smelling the air filled not with just the aroma of gorgeous flowers, but also of their tender leaves and buds and stems. That is what Royal Pavillon smells like to me. Part of it is quite green, but the green part of the flower, and not green in the way of grasses or such. The opening note of iris stays dominant throughout the fragrance to me, and although tuberose does not make an appearance to my nose, gardenia does, as does jasmine towards the end, where they both meld beautifully with the iris, a note which is usually not my favorite, but which I like in this blend. This is a weightier scent to me, and not one that I would wear in the summer. Perhaps that is why it elicits indoor images, e.g., a greenhouse, rather than a spring or summer garden. I look forward to revisiting this in the fall.
As an aside, I highly recommend the eponymous candle. In fact, I find it better than the edt, and the gardenia and rose notes (the rose was barely perceptable to me in the fragrance) are emphasized, much to my delight.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* DianeL on 1/30/2002 7:41:00 PM more reviews by DianeL

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Royal Pavillion is composed of Jasmine, vetiver and tuberose. I could wear this, and I have several times, but I just don't like it. The vetiver is slightly bitter and if they had not used it, I may have liked this one more. It is dominant after it dries down, on me anyway, and I am not a vetiver fan. The jasmine diappears, but I can smell the tuberose, I just don't like the vetiver with the Tuberose. L'Artisan makes a nice vetiver to use to layer with others. This just smelled a bit masculine and after it dried down it was a stinker on me. $85.00 for 3.4oz. @ Aedes.com

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Etro products

More Fragrances products